• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Chitchat I went to RWS casino yesterday...

bobby

You have done your National Service...make your overseas guests contribute to the Singapore economy and growth so that our ministers can get paid $m.

TerrexLee

Some foreign clients in town and they wanted to go casino. Drove them there and paid LAN LAN $100 TAX to go in. Not that I want to gamble, but Bo Pian, got to keep them company.

I was thinking $100 can buy me lots of groceries in a NTUC supermarket trolley to last a week!!!

Well, while they baccarat and roulette away, I was walking around and surprised to see many young sinkies in their late 20s and 30s gambling away. Wow, these must be rich youngsters who do not need to work and gambling their lives away at casinos.

Lots of retiree sinkies too, and I hope they are not gambling away their retirement funds...

$100 can get you a decent ATB for FJ from Sg wolves or SG Lonely guys

My wife like to go Cold Storage and Jason Market Place :biggrin:

Market Place or Jason's? Jason at Orchard Towers closed shop & it is now cold storage round the corner. Jason's standard went down the drain, when the, was it the Swedish guy or some European sold that place to Cold Storage...it became another LOCAL SUPERMARKET. I use to shop there for foodstuff not found locally or local stuff's so to speak. Market Place at Tanglin Mall was that too, now it is LOCAL...the one at Raffles City slightly better. I shop in one Market Place at Taipei 101, some years back...in Taipei, ROC.

Cold Storage you pay premium for fresher meats etc..& diary products. On certain days, they have mark down in packed meats, like beef, muttons, pork & chicken, which are quite reaonably priced for the quality, so are the cheese & butter. They used to have good sushi selection, that standard had fallen. Their roast chicken is better quality at $4.99 or $5.99 or the bigger ones at $9.99; Fareceprice is cheaper but not so good, can do. Their Hams & meat selection better than.... so are their SALADS with sauces of your choice. Some vegetable are fresher & like certain Onions or....cater for the specialty cook & so are some of their other frozen products. Frozen product sections...is a spoilt for choices place.

Your wife, has expensive taste & you got a fat bank account.. or you married an expensive wife...

rushifa666

Some foreign clients in town and they wanted to go casino. Drove them there and paid LAN LAN $100 TAX to go in. Not that I want to gamble, but Bo Pian, got to keep them company.

I was thinking $100 can buy me lots of groceries in a NTUC supermarket trolley to last a week!!!

Well, while they baccarat and roulette away, I was walking around and surprised to see many young sinkies in their late 20s and 30s gambling away. Wow, these must be rich youngsters who do not need to work and gambling their lives away at casinos.

Lots of retiree sinkies too, and I hope they are not gambling away their retirement funds...
Ah meng these are all future superman. Spf better buy more tents

Donch worry! Straight Times said this year that gambling problem never increase after 2 casinos open!

No increase in gambling addiction after casinos opened
File photo showing people outside the casino at Marina Bay Sands in Singapore. PHOTO: ST FILE
PUBLISHED
MAR 27, 2018, 5:00 AM SGT
UPDATED
MAR 28, 2018, 11:12 AM
FACEBOOKTWITTERWHATSAPPEMAIL

Theresa Tan
Senior Social Affairs Correspondent

Kimberley Chia
The setting up of the two casinos here in 2010 did not lead to more Singaporeans getting hooked on gambling, as many had feared before they opened at Marina Bay Sands and Resorts World Sentosa.

The pathological and problem gambling rate among Singaporeans and permanent residents was 0.9 per cent in the 2017 survey by the National Council on Problem Gambling. It inched up from 0.7 per cent in the 2014 survey, but the change is not statistically significant, the council's spokesman said.

The survey is done every three years to find out the extent and pattern of gambling here. The latest study was released yesterday.

In fact, gambling addiction rates have been falling since the first survey in 2005 - way before the casinos opened, checks by The Straits Times have found.

In the 2005 study, the addiction rate was 4.1 per cent, and this fell to 2.9 per cent in the 2008 survey and to 2.6 per cent in the 2011 study.

Pathological gambling is more serious than problem gambling.
  • GET HELP
  • The National Problem Gambling Helpline:1800-6668-668
    Blessed Grace Social Services: 8428-6377
Professor David Chan, a member of the council, said that the proportion of gamblers here who do so at the casinos is small. "So, we can conclude that with or without the casinos, it does not affect (the prevalence rate of pathological and problem gambling)."

The latest study found that only 1 per cent of those polled played the jackpots or the table games at the Singapore casinos.

A Ministry of Social and Family Development (MSF) spokesman pointed out that the Government has put in place a slew of social safeguards to prevent Singaporeans from getting hooked, such as the $100 daily entry levy.

Prof Chan said while the 0.9 per cent prevalence rate is small, it still means a sizeable number of people who could be hardcore gamblers, given that the study is nationally representative of the population.

In the 2017 Population Statistics report, there were about 3.1 million Singaporeans and permanent residents aged 20 and older. So, 0.9 per cent of that works out to about 28,000 gambling addicts here.

Addicts gamble beyond their means, and this often leads to strained ties and financial woes for their entire families.

A 51-year-old cabby, who wanted to be known only as Roger, is one example. The father of two owes loan sharks and moneylenders $13,000 after losing all his money on 4D and Toto. He can bet up to $5,000 a month on these two games. He has stopped gambling after his distressed family took him to seek help.

Those who counsel hardcore gamblers, such as Mr Billy Lee of Blessed Grace Social Services, expressed surprise at the falling prevalence rate over the years, as they see more people seeking help in recent years. They said many addicts may not be truthful when responding to surveys, which could affect the findings.

Others said the council has done a lot to raise awareness of problem gambling and in extending help, which could have brought the addiction rates down.

Meanwhile, the council has upped the number of centres offering help to problem gamblers from two to six, and has also started a new e-counselling service in July last year, where people can get counselled anonymously over the phone or the Internet.

Its National Problem Gambling Helpline received close to 20,000 calls and webchats last year.

Theresa Tan and Kimberley Chia

Bad New Brown

Market Place or Jason's? Jason at Orchard Towers closed shop & it is now cold storage round the corner. Jason's standard went down the drain, when the, was it the Swedish guy or some European sold that place to Cold Storage...it became another LOCAL SUPERMARKET. I use to shop there for foodstuff not found locally or local stuff's so to speak. Market Place at Tanglin Mall was that too, now it is LOCAL...the one at Raffles City slightly better. I shop in one Market Place at Taipei 101, some years back...in Taipei, ROC.

Cold Storage you pay premium for fresher meats etc..& diary products. On certain days, they have mark down in packed meats, like beef, muttons, pork & chicken, which are quite reaonably priced for the quality, so are the cheese & butter. They used to have good sushi selection, that standard had fallen. Their roast chicken is better quality at $4.99 or $5.99 or the bigger ones at $9.99; Fareceprice is cheaper but not so good, can do. Their Hams & meat selection better than.... so are their SALADS with sauces of your choice. Some vegetable are fresher & like certain Onions or....cater for the specialty cook & so are some of their other frozen products. Frozen product sections...is a spoilt for choices place.

Your wife, has expensive taste & you got a fat bank account.. or you married an expensive wife...

Marketplace we often patronize the one in Raffles City and sometimes Tanglin Mall. She like to buy red meats there.

The Jason at Orchard Tower, I just buy beer there. I am wonder that Harry Bar is still around there as their cake leng service staffs were very rude. Underground there is an Orchard Supreme KTV (high end)

Before we got married many years ago, my wife told me that she do not want a heartland hardships lifestyle in Sinkieland. She also don’t go to Fairprice and ShengSiong.

My in-laws side are all PAP supporters and they like to serve the elites :biggrin:

A packet of NTUC carrots cost 85cents to 90 cents.

A packet of mini romaine lettuce cost at most $1.30.

Half a Wong Bok costs less than $2.

5 tubes of Yakult less sugar is around $4.

A box of blackberries cost about $4.95 on offer at NTUC.

...and the list goes on...

I am sure my NTUC supermarket trolley can fill up quite a lot of groceries with $100 Indirect Tax that I paid to the Chenghu!

That will set me back 1 therapy

atham

Either you get a reimbursement from yr Ah Gong or fr RWS lol...
Btw I have seem many tan cha car (價吃腳) in every and any casino. From table games to slots. I did some "interview", they are 5 days rich n 3 days poor 五更富,三更窮. According to them, in any game or slot there are trend which needs to be followed widely known as one straight dragon 一條龍. If u win it will be a straight win n same goes for losses. The critical part is do not get stubborn during downturn, F off n proceeds to another game to recuit the losses. Patient and stay cool is the rule.
Not to encourage any form of full time gaming but just sharing what I heard lol.

atham

Nowadays I prefer to bet Toto and the last time I entered a casino was in 2012 :coffee:
Toto is 1 over 8 million chances. Either everything or nothing. In hk and tw there is only Toto. It's discouraging for punters to get back nothing and the tempting power to gamble is not there. 4d was invented by msia/sin. The prizes are much lesser therefore wining odds are higher. Bo Tao li san bio lip wei beh sai ma ho. And there are only 4 digital so it is common to miss one number or jump number, tempting punters to buy 24pa toh ling peng here n there. Of coz smart ppl will know a # difference from striking means a lot difference lol