• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

he had not had a plate of chicken rice in five years

VIBGYOR

You mean nobody in SGP wants to buy him a plate of chicken rice? I mean if he asked me, I'll even add a Sugar Cane drink for him. Serious?

http://forums.delphiforums.com/n/mb/message.asp?webtag=3in1kopitiam&msg=6994.1

$360 dole: Only 1 in 5 has 'marginal savings'

MP SAM Tan (Tanjong Pagar GRC) wanted the dole raised from $360 to $400 a month because a survey he did shows that most who receive it have nothing to spare for savings.

Only one in five could squirrel away 'marginal savings' each month for a rainy day and funeral expenses, he said.

Some spent as much as $450 a month on groceries, rent, transport and utilities, among other things.

His findings were based on a survey of 100 people in his ward who are on the Public Assistance (PA) scheme.

Mr Tan shared his findings with the House yesterday when he made a plea for more help for PA recipients.

He recounted the story of an 85-year-old resident who told him he had not had a plate of chicken rice in five years. 'All of us who heard this felt very sad. So, we gave him a meal coupon a day so he could eat anything that was available at the hawker centre,' he said.

'I know that even the poorest in Singapore have a living standard far better than those living in many other countries. I know that our PA recipients' one-room flats have running water and electricity. I know that they have food, clothes and medical care. But is this enough to count as a reasonably good quality of life?'

Mr Tan also challenged the Ministry of Community Development, Youth and Sports' contention last year that a person can live on $90 of groceries a month.

'If we ourselves are not doing it for even one month, then I think it will be quite hard for us to expect our fellow men to follow all their lives on such a budget.'

But he was quick to add that he was not suggesting Hong Kong's approach. Its Comprehensive Social Security Assistance scheme gives the poor 80per cent of the median wage.

This, Mr Tan said, was 'too generous' but he wondered if Singapore had 'veered to the other extreme'.

=> What CB logic is this? BEST PAID govt in the world which has no problem blowing away $260B in reserves, but cannot outperform HK?

Noting that Singapore has a 'very, very small' number of 2,900 people on PA, Mr Tan urged the ministry to re-look the criteria or relax some of them.

=> This shows that Peesai's PA is a BIG WAYANG!

'I feel we should not, for the sake of preserving low spending on welfare, exclude those who genuinely need the PA scheme by creating artificially high barriers,' he said.

BEN NADARAJAN

VIBGYOR

But he was quick to add that he was not suggesting Hong Kong's approach. Its Comprehensive Social Security Assistance scheme gives the poor 80per cent of the median wage.

Hey this is better than losing 200% of our Nation's GDP right? At least the people benefit.

What's lost is already gone, who benefited? Definitely not SGPlians.

e recounted the story of an 85-year-old resident who told him he had not had a plate of chicken rice in five years. 'All of us who heard this felt very sad. So, we gave him a meal coupon a day so he could eat anything that was available at the hawker centre,' he said.

What is it to be sad of. I am glad that he didn't eat chicken meat. He should turn 100% vegetarian. YOu will save more when you refrain from meat eating.

iamelite

I'm already disillusioned by the PAP.
The last time I void my vote..
This time round, I will tick the alternatives.. (Even if they are not credible)

VIBGYOR

This is the sad result after almost more than 40 years of PAP rule.

You mean nobody in SGP wants to buy him a plate of chicken rice? I mean if he asked me, I'll even add a Sugar Cane drink for him. Serious?

http://forums.delphiforums.com/n/mb/message.asp?webtag=3in1kopitiam&msg=6994.1

$360 dole: Only 1 in 5 has 'marginal savings'

MP SAM Tan (Tanjong Pagar GRC) wanted the dole raised from $360 to $400 a month because a survey he did shows that most who receive it have nothing to spare for savings.

Only one in five could squirrel away 'marginal savings' each month for a rainy day and funeral expenses, he said.

Some spent as much as $450 a month on groceries, rent, transport and utilities, among other things.

His findings were based on a survey of 100 people in his ward who are on the Public Assistance (PA) scheme.

Mr Tan shared his findings with the House yesterday when he made a plea for more help for PA recipients.

He recounted the story of an 85-year-old resident who told him he had not had a plate of chicken rice in five years. 'All of us who heard this felt very sad. So, we gave him a meal coupon a day so he could eat anything that was available at the hawker centre,' he said.

'I know that even the poorest in Singapore have a living standard far better than those living in many other countries. I know that our PA recipients' one-room flats have running water and electricity. I know that they have food, clothes and medical care. But is this enough to count as a reasonably good quality of life?'

Mr Tan also challenged the Ministry of Community Development, Youth and Sports' contention last year that a person can live on $90 of groceries a month.

'If we ourselves are not doing it for even one month, then I think it will be quite hard for us to expect our fellow men to follow all their lives on such a budget.'

This, Mr Tan said, was 'too generous' but he wondered if Singapore had 'veered to the other extreme'.

=> What CB logic is this? BEST PAID govt in the world which has no problem blowing away $260B in reserves, but cannot outperform HK?

Noting that Singapore has a 'very, very small' number of 2,900 people on PA, Mr Tan urged the ministry to re-look the criteria or relax some of them.

=> This shows that Peesai's PA is a BIG WAYANG!

'I feel we should not, for the sake of preserving low spending on welfare, exclude those who genuinely need the PA scheme by creating artificially high barriers,' he said.

BEN NADARAJAN
the biggest joke is that HK can afford to give out larger dole & yet have higher foreign reserve than Singapore....

UseYourBrain

the biggest joke is that HK can afford to give out larger dole & yet have higher foreign reserve than Singapore....

Aiyah cannot compare like that. HK has Chow Yun Fatt, the gambler to gamble their reserve in Macau. Who do we have? Thats why Singapore is in a hurry to build the casino so we can train our people to be hustler

angie II

2illvsg.jpg

"ccb.. nah! Take lah!"

The_Latest_H

Because HK doesn't have state-owned companies using the reserves to buy up overseas companies, unlike mainland China. China. Inc has similarly suffered a lot of losses from investing in foreign banks in the US, and like ours, they bought for political reasons.

funglung

You fucked yourself , and all other Singkies when you void your vote instead of
VOTING THAT BASTARD LKY AND HIS STINKING PAP BASTARDS OUT.

THEY CONTINUED TO SCREW AND SCREW YOU.

HUNDREDS OF BILLIONS OF YOUR MONEY SCREWED FROM YOU AND PLACED INTO TEMASEK AND GIC THAT LKY THREW AWAY BECAUSE LKY IS SO FUCKING STUPID WHILE HE THOUGHT HIMSELF TO BE A FUCKING GENIUS.

NOW YOU SEE HOW MUCH THAT VOIDING OF VOTE COST YOU AND EVERYONE ELSE

PEOPLE CANNOT EVEN BUY CHICKEN RICE WHILE LKY DOGS AND WHELPS CAN GO TO PARIS FOR FRENCH COOKING CLASSES

ronaldinho

I ever went to old folks home do volunteer work

This was before company retrench me....sigh

We bought chicken rice from Boon Tong Kee

I remember the old man cried when he ate the chicken rice

I asked him why..he said reminded him of good times before he was dumped in old folks home and children after married no longer visit

Because HK doesn't have state-owned companies using the reserves to buy up overseas companies, unlike mainland China. China. Inc has similarly suffered a lot of losses from investing in foreign banks in the US, and like ours, they bought for political reasons.

Hong Kong are much more enterprising than sinkies. I love to be among people who behave like this. Enterprising people are courageous people who dare to show the middle finger to whoever is an ass in the authority position.

Hong Kong people do not need to be nanny upon, they are real adults who knows which direction they should go.

I ever went to old folks home do volunteer work

This was before company retrench me....sigh

We bought chicken rice from Boon Tong Kee

I remember the old man cried when he ate the chicken rice

I asked him why..he said reminded him of good times before he was dumped in old folks home and children after married no longer visit

You should start taking steps towards self-employment.

Sinkies dun care their parents.. wow.. i thought they are only good in being a coward and a ball licker. Now they gain the title of being a parent forsaker.

So the PAP govt didn't wanna Kpo this kind of thing, ahhh...., when you pay money to an organisation, as long as GDP runs, who care what you do.. even forsake a parent, since the children is paying for that place.

So democracy comes when people start to pay for places that is set up by govt.. ahhh... i see.

You should start taking steps towards self-employment.

Sinkies dun care their parents.. wow.. i thought they are only good in being a coward and a ball licker. Now they gain the title of being a parent forsaker.

So the PAP govt didn't wanna Kpo this kind of thing, ahhh...., when you pay money to an organisation, as long as GDP runs, who care what you do.. even forsake a parent, since the children is paying for that place.

So democracy comes when people start to pay for places that is set up by govt.. ahhh... i see.

who know maybe the kids pass away.
i myself knew someone who die in NS. He was only children of his old parents.
so, if the children die in NS, and parent too old, retrench because company hire FT. They will have no money when old. they spend all the money on the kid.

nah... if the kid die, the parents will be informed, due to the efficiency in information sending at this modern age.

i saw the tv link on your signature.

if i do not eat meat, i feel very hungry.

normally in a meal, i take out the vega and just eat the meat. so basically i cannot go vege.