• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Serious Great News! SG Property Prices Grew by 13% Despite Covid-19 Huat AH!

Pinkieslut

Singapore the clear winner as Southeast Asia’s property markets look to emerge from Covid-19 slump​

62b9a38bd36565ac16b95cdcf6130548

Cheryl Arcibal
Mon, 31 January 2022, 4:42 pm

Singapore’s property market is likely to emerge faster than its Southeast Asian peers from the slump induced by Covid-19 as the region races to vaccinate its population, according to analysts.
Vietnam is also expected to do better than most other major economies in the region.
Although challenges are unlikely to go away any time soon, the region as a whole has some upside this year, with economic recovery expected to be more evident in the second half, according to Knight Frank.
Do you have questions about the biggest topics and trends from around the world? Get the answers with SCMP Knowledge, our new platform of curated content with explainers, FAQs, analyses and infographics brought to you by our award-winning team.
“Long seen as a safe haven, Singapore’s properties have remained resilient through the pandemic with prices rising 13 per cent on average over the last two years to outperform the rest of the region,” said Christine Li, head of research for Asia-Pacific at the property consultancy.

Singapore saw private home prices climb for a seventh consecutive quarter in the October to December period, according to government data. The 5 per cent rise was the steepest rate of quarterly growth since the second quarter of 2010, according to PropNex Realty, a listed property agency in the city state. For the full-year, private home prices rose by 10.6 per cent, the most since 2010.
Office space in the financial hub is also likely to lead the rest of the region, with lease prices set to increase by 10 per cent this year, according to CBRE.
“Singapore is performing strongly in this area, having fully vaccinated the vast majority of its eligible population and welcomed 50 per cent of workers back to the office again,” said Greg Hyland, head of capital markets, Asia-Pacific, CBRE.
“CBRE expects Singapore to lead recovery in the region in grade A office rents, with predicted increases of about 10 per cent, compared to an average of 1 per cent forecast for the rest of Asia-Pacific. The country has also seen commercial space and retail spend almost return to pre-Covid-19 levels.”
Vietnam, meanwhile, is showing signs of an upswing.
“Recovery momentum in Vietnam is also encouraging. Its residential market is gaining ground with foreign investors. About 20 per cent of units in CapitaLand’s high-end project in Ho Chi Minh City, which reportedly sold out within two hours of a preview, were bought by non-residents,” Li said.
Late last month, Singapore’s Keppel Land bought a 49 per cent stake in three residential plots in Hanoi for about S$160 million (US$118 million), suggesting a positive outlook for Vietnamese real estate.
Besides an apparent uptick in housing demand, Vietnam’s logistics and industrial property markets have also performed well.
As of the third quarter of 2021, average occupancy rates of industrial parks in five key cities and provinces in northern Vietnam reached 78.5 per cent, a 0.5 percentage point improvement from a year ago, according to CBRE.
On the other hand, Malaysia, the Philippines and Thailand are likely to face challenges this year. Home prices in Manila, Kuala Lumpur and Penang are still between 3 and 7 per cent below pre-pandemic levels, while those in the Indonesian capital of Jakarta are largely flat, Li said.
“For Bangkok’s [apartment] market, buying sentiment is still downbeat … With the pandemic continuing in full force, uncertainties still cloud the outlook of Bangkok’s recovery from Covid-19, with homebuyers pulling back purchases. It remains challenging for developers to stay positive, and many are delaying project launches by at least another six to nine months,” she said.

Singapore’s property market is likely to emerge faster than its Southeast Asian peers from the slump induced by Covid-19 as the region races to vaccinate its population, according to analysts.

Still gaslighting everyone that vaccines are the salvation... oh dear. :biggrin:

I told you losers over a year ago to invest in condos. The property market was more undervalued back then.

tobelightlight

I told you losers over a year ago to invest in condos. The property market was more undervalued back then.
If property keeps on increasing in prices, how are those newcomers to the life of adulthood going to buy it? Only care what you put in your pocket and that is?

hbk75

That is because of the debt deferment allowing those indebted to off load their liabilities. Fed hiking rates soon liao. Lets see can substain so long or not?

If property keeps on increasing in prices, how are those newcomers to the life of adulthood going to buy it? Only care what you put in your pocket and that is?

They only need to put down enough money for a deposit. They don't actually need to set aside the entire sum when it comes to buying property. Buying property is not the same as buying groceries or your e-shopping.

You should learn more about buying property before scaring yourself like that.

tobelightlight

They only need to put down enough money for a deposit. They don't actually need to set aside the entire sum when it comes to buying property. Buying property is not the same as buying groceries or your e-shopping.

You should learn more about buying property before scaring yourself like that.
That means more debt and more years to pay back.. Plus interest. This is what I mean. Please ask what I mean before giving a lecture. U want to be financially savvy, u have to look into debt. Especially years into it.

More years of paying back? Most savvy property buyers sell within 5 years of purchase. You want to be financially savvy, you need to look into when to sell.

tobelightlight

More years of paying back? Most savvy property buyers sell within 5 years of purchase. You want to be financially savvy, you need to look into when to sell.
enriching oneself while making society more expensive and then the expensive society bites you back?? How savvy is that?

How am I bitten back by an expensive society? Many sinkies today are living off the profit from the rise in valuation of their HDB or private residential properties. The profit will pay for many decades worth of inflation in food and petrol prices.