• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Govt mulls nuclear power, convert PSA harbour into "water front city"

I am beginning to suspect that choonway is part of the research team in the committee to get feedbacks from the forumers here.

Is this the case choonway?

Okay, choonway if you are part of the committee for Nukes Reactors in SGP, I tell you straight...

NO NUKES REACTOR in SINGAPORE!

NUKES = DANGER

Yeah, this moron floats a thread about shipboard nuclear power planst generating synthetic fuel, and all of a sudden got this committee recommending it. Typical PAP, people tell Choonway its a bad idea, but he is still persisting in it. Just like a PAPie

longbow

Another reason why this sounds so stupid - reason why we are major refinery is due to our shipping location. Lots of oil passes through straits of malacca.

So it is not as though we are 2000 miles inland from oil source. Why not just use oil. After all mistakes do happen - 3 mile island, chernobyl, MSK escape - and we have a choice!

Now if we can JV such a plant with indo or malaysia and build it a few hundred miles from Singapore and bring the power into Singapore then it makes sense. maybe situated it in one of the numerous islands in Riau and lay a cable to Singapore.

Have to be JV with power for both sides. Politics will not allow otherwise.

longbow

Another reason why this sounds so stupid - reason why we are major refinery is due to our shipping location. Lots of oil passes through straits of malacca.

So it is not as though we are 2000 miles inland from oil source. Why not just use oil. After all mistakes do happen - 3 mile island, chernobyl, MSK escape - and we have a choice!

Now if we can JV such a plant with indo or malaysia and build it a few hundred miles from Singapore and bring the power into Singapore then it makes sense. maybe situated it in one of the numerous islands in Riau and lay a cable to Singapore.

Have to be JV with power for both sides. Politics will not allow otherwise.

As for locating it on a ship - another idiot idea. we are located in busy shipping channel what if kena langar by a larger oil tanker?

Count and Noncount Nouns: Basic Rules

Summary: This handout discusses the differences between count nouns and noncount nouns. Count nouns can be pluralized; noncount nouns cannot.
Contributors:Paul Lynch, Allen Brizee
Last Edited: 2010-01-08 12:19:07

Adjectives with Countable and Uncountable Nouns

The Basic Rules: Count and Noncount Nouns

A count noun is one that can be expressed in plural form, usually with an "s." For example, "cat—cats," "season—seasons," "student—students."
A noncount noun is one that usually cannot be expressed in a plural form. For example, "milk," "water," "air," "money," "food." Usually, you can't say, "He had many moneys."
Count and Noncount Nouns with Adjectives

Most of the time, this doesn't matter with adjectives. For example, you can say, "The cat was gray" or "The air was gray." However, the difference between a countable and uncountable noun does matter with certain adjectives, such as "some/any," "much/many," and "little/few."
Some/Any: Some and any countable and uncountable nouns.

• "There is some water on the floor."
  • "There are some Mexicans here."
  • "Do you have any food?"
  • "Do you have any apples?"
Much/Many: Much modifies only uncountable nouns. Many modifies only countable nouns.

• "We don't have much time to get this done."
  • "Many Americans travel to Europe."
Little/Few: Little modifies only uncountable nouns.

• "He had little food in the house."
  • "The doctor had little time to think in the emergency room."
Few modifies only countable nouns.

• "There are few doctors in town."
  • "Few students like exams."
Other basic rules

A lot of/lots of:A lot of/lots of are informal substitutes for much and many. They are used with uncountable nouns when they mean much and with countable nouns when they mean many.

• "They have lots of (much) money in the bank."
  • "A lot of (many) Americans travel to Europe."
  • "We got lots of (many) mosquitoes last summer."
  • "We got lots of (much) rain last summer."
A little bit of:A little bit of is informal and always precedes an uncountable noun.

• "There is a little bit of pepper in the soup."
  • "There is a little bit of snow on the ground."
Enough: Enough modifies both countable and uncountable nouns.

• "There is enough money to buy a car."
  • "I have enough books to read."
Plenty of: Plenty of modifies both countable and uncountable nouns.

• "They have plenty of money in the bank."
  • "There are plenty of millionaires in Switzerland."
No: No modifies both countable and uncountable nouns.

• "There is no time to finish now."
  • "There are no squirrels in the park."

The Noncount Noun

Recognize a noncount noun when you see one.

Nouns name people, places, and things. Many nouns have both a singular and plural form: a surfer/surfers, a restaurant/restaurants, a pickle/pickles. Some nouns, however, have only a singular form; you cannot add a number to the front or an s to the end of these words. This group of nouns is called noncount.
Read the following examples:
After two months of rainstorms, Fred carries his umbrella everywhere in anticipation of more bad weather.
Rainstorms = count noun; weather = noncount noun.
Because Big Toe Joe has ripped all four chairs with his claws, Diane wants to buy new furniture and find the cat another home.
Chairs = count noun; furniture = noncount noun.
When Mrs. Russell postponed the date of the research paper, smiles lit up the faces of her students, filling the room with happiness.
Smiles = count noun; happiness = noncount noun.
Because the beautiful Josephine will help Pablo with his calculus assignments, he never minds the homework from Dr. Ribley's class.
Assignments = count noun; homework = noncount noun.
Know the different categories of noncount nouns.

The chart below illustrates the different types of noncount nouns. Remember that these categories include other nouns that are count. For example, lightning, a natural event [one of the categories], is noncount, but hurricane, a different natural event, is a count noun. When you don't know what type of noun you have, consult a dictionary that provides such information.
<table> <tbody><tr> <td class="top">Category</td> <td class="top">Examples</td> </tr> <tr> <td>Abstractions</td> <td class="left">advice, courage, enjoyment, fun, help, honesty, information, intelligence, knowledge, patience, etc.</td> </tr> <tr> <td>Activities</td> <td class="left">chess, homework, housework, music, reading, singing, sleeping, soccer, tennis, work, etc.</td> </tr> <tr> <td>Food</td> <td class="left">beef, bread, butter, fish, macaroni, meat, popcorn, pork, poultry, toast, etc.</td> </tr> <tr> <td>Gases</td> <td class="left">air, exhaust, helium, hydrogen, oxygen, nitrogen, pollution, smog, smoke, steam, etc.</td> </tr> <tr> <td>Groups of Similar Items</td> <td class="left">baggage, clothing, furniture, hardware, luggage, equipment, mail, money, software, vocabulary, etc.</td> </tr> <tr> <td>Liquids</td> <td class="left">blood, coffee, gasoline, milk, oil, soup, syrup, tea, water, wine, etc.</td> </tr> <tr> <td>Natural Events</td> <td class="left">electricity, gravity, heat, humidity, moonlight, rain, snow, sunshine, thunder, weather, etc.</td> </tr> <tr> <td>Materials</td> <td class="left">aluminum, asphalt, chalk, cloth, concrete, cotton, glue, lumber, wood, wool, etc.</td> </tr> <tr> <td>Particles or Grains</td> <td class="left">corn, dirt, dust, flour, hair, pepper, rice, salt, sugar, wheat, etc.</td> </tr> </tbody></table>​
Know how to indicate number with noncount nouns.

Thunder, a noncount noun, cannot have an s added at the end. You can, however, lie awake in bed counting the number of times you hear thunder boom during a storm.
When you want to indicate number with a noncount word, you have two options. First, you can put of in front of the noncount word and then attach the resulting prepositional phrase to an appropriate count word. For example, you can write that you heard seven claps of thunder.
A second option is to make the noncount noun an adjective that you place before a count noun. Then you could write a sentence like this:
Thunderheads filled the sky.
Here are some more examples:
<table> <tbody><tr> <td class="top">Noncount Noun</td> <td class="top">Countable Version</td> </tr> <tr> <td>advice</td> <td class="left">pieces of advice</td> </tr> <tr> <td>homework</td> <td class="left">homework assignments</td> </tr> <tr> <td>bread</td> <td class="left">loaves of bread, slices of bread</td> </tr> <tr> <td>smoke</td> <td class="left">puffs of smoke, plumes of smoke</td> </tr> <tr> <td>software</td> <td class="left">software applications</td> </tr> <tr> <td>wine</td> <td class="left">bottles of wine, glasses of wine</td> </tr> <tr> <td>snow</td> <td class="left">snow storms, snow flakes, snow drifts</td> </tr> <tr> <td>cloth</td> <td class="left">bolts of cloth, yards of cloth</td> </tr> <tr> <td>dirt</td> <td class="left">piles of dirt, truckloads of dirt</td> </tr> </tbody></table>​
Understand that some nouns are both noncount and count.

Sometimes a word that means one thing as a noncount noun has a slightly different meaning if it also has a countable version. Remember, then, that the classifications count and noncount are not absolute.
Time is a good example. When you use this word to mean the unceasing flow of experience that includes past, present, and future, with no distinct beginning or end, then time is a noncount noun. Read this example:
Time dragged as Simon sat through yet another boring chick flick with his girlfriend Roseanne.
Time = noncount because it has no specific beginning and, for poor Simon, no foreseeable end.
When time refers to a specific experience which starts at a certain moment and ends after a number of countable units [minutes, hours, days, etc.], then the noun is count. Here is an example:
On his last to Disney World, Joe rode Space Mountain twenty-seven times.
Times = count because a ride on Space Mountain is a measurable unit of experience, one that you can clock with a stopwatch.
HomeTermsExercisesHandoutsRulesShopFeedback

©1997 - 2010 by Robin L. Simmons

longbow

Thanks for the tip. Many Singaporeans are bilingual and are conversant in both English and Mandarin. That in itself in quite an undertaking. And good for them as English and Mandarin are the 2 most widely spoken language in the world.

As you know these 2 languages have nothing in common, unlike French and English or even English and some slavic based language.

Thanks for the tip. Many Singaporeans are bilingual and are conversant in both English and Mandarin.

That's what most Singaporeans would like to believe. However, reality paints a different picture. Sinkies have not mastered ANY language. Their Mandarin sucks and so does their English.

SneeringTree

Thanks for the tip. Many Singaporeans are bilingual and are conversant in both English and Mandarin. That in itself in quite an undertaking. And good for them as English and Mandarin are the 2 most widely spoken language in the world.

As you know these 2 languages have nothing in common, unlike French and English or even English and some slavic based language.

Typical Sinkie mentality. Instead of humbly accepting criticism and feedback (Sam Leong makes a good point!), you become defensive and seem to bask in the triumphant juices secreted by PAP propaganda.

In general, most Chinese Sinkies' Mandarin suck big time and their English competency is not much better.

ps: Just re-read your own posts which are littered with fundamental grammar errors.

theDoors

Next thing you know...

Someone might say if you protest vote, I will press the button...

MAD

Mutual Assured Destruction

1950s nuclear war lexicon

elephanto

Two dread scenerios.

One : The Obvious Dread & Risk of living next to a Nuclear Plant.

Radioactive leaks, terrorist attacks, neighbours wrath (ASEAN ZOPFAN -Zone of Peace Freedom And Neutrality infringement)

Two : Cost-Benefit consideration

(a) High cost of construction - who to bear ?
(b) Benefit to consumers - low electricity prices ?

Given PAP track record & civil servants' kiasu mentality, cost will be amortized & transferred to public, low prices ? you bet. Soon, they will have good excuses for regular price hikes citing this or that or to ensure citizens 'value' electricity.

Surely given our Utilities Experience over the decades, not hard to imagine ultimately, no gain to consumers & citizens

So, WTF talk on 'Nuclear Option' :oIo:

Off-topic, reminds me of one science-mad father who named his sons Nuclear, Atomic & the third one Proton or something, older Singaporeans can recall :biggrin: ?

longbow

I agree that they are not very proficient in both languages. But many can communicate well enough. Many can read both Chinese and English newspapers. For the common folk that is pretty good. And given the region that we live in, China is going to be looming large.

That's what most Singaporeans would like to believe. However, reality paints a different picture. Sinkies have not mastered ANY language. Their Mandarin sucks and so does their English.

longbow

This is a Singapore forum, for goodness sake. As long as I get the message through it is fine. You appear to have gotten what I was trying to put through.

Anyway, unless you can speak both Mandarin and English proficiently, I think it is better to speak and write both passingly than to know just English. At least there will be no issues with communications.

This has got nothing to do with Gov policies.

I believe that in Asia, knowing both Mandarin and English is an asset. Should your job require you to work in China, it will probably takes a couple of Mandarin classes + the immersion (being there 24/7) to reach a good level of proficiency.

However, if you can only speak English and know no Mandarin, it could very well take you years to pick up the language. on the other hand, if your job takes you to the US, then take up some English classes; especially those helping you with pronunciation/accent - very popular with Indian IT workers over in the US.

Unfortunately there are those that have achieved neither........

Typical Sinkie mentality. Instead of humbly accepting criticism and feedback (Sam Leong makes a good point!), you become defensive and seem to bask in the triumphant juices secreted by PAP propaganda.

In general, most Chinese Sinkies' Mandarin suck big time and their English competency is not much better.

ps: Just re-read your own posts which are littered with fundamental grammar errors.

Einfield

PAP need something, some story, some wayang for the next election or they are going to loose big time.

If you look at the SOP, anyone can be the government.

First form a commitee, invite all the CEO and hunchos to sit in and give recommendations.

Then accounce that to the public as if they are the only that can make that happen.

Einfield

Those policies that did not go to a commitee but decided by one man, are the one that really screw us up.

FT Policies
Education Policies
Scholarship to FT
Stop at 2 Policies
Close down of Nanyang
ISA
Supression of press freedom

All these are the true PAP policies.

As for solar energy, it's also basically nuclear energy. The sun is a giant natural hydro-thermo nuclear fission reactor. That's why too much exposure to the sun harms and can even be cancerous to skin, eyes etc. However, it's too far away to be of imminent harm but near enough for some of its energy emission to reach us.

In any case, harnessing solar energy has been repeatedly tried but proven to be far more costly than building man's own artificial nuclear reactor. In qualitative terms, the energy generated is the same as solar energy. However, the sun can dispose of it's radioative wastes naturally and safely since nothing alive is living anywhere near it. On earth, there's even suggestion of rocketing the wastes to dump on the moon.

Einfield

Solar panels, need huge surface area to collect energy, in countries that have vast waste land, like desert, can consider that options, SG is not viable for obvious reasons.

We can consider this when the day technology can shrink the surface area to energy conversion ration significantly.

Our NTU professors should spend some time in this field.

As for solar energy, it's also basically nuclear energy. The sun is a giant natural hydro-thermo nuclear fission reactor. That's why too much exposure to the sun harms and can even be cancerous to skin, eyes etc. However, it's too far away to be of imminent harm but near enough for some of its energy emission to reach us.

In any case, harnessing solar energy has been repeatedly tried but proven to be far more costly than building man's own artificial nuclear reactor. In qualitative terms, the energy generated is the same as solar energy. However, the sun can dispose of it's radioative wastes naturally and safely since nothing alive is living anywhere near it. On earth, there's even suggestion of rocketing the wastes to dump on the moon.

Sperminator

I won't even mind if they dock a nuclear missile submarine at the river outside my home.

sounds like you are staying overseas... anyways.

As for my opinion, I am against NUKE REACTORS in SGP

there are so many alternatives... eventually everyone go for the quick solution.

let's wait for a couple of decades, and see what happens to all the world's nuclear reactors, and it's spent fuel cells...

there is a law called murphy's law? when nothing goes wrong, everything's fine - when something goes wrong, everything goes wrong...

Nuclear power station won't blow up like that. That requires weapon grade uranium. Worse comes to worst is radioactive leaks only.

1. there was one in russia in the 80s.
2. well, sinkieland could be one no matter how safety it promises.
3. there is still a possibility of man-made error.