• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Gilbert Goh vs SDP vs NGOs vs all other opposition entities

How did GG do something that no one else since independence manage to do. They came despite knowing that it will rain cats and dogs as it has been very reliably over the last few days.

So what is the magic, what is the secret recipe or was there a formula that he uncovered?

Mind you when GG appeared on the scene some years, I did mention his interesting background which Siew Kum Hong had also mentioned. Yet he pulled it off.

It was only a few months ago that CSJ as predicted upon his bankruptcy matter closed flew straight to Yale to deliver a speech and KJ did the same. Yet these two have never been able to pull together 200 people let alone 5,000.

If you attended the rally you would know the answer. No it had nothing to do with the speakers. Even if Gilbert brought 12 Orang Utans, it would have drawn the same crowd.

Spot on bro. And the crowd was totally different from the usual champagne socialists, so-called activists, pink-dots supporters, the pet lovers and all those affluent and aspiring affluent lot who feel they need to make a statement on issues that has little bearing on Singaporeans.

Also missing are the lot that a notorious for sucking Ang Mo dicks in order to be political correct and be accepted. You know the Idiots who come with theories such as "culture-jamming" and "social entrepreneurship"

nutting wif ze person, persona or personality ... iz ze issue ...

andyfisher

Exactly, I was very surprised to see normal singaporeans, just your average joe and his family at the protest.

Whatever people might think of this goh fella, he has achieved something no one has in spore, so congrats the chap.

My sense is that this event more than any other event or discussions on the white paper would give clear signal to the PAP. The type of people that turned up were those that you spot on Sundays at the wet market. Mostly in their 40s, many came as families and I don't mean kids but siblings of similar age, interestingly multi-racial. I am guessing they are victims of structural unemployment that many Singaporeans of that age group are impacted by.

I am sure most of them only know that Yale is a lock.

ray_of_hope

My sense is that this event more than any other event or discussions on the white paper would give clear signal to the PAP. The type of people that turned up were those that you spot on Sundays at the wet market. Mostly in their 40s, many came as families and I don't mean kids but siblings of similar age, interestingly multi-racial. I am guessing they are victims of structural unemployment that many Singaporeans of that age group are impacted by.

I agree.

GG did organise a previous event at HL for unemployed S'poreans. This was on 4 June 2011. But the turnout was very poor. Today's turnout was very good but the irony is that, judging from the faces in the pictures I saw, many in the crowd would have likely been unemployed or under-employed who would prefer to protest at an event against the Population White Paper than at an event for unemployed. The whole thing is a question of face: they would rather NOT be spotted at an event for unemployed people. Today's turnout was also probably fueled by the fact that word went round that the international media would cover the event.

So, you see, it is a question of how you bill an event that draws tens of thousands of S'porean unemployed that would NOT lead them losing face. :biggrin:

I agree.

GG did organise a previous event at HL for unemployed S'poreans. This was on 4 June 2011. But the turnout was very poor. Today's turnout was very good but the irony is that, judging from the faces in the pictures I saw, many in the crowd would have likely been unemployed or under-employed who would prefer to protest at an event against the Population White Paper than at an event for unemployed. The whole thing is a question of face: they would rather NOT be spotted at an event for unemployed people. Today's turnout was also probably fueled by the fact that word went round that the international media would cover the event.

So, you see, it is a question of how you bill an event that draws tens of thousands of S'porean unemployed that would NOT lead them losing face. :biggrin:

What a superficial, unsubstantiated piece of garbage analysis. This PWP protest is not a protest for the unemployed and I don't find any concrete indication nor evidence that today's turnout are majorly consisting of unemployed people. Also, international media did not go around taking pictures or video grab the crowd. They're there at the freaking front row taking notes and later having interviews with the speakers.

In any case, who there at Hong Lim Park gave a shit about international media participation, as if saying if they're not present, the crowd would be dejected or not turn out at all.

Thick Face Black Heart

Mind you when GG appeared on the scene some years, I did mention his interesting background which Siew Kum Hong had also mentioned. Yet he pulled it off.

GG is the "bicycle thief" equivalent in social activism circles. His xenophobia and tendency to shoot himself in the foot is well known and this is not the first time he had to be restrained or censored. Siew K.H. gave up on him a long time ago, for good reason.

The event was a success because people centered in on the heart of the issue and touched the right chord with all Singaporeans. Notice there was no mention of human rights, civil liberties, constitutionality, and western democracy. The issue was kept simple -- 6.9 million is not acceptable, the future has become insecure for the children, and we need to act. Clear, effective and easy to understand.

Those most affected by govt policies got the message right away and the rallied hard together.

Another hallucinating piece of garbage analysis. Tell me, on what evidence or factual observation leads you to conclude the crowd are in their forties and they're siblings and more so, that they're mostly victims of structural unemployment? And what is so interesting to you that the crowd is multi-racial? Isn't this supposed to be the case, as this PWP Protest concerns the cross-section of the population, regardless of their race or political inclinations. This is a SOCIAL PROTEST, please.

Agree on GG, I am also uncomfortable wth his donation seeking habit. I have no doubt that one day he is going to land someone who sought his help into trouble.

Hopefully the PAP gets the message.

GG is the "bicycle thief" equivalent in social activism circles. His xenophobia and tendency to shoot himself in the foot is well known and this is not the first time he had to be restrained or censored. Siew K.H. gave up on him a long time ago, for good reason.

The event was a success because people centered in on the heart of the issue and touched the right chord with all Singaporeans. Notice there was no mention of human rights, civil liberties, constitutionality, and western democracy. The issue was kept simple -- 6.9 million is not acceptable, the future has become insecure for the children, and we need to act. Clear, effective and easy to understand.

Those most affected by govt policies got the message right away and the rallied hard together.

Take it easy bro, I am just trying to draw attention and grab a bit of glory. A bit of bullshit never hurt anyone anyway. I put the multi- racial stuff hoping that some idiot will bite.

Honestly did not realise that it was a social protest. I thought it was political protest. Thanks for the clarification.

Another hallucinating piece of garbage analysis. Tell me, on what evidence or factual observation leads you to conclude the crowd are in their forties and they're siblings and more so, that they're mostly victims of structural unemployment? And what is so interesting to you that the crowd is multi-racial? Isn't this supposed to be the case, as this PWP Protest concerns the cross-section of the population, regardless of their race or political inclinations. This is a SOCIAL PROTEST, please.

Take it easy bro, I am just trying to draw attention and grab a bit of glory. A bit of bullshit never hurt anyone anyway. I put the multi- racial stuff hoping that some idiot will bite.

Honestly did not realise that it was a social protest. I thought it was political protest. Thanks for the clarification.

It is a social protest. That's why it was successful, even while it rained throughout. I talked to a few chaps there and they talked to me about social issues they faced and that's why they're there to protest. They didn't say they're there to support a WP rally, or SDP rally, or NSP rally. I don't think they care; they're there to support the protest against 6.9 million projection by the government. That's all. Me too. Gilbert Goh can be an independent or he could just have climbed down from a tree, as long as the social agenda is pertinent, the crowd will be there to support it.

3_M

Any protest movement in the world need continuation of momentum so as to snowball into larger people's movement to be effective. I doubt an one off event like this will ever pressure the govt into reversing their policy.

cheerguan

With the crowd of 4,000 just for yesterday's event, I doubt that WP will be able to get any approval for police permit to protest in HL park if they ever intend to organise one in near future. Crowd could even reach 100k or more with this current unhappiness. MIWs will be shitting in their pants if allowed.

andyfisher

Scroobal, good posts, but knn, can we not over cb analyse the crowd pls. cheers bro :biggrin:

It was a lot of people, sure to have unemployed, underemployed, fully employed and dont know wat else employed all also have.
the point is everybody and his dog was there, thats good enuf.

And the point is, ordinary ah tees, muthus and ahmads, (urine, shit and m&d) are pissed off with this cb policies by a cb govt, I hope pp dont forget and do the needful cum 2016.

This GG, I dont know him, but he did a good thing, if anyone come across him, pls buy him a tiger at the kopitiam.

So lets not let the substance of the protest be stymied by the over digging.

ray_of_hope

scroobal's keen observation has placed things is proper context. And because he has done so, the truth hurts for some. Most other previous events at HL drew overwhelmingly a certain demographic interested in the issue because they could relate to it in some way. Look at the Operation Cold Store commemoration at HL which drew a crowd of 500. Anyone with even an unpracticed eye could see that 80-90% of the attendees were former detainees of Operation Cold Store and the Marxist Conspiracy and their family members. Other than a few bloggers, social actvists and opposition politicians, most ordinary members of the public could not give a toss at the commemoration and its human rights aspects. See the pics here:

http://singaporerebel.blogspot.sg/

Same thing for the event at HL for the dead dolphin Wen Wen. At that commemoration, the crowd demographiics was overwhelmingly young people, school kids and people in their early 20s. Older Singaporeans could not give a toss.

Same thing for PinkDot.sg. Out of some 15k participants, 98-99% must have been gays and lesbians. Other Singaporeans could not give a toss.

For the Population White Paper, a guesstimate that more than half the crowd were unemployed would not be too far off the mark.

Of course if some want to characterise yesterday's event as a "political awakening" in Singapore and that the PAP is quaking its its boots, that is their prerogative.

I would rather wait for concrete evidence that S'poreans have finally broken out of their selfish mindset and are prepared to fight for the rights of others even though they may have no direct link or interest to the issue at hand. In other words, to behave in the same way that many well-meaning people in other countries behave.

It could be because people have not attended the previous gatherings / protests at Hong Lim Park. Here are some examples - those that attended Tan Kin Lian's show over the mini-bonds were overwhelming Chinese from elderly aunty who lost her savings to the well heeled. Until yesterday, Malays except for the usual activists were missing. That was not the case yesterday. Just look at the photos that are now coming out. The wet market crowd to me was evident.

This is the type of heartland crowd that worries the PAP. The overt police presence was practically non-existent except for traffic duties. Obviously the govt had sized up the crowd mix and did not want to make the situation that they are in even worse. They already fell in the hole with the nurses.

It certainly heartening that it was multi-racial crowd similar to the Kallang Roar days albeit with much much smaller numbers. Its obvious that it touched a wide spectrum. So it is not a rejection by a particular sector or community.

Scroobal, good posts, but knn, can we not over cb analyse the crowd pls. cheers bro :biggrin:

It was a lot of people, sure to have unemployed, underemployed, fully employed and dont know wat else employed all also have.
the point is everybody and his dog was there, thats good enuf.

And the point is, ordinary ah tees, muthus and ahmads, (urine, shit and m&d) are pissed off with this cb policies by a cb govt, I hope pp dont forget and do the needful cum 2016.

This GG, I dont know him, but he did a good thing, if anyone come across him, pls buy him a tiger at the kopitiam.

So lets not let the substance of the protest be stymied by the over digging.

kukubird58

hahaha.....always starting rubbish thread and caught bullsitting and still have the cheek to be sarcastic....
oops...i am trolling again....lol.

The 6.9 million issue is at the forefront of public consciousness at the moment and that's the reason for the turnout by those who already feel marginalised and have serious concerns that they'll be pushed over the abyss.

When the minibond saga was at its peak, the same sort of crowd appeared ie those who were directly affected and had nobody else but Tan Kim Lian to turn to.

However, the Presidential election showed that championing a cause does not necessarily translate into broad based political support.