• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

GAY Loong admits there is no military threats to S'pore, wasted $13 billion a year

enterprise2

Re: GAY Loong admits there is no military threats to S'pore, wasted $13 billion a yea

pinkie cannot answer who are spore military threats because none of our neighbours are military capable to mounting an invasion onto this little red dot. instead, SAF doctrine and hardware are bloody offensive. forget about the airforce, just look at the landbased hardware SAF also have at least double to what other asean countries have.

before I MR, armour already phrase out all the SM1 and the old M113. even the stepchild of the battalion, motar platoon and pioneer platoon was being equip with the bronco, putting the hundreds of old school M113 into the reserve. There at least 800 upgrade variant of the M113, Ultras on frontline and maybe equal number of bionx available. in fact, I suspect saf have more armour vehicles available than warm bodies to crew them all. fark, even the guards become mechanized with the Terrax. While armour battalion do train to fight as infantry role in static defense but the 90% of the training are attack, attack, attack and more attack.

msia has only a brigade of PT91, so inclusive of spares and training vehicles, at most 60-70 vehicles plus maybe another battalion of scorpion light tanks. will msia mount an invasion of Singapore with only 100 tanks and maybe a couple hundred of old M113 when SAF has 100 Leo2 and maybe a couple hundred of SM1 and maybe 1000+ APCs/IFV? It just don't make sense to have such huge numbers of armour platforms in SAF arsenal. and I havn't even add in the old centurions and that funny amx10p that 42 once used. maybe there new additions I not aware of too.

Msia or Indon would be insane to take us on. Maybe our threats lies further north..maybe we need join our ASEAN bros and US to counter the red dragon!

Re: GAY Loong admits there is no military threats to S'pore, wasted $13 billion a yea

Malaysia will never invade us for christ sake,do u know how much trade we do with them?more than 60 billion a year,we are their biggest trading partners for christ sake.money speaks louder than words,even gods and religions.

do u know who was Germany largest trading partner prior to invasion of france? and who the largest trading partner of Nazi Germany prior to invasion of soviet union?

Msia or Indon would be insane to take us on. Maybe our threats lies further north..maybe we need join our ASEAN bros and US to counter the red dragon!

saf is an offensive force but not for the expanse and varied terrain of tiongland lah. if you look at the orbat, it's not even organized for island hopping, thus you can rule indon archipelago out. what is between indo-china and the indon archipelago? only novices will guess otherwise.

why do the saf have heliborne (guards) units with a corresponding number of armor elements? these two are designed for swift capture of territories deep along a peninsular-like terrain full of plantations, ponds, rivers, roadblocks, small towns, with long highways and sporadic open areas for farming and soccer fields. a look at chopper and armor assets, especially amphibious and engineer tank complements will give you a clue. in theory, it may work depending on courage and tenacity of heliborne units, but in practice, heavy armor typically gets bogged down in terrain with chokes and heliborne forces need to have holding power until armor arrives. the risk is that it may smack of montgomery's failed operation market-garden in ww2.

do u know who was Germany largest trading partner prior to invasion of france? and who the largest trading partner of Nazi Germany prior to invasion of soviet union?

even Putin say the context of the world is different,our world economies and politics are too interwoven for countries to go warring each other.this is not the stone age 1930s 40s where people communicate by telegram,countries are in great depression,there are no jet airlines theres no internet and cellphones and some maniac isolated countries suddenly decide to go on a rampage grabbing resources.

Agoraphobic

Just wish to add my comments to this thread:

There is no military threat to Singapore. Any country who declares war or attacks Peesai will be seen as a bully. Singapore has no natural resource like oil, or water. Singapore military just has to be maintained to be in tandem with the country's wealth. The army is a parade army, the airforce is to wow the kids (F-16s, F-15s enough, F-35 is totally senseless), navy, yes, to protect the sea lanes againsts pirates, and calamity rescue/humanitarian missions. A modern military makes a good career for military personnel. Military personnel should think like soldiers, always on the guard, and "siam" NDP duties. Life is good.

bigboss

History has shown infiltration and sabotage are effective in creating internal chaos of any country.

In Vietnam war, the North infiltrated the South to create fear and chaos; eventually, the American could not tahan the loss of American lives and ran road.

Now, the ISIS uses the same strategy to filtrate Italy and other European countries which took in immigrants from the Middle East and the Mediterranean. The ISIS simply walked as immigrants and will wait for the day to whack the host countries.

Maybe the paps do not believe no other countries will infiltrate and sabotage sinkieland from within. If so, they are idiots.

bigboss

....There is no military threat to Singapore. Any country who declares war or attacks Peesai will be seen as a bully. Singapore has no natural resource like oil, or water. Singapore military just has to be maintained to be in tandem with the country's wealth.

Who cares the attacker is a bully? Bully is aplenty in the world today. China is a big bully to the Vietnamese and the Pinoys, no? What can the USA, UN do about it?

The best for sinapor is to be a non-aligned nation; see nothing, know nothing and don't be a kay poh. Although China will not allow any one else to take over Sinapor due to its strategic importance in SE Asia, there is nothing to stop PRC from makan sinapor in the future.

bigboss

even Putin say the context of the world is different,our world economies and politics are too interwoven for countries to go warring each other.this is not the stone age 1930s 40s where people communicate by telegram,countries are in great depression,there are no jet airlines theres no internet and cellphones and some maniac isolated countries suddenly decide to go on a rampage grabbing resources.

hahaha... Putin was just talking cock to amuse and infuriate the Americans. He is the one who gobbled up Ukraine and all other EU now also afraid Greece will fall into his hands if Grexit occurs, which by all accounts will not.

EU will not offer another turkey to Putin for Xmas.

bigboss

....maybe we need join our ASEAN bros and US to counter the red dragon!

To counter the red dragon is suicidal for sinapor. The red dragon is there to keep sinapor safe and prosperous indirectly. When this red dragon dies, sinapor dies with it, also indirectly. Why LKY was anti-communist and locked up anyone who was deemed commie sympathiser in the good old days when China was poor and backward?

Why didn't the pappies lock up communists or their sympathisers now? Who is the biggest buddy of the PRC commies in SE Asia today?

To get rid of the red dragon, consider first how do you get rid of the thousands of tiongs in the country? How do you do business with PRC?

In the real world today, the red dragon just need to sneeze and the pappies will get frozen to death.

To counter the red dragon is suicidal for sinapor. The red dragon is there to keep sinapor safe and prosperous indirectly. When this red dragon dies, sinapor dies with it, also indirectly. Why LKY was anti-communist and locked up anyone who was deemed commie sympathiser in the good old days when China was poor and backward?

Why didn't the pappies lock up communists or their sympathisers now? Who is the biggest buddy of the PRC commies in SE Asia today?

To get rid of the red dragon, consider first how do you get rid of the thousands of tiongs in the country? How do you do business with PRC?

In the real world today, the red dragon just need to sneeze and the pappies will get frozen to death.

That's why this happened:

[video=youtube;NAZfPprXKw4]https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=NAZfPprXKw4[/video]

Agoraphobic

For the sake of this issue, a "bully" will have no friends, or supporters. In any case, nobody will find fault with Singapore. Singapore is on good terms with every nation in the world.

As for China, she is a peaceful country who is modernising her military and other national institutions. China and the US are only interested in making money. Their military buildup is to take care of their country's coffers, maintain employment, national pride and prestige. There is no reason for either one to fight the other. How did you ever get the notion that somebody might want to "take over" Singapore?

Who cares the attacker is a bully? Bully is aplenty in the world today. China is a big bully to the Vietnamese and the Pinoys, no? What can the USA, UN do about it?

The best for sinapor is to be a non-aligned nation; see nothing, know nothing and don't be a kay poh. Although China will not allow any one else to take over Sinapor due to its strategic importance in SE Asia, there is nothing to stop PRC from makan sinapor in the future.

bigboss

.....FTs invaded Singapore, F-16s upgraded. LHL logic!

No use for any kind of military upgrades...when you have foreigners serving in the volunteer corp. They take on SAF in a coup and all is over.

bigboss

....nobody will find fault with Singapore. Singapore is on good terms with every nation in the world...

Tell this to Mahatir...he will probably give you 101 reasons why sinapor is like a thorn in his butt. This guy been nit picking on sinapor endlessly even when out of the political office.

bigboss

....As for China, she is a peaceful country who is modernising her military and other national institutions. China and the US are only interested in making money. Their military buildup is to take care of their country's coffers, maintain employment, national pride and prestige. There is no reason for either one to fight the other....

Tell the Viets and the Pinoys that China is not a threat and they will probably die laughing.

bigboss

.....How did you ever get the notion that somebody might want to "take over" Singapore?

Taking over sinapor does not mean physical occupation of the island...just exerting pressure is good enough to cripple its economy and the livelihood of the sinaporans.

Why do you want to show the world how stupid you are? Every thread, you must bring in Amos Yee. Why?

He/she gets moist every time he/she thinks of Amos mah. Don't know how many times IT masturbated to his pic already.

enterprise2

Tell the Viets and the Pinoys that China is not a threat and they will probably die laughing.
Yes we all know the strategy of the Ah Tiong. They just redraw the map like how our MIW redraw the electoral boundaries. They then inch forward, reclaim land and claim air and sea spaces around them. No need to fight, just slowly squeeze your opponents to death!

pinkie cannot answer who are spore military threats because none of our neighbours are military capable to mounting an invasion onto this little red dot. instead, SAF doctrine and hardware are bloody offensive. forget about the airforce, just look at the landbased hardware SAF also have at least double to what other asean countries have.

before I MR, armour already phrase out all the SM1 and the old M113. even the stepchild of the battalion, motar platoon and pioneer platoon was being equip with the bronco, putting the hundreds of old school M113 into the reserve. There at least 800 upgrade variant of the M113, Ultras on frontline and maybe equal number of bionx available. in fact, I suspect saf have more armour vehicles available than warm bodies to crew them all. fark, even the guards become mechanized with the Terrax. While armour battalion do train to fight as infantry role in static defense but the 90% of the training are attack, attack, attack and more attack.

msia has only a brigade of PT91, so inclusive of spares and training vehicles, at most 60-70 vehicles plus maybe another battalion of scorpion light tanks. will msia mount an invasion of Singapore with only 100 tanks and maybe a couple hundred of old M113 when SAF has 100 Leo2 and maybe a couple hundred of SM1 and maybe 1000+ APCs/IFV? It just don't make sense to have such huge numbers of armour platforms in SAF arsenal. and I havn't even add in the old centurions and that funny amx10p that 42 once used. maybe there new additions I not aware of too.

You are right. back in the 80s when I was active in the SAF, I was familiar with all the SIR camps and the COs of those camps as well as the Armour Brigade and the ORBATS. I had a good idea of the SAF capabilities. We were very frugal back then, the SAF always bought used equipment like AMX-13, Centurions, A-4 Skyhawks, etc. and we upgraded and modernized them. If there wasn't a good deal, we did not buy it. I never felt that we were under any military threat even with a defence budget a fraction of the $13 billion spend today. I can assure you if you took the SAF army of 1985, with the M113s, AMX-13SM1, Centurion tanks, A-4, F-5, F-16 A/B, etc. and put it in today, we can still easily withstand any attack from any neighbour with their current capabilities.

And yes, SAF doctrine was offensive back then and still offensive today. We never had a poison shrimp strategy, that was just a smoke screen. In order to really successfully defend a military attack, our focus should have been on Urban warfare, city street fighting, coastal defense, etc. We should have been trained how to turn Singapore into a Stalingrad. But instead, we practice amphibious landings, jungle warfare, etc. PAP are really military fuck ups.

No wonder US nd ozzieland love us so much,look at how much crap we buying from them.

Malaysia will never invade us for christ sake,do u know how much trade we do with them?more than 60 billion a year,we are their biggest trading partners for christ sake.money speaks louder than words,even gods and religions.

Which brings us back to the question that Fareed Zakaria asked of Gay Loong. where is the military threat coming from?