• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Gardens By The Bay

applei

If it took $1B to build and $1M to maintain weekly, who cares?! Not me for sure. The decision-makers made it to be. KPKB now also useless. And I dun care how much they charge since I got its annual pass.

I'd been GBTB thrice to be exact. Once last year before its opening and twice after it officially opens the doors.

It may look ordinary and small, however I must say it gives different moods between day and night. The gardens are full of life, and it does give me a totally different feels for them, of course the lightings in the 2 domes did much of the effects and that is part of the beauty I guess. I love the cloud forest best, can stroll while listening to music.

And because they (whoever they are) bother to stash that billion and/or milions away for the gardens, I am not going to just visit once every 5 years. In fact, I can see myself going there at least 5 times yearly. Very convenient as they are just a few subway stops away from my place.

Then again, I dont see the GBTB can last more than 20 years, maybe not even 10 years. Let's see.

I agree..I assume you have visited GBTB. do you think GBTB is worth the S$1B? or do you think it has been overpriced/overcharged?

Balancemind

Exactly.

The pap spent so much money on Suzhou, so much money was wasted by the pap during the 2008/09 financial crisis..so much money was spent on inviting foreign students to come on an all expense paid study, including regular allowances..someone shd hold the pap responsible for wasting tax payers' monies

Lady, you ask a good question that someone shd hold the miw responsible for wasting our nation reserve built up with tax payers' monies. To that question have we not be given that opportunity at the last GE2011? Well, the result speaks for itself, don't it. The citizens are not interested in that question you have asked. At least 60% of it still subscribed to the principle of "Why rock the boat when it is still afloat" never mind as to when it will no longer be afloat is not an issue with them. We are back to square one and though the miw may have suffered some set back in knowing that 40% are not with them and that the writing of what's come next in GE2016 is on the horizone if things don't get better. Of the 40% that voted in the elected Opposition and gave them a GRC in addition to their single SMC have they ever thought that the alternative party they have voted in has somehow work themselves into the good book of the miw where open praise for them by the miw is no secret instead of the good book of the unhappy citizens. So what has now left for us? Just enjoy the lucky $1B GBTB and say "Heng Ah" it has not be used to roll the dice by you know who? :smile: Well, let see whether that question you have asked will be taken up by the citizens in GE2016. So all is not lost after all. As usual, I will vote for accountability for that long long term investments of our children though I have reservation that those that should be held accountable for it will they be around to answer for it should we find that long long term investment is no longer there for our children. :mad:

TracyTan866

Lady, you ask a good question that someone shd hold the miw responsible for wasting our nation reserve built up with tax payers' monies. To that question have we not be given that opportunity at the last GE2011? Well, the result speaks for itself, don't it. The citizens are not interested in that question you have asked. At least 60% of it still subscribed to the principle of "Why rock the boat when it is still afloat" never mind as to when it will no longer be afloat is not an issue with them. We are back to square one and though the miw may have suffered some set back in knowing that 40% are not with them and that the writing of what's come next in GE2016 is on the horizone if things don't get better. Of the 40% that voted in the elected Opposition and gave them a GRC in addition to their single SMC have they ever thought that the alternative party they have voted in has somehow work themselves into the good book of the miw where open praise for them by the miw is no secret instead of the good book of the unhappy citizens. So what has now left for us? Just enjoy the lucky $1B GBTB and say "Heng Ah" it has not be used to roll the dice by you know who? :smile: Well, let see whether that question you have asked will be taken up by the citizens in GE2016. So all is not lost after all. As usual, I will vote for accountability for that long long term investments of our children though I have reservation that those that should be held accountable for it will they be around to answer for it should we find that long long term investment is no longer there for our children. :mad:

You raised valid points. My mind is clear abt what directions I will take regardless of what Singaporeans will do at the next GE. in the meantime, I will continue to champion what I believe is right...ie to speak out against bad policies.

I am very blessed as I have options and mobility. i pity Singaporeans who are stuck in Singapore and have to live with the pap governing SG

TracyTan866

although 60% voted for the pap in GE 2011, I take comfort that only 35% voted for TT during PE 2011 and only 38% voted for PAP during BE 2012. so i am hopeful that the next GE will see the pap getting hammered...provided all of us continue to highlight pap's misdeeds and bad policies

Balancemind

You raised valid points. My mind is clear abt what directions I will take regardless of what Singaporeans will do at the next GE. in the meantime, I will continue to champion what I believe is right...ie to speak out against bad policies.

I am very blessed as I have options and mobility. i pity Singaporeans who are stuck in Singapore and have to live with the pap governing SG

Good for you to have that options and mobility. Well, for those that are still too frighten to rock the boat and be satisfied that it's still afloat I can only wish them luck. In the meanwhile, just enjoy that expensive GBTB. Remember, the Garden of Babylon never last forever. :smile:

TracyTan866

Good for you to have that options and mobility. Well, for those that are still too frighten to rock the boat and be satisfied that it's still afloat I can only wish them luck. In the meanwhile, just enjoy that expensive GBTB. Remember, the Garden of Babylon never last forever. :smile:

yes..i am always thankful that i have that option. those who are frightened are actually delaying the inevitable..the longer we are under the pap..the more intense will be the pin later.

as for GBTB..i wont be going again for at least another five years..it is such a simplistic but expensive venture..I can get to see these flowers in other countries for free with better weather and natural environment

TracyTan866

Then again, I dont see the GBTB can last more than 20 years, maybe not even 10 years. Let's see.

I agree with you...GBTB is unlike Universal studios, Six Flags, Dream World, Sea World.

That's why I said I dont see the need for me to visit GBTB again...

Valdez

I agree with you...GBTB is unlike Universal studios, Six Flags, Dream World, Sea World.

Can t wait for them to start work on bay east gardens and bay central gardens. Then our gardens will really be world class and a billion dollar well spent. Agree that with only bay south gardens the novelty will soon die off and need a compelling reasons to revisit bay south garden.

TracyTan866

Can t wait for them to start work on bay east gardens and bay central gardens. Then our gardens will really be world class and a billion dollar well spent. Agree that with only bay south gardens the novelty will soon die off and need a compelling reasons to revisit bay south garden.

good points!!! I still wonder whether it was MBT who championed the GBTB and the extravant cost that went into building the Gardens

Good Day Tracy, you have just given the Government some ideas already. They can add more features into the GBTB complex. Yes, Dream World,Sea World or something like the Knott's Berry Farm or similar...Then we can attract more trourists to our region. My bet is this: they will add more casinos to the complex like Macau:smile:

Yes, the Alternative Parties must try to contest in all Constituencies...send strong teams to TP, AMK, MP, PR GRCs...make the pap , LHL, TCH sweat at the next GE...the APs shd try to take TP, MP PR and AMK GRCs.

the next GE will be interesting for SG and the PAP. it will chart the poltical landscape of SG because of the failures of the pap in recent years. It's a God sent opportunity for the APs.

Will it be judgement time?

I personally thought the last GE was going to be Judgement Day. But it was an utter disappointment. After Nomination Day, my heart sank.:(

M

Mdm Tang

Good Day Tracy, you have just given the Government some ideas already. They can add more features into the GBTB complex. Yes, Dream World,Sea World or something like the Knott's Berry Farm or similar...Then we can attract more trourists to our region. My bet is this: they will add more casinos to the complex like Macau:smile:

Yup , some Nearby Islands like Pulua Ubin
can be converted to Casinos Islands . Huat Ahh !!!

TracyTan866

Dream World, Universal Studios, Disney World, Sea World, Movie World, Knotts Berry, Six Flags are tested and tried concepts...these wont pull many tourists to Singapore. Why would anyone come to SG for those entertainment when they can get them elsewhere in much better and congenial weather. I cant imagine anyone queue-ing for a Six Flag ride in hot and humid SG. Unless we go into indoor theme parks...but that's expensive as land is expensive in SG

TracyTan866

My bet is this: they will add more casinos to the complex like Macau:smile:

I agree with you.

The pap is addicted to quick money and casino is the best and suits the pap well..

But casinos bring with them long term detrimental effects...crimes, vices, family problems, neglected children, suicides, etc

SG is just beginning to experience the harmful effects of RWS and MBS...no thanks to the stupidity of the pap..all because of money.

More harmful casino effects will surface in the future

TracyTan866

I personally thought the last GE was going to be Judgement Day. But it was an utter disappointment. (

I think the last GE was a good watershed election. The pap was surprised by the anger of Singaporeans against the pap

why was it a disappointment to you?

TracyTan866

After Nomination Day, my heart sank.:(

ohhh..why did your heart sink?

unlike you, I was very glad after nomination day 2011...there was only one insignificant three-corner fight in a SMC..All GRCs were straight fights...only Ng Teck Siong was a disappointment when he was a few seconds late.

I hope that for the next GE, all constituencies will be contested and only straight fights...i dont see how the pap can have strong teams in all GRCs..the pap's weakness will be exposed

TracyTan866

Yup , some Nearby Islands like Pulua Ubin
can be converted to Casinos Islands . Huat Ahh !!!

you think any credible casino owner wld want to open a casino in Pulau Ubin when people can go to MBS or RWS?

or are you thinking of turning P Ubin into a Macau?