• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

FAP Traitors to Make Pulau Ubin Residents Pay Rent

[h=2]Perils Of Staying On State Land[/h]
PostDateIcon.png
April 13th, 2013 |
PostAuthorIcon.png
Author: Contributions

Ubin-18073490e-300x170.jpg
When residents living on idyllic Pulau Ubin received a letter informing them that their homes are slated for “clearance”, what else could they think of except that another land grabbing exercise is in the offing? The letter from the Housing Board document even spelt out that officers will be visiting their premises to conduct a “census survey” and determine their “eligibility of resettlement benefits”. At least they are rendered compensation courtesies denied the residents of Bukit Brown.

As soon as the news hit the airwaves, the Ministry of National Development and the Singapore Land Authority quickly issued a joint statement on the same Friday the story broke. This time the government is saying the residents on Pulau Ubin will not be evicted and there are no plans to develop a new adventure park on the island. However, if affected residents do decide to remain in their homes, they will have to pay rent from now on because they are staying on state land.

So if the residents who have not been paying rent all these peaceful years, stand firm and refuse to do so in future, will they be evicted? Or will they be “formally escorted” by the Singapore Police Force to new accommodation in Changi?

letter.jpg

It seems the word “eviction” has acquired the same odiferous distinction as “strike”. Once again, a spade is not allowed to be called a spade. It is quite obvious that the Housing Development Board, the Ministry of National Development and the Singapore Land Authority don’t share the same dictionary. Either that or the top civil servants in those departments are having their own turf wars, in the rivalry spirit of the SCDF, CNB and SPF.
The agencies “clarified” that the notices given to 22 households in March were a follow-up from a previous exercise. Problem is the previous exercise inferred to is a projected mentioned in 1922. Back then, it was reported that the Government would acquire 254 ha of the private land on Pulau Ubin within the following year, partly to create an adventure park. Will the residents staying on state land have to back pay the rent for the years 1922 to 2013? Maybe another government can come up with a clarification about the clarification. One thing’s crystal clear, when there’s money to be collected, these guys have elephantine memories.
Tattler
* The writer blogs at http://singaporedesk.blogspot.com/

[h=2]Pulau Ubin eviction: So many unanswered questions…[/h]
PostDateIcon.png
April 13th, 2013 |
PostAuthorIcon.png
Author: Contributions

leong1.jpg
Leong Sze Hian

I refer to the article “Authorities say no plans to evict households residing on Pulau Ubin” (Channel NewsAsia, Apr 12).
No plans to evict?
It states that “The authorities say there are no plans to evict the households currently residing on Pulau Ubin or develop an Adventure Park on the island.”
I find this statement to be rather odd, as the letter sent to the affected residents said “CLEARANCE SCHEME: CLEARANCE OF STRUCTURES PREVIOUSLY ACQUIRED FOR DEVELOPMENT OF ADVENTURE PARK ON PULAU UBIN
SLA has sought HDB Land Clearance Section (LCS)’s assistance to clear the above squatter house.”
If “there are no plans to evict the households”, why say in the letter - “to clear the above squatter house”?
No Adventure Park?
As to “or develop an Adventure Park on the island”, why say in the letter – “FOR DEVELOPMENT OF ADVENTURE PARK ON PULAU UBIN”?
Media published the story?

If “there are no plans to evict the households”, why was the “eviction” reported in the media? (“Letter informs Ubin residents of possible resettlement“, Straits Times, Apr 12)
Surely, the media would have verified the facts and sources before they ran the story.
Why suddenly need to pay fee?

With regard to “These households are currently residing on State land without a Temporary Occupation Licence (TOL). They can continue to stay on State land if they obtain a TOL from SLA, and pay a fee for the use of the land, similar to any other use of State land”, how much is the fee?
Why decide to all of a sudden charge them a fee, when they have been staying there for 20 or more years?
Are these lower-income families?
What is the household income of these affected families?
What if they can’t pay?
What will happen if a family is unable to afford the “fee”?
How much resettlement benefits?
In respect of “(to) determine the residents’ eligibility to receive resettlement benefits, and compute the resettlement benefit due to each resident”, how much are the typical “resettlement benefits”?
Some did not claim?
As to “During a recent review, it was noted that not all 22 households had claimed the resettlement benefits they were entitled to”, how many had not claimed the resettlement benefits?
Since these are “resettlement benefits they were entitled to”, why didn’t they claim?
Why would anyone not claim what “they were entitled to”?
Is it because some were unable “to produce documentary proof of ownership”? - “Owners will be paid the resettlement benefits if they are able to produce documentary proof of ownership.”
What assistance, steps to take?
With regard to “The residents were also informed of the assistance which the government would render, if necessary, and the steps the residents should take if they wished to continue staying in Pulau Ubin”, what exactly is “the assistance which the government would render, if necessary” and “the steps the residents should take if they wished to continue staying”?
How to decide to stay or not to stay?
In respect of “ascertain whether these households had the intention to remain or relocate”, I wonder how these families can be expected to choose and decide now , when it would appear that the exact details of the two options are yet unclear?
Squatters get HDB flats?
I understand that in the early years following Singapore’s independence, squatters on state land were resettled into HDB flats.
Will this be applied to these 22 families in Pulau Ubin too?
In this connection, I would like also to make reference to Article 28 c of the ASEAN HUMAN RIGHTS DECLARATION – “The right to adequate and affordable housing”.
Land use for … ?
Finally, what exactly will the land that they are residing now be used for, if and when they are evicted?

=> To create space for 6.9M FTrash lah!
Leong Sze Hian
Leong Sze Hian is the Past President of the Society of Financial Service Professionals, an alumnus of Harvard University, Wharton Fellow, SEACeM Fellow and an author of 4 books. He is frequently quoted in the media. He has also been invited to speak more than 100 times in 25 countries on 5 continents. He has served as Honorary Consul of Jamaica, Chairman of the Institute of Administrative Management, and founding advisor to the Financial Planning Associations of Brunei and Indonesia. He has 3 Masters, 2 Bachelors degrees and 13 professional qualifications. He blogs at http://www.leongszehian.com.

[h=2]MND: We’re open to housing foreign workers on offshore islands[/h]
PostDateIcon.png
April 9th, 2013 |
PostAuthorIcon.png
Author: Editorial

mndlogo.png
A question was asked in Parliament if the Ministry for National Development would consider housing foreign workers, especially construction and shipyard workers, on some of the nearer offshore islands.
In a written reply yesterday (8 Apr), MND said they are open to such an idea.
MND said, “We have in fact housed workers on Jurong Island and Pulau Brani, at different times, scales and duration.”
However, MND noted that not all offshore islands are suitable, due to the inavailability of supporting infrastructure such as sewers, as well as other planning considerations.
MND added, “But we will continue to look for suitable opportunities to help us house the foreign workers properly and without causing too much inconvenience to them or to Singaporeans.”
Join our TRE facebook page here: http://www.facebook.com/TREmeritus

I can't believe these guys can lie thru their teeth despite putting it in black and white.

Also note the lazy buggers used a 2009 letter and forgot to change the expiry for the resettlement offer. 28 days to make a decision like that is quite harsh.

fukyuman

Ubin residents have been living in fear of the dreaded eviction letter. Their rent is nominal, but can be evicted any time. Some homes has already been evicted. Rumors run rife, such as a 3rd casino being planned on the island, or vacation houses being built for the rich. Hidden claws are being at work. The island Tua Pek Kong and its guardian tiger god stand little chance. Once the land grab starts, all its native birds and insects will be smoked out to keep dengue away for the rich. It will be a rustic island as the authorities promise, no birds, no wildlife, just dead ground with dead water like our southern sea. Tourists visiting the island will be cycling in fenced cycling path. Trees chopped down 'for your own safety'. Free heatstrokes for visitors. Chek Jawa wetland will be charged entrance fees. Go to main square, developers has already got their foot in, setting high bids and offer sub-leaseing for f&b rentals. Beaches that traditional been public access are now fenced off as private beach next to the police station. Sinkies are being boiled alive, robbed blind and don't even know it.

paiseh hor, i no lawyer so i not sure of singapore land act.

1. are ubin residents squatting on state land?
2. how long had they been squatting?
3. so they had not been paying any rent to the landlord which is SLA?
4. Must squat how many years before land belong to squatter since landlord didnt collect rent or chase them away?
5. there have been families in ubin even before singapore independence so how can the whole island belong to the state?

fukyuman

The Straits of Johore is open for shipping. The Malaysians would have the to declare war if we close off their access by bridging both sides. Once development starts its goodbye to Ubin. Ubin will be another Sentosa. Moribund until the casinos took over. We will be collecting drowned suicide cases in no time. The fucking Teo Chye Bye once said, you'll have to traveled overseas to enjoy your eco holidays. Ok if you have ger ger and boy boy kids. Shopping centres is fun for them. Many parts of Asia are not safe. Gang-rapes the in-thing now. In Ubin, all you need is 5$ to and fro and soak up the atmosphere, during coconut juice and having fun hunting durians.

fukyuman

There are very few squatters, some are Malays who took relocation benefits and quietly went back to stay. Most homes has a TOL permit so can be chased out anytime.

4. Must squat how many years before land belong to squatter since landlord didnt collect rent or chase them away?
5. there have been families in ubin even before singapore independence so how can the whole island belong to the state?

soIsee

In short the white scums had used the law to remove one of their laws on Squatter's right to stay on and claim ownership of land if they had stay more than 12 years.

Talk about using the law to serve their own purpose!

Anyway, why nobody asked..

Who did the m&ds at Pulau Ubin vote for?LOL

As I've said many times before: if you don't own the land, you don't own anything; you don't own shit.

So what if the property prices soar to stratospheric levels? You don't own the land, you reside on it solely due to the landlords tolerating your existence... for the time being. You can be uprooted from your community anytime. Just ask those folks at Rochor Centre.

It's just like feudalism in medieval times. You need the lord of the land's permission to reside on the land. To set up business, you need the lord's patronage. The lord can evict you anytime on a whim.

In short the white scums had used the law to remove one of their laws on Squatter's right to stay on and claim ownership of land if they had stay more than 12 years.

Talk about using the law to serve their own purpose!

Anyway, why nobody asked..

Who did the m&ds at Pulau Ubin vote for?LOL

Rent is just one aspect.

What's more worrying is how the pappies will destroy nature and historical sites of Pulau Ubin.

They already did it with Bukit Brown cemetery.

blissquek

pulau Ubin can be a good place to build a third bridge to johore.

Aiyoh..it will be linked from Pulau Tekong...if u have travelled to Southern tip of Johore, Penggerang
u can see they have reclaimed rite up to their shore, almost....just only a short par 3 will bring u there...

soIsee

Rent is just one aspect.

What's more worrying is how the pappies will destroy nature and historical sites of Pulau Ubin.

They already did it with Bukit Brown cemetery.

The papies have never cared for what is nature.

All they care is to create a artifical environment ,using the peoples's blood money to suit their own tastes.

Anyone who never saw thru this ..please take the door labelled MORON and exit.

There are very few squatters, some are Malays who took relocation benefits and quietly went back to stay. Most homes has a TOL permit so can be chased out anytime.

so they already took the resettlement compensation (not relocation benefit) years ago but continue to stay in old house. i see i see. are the houses connect to the national grid? paiseh, i never been to ubin all my life. being a kampong boy myself, i no need to know what kampong life is about conpare to the rest of the singaporeans.

ppl who went thru forced resettlements will know what will happen when ppl refused to budge. electrical short circuit and fire breakout. of course, fire can start for no apparent reason too.:rolleyes: