• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Elderly mistreated at Nightingale Nursing Home caught on tape (Braddell Rd)

SNAblog

Are the two staff members who ill-treated the elderly patient foreign workers? It is well-known that many workers in the healthcare industry are foreign workers from either Philippines, Myanmar and China.

MOH should also take note that Nightingale Nursing Home have a total of 5 branches:
<table border="0" cellpadding="0" cellspacing="5" width="600"><tbody><tr><td height="15" valign="top">[FONT=Arial, Helvetica, sans-serif]
Nightingale Nursing Home
- 146 Braddell Road
[/FONT]</td> </tr> <tr> <td height="14" valign="top">[FONT=Arial, Helvetica, sans-serif]Greenview Nursing Home - 95 Tampines Road[/FONT]</td> </tr> <tr> <td height="14" valign="top">[FONT=Arial, Helvetica, sans-serif]Nightingale Nursing Centre - 106 Braddell Road [/FONT]</td> </tr> <tr> <td height="2" valign="top">[FONT=Arial, Helvetica, sans-serif]Civic Healthcare - Nurses Shop 1 Kampong Bahru Road [/FONT]</td> </tr> <tr> <td height="4" valign="top"> [FONT=Arial, Helvetica, sans-serif]Golden Years - Joo Chiat Place[/FONT]

Every one of the branches must be subjected to checks and scrutiny to ensure such incident should never happen again.
</td></tr></tbody></table>

http://www.channelnewsasia.com/stories/singaporelocalnews/view/1134251/1/.html

Nursing home mistreats patient
Posted: 09 June 2011 2002 hrs

SINGAPORE: The Nightingale Nursing Home along Braddell Road has been suspended with effect from April 12, from admitting new patients, after some of its staff members were found to have mistreated a resident there.

The incident came to light after Channel NewsAsia alerted the Ministry of Health to a video, taken by a hidden camera on a patient's bedside.

The video showed an elderly woman patient sitting next to a bed without any clothes, while the ceiling fans in the room were on.

After a while, two staff members were shown lifting the patient and throwing her onto a bed.

In one footage, a staff member was shown slapping the patient after she moaned in pain.

The old lady has been a resident of the home for the past four years.

The nursing home said it has disciplined the staff involved, and placed additional measures such as getting senior staff to visit the wards and checking the conduct of its staff.

The measures also include holding regular meetings with patients and their family members.

In its reply to Channel NewsAsia, the Ministry of Health said: "There were significant lapses in the care standards provided to the patient in question.

"This should not have happened. There should have been tighter supervision of staff rendering care to vulnerable patients. Patients' dignity and respect must be upheld at all times".

A family member of the patient said: "Of course we are unhappy with the incident.

"We sent her there for the nurses to take care of her; we're disappointed with what happened.

"There are other old folks at the home. We hope by bringing this matter up, it will help to improve things at the home.

"We have since moved our mother to another nursing home".

The Ministry of Health said it will closely monitor the nursing home to ensure all additional measures required of it are properly implemented and subsequently ascertain if the suspension imposed on the home should be reviewed or further sanctions imposed.

It said: "Our inspectors regularly check that all nursing homes are properly maintained, keep their patient records in order and institute effective infection control measures.

"Nursing home operators are also required to maintain care standards on medication administration, fall prevention, housekeeping, etc.

"Nursing homes that do not meet the required standards or which require closer monitoring for any other reason will be subject to more regular audits. MOH will also guide them on how to improve their performance".

-CNA/wk

SNAblog

<iframe width="425" height="349" src="http://www.youtube.com/embed/D-Y0HEYKjso" frameborder="0" allowfullscreen></iframe>

borom

This is a case of assault and the family should be advised to file a police report.
The Nightingal Nursing Centre at 106 Braddell Road where the incident occured -is it part of Aljuneid GRC/Hougang?
If it is, I hope the WP can bring it up in Parliament.
The family can seek asistance from WP Chairman who is legally trained.

This is kind of assistance is better than organising bus tours

supra8

http://www.singaporemirror.com.sg/co_nightingale.htm

Excellent & wide range of nutritious meals
Each patient has a nurse call bell
Ample parking facilities

Can google map on '106 Braddell Road Singapore'.

Video was sent to Mediacorp news in March and Mediacorp alerted MOH in April.
This news was shown today after May election. Khaw has 'siamed' a bullet.

Ministry of Health licensed
Consultant dietition, therapists & doctor in attendance
MATV & CCTV facilities
Well-ventilated rooms with attached bathrooms
Isolation and/or private rooms available
Big, open & spacious rooms

cicada

Ministry of Health under Khaw Boon Wan let all the foreigners in. After that .. just before the election recently, he is damn happy and also opened the flood gate for foreigners doctors to come in. "cheap and good" he said. then this is the treatment we get! we die our business..

COW flu

But COW said Sinkies die in JB Batam cheaper. We only suffer all the way here till old age and to get worse to die in foreigners' hands.:oIo:

Unrepented

Not all FTs nurses are lousy. My mom died in hospice because of cancer. About 80% of nurses were from Myanmar and they took care of the ailing with alot of compassion, diligence and initiative.

Not many singaporean nurses can take this kind of job, imo. I stayed over afew nights to accompany my mom. And these Myanmese nurses just stay on the top floor hostel, while patients were passing away on a daily and nightly basis. This I salute the nurses to have to put up with it.

The quality of health care workers is very much dependent on the recuritment and selection process.

I helped a relative to find a nursing home for his aged father-in-law who is suffering from dementia. The facilities are quite bad, all healthy and sick ones are housed together in a big bunk. The air in the bunk is hot and pungent, not good for rehab, imo.

So, we chanced upon a senior visitor in his late sixties (I think) and tried to get a word of mouth evaluation. He was paying about SGD900++ subsidized rate for his mother who is in her 80s. The son whom we spoke to was riding an old bicycle and told me it is expensive because all his earnings goes towards the payment.

JB is not an option. I did ask friends who are in the know and they strongly recommends against the idea. I dont want to say too much on this :o

I dont blame FTs, but the ones who recruit and administer the fuck up policies.:mad: Private nursing homes are aim at making profit, I have no beef with that either. But what is our govt gonna do to help the aged and their families? And the singles today when they grow old? Worse if they have dementia :o

Sure, complain as you might think. But citizens have been asking for lower housing cost, jobs etc. All these affects the savings and purchasing power when we grown old, and we need cash in hand to have a decent living.

Life and the quality of it seems not important; We were told to make sacrifices and look a the big picture.....well just lose another few hundred millions or employ more wayang FTs in the GLCs and lose some more tax payers money through their expenses with no tangible business results from them.

But COW said Sinkies die in JB Batam cheaper. We only suffer all the way here till old age and to get worse to die in foreigners' hands.:oIo:

Knnbccb!!!!!!!!!! After watching the video ...fucking tulan sia!!!!knnbccb !!!!!

karmabear

Old people better fuck off and die in JB. There is no space for old useless fucks in singapore, where the sole concern is GDP growth. after all that is what our ministers and senior civil servants are assessed on. Otherwise, how to get 8 months bonus? How to go Paris and do cooking class?

The nursing home said it has disciplined the staff involved, and placed additional measures such as getting senior staff to visit the wards and checking the conduct of its staff.

Just disciplined the staff involved? This is a clear case of abuse - threw the patient onto the bed and slapped her - and the FT staff should be sacked immediately and face criminal proceedings for abuse and not just disciplined internally and let them continue in employment and in position to continue to abuse other patients. Hey employers who slapped and abused maids are sent to jail, what is MOH doing, they should report the FT and call the police by now.

scoobyhoo

how to discipline these sxxkers? scolding? pay deduction? these will only worsen the treatments to the old people.

should each cane 10,000 times on their bare buttocks, i.e. 50 strokes each day in the public, say Hong Lim Park.

A blatant case of abuse... FTs robbing Sporeans of jobs and now they are also ill treating our helpless elderly citizens.. Fuckin MOH better take action against the culprits.. Sacking those FT staff are not enough.. Police action must also be taken against them..:mad::mad:

ivebert

Sinkies damn kum kong

You want to pay little $$$ for a bed in old folks' home

OBVIOUSLY you get shit service

Pay little want the best

Fucking loser local trashes!
:oIo::oIo::oIo:

Just disciplined the staff involved? This is a clear case of abuse - threw the patient onto the bed and slapped her - and the FT staff should be sacked immediately and face criminal proceedings for abuse and not just disciplined internally and let them continue in employment and in position to continue to abuse other patients. Hey employers who slapped and abused maids are sent to jail, what is MOH doing, they should report the FT and call the police by now.

1. this is just complacency 101.
2. it is also a plain money-making establishment.
3. yes, as some sheep recommended jb.
4. probably, there less privileged old folks receive lesser slappings.

HellAngel

If you dun love your parents and throw them into nursing home, you expect others to love them?

Go fuck yourself! The children should blame themselves for the mistreatment.

There are a few elderies earning a few millions a year, still jetting around the world, WHAT A DIFFERENCE, a day make!