• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Dishes 'hijacked': M'sia

Char_Azn

KUALA LUMPUR - MALAYSIA will lay claim to its signature dishes like laksa and chicken rice which are being 'hijacked' by other countries, the tourism minister said according to a report on Thursday.

Those on the list include the fragrant coconut milk rice 'nasi lemak', spicy soup noodle 'laksa' and pork ribs herbal soup 'bak kut teh', Tourism Minister Ng Yen Yen said according to The Star newspaper.

'We cannot continue to let other countries hijack our food. Chili crab is Malaysian. Hainanese chicken rice is Malaysian. We have to lay claim to our food,' she was quoted as saying.

'In the next three months, we will identify certain key dishes (to declare as Malaysian). We have identified laksa... all types of laksa, nasi lemak and bak kut teh,' she added.

Ms Ng said her ministry will announce a strategy on how to brand the dishes as Malaysian.

'That is Part Two. We cannot reveal it yet, but we will let you know soon,' she reportedly said.

Ms Ng did not name which countries were hijacking the dishes, which are popular around the world and particularly in neighbouring Singapore and Indonesia.

Her comments came amid a diplomatic row with Indonesia, where protesters have accused Malaysia of stealing its cultural heritage.

The dispute erupted in Indonesia in August after erroneous reports emerged that Malaysia had screened tourism advertisements featuring the traditional 'pendet' dance of Indonesia's Hindu-majority Bali island.

The ad was actually a promotion for a Discovery Channel programme, but despite an apology from the network, protesters vowing to 'crush Malaysia' have burned national flags and thrown rotten eggs at the embassy in Jakarta.

Malaysian Foreign Minister Anifah Aman will meet his Indonesian counterpart Hassan Wirajuda in Jakarta on Thursday in a bid to cool the tensions which Malaysia has described as a 'grave concern'.

Ties between the two countries are regularly punctuated by rows over cultural issues as well as the welfare of Indonesian labourers and maids working in Malaysia. -- AFP

http://www.straitstimes.com/Breaking%2BNews/SE%2BAsia/Story/STIStory_431009.html

This guy seems to have a few screws loose.

The one thing that is certain is that Singapore belongs to Malaysia. :rolleyes:

SotongMee

Yes, Singapore had once belonged to Malaysia.

Buk Kut Teh is a Singapore delicacy invented by Cina coolies in the alleys of Clarke Quay and Boat Quay.

Same as Curry fish head invented by early FT from India,
migrants who could only afford cheap fish heads.

Melayu bumis don't eat babi, how can it be a Malaysian dish?

The Hainanese chicken rice is a Hainanese dish,

Penang laksa is different from Singapore laksa.
Singapore laksa is called Curry Mee in all parts of Malaysia.

Even Mee Siam is Siam (Thai) ...where got Malaysia patent one?

The one thing that is certain is that Singapore belongs to Malaysia. :rolleyes:

"Siam" is Thai

Mee Siam means Thai noodles

Mee Rebus is Lor Mee or Lu Mian a chinese dish.

It's correct that Mee Siam is a Malay dish originating from or imitating Thai dish. That's why the Mee Siam gravy is a mix of sweet, sour and spicy tastes like many Thai dishes. The use of Chinese beehoon instead of thin Thai kwayteow is because of availability, or lack of it. Thin Thai kwayteow wasn't fashionable or easily available in Malaya. The closest substitute, which worked out fine, was Chinese beehoon.

Mee Rebus actually means boiled noodle in Malay, the gravy is pure Malay recipe having no direct connection with Chinese lormee. Nevertheless, the name Mee Rebus still has indirect connection to the Chinese yellow boiled noodle (shumian 熟面 or sekmee in Hokkien), cause the gravy goes best with this type of noodle and became standard serving.

moolightaffairs

Buk Kut Teh is a Singapore delicacy invented by Cina coolies in the alleys of Clarke Quay and Boat Quay.

you are right!!! fucking mudlandsian really never find out and dare to claim it!!! even chili crab is invented by sinkapoor restaurent!!! Ng yen yen??? a chinese, but stay too long in mudlandsia also got those mudland mentality! a disgrace to the chinese!!! :oIo:

I don't understand why they would want to try and promote tourism by claiming that these dishes originated from their country.
Wouldn't it be easier and smarter to claim that tourists could get very delicious versions of these dishes in their countries?

postnew

HT090609W06.jpg
2002112019642.jpg
ng%20yen%20yen%203.jpg

her fav food, roti canai
se_04ng-300x216.jpg

manifesto.jpg

旅游部长拿督斯里黄燕燕週三(9月16日)在2009年大马国际美食节和一个马来西亚美食推介礼上致词时说,大马有很多好吃的美食,其中辣椒炒螃蟹和海南鸡饭更是大马人的美食。
她说,为了確保大马美食不被其他国家“骑劫”,她和部门秘书长拿督黄宏炳及旅游促进局总监拿督米尔查决定要索取这些美食的拥有权,惟她不愿透露详情。

annexa

This is mudland tactic to divert attention from their own problems. Every time also the same. When mudland got problem or infighting, they will say "TURN OFF THE TAP". Now this woman wants to try something more creative.

Just stand at the causeway, point finger and laugh at them. Maybe hold up banner show Mudland is the capital of pirate software, CD, DVD.

KuanTi01

What a laugh! After they kena whacked by the Indons & deservedly so, they now focus their cross-hairs on Sinkapore! Chilli crabs, bak kut teh hainanese chicken rice Malaysian? More like Sinkaporean signature dishes or local chefs' creations. Nasi lemak maybe but then the Indons also hv nasi lemak! Another big fight coming up between Indon. & Malaysia. As for Sinkapore, we've got no balls to fight!:biggrin: Just carry on eating lol.:biggrin:

This is mudland tactic to divert attention from their own problems. Every time also the same. When mudland got problem or infighting, they will say "TURN OFF THE TAP". Now this woman wants to try something more creative.

Just stand at the causeway, point finger and laugh at them. Maybe hold up banner show Mudland is the capital of pirate software, CD, DVD.

This a minister from MCA. With Gerakan practically wiped out by DAP, they'd be next to face collapse among Malaysian Chinese voters, with all the infighting, sex and corruption scandals etc.

Notice that she highlighted some Chinese crowd pleasing dishes like Hainanese chicken rice and even bakkuteh. Bakkuteh as a national dish in an Muslim country where women could get flogged for drinking beer? This is a comically desparate and potentially dangerous political stunt. But I don't think that many Malays are amused.

If I recall correctly, many years ago UNMO politicians tried something like that to rally Malay support too. They claimed keris and batik to be of sole Malaysian national heritage. Indonesians were not amused.

The only dish that is exclusive to Singapore is the Fish Head Curry which originated from Klang Rd off serangoon Road. The creator's sons now operate Muthu and Apollo Banana leaf.

The rest is all Malaya (Singapore being part of Malaysia).

TeeKee

wah last night watch Travel channel...

talked about food in/ around Malaysia...

roti prata, rendang beef, char kuay teow, laksa, desserts....the angmo lady seems to enjoy every spicy dishes!! even got a chance to fried kuay teow at penang...wah they used banana leaves instead of plates to serve...so authentic man..

almost anything you can find in singapore, malaysia also have...maybe even more.

cheaper some more...

other than JB, how come the rest of malaysia looks so nice and peaceful? so laid back, like OZ land..

Char_Azn

wah last night watch Travel channel...

talked about food in/ around Malaysia...

roti prata, rendang beef, char kuay teow, laksa, desserts....the angmo lady seems to enjoy every spicy dishes!! even got a chance to fried kuay teow at penang...wah they used banana leaves instead of plates to serve...so authentic man..

almost anything you can find in singapore, malaysia also have...maybe even more.

cheaper some more...

other than JB, how come the rest of malaysia looks so nice and peaceful? so laid back, like OZ land..

Our history and MY history are pretty much tied together before independence, is it any surprise that whatever U can find here U can find in MY?

There is precious little(if any) that MY can claim as their own that we cannot make the same claim. I think this woman have had a few screws loose. As far as I am concern SG food = different variation of MY food.

Some food which are pretty well documented to have originated from SG like CNY Yu Sheng, Pepper Crab, Chilli Crab can also be found in MY. U dun see us making a big fuss about it.

Their stupid minister is just trying to make noise to get publicity.