• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Degree, work in stat board, MSO(3) good?

willieregister

Dear all,

I believe there are alot of people out here who are very knowledgeable about pay/politics in Singapore. I am making a decision about something, pls help if can..

I am holding a UOL degree (2nd lower honors) in Economics, and have just gotten a position in a certain stat board. However, the post I'm applying for is actually a executive service officer post (most of the degree posts are unavailable). As such, I understand that the post is actually for Diploma holders with 2-3 years working experience.

During the interview, I had the impression that I will be given degree grade while holding this position. But I received the call from HR, while I was delighted that I selected, I realised from HR that my payscale grading is not degree grade, but diploma grade. HR had informed me that for degree grading, the scale is something call SUPERSCALE, HASE or AMAX (something like that, i'm not sure sorry). But for my case, it will be MSO because the post is actually MSO. And because of my experience, I am given MSO grade 3. So, in a way, I will be in this scale all the way, going forward.

My friends told me that it will be very hard for me to change scale (from dipolma to degree scale) and next time if I"m promoted, I will be promoted from MSO grade 3 to 4, to 5, etc... and will not be going to upwards, but moving along that scale.

Does anyone know what does it mean? I heard that it's also performance based... May I know what is the increment for scales such as MSO(3). Is there any bonus in stats board (I heard there's performance, mid-year, year end bonus)? Then in the event i'm promoted, does that means that I"m getting MSO(4) while retaining my designation.

I dont' know and I will be calling HR tomorrow to let them know my decision!

That said, I must say that I appreciate that I've found a job in stat board in this bad times. They are only looking for one position and I got it. I have thanked God and I really appreciate. I am only curious about the payscale, paygrade that stat board is offering (I've never worked in stat board before).

Please give me your advice, gentlemen.

SneeringTree

You should have done your distance learning for an English degree and not Economics.

Sorry but the hard truth is that an external degree (and not even a good honours degree!) is only shit in the eyes of the government (and by extension, the statutory boards). Be resigned to your fate as a glorified clerk for the rest of your life.

My advice to you is this: if this is the only job offer that you have, just take it.

Maverick01

MSO schemes are for Diploma holders. You should have gone for an MXO scheme job...if u r desperate for the job then take it up and see if you got other job options subsequently. I see that u are keen with regards to advancement. For an MSO post, I doubt its very enriching if u r a degree holder even from SIM...The public service do recognise certain external degrees but dependant on what field and what uni..

Dear all,

I believe there are alot of people out here who are very knowledgeable about pay/politics in Singapore. I am making a decision about something, pls help if can..

I am holding a UOL degree (2nd lower honors) in Economics, and have just gotten a position in a certain stat board. However, the post I'm applying for is actually a executive service officer post (most of the degree posts are unavailable). As such, I understand that the post is actually for Diploma holders with 2-3 years working experience.

During the interview, I had the impression that I will be given degree grade while holding this position. But I received the call from HR, while I was delighted that I selected, I realised from HR that my payscale grading is not degree grade, but diploma grade. HR had informed me that for degree grading, the scale is something call SUPERSCALE, HASE or AMAX (something like that, i'm not sure sorry). But for my case, it will be MSO because the post is actually MSO. And because of my experience, I am given MSO grade 3. So, in a way, I will be in this scale all the way, going forward.

My friends told me that it will be very hard for me to change scale (from dipolma to degree scale) and next time if I"m promoted, I will be promoted from MSO grade 3 to 4, to 5, etc... and will not be going to upwards, but moving along that scale.

Does anyone know what does it mean? I heard that it's also performance based... May I know what is the increment for scales such as MSO(3). Is there any bonus in stats board (I heard there's performance, mid-year, year end bonus)? Then in the event i'm promoted, does that means that I"m getting MSO(4) while retaining my designation.

I dont' know and I will be calling HR tomorrow to let them know my decision!

That said, I must say that I appreciate that I've found a job in stat board in this bad times. They are only looking for one position and I got it. I have thanked God and I really appreciate. I am only curious about the payscale, paygrade that stat board is offering (I've never worked in stat board before).

Please give me your advice, gentlemen.

... I am only curious about the payscale, paygrade that stat board is offering ...
u shud ask ze hr dese questions ...

looks like dey dun c ur degree as a degree ... question dem ...

agree wif ze other bro dat if u dun hv any option offer ... juz take it 1st la ...

VeryWise

Hey TS, not to dampen your spirits, your degree is not going to take you very far in the Stat board. In fact, my local degree will not take me far too in the public sector too. And starting in your position is even harder. I have no doubt about your enthu and you definitely sound like a very motivated person. However, you must understand that in that position, you might not have the opportunity to shine. You could be given very mundane stuffs to handle. I am not sure how much you heard about the system. I can only tell you that if you are not a scholar, it's just very hard to climb high. If you dun mind that, it is a pretty stable and safe place to work till retirement.

My humble suggestion: take up the offer, learn as much as you can, upgrade again along the way, maybe get some professional certification, try again in the private sector when the times are better.

popdod

At this point of time...got job consider very lucky liao!
Take it and accumulate ur experience.

Once economy recover (god nose when...) then start to job hop.

:biggrin: :p :biggrin:

Yoshitei

Someone here once mentioned that in a stat board, your promotion and pay increment is not dependent on your performance or your degree but on your results from primary school onwards.

And if I recalled correctly he was some retired HR manager for a stat board.

How true, I don't know.

willieregister

Dear all,

Thanks for the advice, everyone. Maybe I'll describe abit about myself.

I'm currently 32 this year. Was a financial advicer (insurance agent lah) before that but did not excel. Reason: I am more towards the introvert and dispite all the training and 'sales kit' i've gone through, I couldn't breakthrough and was earning like $2k (or less) per month, commission based? And no rest days, long working hours of meeting prospects, etc. Moreover, I don't really like to meet new people actually as I always have to 'fake smile' and 'corporate talk' with them. Whenever I tried to tell my managers that I'm not cut out for this line, they will be annoyed and said, "It's all in your mind! If you say you can do it, you can... (blah blah)" and all these sales talk.

My friends have told me that I"m frank, good in listening, encouraging, being there as a good friend in company, etc; but not very good when it comes to sales because I always feel that i'm 'cheating' on them if I'm going to sell them something (or ask them to invest something) when I MYSELF DON'T BUY/INVEST IN!

And as days go by, I feel more and more gulity stricken and I got this job offer as a friend helped me applied.

Before that, I had worked as a business development executive ($3k) in another financial firm but was disliked by my female boss because .... when she 'hinted' me that the air con was not on, I told her: "but I thought you are seating nearer to the air con? and when she said, "I'm abit hungry (during tea breaks)", I told her: "I also, if you are going down to buy something, help me buy too...."

I know i'm not good with office politics. I"m trying and I have even asked friends to teach me about it, but I"m still lacking in this skill. I am not going to kill anyone, but I don't even know the basic common sense and ... that's why I left the financial sector.

I don't understand why we can be joking and talking during work, and when we arrived at the ground floor lift, everyone just keep quiet suddenly and acted as though everyone does not know each other?!

There's once I even confronted a fellow colleguage in the firm and asked him if he does not like me is it? I actually meant well, because I sensed that he don't like me. And he was shocked I approached him just like that! He denyed and laughed it off. I thought ok liao... .like army days where we guys just get over easily. But not so. I think word spread, and my manager actually asked me "are you ok?"

I do hear that stat board people are more family oriented and got more aunties/uncles... and I'm just hoping that I can fit in.

Singapore's World Records
On this small island lives the 30 best-paid politicians in the world, comments a blogger. MySingaporeNews.
Apr 3, 2009
As the economic crisis worsens and thousands are being retrenched, the huge salaries of Singapore's political leaders have come under the spotlight not only here - but overseas.
With G20 leaders gathering in London to work out solutions to the global crisis, the Times compiled a list of "the 10 best-paid politicians in the world" - naturally with Singapore's Prime Minister Lee Hsien Loong taking the top spot.
The story was picked up by The Australia, which also works out their salaries when ranked against population.
Mr Lee earns S$3.76 million (US$2.47 million) a year, excluding bonuses, allowances, pensions, etc which add on a significant bit.
This is about 54 cents per head of population. In second position was his counterpart from New Zealand at 9 cents. The rest of the world are all down there, below even the lowest-ranking minister in Singapore.
But Singaporean blogger redbean's "My Singapore News" carries a calculation from its reader, Green Peas, expanding on the UK and Australian reports.
It pointed out that the world's 30 best-paid politicians (a definition that will include ministers, elected president, etc) are all from Singapore.
Here's what the blogger says:
The TOP 30 highest paid politicians in the world are all from Singapore:
1. Elected President SR Nathan - S$3.9 million.
2. Prime Minister Lee Hsien Loong - S$3.8 million.
3. Minister Mentor Lee Kuan Yew - S$3.5 million.
4. Senior Minister Goh Chok Thong - S$3.5 million.
5. Senior Minister Prof Jayakumar - S$3.2 million.
6. DPM & Home Affairs Minister Wong Kan Seng - S$2.9 million.
7. DPM & Defence Minister Teo Chee Hean - $2.9 million
8. Foreign Affairs Minister George Yeo - S$2.8 million.
9. National Development Minister Mah Bow Tan - S$2.7 million.
10. PMO Miniser Lim Boon Heng - S$2.7 million.
11. Trade and Industry Minister Lim Hng Kiang - S$2.7 million.
12. PMO Minister Lim Swee Say - S$2.6 million.
13. Environment Minister & Muslim Affairs Minister Dr Yaccob Ibrahim - S$2.6 million.
14. Health Minister Khaw Boon Wan - S$2.6 million.

15. Finance Minister S Tharman - S$2.6 million.
16. Education Minister & 2nd Minister for Defence Dr Ng Eng Hen - S$2.6 million.
17. Community Development Youth and Sports Minister - Dr Vivian Balakrishnan - S$2.5 million.
18. Transport Minister & 2nd Minister for Foreign Affairs Raymond Lim Siang Kiat - S$2.5 million.
19. Law Minister & 2nd Minister for Home Affairs K Shanmugam - S$2.4 million.
20. Manpower Minister Gan Kim Yong - S$2.2 million.
21. PMO Minister Lim Hwee Hwa - S$2.2 million.
22. Acting ICA Minister - Lui Tuck Yew - S$2.0 million.
23 to 30 = Senior Ministers of State and Ministers of State - each getting between S$1.8 million to S$1.5 million.
Note: 1. The above pay does not include MP allowances, pensions and other sources of income such as Directorship, Chairmnship, Advisory, Consultancy, etc to Gov-linked and gov-related organisations or foreign MNCs such as Citigroup, etc.
2. Though it is based on an estimate, the data cannot be far off the official salary scales.
The above was posted in redbeanforum by Green Peas.
(London Times report: http://timesbusiness.typepad.com/mon...the-world.html)
http://mysingaporenews.blogspot.com/...icians-in.html

Charlie9

Pleaae watch your spelling [ use spell check ]

Dear all,

Thanks for the advice, everyone. Maybe I'll describe abit about myself.

I'm currently 32 this year. Was a financial advicer (insurance agent lah) before that but did not excel. Reason: I am more towards the introvert and dispite all the training and 'sales kit' i've gone through, I couldn't breakthrough and was earning like $2k (or less) per month, commission based? And no rest days, long working hours of meeting prospects, etc. Moreover, I don't really like to meet new people actually as I always have to 'fake smile' and 'corporate talk' with them. Whenever I tried to tell my managers that I'm not cut out for this line, they will be annoyed and said, "It's all in your mind! If you say you can do it, you can... (blah blah)" and all these sales talk.

My friends have told me that I"m frank, good in listening, encouraging, being there as a good friend in company, etc; but not very good when it comes to sales because I always feel that i'm 'cheating' on them if I'm going to sell them something (or ask them to invest something) when I MYSELF DON'T BUY/INVEST IN!

And as days go by, I feel more and more gulity stricken and I got this job offer as a friend helped me applied.

Before that, I had worked as a business development executive ($3k) in another financial firm but was disliked by my female boss because .... when she 'hinted' me that the air con was not on, I told her: "but I thought you are seating nearer to the air con? and when she said, "I'm abit hungry (during tea breaks)", I told her: "I also, if you are going down to buy something, help me buy too...."

I know i'm not good with office politics. I"m trying and I have even asked friends to teach me about it, but I"m still lacking in this skill. I am not going to kill anyone, but I don't even know the basic common sense and ... that's why I left the financial sector.

I don't understand why we can be joking and talking during work, and when we arrived at the ground floor lift, everyone just keep quiet suddenly and acted as though everyone does not know each other?!

There's once I even confronted a fellow colleguage in the firm and asked him if he does not like me is it? I actually meant well, because I sensed that he don't like me. And he was shocked I approached him just like that! He denyed and laughed it off. I thought ok liao... .like army days where we guys just get over easily. But not so. I think word spread, and my manager actually asked me "are you ok?"

I do hear that stat board people are more family oriented and got more aunties/uncles... and I'm just hoping that I can fit in.

Either I am currently 32
or I will be 32 this year
Not how you have written.

Advisor not advicer

I am an introvert
or I am more of an introvert, rather than an extrovert

I suggest that you may wish to consider reading the following, amongst others:
How to Win Friends and Influence People by Dale Carnegie (I believe);
Get Smarter, Life and Business Lessons by Seymour Schulich , ISBN-13: 978-1-55470-15-5, ISBN-10: 1-55470-115-5

Interaction with other individuals is part of life, and accordingly, consider swimming with the current.

STUCK_HERE

Take the job, it's a good stepping stone. While in the job, look for areas of your work you would like to specialise in. Build up your resume to reflect those area. For eg. if you are doing administration, make yourself a office administrator or something and write it up in your resume properly. Then look for another job as soon as you are in this job. Everyday in this MSO job, goes to improving your resume for greater things.

Re: Pleaae watch your spelling [ use spell check ]

Either I am currently 32
or I will be 32 this year
Not how you have written.

Advisor not advicer

I am an introvert
or I am more of an introvert, rather than an extrovert

I suggest that you may wish to consider reading the following, amongst others:
How to Win Friends and Influence People by Dale Carnegie (I believe);
Get Smarter, Life and Business Lessons by Seymour Schulich , ISBN-13: 978-1-55470-15-5, ISBN-10: 1-55470-115-5

Interaction with other individuals is part of life, and accordingly, consider swimming with the current.

He dun mixed much with unsinkified people, that is why he is still very much sinkie-educated. He have to mixed with the right people so that he habitual usage of sentence will change.

sunny302

I must say that I appreciate that I've found a job in stat board in this bad times. They are only looking for one position and I got it. I have thanked God and I really appreciate. I am only curious about the payscale, paygrade that stat board is offering (I've never worked in stat board before).

I think getting a grade of MSO3 (Management Support Officer) scheme is not that bad as you will be accorded Div 1 status.

Take whatever is being offered now and move on later when the ecomomy picks up.

SneeringTree

There is office politics everywhere! The statutory boards are no exceptions. In fact, one of the bitchier, back-stabbing organization there is today is Singapore Tourism Board.

Don't just say: oh, my character is such and such therefore no sense to handle office politics.

If you are still not at least surviving in office environment, you are definitely not trying hard enough.

Don't excuse your incompetencies with your supposed good nature. Paying back-handed compliments to yourself, like you have done, is actually a good office politics strategy. So at least you can do something right!

t123

well, as long as u dun graduate from NUS,NTU,SMU, not a PSC, SAF, any scholars. Even how gd you are also like that. I was once like that full of aspirations then was told as long as you are not elite you are fucked. Once you step in, wait long long for promotions and other fringe. They will only promote when the above have all been promoted. Don't hope too much. Once you are not scholars, those clerical staff who worked at least 2 3 decades also look down on you. Even you outperform the scholars despite they fucked up, as long as they dun fucked big time, they will still be your head. Last time, one of my ex colleague from Michigan Uni, so what, he is still MXO or MSO depsite he could write great report. Most of all, your dept director must also be on the upside, or the fav of the Perm Sec, if not also fucked big time.

hairylee

If your parents are not MIWs or at least their cronies you are fucked. You can have the best of abilities but the next person is as abovementioned, he will still be ahead of you. Meritor-crazy is just LKY bushit to ensure all the smart ass comply to his rule. For future generations of MPs, the first criteria will be given to ex-MPs children.