• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Committee of Inquiry: 100 armed police ran away when faced with 25 rioters

GoldenPeriod

The Straits Times
Monday, Feb 24, 2014

The police were accused of "poor judgment" yesterday, with the Committee of Inquiry (COI) saying the Little India rioters "had full freedom to do what they wanted".

Committee chairman G. Pannir Selvam told Deputy Commissioner of Police T. Raja Kumar - the Acting Commissioner on Dec8 - that police strategy, coordination and action that night had been found wanting.

A decision was made by Deputy Assistant Commissioner (DAC) Lu Yeow Lim, commander of Tanglin Police Division, for officers stationed at roads around the scene to "hold the ground" and contain the rioters until Special Operations Command (SOC) troops arrived.
But Mr Selvam said this gave the mob "a good protected area" where they could destroy government property with impunity. The former Supreme Court judge also pointed out that there were over 100 police officers along Race Course Road that night and only about 25 active rioters.

On the night of the riot, it took 12 minutes to approve the ground commander's request for the specialist troops to be activated. The first troop then took another 38 minutes to arrive at the scene due to traffic congestion.
Mr Raja Kumar also noted that officers had difficulty communicating with base using their radios while phone lines were jammed with members of the public calling with information.

Mr Raja Kumar emphasised that the first officers to reach the scene were not trained to deal with large-scale riots. While all officers were armed, they chose not to respond with force - despite being pelted with projectiles - as it was not felt to be a life-threatening situation.

http://news.asiaone.com/news/singapore/olice-quizzed-about-decision-hold-ground

This is plain amateurish.

fedup

The elite PTU of the Singapore Police Force was formed with two main roles: to keep public order, and maintain public security.

Perhaps the most visible and recognisable ambassador of the PTU is the Anti-Riot vehicle, or more colloquially known as the ‘Ang Qia’ (Hokkien for Red car).

Along with the Water Cannon, the two huge Ang Qias are impossible to miss, and they signal that the elite PTU officers are around, somewhere.

In contrast to the other elusive elite units of the Singapore Police Force, the PTU is highly visible, and with a cause too.

The 1950 Maria Hertogh riots took the lives of 18 people with more than 170 others injured.

It was quickly realised that a contingent tactical force was sorely needed to tackle dangerous and volatile situations, prompting the birth of the Singapore Riot Squad in 1953.

By 1980, the Singapore Riot Squad was renamed the Police Tactical Force.

In 2003, the Police Tactical Force underwent an enhancement of capabilities to become the Police Tactical Unit (PTU), Singapore’s sentries of public order and public security in response to the growing terror threat.

This was in preparation of Singapore hosting major world events such as the World Bank meetings in 2006, ASEAN Summit in 2007 and 2009 Singapore Grand Prix.

As such, one can often see PTU officers in dark-coloured gear equipped with their MP5, patrolling crowded areas.

“Quite a few times, tourists will be very alarmed and ask if something is going to happen. In other countries, only when something happens, then they will see the police officers on the ground patrolling,” said Deputy Superintendent (Dy Supt) Lim, 33.

“But we take a more pro-active stance; we want to be there before anything happens… hence we are always on standby so that we are ready to respond immediately.”

During major festive seasons, one can also catch the PTU officers in action.

“Our job is to disperse crowds, and most importantly, ensure that everyone gets home safely,” said Dy Supt Lim.

“Whatever we do to protestors, for example the use of smoke grenades, we have tried it on ourselves… so that after we’ve used it, we know that they are still safe. It also helps us to gauge their reaction, and react better.”

While the officers’ sophisticated gear and weaponry play their roles in deterring security threats, the PTU’s greatest weapons are the officers themselves.

Donning gear that weighs at least 10 kg, it takes more just than strength to perform their duties to their best.

True to their commitment to being more than physically fit to carry out all their duties, their training schedule includes serious fitness trainings, orderly drills to instil public order, and fire-arms practise.

Serious fitness trainings include marathon and interval training, and running up and down 10 flights of stairs multiple times, in their full combat gear which can weigh beyond 10 kg.

“We cannot discount the possibility of say, running up the stairs of Pan Pacific hotel for example, to do our work… so we have to run up (for trainings)! Sometimes, using the lift isn’t an option for us,” said Dy Supt Lim.

“But physical trainings can be too serious… so sometimes we also do sports such as basketball and badminton, which also gels the team together atop our fitness goals.”

“While there is no public order incident reported in the media, we don’t take it for granted. We train very hard… We are ready once anything happens,” said Dy Supt Lim.

lol lol lol lol :rolleyes:

So is it 'poor judgement' or 'maximum restraint'? I thought pinky and mr ho makan breakfast with all the matas?

Now we know the poodles ratio liao, 100:25 will not take action. 250:25 only then take action.

Chee%20Siok%20Chin%20detained.jpg

160906%20-%20Chee%20Siok%20Chin%20at%20night.jpg

160906%20-%20Chee%20Siok%20Chin%20ringed%20by%20police.jpg

When they have oppisitions or SINGAPOREANS, non-violent, protest against, what is stiffing them...YOU THINK THE SPF is so kind that, they send only a token force.....SINGAPOREANS they bully...hate to say this...but that is the truth...other than that...THEY ARE NOT PREPARED....what a shame! SPF is efficient, , well trained...BUT NOT PREPARED!!

This is also the sad refelction of the government we have...efficient, very educated, well trained...in crises...they are 'headless chicken'..the choice is yours!:rolleyes:

batman1

They see sinkees they bully.
When faced with foreigners,their balls dropped to the ground.
Pui !!!!!!

So is it 'poor judgement' or 'maximum restraint'? I thought pinky and mr ho makan breakfast with all the matas?

Now we know the poodles ratio liao, 100:25 will not take action. 250:25 only then take action.

They look like in a prayer session .

The police have their priorities correct.
They also send 5 police cars to a HDB carpark to 'confront' a drunken woman driver who slammed 5 cars.
Such is the use of our precious "resources" as mentioned by our DPM Big Nose Teo.

escher

The police in the image of smear of shit on sole of shoe LKY

THEY CAN ONLY BULLY AND INTIMIDATE AND USE KNUCKLEDUSTER AND HATCHETS ON PEOPLE THAT THEY OVERWHELMINLY OUTNUMBERED.

LKY NEVER TOOK ON ANYONE. LKY MUST HAVE THE FUCKING CORRUPT PERVERTED KANGAROOS AND POLICE TO BEAT THEM UP FIRST BEFORE HE WALK INTO THAT CUL DE SAC WITH HIS HATCHET KNOWING THE OTHER ALREADY HAD THE KNEES SMASHED AND ARMS BROKEN

I SPIT ON THE FUCKING STINKAPORE POLICE FORCE
ALL OF US SPIT ON THE FUCKING STINKAPORE POLICE FORCE

HIDING IN THE FUCKING AMBULANCE

WE ALL SPIT ON THE FUCKING PAP AND LKY

TracyTan866

They see sinkees they bully.
When faced with foreigners,their balls dropped to the ground.
Pui !!!!!!

Let them continue with their follies. Let us just continue to highlight their follies

Judgement Day for the pap will come at the next GE and LHL and the dogs will ask "why are Singaporeans so angry with the pap?"

@rmadill0

I agree with the COI. The 100 police should just gunned down the 25 rioters and the remaining 20,000 workers will run back to their dormitories and hide under their beds, shaking in fears.

Killing a few drunkard Indian workers trying to burn police cars and ambulances is definitely justifiable.

TracyTan866

I dont feel safe anymore.

I thought the SPF can protect Singaporeans from crimes.

Instead, they are the 1st to flee when trouble appears

no_faith

look at the photo, sibei garang sia, surrounding defenseless woman.:eek:
to hold up the defenseless woman, require 6 poodles?:eek:

kezgtree

I agree with the COI. The 100 police should just gunned down the 25 rioters and the remaining 20,000 workers will run back to their dormitories and hide under their beds, shaking in fears.

Killing a few drunkard Indian workers trying to burn police cars and ambulances is definitely justifiable.

In S'pore ,you have to get permission FIRST... before can fire...Damn

No poodle on the ground is going to risk their life or career for a few vehicles.

When their boss say wait, then they will wait. Many poodles are just doing what they are tasked, nothing more.

congo9

The police have their priorities correct.
They also send 5 police cars to a HDB carpark to 'confront' a drunken woman driver who slammed 5 cars.
Such is the use of our precious "resources" as mentioned by our DPM Big Nose Teo.

Act busy mah. More ever, i can meet up and chit chat with my colleagues.

A decision was made by Deputy Assistant Commissioner (DAC) Lu Yeow Lim, commander of Tanglin Police Division, for officers stationed at roads around the scene to "hold the ground" and contain the rioters until Special Operations Command (SOC) troops arrived.
But Mr Selvam said this gave the mob "a good protected area" where they could destroy government property with impunity. The former Supreme Court judge also pointed out that there were over 100 police officers along Race Course Road that night and only about 25 active rioters.

On the night of the riot, it took 12 minutes to approve the ground commander's request for the specialist troops to be activated. The first troop then took another 38 minutes to arrive at the scene due to traffic congestion.
Mr Raja Kumar also noted that officers had difficulty communicating with base using their radios while phone lines were jammed with members of the public calling with information.

300-phalanx.jpg

"Hold Spartans! Hold!"

P.S: Looks like Mr Lu Yeow Lim can forget about his mata promotion. :biggrin: