• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Citizen kena tekan by Foreign talent Aetos Customs Officer at Woodlands!!

RafflesTiger

I wish to relate an unpleasant incident at the Customs checkpoint today at 11am(Saturday). I was on my way back to Singapore by public transport. While I was passing through the customs check, I was stopped just in front of the X ray conveyor belt by CPL Ronald just as I was turning back to grab one of the small containers to put my pack of cigarettes and handphone for scanning.

I was asked to open up the pack for checking although its very clear that the pack has already been opened from the appearance(I usually cover the pack with the back cover to preserve its freshness but its very clear even from shaking it that it wasnt a full pack) I was compliant and did as told. This is the upteen time CPL Ronald has demanded that I open the pack for his inspection. I have been met with sarcastic remarks on previous occasions by him so I did not want any trouble. I proceeded to open up the cover for his inspection.

As I was going back to grab the yellow container, he belligerently said he wanted to count the number of sticks as he was not satisfied with the visual inspection. I obliged and went back for him to do a count. His attitude was very rude. I counted to 15 the number of cigarettes for him but it wasn't enough for him. He demanded that I pour out the cigarettes into a dirty yellow container for futher counting. This is not bona fide and I wonder if its part of the standard protocol? I began to feel that he was overstepping his authority. I felt embarrassed and repeatedly told him not to make life difficult for me. I have never been stopped for counting by any officer from aetos. CPL Ronald(His superior is sergeant Azman) at this time looked confrontational. He told me the 15 cigarettes were subject to tax and he had a right to ask me to pour out the cigarettes. I was in a rush for time and I told him not to make things difficult. I told him I am a Singapore Citizen by birth and I was just entering back to my country. He continued to be difficult and repeated his demands for me to empty the whole pack into the yellow container. At this time, his superior Sergeant Azman came by and told me its standard protocol that they check everyone like that. I know this isn't true and its not the first time CPL Ronald has made things difficult for me. Both of them started to say the cigarettes are taxable and I agreed to pay whatever tax they wanted me to even though I knew for a fact customs does not levy tax for any pack of Malaysian cigarettes unless its a full pack.

If customs rules and regulations dictate checking every individual to this extent then its perfectly fine, but I observed I was the only person singled out for such detailed inspection.

Next they led me to the tax counter and delayed my time further,knowing full well the tax counter wasn't going to tax the 15 sticks. If the tax counter could ascertain the tax and print me a receipt, I am prepared to pay tax.. I didn't know they were bringing me to the tax counter and I thought they were bringing me to a room to detain me. They looked very pleased with themselves and beckoned me to follow them as if I have done something wrong. The tax counter told me there is no tax on the cigarettes even though theres supposed to be tax. He said administratively there is no way to ascertain the amount of tax on each and every pack as there wasn't time to count every pack or something to this effect. He also told me to be careful because customs can still fine me after I step out of the building. I am highly confused. Either there is tax on the item or there is no tax. But I was told there is no tax but by right there should be and I should exercise caution when outside. I have been told this before and I do know this law but never fully understood why. He told me he does not know what happened between me and CPL Ronald or why I was brought to the tax counter. He told me there is no tax and I am free to go.

I proceeded out where I saw sergeant Azman again. I asked him for the rank and name of Ronald. He demanded my passport and I was led to another room not knowing why he asked me to follow him nor if he has impounded my passport. He did not explain why he took my passport away till way later. Is it standard procedure to allow the aetos officer to take my passport without explaining why he took it and if its proper that I follow him to yet another room not knowing whats happening to me? I asked him if he is employed in the Singapore Police and he told me he represents the Singapore Government, but he isn't a civil servant.

I am very disturbed by the persistent attempts by CPL Ronald to make things difficult for me at the Customs. I am a law abiding citizen of the Republic of Singapore and I am proud of this country. I do not wish for my entry back to my country to be made so tedious. I hear from his slang that he isn't a Singapore Citizen. As to why he wants to make it so difficult for me, I do not know but I am deeply saddened by this incident. I do not know if sergeant Azman told me the correct name of Ronald but quite a few aetos officers witnessed the incident and i noticed a staff sergeant as well.

I would appreciate it if you could investigate the incident, and explain if my encounter fell within the boundaries of standard operating procedure and address my relevant concerns.

At my own country's border, I am being tekan by a FT... Is this acceptable?? That FT is only sec 2 std only... Acceptable??

rofthelper

Strictly speaking, if u bring any unpaid duty cigarettes not exceeding 0.4 kilogrammes, you are required to proceed to the Customs Red Channel and declare the cigarettes to the ICA officers. U are just being unlucky to meet such a shit-ass AETOS officer. Usually just put yr unpaid duty cigarettes into the basket, they will clear you. But that doesn't mean you can smoke freely in the public, if the custom officers catch you smoking unpaid cigarettes, you can be liable for a fine.

Interesting thing to note, even if you bring SDPC-marked cigarettes into Singapore, you have to declare. Lol.

Rubbish lah, AETOS Security Management, is a wholly-owned subsidiary of Temasek Holdings Pte Ltd. What represent government. Wtf.

Raiders

When anything is related to these few sensitive words like customs, immigration, you are considered wrong the moment you behaved agitated, rude or raise your voice. This is the general experience I had from traveling.

Charlie258

When anything is related to these few sensitive words like customs, immigration, you are considered wrong the moment you behaved agitated, rude or raise your voice. This is the general experience I had from traveling.

Yah, when crossing any type or kind of Border Checkpoint, accept that "they" are always right, "they" can never be wrong. Then your life will be a lot easier.

I know one old Karang Guni Uncle who like to mess with these Customs FT employees. They detain him for hours at a stretch. He is pleased that he is at long last getting some attention from somebody. In the end, everybody satisfied. He cannot read or write, though. So, we do not get to read about his adventures in ST Forum.

Years ago, during a trip to New Delhi, witnessed a Briton kena Tekan Jialat Jialat by the immigration/customs. The story goes like this. Immigration officer politely told this Angmo cannot read his handwriting on the arrival card. Angmo become kuai lan and passed a sacarstic remark, something like "this is unbelievable! you cannot read english??....".

Never say, still OK, said already, Immigration heard it and ask what Angmo just said. Angmo should not admit saying those words. Instead, become more Kuai Lan and say he cannot believe that a immigration officer don't know how to read English. The immigration officer tore the immigration card and ask Ang Mo to go fill in a new arrival card. Guess what happen next? This kuai lan Ang Mo now demand to see the immigration officer's boss.
Immigration officer than make a phone call and his boss came with group of officers. They escort him to a room. The Ang Mo refused and they forcefully do it. Can see the Ang Mo being dragged and kicking his legs shouting vulgarities. After that, all the travelers took out the arrival cards to check if they fill the form nicely. Me was just 2 person behind the queue and the entire espisode last almost 20 minutes.

Morale of story: Don't Kuai Lan with Immigration be it in your own country or other countries.

Unrepented

Imagine a one party rule.

Poodle lau lan, pick on an individual, bully him/her, you lan lan.

Even you complain to miw mp, they also cover up....at the very most, just a slap on the wrist of the errant poodle. You know why we need at least one third opp in parliament?

sirus

First, must ask the author whom had he/she voted in May 2011.
Author's encounter with this Cpl not 1st time. Never mind for now lan lan, bio him back.
Next time round, ask partner to tactically video the event. Then got video got talk mah. he..he..

Kuailan

Please dont smoke lah...smokers always think they re right by bringing cigarettes from JB open pack,
which u r not supposed to, if u r caught in Sg with one stick of illegal cigarette u r liable to be
fine $500.00 even one stick..smoke for what?? money becomes smoke what u gain??

Unrepented

Crux of the matter is not about smoking or ciggies. If the guy isn't a smoker, the poodle will still find something else with grey area, loopholes and common practices at law to tekkan him.

How many sgp go tour and buy imported stuff back into Singapore without declaration? Do you know if you bring back goods with more than sgd400 in aggregate, got to declare and pay GST? If they want to tekkan, can also ask you to open lagguage and check.

Please dont smoke lah...smokers always think they re right by bringing cigarettes from JB open pack,
which u r not supposed to, if u r caught in Sg with one stick of illegal cigarette u r liable to be
fine $500.00 even one stick..smoke for what?? money becomes smoke what u gain??

Lizzert

Suggest you edit (shorten) your post to relevant and important facts and send it to a senior ICA representative and ask for an official reply.
Also mention that you need clarification, so as not to experience a repeat at the customs again in future.

lianbeng

lianbeng went for cisco training and learned that many cisco n aetos mata are foreigners now. why ha?:confused:

I often go to JB & all these hassles are part returning to Spore.

I've taken the taxi from JB to Spore. Taxi was stopped & delayed for 1.5 hours.
Taken the bus & upon returning been asked what was in my pockets

From time to time they catch a "smuggler" & use him as an example to scare the other monkeys. What to do, AETOS is just doing their job of squeezing the peasants.

Fook Seng

They should pick the right people to man the customs and immigration. Other than security issues, there is the issue of national image. You do not visitors to feel like they are visiting a different country. For some things, money is not the only issue.

sirus

Like that must enlist Uncle Yap to help
In HD some more

Oh yes, UC might be good for this. But ha, I kiasu a bit I chio as many cameraman as I can, if 1 kenna tangkap there're still many to prove this FT Cpl. gone overboard. he..he..

Airlib

This I totally agreed. I think if we want to put a ranking for Kuai Lan uniformed personnel in SG, I think the Custom will ranked first, followed by the Police. Had seen quite a few cases of Customs making things difficult for people. Local or not....

heard from somewhere, may be Ramseth can clarify, that those in ICQ are those CMI from police force

In the SPF, the promising junior officers are tested with investigation posting in land divisions or CID. Others are deployed for work with operations planning. There is nothing much for an officer to empower himself with checkpoints duties.

fukyuman

Bravo. Take on the fucking Aetos bastards. The Malaysian shitheads are always overstepping their authority. Again blame the daft 60% for voting PAP.

heard from somewhere, may be Ramseth can clarify, that those in ICQ are those CMI from police force

In any of our major checkpoints, you have police officers from the land division where checkpoint is located (with the exception of Airport Police which has its own division) CNB, Customs, ICA, ISD and either CISCO or AETOS depending on who is contracted.