• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Chew Chor Meng diagnosed with muscular atrophy

<TABLE cellSpacing=0 cellPadding=0 width="100%" border=0><TBODY><TR>Chew Chor Meng diagnosed with muscular atrophy
</TR><!-- headline one : end --><TR>Actor's condition said to strike one in 40,000 people and is incurable </TR><!-- Author --><TR><TD class="padlrt8 georgia11 darkgrey bold" colSpan=2>By Jasmine Teo
</TD></TR><!-- show image if available --><TR vAlign=bottom><TD width=330>
ST_IMAGES_JTCHORMENG.jpg

</TD><TD width=10>
c.gif
</TD><TD vAlign=bottom>
c.gif

Chew sharing news of his spinal and bulbar muscular atrophy with the congregation. He is expected to face 'physical impairment' in the next seven to 15 years, but the disease does not affect life expectancy. ST
</TD></TR></TBODY></TABLE>

<!-- START OF : div id="storytext"--><!-- more than 4 paragraphs -->VETERAN MediaCorp actor Chew Chor Meng said last night that he has been diagnosed with a form of muscular atrophy, an incurable disease where a sufferer's muscles waste away.
The 40-year-old told reporters outside his church, Renewal Centre, in Serangoon that he was diagnosed with spinal and bulbar muscular atrophy, or Kennedy's disease.
He had earlier told the congregation about his condition, which strikes one in 40,000 people and is incurable.
Doctors have told him that in the next seven to 15 years, he will face 'physical impairment', but the disease does not affect life expectancy.
Mr Chew, who is married with two daughters, aged four and six, said his legs have become weaker but he is not taking painkillers or medication for the condition.
He said he is trying to live a normal life but has been advised by doctors not to engage in strenuous activities such as jogging.
The 1990 Star Search champion said that he first experienced back pains in 1997. He consulted Western doctors and Chinese physicians and all of them diagnosed it as a slipped disc. But the treatments had no effect on him.
Last year, the pain worsened and spread to his waist.
In September this year, a doctor who attended the same church as Mr Chew referred him to specialists, who finally diagnosed his condition as spinal and bulbar muscular atrophy.
He said in Mandarin: 'The doctors told me, 'Chor Meng, you have to start spending more time with your family'.'
The actor is famous for playing the Lobang King in the 1996 Channel 8 sitcom, Don't Worry Be Happy, and the titular character in the Channel 5 sitcom, Mr
Kiasu from 2001 to 2002.
He is now seen in the drama, Love Blossoms II, where viewers had observed that he seemed to be limping.
Last night, when he was asked what he was most concerned about, Chew became emotional and said: 'My mum, my wife and my children.' [email protected]

<TABLE cellSpacing=0 cellPadding=0 width="100%" border=0><TBODY><TR>What is muscular atrophy?
</TR><!-- headline one : end --><!-- show image if available --></TBODY></TABLE>

<!-- START OF : div id="storytext"--><!-- more than 4 paragraphs -->SPINAL and bulbar muscular atrophy, or Kennedy's disease, is a rare and currently incurable and non-treatable genetic neuro-muscular disease.
It is named after W.R. Kennedy, an American neurologist who was among the first to describe the disease.
According to the US-based Kennedy's Association website (www.kennedysdisease.org), it causes muscle weakness and wasting throughout the body, and is most noticeable in the arms, legs, face and throat.
In many cases, the disease is misdiagnosed or undiagnosed for years.
Sufferers may experience speech and swallowing difficulties, and major muscle cramps. The symptoms usually appear in adulthood between the ages of 30 and 50.

When I was young, I never heard of these strange illnesses (from friends or relatives). Nowdays get to hear of many strange ailments.

How healthy is Spore?

theblackhole

nothing to do with the health of singapore lah. this type of condition is found everywhere in the world. you sway sway you kena. one of the world's most brilliant thinkers,prof hawkings,also suffers from some form of muscular wasting.but he is so brilliant and he even writes a book. he is better than anyone of us who are "normal". this form of disease nobody really knows. why wasting? why gradually losing strength? why? why? doctors also don't know. just hope that mr chew has the courage and the perseverance to move on despite this disease. he can continue to contribute to mankind by his skill and acting and also by sharing his illness with the world. many celebrities also have all sorts of ailments...and the world will then wake up to appreciate what it is like to have good health. cheers and merry christmas to all.

peasantJUDGE

There are now alot of synthetics which are carcinogenic. Human bodies now contain alot of these foreign substances.

You can find plenty of Detox books out there.

Agree. It's the processed food we eat. For some, the damage may be caused to the genes passed down to children/grandchildren, showing up as new diseases in subsequent generations.

theblackhole

everywhere also got toxic substances lah. this earth is inhabitated by very toxic people who produce very toxic products which kill people in a very toxic way.

feed a man 5kg of salt at one go is also very bad for health... :eek::eek::eek:

Singaporean are dwindling in this island. Either they died serving NS, died in their sleep or affected by strange diseases. PAP even took the cake to inflict more suffering by importing FT with dengue,TB and HIV.

char_jig_kar

maybe i have mild form of dyslexia... i read the title, 'Chew Chor Meng blah blah...' and i tot its a thread about Bar Chor Mee...

Agree. It's the processed food we eat. For some, the damage may be caused to the genes passed down to children/grandchildren, showing up as new diseases in subsequent generations.

After I got my heart illness I had to read to find a solution. The chemicals & syntheics out there is killing us.

Other than the dangerous pollutants out there, the quality & safety of our food has been compromised. Its amazing how trans fat there is everywhere :eek: Go read the food labels & you'll be shocked.

fishbuff

these type of diseases are in existence since ancient times. what u know now is becoz u are more informed as compared to any joes 20-50 years ago.

The_Latest_H

Bad luck, man. I wish him all the best though, and he has my deepest empathy. No-one likes to hear this, especially if he's still pretty young.