• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Serious Bro Lawrence Ask Oppies Can Don't Be So Fucked Up Pls? Come Up With Concrete Ideas To Help Sinkies Lah!

lawrence-wong-opposition-opportunisitic.jpg

The opposition should provide concrete alternatives to raise revenue and “not just opportunistic or populist ideas” to erode trust in the government, Deputy Prime Minister Lawrence Wong said during the parliamentary debate on April 17, in a fresh salvo.

Wong's speech in the debate over President Halimah Yacob’s address at the opening of the second session of parliament in mid-April also mentioned that his role as next prime minister and the tenure of People’s Action Party (PAP) as the government of the day are givens.

Opposition agrees with govt direction
Laying out what an opposition ought to do, he said he believes the Workers’ Party (WP) in particular and the opposition in general "broadly agrees" with and supports the government's policy directions, even if they may want more to be done by the state.

The difference, Wong said, is that the PAP government “will always tell you plainly how we propose to raise revenues and ensure that our Budget remains balanced over the medium term” when it plans to spend more.

Proposed sums don't add up
Wong added that none of these alternatives that WP has put forth will make up for the shortfall, and that “their sums do not add up”, even though the opposition have provided some revenue alternatives.

“Where the opposition have good ideas, or where they can make a contribution to the ideas for improving our country, we welcome them," he said.

“But we ask that you be upfront about the realities and trade-offs we face as a nation, and be honest about your plans, policies and intentions," Wong added, given that Singapore is developing into a mature democracy with a serious government and opposition.

The Goods and Services Tax, GST, in particular, has been an issue the WP has disagreed with, even though it helps to fund initiatives, according to Wong.

He said: “We don’t need to go through the detailed arguments again. But without the GST, which the WP still does not support – and I’m not even talking about the increase in GST but the entire GST, which the Workers' Party still does not support – we will face a huge funding gap.”

"In this debate, and over the course of the remaining term of government, I look forward to hearing concrete alternatives from the opposition – not just opportunistic or populist ideas to chip away, bit by bit, at trust in government, but a serious alternative agenda for an alternative government," he added.

Not a given he will be PM, PAP will be govt
Wong added, as he had said previously, he does not assume that the PAP will win the next general election, nor is it inevitable that he will take over as prime minister.

https://mothership.sg/2023/04/lawrence-wong-pap-opposition-opportunistic/

I believe we can say the same to PAP...please wake up...don't need oppo to teach you how to run a country right?

Comrade Wong should propose to increase Oppo MP allowance as an incentive to help the PAP. At least half a million bucks to Oppo MPs is small change relative to the ministars' pay.

give concrete ideas and they’ll shoot them down but later steal them for their own credit, e.g. rewashable cloth masks. best is to leave them to cum out with their own million dollar ideas.

lawrence-wong-opposition-opportunisitic.jpg

The opposition should provide concrete alternatives to raise revenue and “not just opportunistic or populist ideas” to erode trust in the government, Deputy Prime Minister Lawrence Wong said during the parliamentary debate on April 17, in a fresh salvo.

Wong's speech in the debate over President Halimah Yacob’s address at the opening of the second session of parliament in mid-April also mentioned that his role as next prime minister and the tenure of People’s Action Party (PAP) as the government of the day are givens.

Opposition agrees with govt direction
Laying out what an opposition ought to do, he said he believes the Workers’ Party (WP) in particular and the opposition in general "broadly agrees" with and supports the government's policy directions, even if they may want more to be done by the state.

The difference, Wong said, is that the PAP government “will always tell you plainly how we propose to raise revenues and ensure that our Budget remains balanced over the medium term” when it plans to spend more.

Proposed sums don't add up
Wong added that none of these alternatives that WP has put forth will make up for the shortfall, and that “their sums do not add up”, even though the opposition have provided some revenue alternatives.

“Where the opposition have good ideas, or where they can make a contribution to the ideas for improving our country, we welcome them," he said.

“But we ask that you be upfront about the realities and trade-offs we face as a nation, and be honest about your plans, policies and intentions," Wong added, given that Singapore is developing into a mature democracy with a serious government and opposition.

The Goods and Services Tax, GST, in particular, has been an issue the WP has disagreed with, even though it helps to fund initiatives, according to Wong.

He said: “We don’t need to go through the detailed arguments again. But without the GST, which the WP still does not support – and I’m not even talking about the increase in GST but the entire GST, which the Workers' Party still does not support – we will face a huge funding gap.”

"In this debate, and over the course of the remaining term of government, I look forward to hearing concrete alternatives from the opposition – not just opportunistic or populist ideas to chip away, bit by bit, at trust in government, but a serious alternative agenda for an alternative government," he added.

Not a given he will be PM, PAP will be govt
Wong added, as he had said previously, he does not assume that the PAP will win the next general election, nor is it inevitable that he will take over as prime minister.

https://mothership.sg/2023/04/lawrence-wong-pap-opposition-opportunistic/
Please do not hate on the opposition. Their job is to make the pap look good, and they have been doing that. Hence allowing the pap to stay in power for more than 50 yrs.

millim6868

Papigs always use opposition ideas after a few years when opposition suggested,knn,lol,I didn't see papigs hv any ideas ,except increase erp, cos, hdb ,lol,n also 10cents to can drink ,lol

Sideswipe

the oppositions are in parliament simply to oppose and fuck the pap govt, not to give them concrete ideas so that they can copy it.

give concrete ideas and they’ll shoot them down but later steal them for their own credit, e.g. rewashable cloth masks. best is to leave them to cum out with their own million dollar ideas.

I oridy give them idea... install solar panels and batteries on ships and sail round the Indian Ocean and SCS to get free energy....

Singapore got no land mass for solar panels so cheong the sea mass area lah... put 1000 solar panels ships sails around the sea and ocean and swap batteries still get the same results....

Can eat don't waste...

I oridy give them idea... install solar panels and batteries on ships and sail round the Indian Ocean and SCS to get free energy....

Singapore got no land mass for solar panels so cheong the sea mass area lah... put 1000 solar panels ships sails around the sea and ocean and swap batteries still get the same results....

Can eat don't waste...
they know any ideas from twt on sbf must be very tiu and twit.

Oppies haven't run Singapore before. How can they teach anyone how to run a country?

ya, man! ...

how can u teach any1 2 do sumting wen u urself haf not done dat ting b4? ...

datz n unquestioned privilege oni njoyed by big deal skolars n esteemed talons of ze lightning gang ... remember dat xia xuay burger had so unselfishly n unashamedly shared his gems of intelligens of running a biz wen he never run 1 b4 ...

Loofydralb

"The opposition should provide concrete alternatives to raise revenue and “not just opportunistic or populist ideas”

The only opportunistic idea I see is paying yourselves millions.

borom

If the PAP is correct, the next time you complain that a very expensive restaurant's cooking is not to your taste, you will have to teach their chef how to cook.