• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

BREAKING : Singapore to cease horse racing in Oct 2024

ChinaCommunistSG

口福 Koufu uncles told me that PAP promised to keep race course till the last breath of QE2 and now she has died and so PAP closed race course. Possible meh :/

ChinaCommunistSG

PAP said before independence, Singapore was a slump. How is this possible ? Singapore Turf Club was established in 1842 ? Singapore was already a first world country centuries ago!

Gallego99

Harry Elias, YG Koh and the rest gone? That explains the sudden decision. It's a pity to write off the millions invested in the Kranji facility some 23 years ago. Some farking lame excuse to build another hub.

vamjok

Really puzzling... Horse racing is always to good business.... Why suddenly stop?
was a staff there few years ago, actually it was operating in red when i was there (after taking into consideration of maintenance and operating cost). everyone sort of knows the day will come when we were working there, but cannot imagine it to come so soon. But the revenue generated was actually more than Australia, South Africa and Malaysia races, all the while I have been wondering how those countries Turf Club operate when we were bring so much more money (a few times) but yet still in red.

@tanwahtiu will be happy since turf club horse racing is a symbol and pride of the british empire among her prized colonies. now that the empire is in decline and soon to be non-existent with ceca as pm and king charles cutting back on royal sexpenses, imperial snob-appeal holdovers such as polo, cricket, horse racing, or any british inspired sports that require vast spaces of manicured lawns and tracks (sexcept golf) will be things of the glorious past. let’s celebrate this day with tanwahtiu nei lo mo mai gong lanjiao wei! huat ah!

ftan42

these betting bets are placed by the boomer and when they get lesser and lesser, the business cannot be sustained and have to go someday