• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Bad experience with authority in foreign country

dho20002000

Wanna share my experience w all here & also understand more knowledge on International Immigration regulations.

A fortnight ago, I flew to Vietnam last min to attend an important "family" matter there. It wasn't my first time there alone (been there more than 20 times). When I was approaching the immigration counter to get my passport stamp, I notice the officer was smiling saying something while looking at me. I thought he was talking bout my appearance especially my full sleeve tattoo so I didnt really bother much & proceed to Q. While in line, I notice it was longer than normal as the Angmo tourist was talking to the officer. Shortly after, it was my turn & never once in my life I'd have expected such thing to happen to me. When I walked to the counter, these were the dialog:

Me: Good afternoon (& handed over my passport)
Officer (look at my passport, look at me): Can I see your return ticket?
Me (surprised): :eek: I do not have as I do not know when will I be going back S'pore.
(Officer look at my renewed passport which was collected only 2 days ago again & kept quiet)
Me: Is there any problem?
Officer: Sir, you cannot enter Vietnam without a return ticket. You have to go back Singapore.
Me: I'm not aware of such rule here, sorry. I've been here many times & this is first time ask to show return ticket.
Officer: I cant let you enter our country without a return ticket.
(he took out a Vietnamese language printed & show me)
Officer: Sir, Singapore people can have visa up to 6 months with return ticket. Sorry. You have to go buy a ticket & fly back Singapore.
Me: I'm really sorry I didnt know tt. Can you please help me. My mother-in-law is sick (I lied, she's not sick). Tt's y I do not know when I will go back. I came here very last min. As you can see, I only bought my ticket flying here yesterday night. Please help me. My mother-in-law is very sick & my fiance is waiting for me out there (pointing towards the exit). Please.
Officer: You have a wife here? Call her.
Me: Can I borrow phone? I dont have top up for sim to call her.
(I took out my iPhone 4)
Officer: No no no.... You call her now.
Me: Can I borrow something poke my phone? (showed him my phone where the sim are)
(he ask his colleague for the pin)
Officer: this is your wife? (took my phone pointing the screen, then start looking at some latest photos)
(return my phone after a few flicks. I was thinking tt I'm glad not to have other women's pic there.)
Me: Sir, sim changed but no top up. You lend me your phone & I call her.
Officer: (Gave me back my passport) You have to go buy return ticket & go back Singapore.
Me: (stunned) Come on sir. Dont do this to me. Please.

- If I'm correct, if any deportation should occur to any foreigner, the counter officer or any available officer will escort the foreigner to the secured location/ office to process the deportation procedure.
But I felt funny shortly cos his butt is still glued to his chair & he didnt even call for any officer. He jus kept looking at me & grin.
Then I knew what I have to do.

Me: Please help me sir. thank you. (sandwiched a $50 note in my passport & handed to him)
Officer: Ok. Next time remember to prepare a return ticket. This (pointing into my passport) is souvenir for me. (stamped my passport)
Me: Thank you (took my passport & walked off in quick pace pissed) :mad: :mad: :mad:

I felt relieved when I stepped out of the airport b'cos I finally get to know the feelings of those Beauties coming here happily but instead they were being sent back home.

I'd like to know:

1) Since we do not need any visa to enter certain countries, do we still need a return ticket before being granted entry?

2) Can I choose not to bribe, will I land myself into further trouble?

3) If you r in my shoe, what's ur next action? Go back? Give in? Report?

Any members with any different bad encounters with any authorities, pls share w me. Wanna know the Dos & Donts of all these. Thx.

Now alot of countries require tourists to show proof of a return ticket. I go php, Vn, Indon all have this rule and I always purchase a return ticket to so as to avoid a hassle in a 3rd world country airport. In Vn etc, authorities are big F and they can make life very miserable for a lowly tourist like me. Unless one has connections with the gahmen etc. The best is dont play play.

It quite normal. Airlines will also not allow you to board for certain countries unless you have a return ticket or a visa or a PR status from the destination countries. They will certainly sell you one way on the assumption that you have a visa. Even 1st world countries turn away 1st world visitors without a return visa.

Anyway a return ticket is so much cheaper than buying separate tickets. So the notion is that you can't even afford a return tickets and therefore looking for work in that country.

Trying boarding a flight to US, OZ, UK, and even many countries in the 3rd world without a return ticket and a visa.

What if you want to take a bus trip out of the country:confused:

Nowadays got many people choosing to take the more scenic land route.

dho20002000

What if you want to take a bus trip out of the country:confused:

Nowadays got many people choosing to take the more scenic land route.

Good strong point brought up. The thing about the return ticket is jus BS. If I have the intention of staying as long as I want to illegally, even if there's a return ticket is useless cos I dont intend to leave at all.

One good incident my frn had w our authority at causeway. She a decent Thai student having 10 days break so intend to fly to KL n to SG by coach then fly bk to Thai. She was stopped at the causeway n decline entry to SG jus purely bcos do not hv return ticket. The very fact is tt she is here purely on holiday n will go bk Thai continue her uni. After tis incident, she told me she'll nvr step into SG in her life again.

For my Thai frn, I felt she was being wrongly judged cos she's Asian (Thai) & I think it can also happen to any Asian coming here. I dont think any angmo will get tt treatment.

Bk to topic, not getting the ticket cos I really dont know wen I will be bk to SG (as long as not overstaying) during tt trip, I sincerely hv no ill intentions.

One thing for sure, I truely think custom officers around the world were given tt too much power. Due to this, many good tourist were screwed for the wrong reasons.

lovesamleong

Bk to topic, not getting the ticket cos I really dont know wen I will be bk to SG (as long as not overstaying) during tt trip, I sincerely hv no ill intentions.

As mentioned, buying two one way ticket is more expensive than a single return ticket.

A few points:

1. Can you not buy a return ticket with an open date (no specific return date)?

2. Can you not buy a return ticket with a certain future return date but the return date can be changed when you make up your mind when you want to return? You said you have no intention of overstaying, so if the maximum stay is 90 days, why don't you buy a ticket with a return date in 90 days and change the date as when necessary (of course, for option to change return date, the ticket will be cost more than a ticket that cannot be changed)

3. The last point is, you do not have return ticket. So when you return, you will need to buy a ticket. Where are you buying from? Will you get rip off because you are tourist? Or did you know people there who can get you a ticket at reasonable costs?

If u buy air ticket from full service airline, can always change the return date for a fee. I did that in VN countless times. I went there I stay I like it,,i extend...

As mentioned, buying two one way ticket is more expensive than a single return ticket.

A few points:

2. Can you not buy a return ticket with a certain future return date but the return date can be changed when you make up your mind when you want to return? You said you have no intention of overstaying, so if the maximum stay is 90 days, why don't you buy a ticket with a return date in 90 days and change the date as when necessary (of course, for option to change return date, the ticket will be cost more than a ticket that cannot be changed)

3. The last point is, you do not have return ticket. So when you return, you will need to buy a ticket. Where are you buying from? Will you get rip off because you are tourist? Or did you know people there who can get you a ticket at reasonable costs?

axe168

Dude, your Sinkie attitude can kill you if you are abroad. In the world outside SG, money talks !
All you need is to stay humble and place a token under the document.

Dude, your Sinkie attitude can kill you if you are abroad. In the world outside SG, money talks !

I've come across situations that requiring the greasing of palms. Hard to know the market rate because Sporeans are used to having everything spelt out for them by the gov't:smile:

axe168

I've come across situations that requiring the greasing of palms. Hard to know the market rate because Sporeans are used to having everything spelt out for them by the gov't:smile:

Whether you called it a “blessing” or a “curse”, Sinkies are as blur as sotong when it comes to rubbing shoulders or making the process work for them. Unlike Sg govt, they can (hide money or lost big billions) do whatever they want, but not its citizens.

Sinkies should behave like a thug until ya caught ~ say Sorry, with a red packet underneath.. hehe..

Long gone the compliance environment ! Lets bring some fun - the non-compliant way ! If networking failed, use the Dollar language. hehe

commoner

as far as i know, if you are NOT carrying anything illegal or blacklisted by the VN authorities or coming in for religious or political agenda, there should not be a need to grease the immigration or customs in vietnam.

also, VN computer system is slow but updated, so telling them a lie about having a vietnamese wife? bad move. If you did that to the australian authrities, a lie could ban you entering 3-5 years.

axe168

Stop applying your "Fear" into the people's mind. We have been an obedient dog for too long.. It is time to kick some ass !

dho20002000

A few points:

Answer to Q1 & Q2:
80% sinkies travelling asian countries will fly by budget. Same goes to me. Not tt I cant afford any economic flights, jus tt I've been there bout 20 times in 2 yrs. So should I be calculative on this?
The question is;
Isn't Open Date Tickets as good as no ticket?

Answer to Q3:
Have u heard of "Internet"? Anyone can book a flight back online anytime anywhere. As long as there's available seats with a suitable time & cost.
FYI, I got my return flight jus 2 days before I came back online thru Lion Air website. Price paid, USD$87.00.

Also, as I've mentioned earlier, even if I intend to overstay, with or without a return ticket doesn't make any differences.

dho20002000

Totally agree w u about the "Sinkie Attitude" will kill when abroad for many.
But not for me cos as I've mentioned in earlier, I've been saying the word "PLEASE, SIR" for the whole time. I always pride myself as a humble tourist when abroad. :smile: :smile: :smile:

dho20002000

as far as i know, if you are NOT carrying anything illegal or blacklisted by the VN authorities or coming in for religious or political agenda, there should not be a need to grease the immigration or customs in vietnam.

also, VN computer system is slow but updated, so telling them a lie about having a vietnamese wife? bad move. If you did that to the australian authrities, a lie could ban you entering 3-5 years.

R u saying tt I'm up to something no good or illegal?

Then again, I did not lied about me having a wife. I lied bout my mother-in-law being sick.

dho20002000

ANYONE WHO WISH TO REPLY TO THIS THREAD PLEASE READ CLEARLY ON MY THREAD. AS THIS THREAD IS TO DISCUSS THE FOLLOWING POINTS:

1) Since we do not need any visa to enter certain countries, do we still need a return ticket before being granted entry?

Any members with any different bad encounters with any authorities, pls share w me. Wanna know the Dos & Donts of all these. Thx.

I'VE MENTIONED IN THREAD, I AM SURPRISE THAT SUCH THING HAPPEN TO ME AFTER I HAD BEEN THERE MORE THAN 20 TIMES. SO I PUT THIS UP TO SHARE & DISCUSS.

I AM DOING THIS BCOS I FELT FEW OF THE REPLIES SEEMS TO BE GETTING RATHER "PERSONAL" HERE. I SINCERELY HOPE ON THIS STATEMENT.

THIS IS NOT JUS ABOUT ONLY ME, IT IS ALSO FOR ALL. AS THIS MAY HAPPEN TO ANYONE FROM ANY CORNER OF THIS WORLD.

andyfisher

Bro, you are an idiot for lying to a customs officer or not an idiot, depending on the cuntry you travel to. :biggrin:

my rule:

never be friendly to customs, just keep a straight face, dont show any vulnerabilities, we dont owe them a living. doesnt mean you show them ur CB face, just be normal, no need to angkat them.

in ang mo cuntries, except maybe italy, dont lie, cos if they know, they will deport you. esp oz and nz, they very strict fuckers.

in 2 bit asian shit ass cuntries like VN, pinoyland, shitland, tiong urineland etc. you must gauge the customs officer's intention, no hard and fast rule.

It is more stressful travelling to this shit ass cuntries, cos customs sometimes dont go by rules.

so you have to play by ear.

you are lucky that he accept your kopi money and let you thru. if he want to play punk or he think the bribe is too little, can also tangkap you for bribe attempt.

so its hard to tell.

In most cuntries, you do require a return ticket, esp western cuntries, but this also depends on you, if u r muslim gd luck to you and pls have a return ticket, cos ang mo scared you squat in their cuntry and cause trouble, but for us, depends la, but better to have, you are anyway coming back right, so just buy open ticket if your schedule is flexible.

But having said that, I travel a lot to UK and EU and sometimes i travel on one way, cos I fly out of different airports or another EU cuntry, so must explain at heathrow customs, but if they know your purpose, your papers in order, they usually let you through.

you can choose not to bribe, its your choice, but of course, that might mean you u turn back to sg. its your choice, we all have choice when it comes to kopi money :biggrin:

If I was in ur shoe and I m facing this kind of mofo customs, and I dont have any other cards to play, and I die die need to masuk vn, then have to pay la, bo pian la bro.

dont think so much abt this things, you enter, settle your problems, you FO, think so much about this bloody mofo vn customs for what? dont stress yourself, just become more streetwise. steady :biggrin:

safe travels bro

ANYONE WHO WISH TO REPLY TO THIS THREAD PLEASE READ CLEARLY ON MY THREAD. AS THIS THREAD IS TO DISCUSS THE FOLLOWING POINTS:

I'VE MENTIONED IN THREAD, I AM SURPRISE THAT SUCH THING HAPPEN TO ME AFTER I HAD BEEN THERE MORE THAN 20 TIMES. SO I PUT THIS UP TO SHARE & DISCUSS.

I AM DOING THIS BCOS I FELT FEW OF THE REPLIES SEEMS TO BE GETTING RATHER "PERSONAL" HERE. I SINCERELY HOPE ON THIS STATEMENT.

THIS IS NOT JUS ABOUT ONLY ME, IT IS ALSO FOR ALL. AS THIS MAY HAPPEN TO ANYONE FROM ANY CORNER OF THIS WORLD.

andyfisher

I think they hate tiong urines more, from the bloody nose they gave the tiong urines during their border clash.

But als cant say, vn is an unknown quantity. crazy fuckers, dont pick fight with them :biggrin:

Dig m&ds and Keling Shits not welcome in Vietnam :rolleyes:

lovesamleong

The question is;
Isn't Open Date Tickets as good as no ticket?

Then you may have answered the original question yourself. If open date ticket is as good as no ticket, why not buy an open date ticket and save yourself the hassle of dealing with some third world custom guy who may deport you for having no return ticket?

After all, by buying a open date ticket, you save some money than buying two single tickets.

Think you have some other motive for wanting to buy a one-way ticket :smile: