• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

AssAF LTC (White Horse?) Abused Stray Dogs in Army Camp!

http://forums.delphiforums.com/3in1kopitiam/messages?msg=76141.1

Coffeeshop Chit Chat - ANOTHER WHITE HORSE OR SCHOLAR IN ARMY (48 views)

<TBODY>
</TBODY>
<NOBR>tottot_318</NOBR>
6:07 AM
To:
<NOBR>All</NOBR>
(1 of 9)

<TBODY>
</TBODY>

<TBODY>
</TBODY>

<TBODY>
</TBODY>
The video of a dog being suspended by a rope was taken by my son. He is one of the National Service Fulltime (NSF) stationed at Pasir Ris Camp. This unruly behaviour started a while back with the warrant officer throwing a truncheon at the dogs to chase them away. The stated reason was that the dogs had bitten one of the admin staff. My son had asked me to report this case to Mindef. As parents and avid animal lovers we made the call to Mindef. However, things got out of hand this time when the lieutenant colonel personally brutally hit an innocent dog in the presence of the NS men, as a demonstration of “how it is done” in order to ensure that the strays would not dare to approach the army camp in future. This was witnessed by my son and eight other NSFs who were threatened to be charged if they did not keep their silence. In addition to this inhumane act, a dog was hung with ropes in the toilet in the context of retaining the dog for collection by AVA. My son quickly brought the case up to Cathy, one of the founding members of Animal Lovers League, who immediately drove down to collect the dog. The lieutenant colonel was very upset when he saw Cathy taking the dog away. He wanted her to hand it over to AVA’s officer who arrived to collect it. When Cathy asked why he wanted to see it put to sleep when she was willing to take care of it until she could find it a good home, he shouted at her to hand the dog over to AVA’s officer or he would call the police. At this, Cathy told him to go ahead and she would call the media
My son and one of his senior colleagues will be charged today because they had breached the camp protocol, and thus face two charges. First, taking the video in a green zone camp (no photography and video allowed), and second, for allowing Cathy access to the video, which was then released to the public. The video was then circulated on social networking sites and instigated a public outcry. His senior colleague will be charge for allowing my son to leave the camp and approach Cathy for help that day. However, the lieutenant colonel will not be charged due to Mindef claiming that after investigation there was no dog abuse, even after they took the statements of my son and the eight other NSFs of Pasir Ris Camp who witnessed the lieutenant colonel abuse a dog. After this incident, Cathy was called up by Mindef to give the name of the person who handed her the video. She was assured that this was purely for investigation purposes into the animal abuse and no charges would be pressed against the army personnel involved in taking the video.

It is clear that Mindef did not keep to their word to Cathy when two officers informed me that my son will be charged. The excuse given for this by Mindef was “mismanagement”. There was no honour in the way this situation was handled by the Singapore Armed Forces. It is only our word against theirs with regards to the empty promise that was made. When our son enlisted, we were assured that he would be in good hands. “From boys to men” is the famous catch phrase used by the SAF. He was supposed to receive fair treatment and discipline from those in charge, and taught how to be “man” in order to serve his country. However, neither my son nor his colleague were treated with honour. Is this really what we want for our sons? Do we want them to blindly listen to authority and to stand aside when crime against innocent animals is committed before their eyes? Does rank and power outweigh basic human qualities such as compassion and fighting for what is right? Is this how our society has raised our children? What is the army saying by charging them, the ones who are lower in rank and basically helpless, and allowing the perpetrator of these heinous acts to go scot free?
Without a belief in justice, honour and compassion, we are worth less than animals. What happened to my son and his colleague was not a simple case of a breach of protocol but more of a cover up for the misdeeds of those in high positions within the Army. The SAF seems to be highly concerned in preserving their name and image, rather than see proper justice carried out. As a National Service man, he does not possess the right to tell high ranking officers what they can or cannot do. But as a father to my son, I love him and I am fully supportive of how he handled this case. I’m very proud of him and all his colleagues who assisted him in this act of humanity. They demonstrated courage and selflessness when they stepped up to save these innocent poor creatures from being harmed further, instead of cowering in fear and silence lest they suffer the consequences of standing up for what is right.
SONS:

“Never give in- no matter great or small, large or petty, never give in to what you live by except to convictions of honour and good sense. Never yield to force; never yield to the apparently overwhelming might of the enemy.”
-Sir Winston Churchill

To all my friends, parents and citizens who have a heart, please help me and these innocent creatures by spreading and sharing this message to raise awareness of such beastly acts that exist in our very own homeland.

https://www.facebook.com/oursingaporearmy

[h=5]The Singapore Army[/h]<A class=uiLinkSubtle href="https://www.facebook.com/oursingaporearmy/photos/a.10151854067221063.1073742019.409430851062/10152243960491063/?type=1&stream_ref=10"><ABBR title="Tuesday, February 25, 2014 at 8:17pm" class="timestamp livetimestamp" data-utime="1393330671">3 hours ago</ABBR><I class="lock img sp_bisgst sx_c55877"></EM>

The SAF does not condone any acts of cruelty to animals. The stray dogs that had entered Pasir Ris camp were aggressive, and there were at least five recorded occasions of the dogs biting or attempting to bite our personnel. We have attache...d a photograph to show the dog bites suffered by a lady who works in the camp and was bitten twice.

The dogs were unpredictable and were a persistent danger to personnel. Commanders, who have a duty of care for their personnel, tried to chase the dogs out of the camp. Unfortunately, they remain a danger. The unit contacted AVA and was advised to contain the dogs and hand them over to AVA. The trapped dogs were handed over to AVA. The dogs were never abused. Allegations against these commanders were untrue and unfounded.

The person who took the video was a soldier in the camp. He violated camp security regulations that prohibit unauthorised photography in camp and disclosure of information to persons outside the SAF. These are serious offences, and he was punished for these offences.See More

<FORM id=u_0_30 class="commentable_item autoexpand_mode" method=post action=/ajax/ufi/modify.php rel="async"><INPUT type=hidden value=€,´,€,´,水,Д,Є name=charset_test><INPUT type=hidden value=AQDuQt4R name=fb_dtsg autocomplete="off"><INPUT type=hidden value='{"actor":"409430851062","target_fbid":"10152243960491063","target_profile_id":"409430851062","type_id":"7","assoc_obj_id":"","source_app_id":"0","extra_story_params":[],"content_timestamp":"1393330671","check_hash":"AQByszMVglk4finU","source":"13"}' name=feedback_params autocomplete="off"><INPUT type=hidden value=1 name=data_only_response autocomplete="off"><INPUT type=hidden value=1 name=timeline_ufi autocomplete="off"><INPUT type=hidden value=AQD2D4ilBv_w8nRudkGC5dreg2EM4JlAWVTLVtO5IzDBsicUcjw6tnmFrMpezVRGk3p1Q9TcdWpOBBVT1uGTfp23hRK4siPm89tHn7-VYLj0e-PA24FmSJlo1mm2qYZkD_cxkTBPOo2Ww7XVZK15VI1ZGEH1fbRBxMjW5qLdCC3PGvT46-N74KnJji7IX9kOatuxTIUrFNL8ITjlQ4A4kmzXNMfI7or5wR48xNx0fDJwQaJ4eOdWixtWorHSkmrG_n1GHtLGVQkbR5U3f_DMzDioWthzDmn5FK2XYXnua_VlEWzoVftuesLmBGIBSSo99sON9hRl1irR8mciDuTj8tfoGUpRS4qMdZH3kWHjE_4DYG_peTDUEVG73AAg6qUGVG_J1cwzk0WlHJmUVGTYZhDD name=timeline_log_data> </EM>196Like · <LABEL title="Leave a comment" class="uiLinkButton comment_link"><INPUT class=uiLinkButtonInput type=button value=Comment data-ft='{"type":24,"tn":"S"}'></LABEL> · Share

• </EM>
    Top Comments</EM>

320 people like this.

[*]

[*]

Bailin Goh Just curious, was this photo taken in a military camp office?
    Like · Reply · </EM>41 · <A class=uiLinkSubtle href="https://www.facebook.com/oursingaporearmy/photos/a.10151854067221063.1073742019.409430851062/10152243960491063/?type=1&comment_id=12904696&offset=0&total_comments=240" data-ft='{"tn":"N"}' data-reactid=".m.1:3:1:$comment10152243960491063_12904696:0.0.$right.0.$left.0.3.$metadata:0:$action:0.$timestamp-message"><ABBR title="Tuesday, February 25, 2014 at 8:23pm" class=livetimestamp data-utime="1393331039" data-reactid=".m.1:3:1:$comment10152243960491063_12904696:0.0.$right.0.$left.0.3.$metadata:0:$action:0.$timestamp-message.0">3 hours ago</ABBR>

• <A role=button class=UFICommentLink href="https://www.facebook.com/oursingaporearmy#" data-reactid=".m.1:3:1:$replies10152243960491063_12904696:0.1:0.0"></EM>

5 Replies · <ABBR title="Tuesday, February 25, 2014 at 10:40pm" class=livetimestamp data-utime="1393339253" data-reactid=".m.1:3:1:$replies10152243960491063_12904696:0.1:0.0.0.$right.0.0.1.1">about an hour ago</ABBR>

[*]

Ada Ong Dont look like a dog bite. The dogs are at the shelter now, come n see how mild n friendly they are even towards strangers. Seeing is believing. This is what we call transparency, come n see n judge for yourself!
    Like · Reply · </EM>38 · <A class=uiLinkSubtle href="https://www.facebook.com/oursingaporearmy/photos/a.10151854067221063.1073742019.409430851062/10152243960491063/?type=1&comment_id=12905308&offset=0&total_comments=240" data-ft='{"tn":"N"}' data-reactid=".m.1:3:1:$comment10152243960491063_12905308:0.0.$right.0.$left.0.3.$metadata:0:$action:0.$timestamp-message"><ABBR title="Tuesday, February 25, 2014 at 9:56pm" class=livetimestamp data-utime="1393336596" data-reactid=".m.1:3:1:$comment10152243960491063_12905308:0.0.$right.0.$left.0.3.$metadata:0:$action:0.$timestamp-message.0">about an hour ago</ABBR>

• <A role=button class=UFICommentLink href="https://www.facebook.com/oursingaporearmy#" data-reactid=".m.1:3:1:$replies10152243960491063_12905308:0.1:0.0"></EM>

10 Replies · <ABBR title="Tuesday, February 25, 2014 at 11:34pm" class=livetimestamp data-utime="1393342467" data-reactid=".m.1:3:1:$replies10152243960491063_12905308:0.1:0.0.0.$right.0.0.1.1">7 minutes ago</ABBR>

[*]
    2 of 240
    View more comments

</FORM>

</I>

https://www.facebook.com/oursingaporearmy

The Singapore Army

<A class=uiLinkSubtle href="https://www.facebook.com/oursingaporearmy/photos/a.10151854067221063.1073742019.409430851062/10152243960491063/?type=1&stream_ref=10"><ABBR title="Tuesday, February 25, 2014 at 8:17pm" class="timestamp livetimestamp" data-utime="1393330671">3 hours ago</ABBR><I class="lock img sp_bisgst sx_c55877"></EM>

The SAF does not condone any acts of cruelty to animals. The stray dogs that had entered Pasir Ris camp were aggressive, and there were at least five recorded occasions of the dogs biting or attempting to bite our personnel. We have attache...d a photograph to show the dog bites suffered by a lady who works in the camp and was bitten twice.

The dogs were unpredictable and were a persistent danger to personnel. Commanders, who have a duty of care for their personnel, tried to chase the dogs out of the camp. Unfortunately, they remain a danger. The unit contacted AVA and was advised to contain the dogs and hand them over to AVA. The trapped dogs were handed over to AVA. The dogs were never abused. Allegations against these commanders were untrue and unfounded.

The person who took the video was a soldier in the camp. He violated camp security regulations that prohibit unauthorised photography in camp and disclosure of information to persons outside the SAF. These are serious offences, and he was punished for these offences.See More

<FORM id=u_0_30 class="commentable_item autoexpand_mode" method=post action=/ajax/ufi/modify.php rel="async"><INPUT type=hidden value=€,´,€,´,水,Д,Є name=charset_test><INPUT type=hidden value=AQDuQt4R name=fb_dtsg autocomplete="off"><INPUT type=hidden value='{"actor":"409430851062","target_fbid":"10152243960491063","target_profile_id":"409430851062","type_id":"7","assoc_obj_id":"","source_app_id":"0","extra_story_params":[],"content_timestamp":"1393330671","check_hash":"AQByszMVglk4finU","source":"13"}' name=feedback_params autocomplete="off"><INPUT type=hidden value=1 name=data_only_response autocomplete="off"><INPUT type=hidden value=1 name=timeline_ufi autocomplete="off"><INPUT type=hidden value=AQD2D4ilBv_w8nRudkGC5dreg2EM4JlAWVTLVtO5IzDB name=timeline_log_data Ag6qUGVG_J1cwzk0WlHJmUVGTYZhDD 1irR8mciDuTj8tfoGUpRS4qMdZH3kWHjE_4DYG_peTDUEVG73A ioWthzDmn5FK2XYXnua_VlEWzoVftuesLmBGIBSSo99sON9hRl xNx0fDJwQaJ4eOdWixtWorHSkmrG_n1GHtLGVQkbR5U3f_DMzD xMjW5qLdCC3PGvT46-N74KnJji7IX9kOatuxTIUrFNL8ITjlQ4A4kmzXNMfI7or5wR48 Pm89tHn7-VYLj0e-PA24FmSJlo1mm2qYZkD_cxkTBPOo2Ww7XVZK15VI1ZGEH1fbRB sicUcjw6tnmFrMpezVRGk3p1Q9TcdWpOBBVT1uGTfp23hRK4si> 196</EM>Like · <LABEL title="Leave a comment" class="uiLinkButton comment_link"><INPUT class=uiLinkButtonInput type=button value=Comment data-ft='{"type":24,"tn":"S"}'></LABEL> · Share

• https://www.facebook.com/oursingaporearmy#
    Top Comments
    https://www.facebook.com/oursingaporearmy#

320 people like this.
    [*]
    [*]

Bailin Goh Just curious, was this photo taken in a military camp office?
    Like · Reply · 41
    https://www.facebook.com/browse/likes?id=10152243968316063 · <A class=uiLinkSubtle href="https://www.facebook.com/oursingaporearmy/photos/a.10151854067221063.1073742019.409430851062/10152243960491063/?type=1&comment_id=12904696&offset=0&total_comments=240" data-ft='{"tn":"N"}' data-reactid=".m.1:3:1:$comment10152243960491063_12904696:0.0.$r ight.0.$left.0.3.$metadata:0:$action:0.$timestamp-message"><ABBR title="Tuesday, February 25, 2014 at 8:23pm" class=livetimestamp data-utime="1393331039" data-reactid=".m.1:3:1:$comment10152243960491063_12904696:0.0.$r ight.0.$left.0.3.$metadata:0:$action:0.$timestamp-message.0">3 hours ago</ABBR>

• <A role=button class=UFICommentLink href="https://www.facebook.com/oursingaporearmy#" data-reactid=".m.1:3:1:$replies10152243960491063_12904696:0.1:0. 0">

5 Replies · <ABBR title="Tuesday, February 25, 2014 at 10:40pm" class=livetimestamp data-utime="1393339253" data-reactid=".m.1:3:1:$replies10152243960491063_12904696:0.1:0. 0.0.$right.0.0.1.1">about an hour ago</ABBR>

[*]

Ada Ong Dont look like a dog bite. The dogs are at the shelter now, come n see how mild n friendly they are even towards strangers. Seeing is believing. This is what we call transparency, come n see n judge for yourself!
    Like · Reply · 38
    https://www.facebook.com/browse/likes?id=10152244095661063 · <A class=uiLinkSubtle href="https://www.facebook.com/oursingaporearmy/photos/a.10151854067221063.1073742019.409430851062/10152243960491063/?type=1&comment_id=12905308&offset=0&total_comments=240" data-ft='{"tn":"N"}' data-reactid=".m.1:3:1:$comment10152243960491063_12905308:0.0.$r ight.0.$left.0.3.$metadata:0:$action:0.$timestamp-message"><ABBR title="Tuesday, February 25, 2014 at 9:56pm" class=livetimestamp data-utime="1393336596" data-reactid=".m.1:3:1:$comment10152243960491063_12905308:0.0.$r ight.0.$left.0.3.$metadata:0:$action:0.$timestamp-message.0">about an hour ago</ABBR>

• <A role=button class=UFICommentLink href="https://www.facebook.com/oursingaporearmy#" data-reactid=".m.1:3:1:$replies10152243960491063_12905308:0.1:0. 0">

10 Replies · <ABBR title="Tuesday, February 25, 2014 at 11:34pm" class=livetimestamp data-utime="1393342467" data-reactid=".m.1:3:1:$replies10152243960491063_12905308:0.1:0. 0.0.$right.0.0.1.1">7 minutes ago</ABBR>

[*]
    2 of 240
    View more comments
    </EM></EM></EM></EM></EM>
</EM></FORM></EM>​
</I>

http://www.theonlinecitizen.com/201...-handling-of-dog-abuse-case-says-nsfs-father/

457 [SIZE=+0]Share[/SIZE]26 [SIZE=+0]Tweet[/SIZE]0 [SIZE=+0]+1[/SIZE]0 [SIZE=+0]Share[/SIZE] [h=2][/h]⌂Back To HomepageSubscribe To RSS Feed

[h=2]No honour in SAF’s handling of dog abuse case, says NSF’s father[/h]<!-- BEGIN .article-controls -->February 25
[SIZE=+0]19:36[/SIZE][SIZE=+0]2014[/SIZE]

Print This ArticleShare it With Friends
by Andrew Loh 10 Comments

<!-- END .article-controls -->
<!-- BEGIN .shortcode-content --><IFRAME style="OVERFLOW: hidden; HEIGHT: 21px; WIDTH: 85px; border-image: none" src="http://www.facebook.com/plugins/like.php?href=http%3A%2F%2Fwww.theonlinecitizen.com%2F2014%2F02%2Fno-honour-in-safs-handling-of-dog-abuse-case-says-nsfs-father%2F&layout=button_count&show_faces=false&width=85&action=like&font=verdana&colorscheme=light&height=21" frameBorder=0 allowTransparency scrolling=no></IFRAME>

Picture from Spencer’s Facebook post

The father of the full-time National Serviceman (NSF) who took a video of a an abandoned dog in a military bathroom has spoken out in defence of his son.

The NSF had filmed the dog, reportedly tied-up in a shower stall and “with a taut white rope tied around its neck – preventing it from moving or lying down”, according to media reports.

It is alleged that it was a lieutenant-colonel who tied up the dog at the Pasir Ris camp.

The NSF is being charged on two counts – unauthorised videography and unauthorised disclosure of information to a third party.
He had allegedly sent the video he made to Animal Lovers League founder Cathy Strong, who then posted the clip online.
The Ministry of Defence said that it had conducted an investigation into the matter and found that there was no abuse of the dog.
Mr Simon Spencer, writing on his Facebook page, said, “There was no honour in the way this situation was handled by the Singapore Armed Forces.”

He said his son and eight other NSFs also witnessed the senior officer hitting the dog.

“[Things] got out of hand this time when the lieutenant colonel personally brutally hit an innocent dog in the presence of the NS men, as a demonstration of “how it is done” in order to ensure that the strays would not dare to approach the army camp in future. This was witnessed by my son and eight other NSFs who were threatened to be charged if they did not keep their silence.”

He said he is proud of what his son has done, while acknowledging that there are protocols in the army.

“[As a] father to my son, I love him and I am fully supportive of how he handled this case. I’m very proud of him and all his colleagues who assisted him in this act of humanity. They demonstrated courage and selflessness when they stepped up to save these innocent poor creatures from being harmed further, instead of cowering in fear and silence lest they suffer the consequences of standing up for what is right.”

Here is Mr Spencer’s Facebook post in full:

The video of a dog being suspended by a rope was taken by my son. He is one of the National Service Fulltime (NSF) stationed at Pasir Ris Camp. This unruly behaviour started a while back with the warrant officer throwing a truncheon at the dogs to chase them away. The stated reason was that the dogs had bitten one of the admin staff. My son had asked me to report this case to Mindef. As parents and avid animal lovers we made the call to Mindef. However, things got out of hand this time when the lieutenant colonel personally brutally hit an innocent dog in the presence of the NS men, as a demonstration of “how it is done” in order to ensure that the strays would not dare to approach the army camp in future. This was witnessed by my son and eight other NSFs who were threatened to be charged if they did not keep their silence. In addition to this inhumane act, a dog was hung with ropes in the toilet in the context of retaining the dog for collection by AVA. My son quickly brought the case up to Cathy, one of the founding members of Animal Lovers League, who immediately drove down to collect the dog. The lieutenant colonel was very upset when he saw Cathy taking the dog away. He wanted her to hand it over to AVA’s officer who arrived to collect it. When Cathy asked why he wanted to see it put to sleep when she was willing to take care of it until she could find it a good home, he shouted at her to hand the dog over to AVA’s officer or he would call the police. At this, Cathy told him to go ahead and she would call the media

My son and one of his senior colleagues will be charged today because they had breached the camp protocol, and thus face two charges. First, taking the video in a green zone camp (no photography and video allowed), and second, for allowing Cathy access to the video, which was then released to the public. The video was then circulated on social networking sites and instigated a public outcry. His senior colleague will be charge for allowing my son to leave the camp and approach Cathy for help that day. However, the lieutenant colonel will not be charged due to Mindef claiming that after investigation there was no dog abuse, even after they took the statements of my son and the eight other NSFs of Pasir Ris Camp who witnessed the lieutenant colonel abuse a dog. After this incident, Cathy was called up by Mindef to give the name of the person who handed her the video. She was assured that this was purely for investigation purposes into the animal abuse and no charges would be pressed against the army personnel involved in taking the video.
It is clear that Mindef did not keep to their word to Cathy when two officers informed me that my son will be charged. The excuse given for this by Mindef was “mismanagement”. There was no honour in the way this situation was handled by the Singapore Armed Forces. It is only our word against theirs with regards to the empty promise that was made. When our son enlisted, we were assured that he would be in good hands. “From boys to men” is the famous catch phrase used by the SAF. He was supposed to receive fair treatment and discipline from those in charge, and taught how to be “man” in order to serve his country. However, neither my son nor his colleague were treated with honour. Is this really what we want for our sons? Do we want them to blindly listen to authority and to stand aside when crime against innocent animals is committed before their eyes? Does rank and power outweigh basic human qualities such as compassion and fighting for what is right? Is this how our society has raised our children? What is the army saying by charging them, the ones who are lower in rank and basically helpless, and allowing the perpetrator of these heinous acts to go scot free?
Without a belief in justice, honour and compassion, we are worth less than animals. What happened to my son and his colleague was not a simple case of a breach of protocol but more of a cover up for the misdeeds of those in high positions within the Army. The SAF seems to be highly concerned in preserving their name and image, rather than see proper justice carried out. As a National Service man, he does not possess the right to tell high ranking officers what they can or cannot do. But as a father to my son, I love him and I am fully supportive of how he handled this case. I’m very proud of him and all his colleagues who assisted him in this act of humanity. They demonstrated courage and selflessness when they stepped up to save these innocent poor creatures from being harmed further, instead of cowering in fear and silence lest they suffer the consequences of standing up for what is right.
SONS:
“Never give in- no matter great or small, large or petty, never give in to what you live by except to convictions of honour and good sense. Never yield to force; never yield to the apparently overwhelming might of the enemy.”
-Sir Winston Churchill
To all my friends, parents and citizens who have a heart, please help me and these innocent creatures by spreading and sharing this message to raise awareness of such beastly acts that exist in our very own homeland.

A FULL-TIME national serviceman (NSF) who filmed a video of an abandoned dog tied up in a military bathroom before sending it to an animal activist has been punished by the army.

On Jan 14, welfare group Animal Lovers League posted a 21-second clip on Facebook showing a black dog cowering in what appears to be a shower stall and with a taut white rope tied around its neck - preventing it from moving or lying down.

The Straits Times understands that the NSF was charged with unauthorised videography and unauthorised disclosure of information to a third-party.

His father, Mr Simon Spencer, refused to give his son's name but told The Straits Times that the teenager had taken the video and sent a copy to Animal Lovers League founder Cathy Strong.

Ms Strong later posted the clip on Facebook and it attracted more than 840 shares in a day.

Although the Ministry of Defence (Mindef) could not confirm it, The Straits Times understands that the lieutenant-colonel who allegedly tied up the dog at Pasir Ris camp has been referred for counselling, along with a warrant officer.

Mr Spencer, 52, said his son has been punished with 21 days of suspension of leave and he is also required to check in with the military police every two hours. The punishment started yesterday.

"Protocol is protocol and my son was wrong on this front," he said. "But I was hoping they would overlook this in light of humanity and justice."

Mindef, which had been probing allegations of animal abuse at the camp, released a statement to The Straits Times yesterday which said it has concluded the investigations and found there was no abuse of the dog.

The Agri-Food and Veterinary Authority (AVA), which collaborated with Mindef in the investigation, said: "AVA had collected the dog and it was examined upon arrival at the AVA pound and no injuries were found on the dog."

In a previous statement, Mindef said preliminary findings had revealed that "stray dogs around Pasir Ris Camp have been biting members of the public and our servicemen".

It had also said the army "does not condone abuse to animals and disciplinary action will be taken against any servicemen found to have abused animals".

But Ms Strong, who is looking for an adopter for the dog in the video, said: "Where Mindef and AVA are concerned, if there are no scars on a dog, then it's not considered abuse, even though it experienced real fear. I think that's wrong."

[email protected]

All the training in SAF and the fucktards warrant and LTC can only go fight helpless stray dogs....malu sia....lucky they never draw arms to shot the dogs...csi out and shame the buggers la!

Enciks of old tend to be all sadists....SAF tradition never change.

Gong cheebye animal Cathy never was national slave that's why kena conned by vile SAF.

Pity for the 2 slaves kena charged.

GoldenPeriod

looks like mosquito bite not dog bite. Even if it was so, he shouldn't have hanged the dog like that.

SAF tekan NSF's humans, you think they care about a dog.

Expose this LTC, who is he? Some scholar? Why must protect him? Tekan him jia lat jia lat.

Fiery_Arson

Hang the animal lovers instead of the dogs.

As for the dogs sent for soup preparations at cook house.

Any ranks who failed to consume dog soup at cook house goes to DB.

Any animal lovers come near gets POW treatment, rape and rope hanging. If Guai Lan gets execution.

looks like mosquito bite not dog bite. Even if it was so, he shouldn't have hanged the dog like that.

SAF tekan NSF's humans, you think they care about a dog.

Expose this LTC, who is he? Some scholar? Why must protect him? Tekan him jia lat jia lat.

Ya exposé the buggers and shame them.
If MINDEF say no abuse then how come sent the 2 buggers for counseling?

The person who took the video was a soldier in the camp. He violated camp security regulations that prohibit unauthorised photography in camp and disclosure of information to persons outside the SAF.

Fuck you SAF, you are allowed to bring camera phones into Pasir Ris Camp since 2012. It is a 'Green Zone'.

Stop trying to tell lies through releasing a press release statement with stern, official-sounding jargon. :rolleyes:

lpRmiW3hzORL-EraQy1OPC3a8sl4SoNo0EbGrBJMeaHQsDmIrjcN1ItD1CJUTvm1Q1D68w=s170

:oIo: :kma:

Also, there is nothing wrong with disclosing information to persons outside SAF... as long as it is not sensitive, classified information or information which involves high level military ops e.g. certain code words.

Go read up on your SAF military law and stop the bullshitting and fear-mongering, scaring NS boys with threats of charges. You can fool the gullible, but you cannot fool me.

palden

We are building up a junta remember? Today dogs, tomorrow sinkees. So don't KPKB. Stinkees are meant to be abused. Abusing stinkees is the rights of the Elites. People LTC already exercised maximum restraint. Otherwise he could have anal the dog.

What crap is this? A 2 crab ltc handling a trivial doggy matter?

Clap! Clap! One chow lance corporal can settle liaoz. Need an encik and 2 crab to handle. Really sia suay. Saf only good for fighting unarm strays.

GoldenPeriod

CSI this LTC. How many LTC's can there be at Pasir Ris camp?

Outside camp, give him a good one, jia lat jia lat. Tie him up and set those dogs lon him like at Abu Gharib.

Now u know why all the paper generals are useless. Takes a ltc to handle dogs. No wonder the paper generals cmi.

carnage

I a so happy to see that SAF have potential of a brutally hard military regime. I urge the immediate promotion of the LTC to 3 star general specialized in toughening the SAF Ah Guas.
My recommended measures as such:
Round up dogs and animals activists in POW camp ASAP.
Starve dogs until they are hungry enough to cannibalize themselves.
Feed them with the activists alive.
Then have the soldiers eat the dogs, indirectly eating the activists. This is the way to stay in upper food chain and prepared for brutality in wars.

http://sg.news.yahoo.com/mindef-ins...able--and-a--persistent-danger-142808625.html

[h=1]MINDEF insists Pasir Ris camp stray dogs were 'unpredictable' and a 'persistent danger'[/h]<CITE class="byline vcard">
Yahoo-5-jpg_044949.jpg
By Jeanette Tan

By Jeanette Tan | Yahoo Newsroom – <ABBR title=2014-02-25T14:28:08Z>5 hours ago</ABBR></CITE>

• Yahoo Newsroom - An image of the dog bites sustained by a female staff working at the Pasir Ris camp. (Photo: The Singapore Army Facebook page)

<META content=2014-02-25T14:28:08Z itemprop="datePublished"><META content="Yahoo Newsroom" itemprop="provider"><META content="MINDEF insists Pasir Ris camp stray dogs were 'unpredictable' and a 'persistent danger'" itemprop="headline"><META content='In the latest development in an unfolding dog abuse controversy, the Ministry of Defence (MINDEF) on Tuesday evening insisted that the dogs at Pasir Ris camp were "aggressive", "unpredictable" and a "persistent danger" to staff there.' itemprop="description"><META content=http://l.yimg.com/os/publish-images/news/2014-02-25/9f0b9ff0-9e23-11e3-b114-05a4942506b4_1606954_10152243960491063_108960091_n.jpg itemprop="image"><!-- google_ad_section_start -->In the latest development in an unfolding dog abuse controversy, the Ministry of Defence (MINDEF) on Tuesday evening insisted that the dogs at Pasir Ris camp were "aggressive", "unpredictable" and a "persistent danger" to staff there.
MINDEF shared these comments in a post on its Facebook page, seemingly in response to an earlier Facebook post by the father of a full-time national serviceman at the camp. The NSF had recorded and shared a video of a dog that was hung from ropes in a toilet cubicle.
The NSF, who has not been named, was on Tuesday charged with unauthorised videography and unauthorised disclosure of information to a third party — in this case, the Animal Lovers League (ALL), who in turn posted the 21-second clip on its Facebook page.
Read our previous report on the case and watch the video here.
His father, Simon Spencer, posted publicly on his Facebook page on Tuesday afternoon that the mistreatment of the dogs at the camp started with a warrant officer, who according to him threw a truncheon (a long baton) at the dogs to chase them away, because they had bitten one of the camp's administrative staff.
"However, things got out of hand this time when the lieutenant colonel personally brutally hit an innocent dog in the presence of the NSmen, as a demonstration of 'how it is done' in order to ensure that the strays would not dare to approach the army camp in the future," he wrote. "This was witnessed by my son and eight other NSFs who were threatened to be charged if they did not keep their silence."

Claim of a promise
<IFRAME id=yui_3_9_1_1_1393357530426_532 height=300 src="https://www.facebook.com/video/embed?video_id=234951963351987" frameBorder=0 width=500></IFRAME>

According to Spencer, his son and a senior colleague of his were both charged, the latter because he had allowed the NSF to leave camp and approach the ALL representative that day. The lieutenant colonel, however, according to him, will not be charged because MINDEF said in a statement on Monday evening that there was no dog abuse found.

“(This) even after they took the statements of my son and the eight other NSFs of Pasir Ris camp who witnessed the lieutenant colonel abuse a dog,” wrote Spencer.

He then wrote that a representative from MINDEF called the ALL rescuer up to find out the identity of the NSF who recorded and shared the video with her, promising that it was “purely for investigation purposes into the animal abuse”, and that no charges would be pressed against Spencer’s son.

“It is clear that MINDEF did not keep their word,” he went on, saying that there “was no honour in the way this situation was handled” by the ministry. “It is only our word against theirs with regards to the empty promise that was made.”

Aggressive dogs?

In MINDEF’s statement on Monday night on Facebook, it said the allegations of dog abuse were “unfounded”, with the AVA saying there was no dog abuse committed.

It also said there were six incidents of attacks by the dogs at the camp in December last year, with four resulting in injuries to people — one of whom was a lady who was bitten twice.

In its follow-up statement on Tuesday evening, MINDEF showed a picture of the bites sustained by the female member of staff.

“Allegations against these commanders were untrue and unfounded,” the statement said, adding that the actions of Spencer’s son were “serious offences” for which he was punished.

carnage

To show the world that we indeed love the animals much more than those who claimed to be lovers, we feed the animals with their lovers, to show our greater love.