• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Are they from good schools or lousy schools?

LITTLEREDDOT

Forum: Minister's success should put parents at ease​

Sep 8, 2022

Parents who are anxious about getting their children into popular primary schools may be able to relax a little after hearing that Minister for Home Affairs and Law K. Shanmugam attended what he called a "no-name primary school" (Singapore intervenes early to tackle inequality: Shanmugam, Sept 3).
I wish that Mr Shanmugam had mentioned the name of the school even though it no longer exists. The teachers who taught him there deserve to be acknowledged.
The school's alumni must be very proud of having such a successful person be one of them.

Lee Yim May

LITTLEREDDOT

Serial do-gooder pays for the funerals of strangers​

Anson Ng, who owns a second-hand car dealership, cooks for the terminally ill and goes out of his way to help the elderly and the needy.
wongkim.png

Wong Kim Hoh
Deputy Life Editor

SEP 18, 2022

SINGAPORE - Madam Aton Bibi Raj Mohamed is getting emotional on the phone talking about a man she calls Boss.
"I've never met anyone like Anson," says the 49-year-old part-time hospital worker.
She is referring to serial do-gooder Anson Ng, a stranger who popped into her family's life after her husband Abdul Aziz bin Mohamed Abdul Karim was diagnosed with Stage 4 lung cancer in June last year. A family friend told the couple he knew a kind Chinese man who often helped strangers, and made the introductions.
Mr Abdul Aziz - who also had 12 tumours in his brain - died three months ago. But in the 12 months before the 47-year-old former bus driver succumbed to his illness, Mr Ng took him to another hospital for a second opinion, drove him to medical treatments and appointments, visited his family regularly and helped them out financially.
"When my husband was critical, he was the first one at the hospital, before any relative. And when my husband died, he passed me $2,000 for the funeral," says Madam Aton.
Mr Ng's generosity, she says, did not stop there. After her husband's death, he bought insurance plans - with monthly premiums of $300 - for her two sons, aged 11 and 13.
"He pays $200, I pay $100. He told me I have to take good care of my children. He takes them out for meals to find out how they are doing.

"Saya berterima kasih kepada Tuhan sebab ada peluang jumpa orang macam Anson," she says, lapsing into Malay, thanking God for bringing such a good Samaritan into her life.
Asked why he helps strangers, Mr Ng - who owns second-hand car dealership Presto Expat Motoring Services - says simply: "Whether you are rich or poor does not matter. What matters is if you have a heart."
I met Mr Ng three years ago, introduced by a doctor friend who wanted me to profile a selfless man who cooked for the terminally ill and went out of his way to help the elderly and the needy. He was, he said then, not used to the limelight, and not ready.

But Hao Ren Hao Shi (Good People, Good Deeds), the ground-up movement he started in 2018 to distribute monthly provisions to the needy, has been gaining traction, especially among students in neighbourhood schools, and he wants more to discover the joy of doing good.
From 100 families, Hao Ren Hao Shi - which boasts more than 300 volunteers and was registered as a charity a few months ago - now distributes more than 25 grocery and other essential items every month to 1,000 needy households all over the island.
Straight-talking and energetic, with a tendency to break into loud chortles, the 55-year-old radiates yi qi - the spirit of loyalty, friendship and self-sacrifice often celebrated in Chinese martial arts novels and gangster flicks. His life would have made rich fodder for a drama series.
He has been told that he was born in Bangkok, smuggled into Malaysia and then sold to a taxi driver and his wife who had six daughters but longed for a son.
"I was a parallel import, no original engine certificate," quips the used-car businessman.
ads-ansong-170922.jpg

Mr Anson Ng has funded the funerals and last rites of more than 100 needy folks since he started volunteering. ST PHOTO: CHONG JUN LIANG
Life was hard for the family living in a one-bedroom flat in Jalan Besar.
Dumplings and durians were rare treats. Once in a blue moon, his father would give Mr Ng five cents to buy a roti prata.
"If his mood was right and if got eggs in the house, I could take one and ask the prata man to add it in," he says in a mixture of Mandarin and Singlish.
When he was nine, his adoptive father hanged himself with his belt. "I was the one who discovered the body and I can still remember everything, even the colour of the shirt he was wearing," says the former student of Siglap Primary School and Serangoon Garden Technical School.
Neighbours said that his adoptive father was "mad" but Mr Ng realises now his old man probably suffered from depression.
Although they received help from a kind maternal uncle, Mr Ng started working various part-time jobs - among them, coffee-shop assistant, caddy and hotel waiter - so that the family could make ends meet.
Academically weak, he enrolled, at 16, in the Singapore Armed Forces Boys' School, set up by the late Dr Goh Keng Swee to offer free education, meals and accommodation to boys aged between 14 and 17.
After signing up as an army regular, he was deployed to the Special Investigation Branch (SIB).
"My English was bad and I couldn't write reports but I was very good at catching people. I liked fighting especially gangsters because I hate those who bully the weak," he says.
A few years later, he left the SIB to join a friend to sell rubbish bins. A humiliating incident rattled him but also spurred him to make something of his life.
An executive from an Orchard Road shopping mall berated Mr Ng loudly in public after he delivered an order of refuse bins.
The man - who emphasised he was a graduate - was angry that the branding of the mall on the bins was not prominent enough.
"It was not my fault. I was just delivering the bins but he said: 'I've never seen anyone so stupid in my life. You're so stupid that even if I gave you 10 years, you'd not amount to anything.'
"I said to myself: 'I'll remember your face, I'll remember your car number. One day, when I'm successful enough, you will see me.'"
hzschool170922.jpg

Pupils, parents and teachers of Lianhua Primary School beavering away earlier this year at packing groceries and essential items for distribution to the families of needy pupils in the school. PHOTO: ANSON NG

For some time, a businessman had been cajoling him to become a used-car salesman in his company Hui Teck Vehicle Trading. Mr Ng took up the offer, and started learning the ropes of the trade.
"He was a very decent man and I learnt a lot from him," he says.
Patience and hard work - "I worked Monday through to Sunday" - stood him in good stead. Seven years later, he had saved up more than $200,000 to start his own used-car business Presto Motoring in 1996.
"I started by buying three cars, then four," says Mr Ng who was by then married to an IT executive with whom he has two children, aged 27 and 29.
"The business slowly grew. I could even hire graduates," he says with a grin.
Noticing a gap in the market, he rebranded Presto Motoring as Presto Expat Motoring Services in 2007, catering to the expatriate market. Besides selling vehicles, his company even conducted workshops on the dos and don'ts of driving in Singapore for expatriates.
In 2001, healthcare pioneer Uma Rajan, 82, bought a Volvo from him. The two struck up a friendship and Dr Rajan - the former director of eldercare and school health services at the Ministry of Health - roped him in to help out at the Mun Fatt Tong Nursing Home. It changed his life.
"Dr Uma Rajan gave me a chance to do good," he says, referring to the woman he now calls Ma.
He started by sponsoring meals and organising outings - sometimes chartering up to five buses with medical staff such as nurses and physiotherapists in attendance, and even an ambulance on standby - for the elderly in old folks' homes.
Dr Rajan says: "He was really struck by the problems old folks were going through and started feeling the urge to be involved. He has the same multi-ethnic approach as I do - it doesn't matter what ethnic group or religion, you can depend on him to help."
The community leader - who helped to set up nearly a dozen elderly care centres with voluntary welfare organisations - later introduced him to other charities, including Dover Park Hospice and HCA Hospice Care.
That was how Mr Ng started cooking, with the help of volunteers, elaborate meals twice a week - on Tuesdays and Fridays - for the terminally ill at these two places.
"I did all the marketing myself and made sure the meals were colourful, to cheer them up," he says, adding that he spared no expense in buying fish, prawns and other ingredients because the meals could be the last for some of the patients.
HZHOSPICE170922.jpg

Mr Ng serving the packed food that he cooked and prepared with volunteers to a terminally ill patient at Dover Park Hospice in December 2017. PHOTO: ST FILE
Some people have told him he should help the young and ill instead of the old and dying.
"Every human is a life. You need to respect everyone. That's why I really respect the palliative doctors who are out there doing such good but difficult work," he says simply.
The families of some of these terminally ill patients were so poor that they could not afford to pay for the funerals or last rites when their loved ones died.
He started stepping in to help, and has not stopped. He frequently gets calls from doctors and medical professionals alerting him to needy cases.
"I put my heart into helping the dying because the dying will not lie to me. I'm just helping them fulfil their last wish and giving them some dignity," says Mr Ng, who reckons he has funded the funerals and last rites of more than 100 needy folks since he started volunteering.
The cooking - which was done in the kitchen at the former HCA in Jalan Tan Tock Seng - stopped when HCA moved to its new premises, Kwong Wai Shiu Hospital, which has no central kitchen, in 2018.
He started Hao Ren Hao Shi after non-profit organisation Apex Club approached him to support its monthly distribution of provisions to needy households in Redhill.
As word grew of this volunteer extraordinaire, who won the Silent Hero 2021 Award presented by the Civilians Association of Singapore, more volunteers, including expatriates, joined the movement.
The number of benefiting families has grown tenfold in the last four years. The number of grocery items and essentials - which are distributed on the first Saturday of each month - has also increased from less than 10 to nearly 30.
"Items are getting more expensive, and the number of families we are helping is growing. We welcome any help we can get," he says.
Every distribution exercise is executed with clockwork precision, with items neatly laid out on multiple tables at different stations, and volunteers organised in different groups. All donations are clearly accounted for, and receipts given to donors.
"Transparency is very important," says Mr Ng who reckons he spends more than $10,000 of his own money every month to do what he does.
He is especially chuffed that the movement has spread to neighbourhood schools. The first was Lianhua Primary, which got him on board two years ago to train pupil and teacher volunteers so that they could conduct their own monthly provisions distribution to the families of 100 needy pupils in the school.
"I now have parents complaining and asking why they can't volunteer alongside their children," he says, laughing.
At least half a dozen neighbourhood schools have followed suit, including West Spring Primary, Northbrooks Secondary and St Stephen's School. River Valley Primary will come on board soon, ditto Temasek Polytechnic.
"It's so wonderful to see the young learning how to serve their peers, and being exposed to those who are less fortunate. It's invaluable education," he says.
The Buddhist hopes everyone will learn to pay it forward.
"You cannot bring your money with you when you go so when you're alive, why not do some good?"

LITTLEREDDOT

Second-hand car dealer who pays for funerals of strangers up for ST Singaporean of the Year award​

2022100575828720bum6310-01_0.jpg

Mr Anson Ng helps strangers with whatever they need, like paying for medical bills and settling funeral arrangements. ST PHOTO: ARIFFIN JAMAR
ssbyline.png

Syarafana Shafeeq

Oct 19, 2022

SINGAPORE - When his father died when he was nine, Mr Anson Ng’s uncle stepped up and worked closely with the grieving family to handle the funeral arrangements. The noble act stuck with the then primary school pupil, who now pays for the funerals of strangers.
He said: “I was lucky to have an uncle who could help, but can you imagine those who don’t have anyone to support them? I know how they feel. So now, I am that uncle who helps people.”
Mr Ng, now 55, runs Hao Ren Hao Shi (Good People, Good Deeds), a ground-up movement set up in 2018 that distributes monthly provisions to the needy.
The project feeds 1,000 households every month and taps volunteers from primary schools to pack and distribute the items.
Mr Ng is one of the nominees for The Straits Times Singaporean of the Year award this year that is presented in conjunction with UBS.
The annual award, now into its eighth year, aims to recognise a Singaporean person or group for making an impact on society. Last year’s recipient, Mr Sakthibalan Balathandautham, donated part of his liver to a one-year-old child after he came across a plea online from a young couple.
Mr Ng started helping out at old age homes and hospices more than 15 years ago, cooking meals for the residents. Befriending them, he learnt about the last wishes and funeral rites that the elderly wanted.

“I can’t bring my money with me when I die. I would rather spend it to make these people happy and provide them with a send-off they deserve. Money is really not everything.”
Mr Ng, who owns second-hand car dealership Presto Expat Motoring Services, said volunteering to help the terminally ill was not easy for him to deal with emotionally at first.
“Everyone there does not have much time left. It’s hard to see them deteriorate and pass on after I have got to know them. I told myself I must be strong. If I’m going to continue helping people, I can’t cry every time I lose someone.”

A staff member at Hao Ren Hao Shi said Mr Ng would doggedly look for the food and kueh that the hospice residents were craving in the markets.
Mr Ng, who is married with two children, gets calls at all hours of the day from those asking for help with, say, medical bills or funeral arrangements.
“Why do I do this? When a family is dealing with someone sick or if someone dies, it’s very stressful. It’s worse when you have to worry about the financial part of it, so I’m doing my best to make things easier for them,” he said.
“If you ask me whether I am tired, I can tell you that I am. I’ve been doing this for many years, but when I see people who come to me for help, I can’t imagine not helping.”

“One of my aunties told me at my mother’s funeral not to cry too much since she wasn’t my real mother. But I don’t believe emotions are tied to blood,” he said.
“It doesn’t matter that I am a stranger to these people that I help. They are in need, and I am lucky to be in a position where I can make their lives a bit easier.”
Nominations for the award will be open until Dec 15 at this website (https://str.sg/wVPP). Nominees must be Singapore citizens, and recognised for performing their act of service in 2022.

LITTLEREDDOT

He was from a good school: Raffles Institution

6 weeks’ jail for man who had sexually explicit images, videos of children in his possession​

aisqrandy0901.jpg

Randy Rosigit joined a Telegram group chat where members shared pornography, including child abuse content, with one another. ST PHOTO: KELVIN CHNG
shaffiq_alkhatib.png

Shaffiq Alkhatib
Court Correspondent

Jan 9, 2023

SINGAPORE – He joined a group chat where members shared pornography on messaging platform Telegram, and later downloaded sexually explicit material involving children.
Indonesian Randy Rosigit, 28, was sentenced to six weeks’ jail on Monday after he pleaded guilty to being in possession of two still images and six videos of sexually explicit content involving children.
One of the videos showed a girl who appeared to be less than six years old.
A search with the Accounting and Corporate Regulatory Authority reveals that Randy is a shareholder at two firms – Deeeplabs and Magnetise.
Deputy Public Prosecutor Etsuko Lim said that the Singapore permanent resident had gone onto the Dark Web in 2020 as he was curious about child pornography.
He then paid in Bitcoin to try accessing a website containing such material.
After he failed to obtain its log-in details, Randy joined a Telegram group chat where members shared pornography, including child abuse content, with one another.

Acting on information not disclosed in court documents, police raided his home on Oct 22, 2021, and seized items including a mobile phone and a portable drive.
These were later found to contain sexually explicit pictures and videos of children.
Randy, who is single, was represented by lawyer S.S. Dhillon.
The lawyer from Dhillon & Panoo law firm told the court on Monday that his client is remorseful.
He said: “Randy wished he had exercised extreme prudence and not get himself into a position where his judgment was compromised, leading to the commission of the offence.
“Randy realises that he is the author of his own misery and promises not to... surf the Internet for pornography.”
The offender’s bail was set at $15,000, and he was ordered to surrender himself at the State Courts on Jan 30 to begin serving his sentence.

LITTLEREDDOT

Car dealer who pays for strangers’ funerals is ST Singaporean of the Year 2022​

ssbyline.png

Syarafana Shafeeq

Feb 9, 2023

SINGAPORE - A second-hand car dealer who has made it his life’s mission to help strangers in need was named The Straits Times Singaporean of the Year 2022 on Thursday.
Mr Anson Ng, 55, gets calls and messages throughout the day from friends and strangers who need help paying medical bills or covering funeral fees.
He started helping out at old age homes and hospices more than 20 years ago, befriending seniors and cooking for the terminally ill. Learning about their last wishes, he offered to make arrangements for those who could not afford it.
Mr Ng, owner of second-hand car dealership Presto Expat Motoring Services, said: “I can’t bring my money with me when I die. I would rather spend it to make these people happy and provide them with the send-off they deserve. Money is really not everything.”
Mr Ng, who is married with two children, feels strongly about helping the less fortunate. When he was nine, his adoptive father killed himself, leaving him to work odd jobs to help his family make ends meet.
His charity Hao Ren Hao Shi (Good People, Good Deeds) has given out monthly provisions and food to the less fortunate since 2018, and helps about 1,000 families a month.
For his kind deeds and positive impact on the less fortunate, Mr Ng on Thursday received the Singaporean of the Year award from President Halimah Yacob, who was the guest of honour at the award ceremony at Raffles Hotel.

Mr Ng said: “I didn’t expect to win the award, since so many people are doing good. But it is a good chance to tell Singapore about how important it is to serve our needy and elderly. We must teach our young to do good, so that our nation will be in good hands in the future. Who else will take care of our sick and old in the future?”
Madam Halimah said the 2022 nominees were a varied lot, but they were united by the impact they made on society.
“These Singapore stories of grit, goodwill and glory will remind us to stand together, and inspire us to move forward as one united people. Let us lift our heads, let us celebrate the light in each of us; and in turn, let us all be the light in our society,” she said.

Organised by The Straits Times and presented by UBS Singapore, the Singaporean of the Year award is given each year to a Singaporean individual or group that has made an impact in society.
This could be through achievements that have put Singapore on the global stage, for improving the lives of others, or showing resilience in the face of adversity. The award is now in its eighth year.
Mr Ng was nominated alongside other finalists, like Mr Priveen Suraj Santakumar and Mr Charanjit Singh Walia who fed Ukrainian refugees in Poland; Ms Khairiah Hanim Mazlan, a private-hire car driver who talks to passengers about their mental health; and Associate Professor Too Heng-Phon, a biochemist passionate about Singapore’s life sciences scene.
Other finalists include Ms Alison Lim and Mr Anjang Rosli, a pair with dementia who help others with their condition; the founder of attention deficit hyperactivity disorder organisation Unlocking ADHD, Ms Moonlake Lee; married badminton players Terry Hee and Jessica Tan; as well as table tennis player Feng Tianwei.
Mr Ng was awarded a trophy and $20,000 in cash, while the other finalists received $5,000 each. The prize money is sponsored by UBS, which has supported the award since its inception.
Other sponsors include airline partner Singapore Airlines (SIA), global hotel partner Millennium & Copthorne Hotels, and Raffles Hotel Singapore.
The winner gets a five-night stay at any of the Millennium & Copthorne Hotels’ global properties and a three-night stay at Raffles Hotel Singapore, as well as a pair of SIA business class tickets. The remaining finalists each received a three-night stay at any of Millennium & Copthorne Hotels’ global properties and a pair of SIA economy class tickets.
Editor of The Straits Times Jaime Ho said: “This year, we honour a dedicated individual who has devoted more than 20 years of his life to the less fortunate in Singapore.
“He epitomises the selfless and generous ideals we all aspire to ourselves, and leads the way in showing that every deed, big or small, starts with one person and has infinite potential to inspire.”
Mr Edmund Koh, president of UBS Asia Pacific of UBS Group and UBS, said that the award showcases daily heroes who inspire Singaporeans through their actions.
He said: “Anson Ng, our Singaporean of the Year 2022, demonstrated how it was possible to give dignity and respect in death through his charitable work for over two decades.”
The 2021 award went to Mr Sakthibalan Balathandautham, who donated part of his liver to a one-year-old girl he had never met after he came across a plea online from a young couple.

LITTLEREDDOT

Hawker who has sold $2 laksa for 15 years: ‘Some customers don’t have much money’​

Some hawkers have resolutely stayed the course, even as others struggle to keep a lid on prices.​

svwooji100123.jpg

Mr Victor Woo has sold $2 laksa and prawn noodles for over 15 years at his stall in Chinatown Complex Food Centre. ST PHOTO: SHERMAINE ANG
AK_sa_170122.png

Shermaine Ang

Feb 12, 2023

SINGAPORE - Two dollars. This is how much Mr Victor Woo has been charging for laksa and prawn noodles at his stall in Chinatown Complex Food Centre for over 15 years.
And he plans to keep it that way in spite of high inflation.
“Customers here are old and some don’t have much money,” he said in Mandarin.
He is familiar with his customers from the nearby Chin Swee neighbourhood and one-room rental flats in Chinatown, not far from the three-room flat he shares with his elderly parents whom he supports. Workers also come to fuel up before their shifts.
Despite rising prices of ingredients, which have seen his earnings fall by a few hundred dollars every month, he is adamant about keeping prices at Woo Ji Cooked Food the same – even after some customers urged him to look out for himself.
“After so long, I roughly know their circumstances, whether they have money or not,” said the 61-year-old, who helped out at his mother’s stall as a teen and took over when she retired.
“As long as I’m not making a loss and still can make enough to get by, it’s okay.”

He added that customers who buy the $3 and $4 portions, as well as consistently good business, make up for any shortfall.
He opens his stall at 6am, and usually sells out before 10am.
“The ($2) small portion is just right for the elderly – they don’t eat much,” he added.

He gets up at 1am to set up shop and works till 1pm. The bachelor runs the stall himself, from ordering ingredients to washing up.
Mr Woo is in the minority of hawkers who have held off raising prices.
Hawkers whom The Straits Times spoke to said they have had to raise prices of their dishes by 50 cents to $1, amid the 1 percentage point hike in goods and services tax in 2023 and rising cost of ingredients over the past three years.
They face pressure to contain price increases to $1.
Some have made sure to keep cheap options on their menu – $1 nasi lemak by Kedai Makan Muhajirin in Lorong 7 Toa Payoh, for instance, and $2.50 bak chor mee by Ah Gong Minced Pork Noodle at Maxwell Food Centre – even as they raised prices for other foods.
hzfood110223.jpg

Some hawkers have made sure to keep cheap options on their menu – $1 nasi lemak by Kedai Makan Muhajirin in Lorong 7 Toa Payoh, for instance, and $2.50 bak chor mee by Ah Gong Minced Pork Noodle at Maxwell Food Centre. PHOTOS: BRIAN HE, SHERMAINE ANG
Mr Jason Huang, 32, a Hokkien mee seller at Toa Payoh West Market and Food Centre, said he reduced his $5 noodle portions slightly while keeping the same amount of ingredients, as he did not want to raise prices by more than $1.
Hawkers ST spoke to said quality is most important to them, as it is what makes customers come back.
“We can’t lie to the customers’ taste buds,” said Mr Lim Jo Huak, 64, who runs Ri Tao Fu Teochew Pig’s Organ Soup at Jalan Kukoh Food Centre.
He raised the price of his pig’s organ soup from $4 to $5. But like many others, he will not change his supplier, whom he has built ties with for decades.
The owner of Angel Horse Teochew Fish Soup at Albert Food Centre, who gave his name only as Mr Tan, said: “We don’t cut corners. Customers know that, they come back because the food is good.”
Not wanting to increase prices, he settled on removing his smallest $4.50 portion from the menu. His noodles are now priced from $5.
“Customers now are very smart, they’ll know if we shrink portions,” said the 56-year-old, who has run the stall for 30 years with his wife.

One of two sisters running Yong Seng Heng Prawn Noodles at Circuit Road Hawker Centre said: “Business is not very good. We’re earning less and less.”
Giving her name only as Madam Tan, she added: “But this is an elderly estate. Customers are poor and old, how can we raise more?”
Mr Cornelius Tan, vice-chairman of the Chinatown Complex Hawkers’ Association, said a “significant percentage” of the 226 stalls in the food centre have raised their prices over the past few months by 50 cents for food and 10 cents to 20 cents for drinks, on average.
Mr Kenneth Lee, vice-chairman of Kheng Keow Coffee Merchants Restaurant and Bar Owners Association, said the majority of coffee-shop stalls, foodcourts such as Koufu and other eateries such as Ya Kun and Killiney Kopitiam, have also raised prices by 50 cents to $1.
Some customers ST spoke to were accepting of the price increases.
“The cost of everything is going up,” said a part-time foodcourt worker in her 60s, who wanted to be known only as Madam Ee.
She had bought prawn noodles at Circuit Road Hawker Centre near her home. “I’ve been buying from (this hawker) for many years, and she only raised a bit. It’s reasonable,” she said.
“I come back because the food is good. We have no choice anyway – even if the price increases, we still must eat,” she said.

LITTLEREDDOT

March 1, 2023

Teacher at top school showed his student porn, suggested that he stimulate himself to de-stress​

nadinechua.png

Nadine Chua

March 1, 2023

SINGAPORE - When a teacher heard that his student was engaging in self-harm to cope with stress, he suggested that the student stimulate himself instead.
The teacher, who was employed at one of Singapore’s top schools, showed the then 17-year-old boy pornographic videos.
On Tuesday, the 49-year-old man pleaded guilty to one charge of showing sexual videos to the teen.
The teacher and the victim, who is now 19, cannot be named due to a gag order.
Deputy Public Prosecutor Yvonne Poon said the teacher had taught for over 22 years and was the boy’s civics tutor and form teacher at the time of the offence.
On Jan 28, 2021, the victim’s mother emailed the accused and told him that her son wanted to skip school as he felt ostracised and had no purpose in life.
The teacher then called the mother and said he had been intending to speak with him as he was falling behind on his schoolwork. He also said he will find the right time to talk to him.

On the same day, he took the boy aside after class. He told the teacher that he had been having negative thoughts and that he had engaged in self-harm to cope with his emotions.
After they talked for an hour, he gave his personal number to the boy and asked him to save it under a different name as their conversation was “not exactly legit”.
He told the boy to contact him if he needed someone to talk to, or if he had thoughts of self-harm. When the boy returned home that day, he told his mother that his teacher had spoken to him and expressed his surprise and gratitude that an adult could understand him so well.

On Feb 2, the teacher gave the boy a self-help book and asked him why he needed to self-harm.
When the boy said he needed a coping mechanism for his emotions, the teacher said, “males of this age have only two ways to de-stress: medication and (stimulating oneself)“.
The boy felt uncomfortable, but the accused pressed on asking if he had watched pornography, and showed the boy links to pornographic websites on his mobile phone and clicked on one of the links.
On Feb 6, they met for dinner at the teacher’s house. Before eating, the teacher said the weather was hot and asked the victim if he wanted to remove his t-shirt and offered him a singlet. As he changed, his teacher watched him.
The teacher spoke about his sexual experiences during dinner and kept pressuring the boy to drink alcohol.
DPP Poon said: “The accused drank more than the victim, and began to cry. He placed his hands on the victim’s arm and chest, moving them around for about 10 minutes.”
The teacher then showed the boy three pornographic videos on his mobile phone.
The next day, the boy told his mother what his teacher had done. The school authorities were informed, and a police report was filed.
The accused resigned from his job in February 2021.
Seeking three months’ jail, DPP Poon said he had lulled the victim into a false sense of safety and ease before finally committing the offence.
“He cultivated his friendship with the victim, starting out innocuously enough before engaging in increasingly inappropriate conversations.
“These conversations initially revolved around the victim’s troubles before swiftly evolving into a vehicle for the accused to talk about pornography.” she said.
Defence lawyer Tan Kah Tian sought two weeks’ jail or a short detention order for his client, stating that this was his first brush with the law.
“He acted completely out of character. He taught over 100 students and this was the only case in which an offence was committed. It is very unlikely he will reoffend, given that he has left the education industry,” he said.
The accused is expected to return to court for sentencing on Mar 28.
If found guilty of this offence, a person can be jailed for up to a year, or fined, or both.

LITTLEREDDOT

‘Kiasu’ parents have an unhealthy obsession with ‘top schools’ at P1 registration exercise​

Stats around the primary school registration highlight the need for more work to realise Singapore’s ‘Every School a Good School’ vision.​

Eik Swee, Cameron Kheng and Vincent Chua
marksouthview03_0.JPG

In Phase 2C, which is open to any child not yet registered in a primary school, approximately one in two schools was oversubscribed on average. PHOTO: ST FILE

May 30, 2023

When the slogan “Every School a Good School” was introduced in 2012 by then Education Minister Heng Swee Keat, critics said this was far from reality. Others dismissed it as a mere platitude.
Mr Heng later went on to clarify the essence of this vision: Every school is good in its own way and should aspire to develop its own unique and valuable niche, thereby bringing out the best in its students and contributing to a diverse and vibrant school landscape.
It has been more than a decade, but based on the patterns we have observed in the Primary 1 registration exercise in recent years, the sentiment in favour of “top schools” has become only more entrenched among parents.

Hot and concentrated demand​

Our analysis of data from the Ministry of Education (MOE) on Primary 1 registration across all primary schools between 2009 and 2022 showed that competition for places has remained hot and concentrated.
A sizeable proportion of schools receive more applications than available vacancies. In Phase 2C, which is open to any child not yet registered in a primary school, approximately one in two schools was oversubscribed on average.
While the competition is less acute in Phase 2B, where applications are open to children of parent volunteers, members of connected clans or churches and active community leaders, the proportion of oversubscribed schools has nevertheless been increasing since 2016, especially among brand name schools like Methodist Girls’ School, Ai Tong School, Tao Nan School, CHIJ St Nicholas Girls’ School and Catholic High School.
We also observed that demand for top schools has been increasingly concentrated. Economists typically measure concentration using the Herfindahl-Hirschman Index (HHI), which assesses the extent to which an industry is dominated by a few companies that soak up market share. A low score close to zero suggests demand is evenly spread out, while a high score closer to 1 indicates demand is concentrated among a few players.

By applying the HHI to schools and their application rates over the past 14 years, we noted generally low scores. This is to be expected, however, since realistically no single primary school can absorb every student.
What was more concerning was not the absolute HHI score but its relative change over the years. We observed that the HHI score had trended upwards, especially in Phase 2B where it grew by approximately 30 per cent between 2018 and 2022. What this indicates is an increasing concentration of P1 applications towards a select number of schools.
The fact that the share of oversubscribed schools and the concentration of demand towards a few select schools have both risen simultaneously in Phase 2B suggests that oversubscribed schools have been increasingly drawing demand from less popular schools, rather than from existing popular ones.

Firsts among equals​

Given the rise in oversubscriptions and the convergence of applications towards particular schools, it seems clear that many parents do not subscribe to the notion that every school is equal.
What types of schools receive the lion’s share of applications? According to our findings around Phase 2B, schools that have received MOE awards, are autonomous, under the Special Assistance Plan (SAP), are government-aided, or offer a large number of co-curricular activities in sports and uniformed groups tend to be more popular.
These characteristics have a significant impact on a school’s application rate, even after taking into account differences in cohort size and the number of available places.
Specifically, schools that received first-tier MOE school awards in the past, like Henry Park Primary School, received 50 more applications for every 100 available places, compared with schools that never received these awards, like Elias Park Primary School.
Similarly, schools with autonomous, SAP or government-aided status, like Anglo-Chinese School (Primary), received at least 55 more applications for every 100 available places compared with schools that did not come under these categories, like Ahmad Ibrahim Primary School.

Better resourced schools​

The fact that the popularity of a school is so strongly connected to its observable qualities offers clues as to why some parents perceive certain schools to be better than others.
First, while it is true that all schools in Singapore provide good physical infrastructure and employ competent teaching and administrative staff – as expected of a world-class education system – there are still notable differences.
One such difference is a school’s access to funding. Primary schools in Singapore can either be classified as “government schools” or “government-aided schools”.
Both types of schools are well-funded by the Government, but the key difference between them lies in their capacity to raise private funds.
Government-aided schools are in a stronger position to do so primarily because of their longstanding support from established alumni networks. The Methodist Girls’ School alumnae association received $75,261 from their membership subscriptions in 2020 alone.
While government schools are not precluded from receiving private donations, they receive significantly less than their government-aided counterparts. In 2021, Admiralty Primary School, a government school, raised a total of $3,500 from donations and sponsorships, compared with Singapore Chinese Girls’ School, a government-aided school, which raised $56,000 the same year.
Having access to additional financial resources can lead to richer educational experiences, such as the ability to build state-of-the-art science labs, fund overseas immersion trips, or provide air-conditioned classrooms.
While every school in Singapore is equipped to achieve its educational goals, some are in a better financial position to do so.

Education as a cultural good​

A second reason for the perceived hierarchy of primary schools is the social and cultural weight society attaches to attending a “branded” school that can have implications for social advancement.
As the demand for qualifications in terms of both quality and quantity intensifies, parents are increasingly competing in what sociologists call “categorical inequality”.
In this system, one’s membership in an elite category – such as being a Harvard alumnus – is what matters most, rather than how well one does within that particular school. Education has evolved into a cultural good with symbolic and material implications, and schools act as status symbols that differentiate one’s position in the social hierarchy.
Many parents are acutely aware of this nature of competition, using not only grades but also the cultural power of school membership to give their children an advantage and help them stand out from the crowd.

Confronting the obsession​

IMG6773_0.JPG

As a society, we must confront our addiction to hierarchies in order to end the obsession with school status and branding, say the writers. PHOTO: ST FILE
These realities underscore the monumental question Singapore needs to answer: What must we do to end this national obsession with school status and branding so that we may turn the vision of “Every School a Good School” from platitude into reality?
As a society, we must confront our addiction to hierarchies. We must question if a deep-seated desire to reach the top of a hierarchy remains rooted in our particularly “kiasu” style of parenting, and whether this has been the cause of our collective frustration and competition. These tendencies also risk ignoring the headway made by a broad base of primary schools to provide a more diverse and holistic education.
Indeed, many primary schools have already taken steps to realise MOE’s goal of making every school good. Some have even pioneered innovative programmes to promote the development of niche skills among their pupils.
As part of their Applied Learning Programme (ALP) this year, Primary 5 pupils in Dazhong Primary School were tasked to come up with tech-inspired smart home solutions to save water and electricity.
In a similar spirit, Damai Primary School conducted a photo journalism programme for its Primary 3 pupils in 2021 to build up their media literacy skills, exposing pupils to the dynamic world of journalism.
Other examples abound, demonstrating how despite the lack of alumni funding, a “branded” school name, or even oversubscribed Primary 1 registration numbers, some schools are committed to being good in their own unique ways.
Whether these efforts are enough to forge a truly diverse primary school landscape remains to be seen, but the stage for further progress has definitely been set.

Challenging hierarchies​

Without a doubt, some competition is always healthy and can spur good performance, but at this juncture in our national conversation, it is time to amplify the voices that speak for diversity and equality.
In recent months, public dialogue between the state and its people has shifted towards a re-evaluation of our social compact – those ideas and visions that hold our society together – especially with regard to education and work.
In her recent parliamentary speech in April, President Halimah Yacob called upon Singaporeans to “recognise the competitive stresses that have built up in our education system” and “not be unwittingly drawn into an educational arms race”.
Our political leaders have shown their commitment towards reviewing traditional approaches in the realm of education. Society too must challenge its own assumptions.
We must dispense with hierarchical views of students and schools, lest we become stuck falsely dividing our nation’s children as competent or incompetent, deserving or undeserving, worthy or unworthy.
Come July 4, the Primary 1 registration exercise will kick off, and in each parent’s hands lies the power to confront the hierarchies that anxious parenting has long helped to entrench.
We hope that parents embrace education as more than just a tool to get ahead, but an opportunity, right at the heart of youth, to bring out the best in every child.
  • Eik Swee is senior lecturer in the Department of Economics at University of Melbourne.
  • Cameron Kheng is a research scholar reading his master’s in the Department of Sociology at Nanyang Technological University.
  • Vincent Chua is associate professor in the Department of Sociology and Anthropology at the National University of Singapore.

LITTLEREDDOT

Boy, 17, charged with instigating girl, 16, to bury body of child in yard​

courts-and-crime_0.jpg

ac_bylineSamuel1.png

Samuel Devaraj

June 23, 2023

SINGAPORE - A 17-year-old student of a popular school here has been charged with helping a teenage girl to bury the body of a child, and a separate charge of sexual penetration of a minor.
There is a gag order on the identities of the alleged offender and the victim.
The teenager was charged on Friday with abetting a girl, who was 16 then, to conceal the birth of a child by secretly disposing of the infant’s body.
According to court documents, he allegedly instigated the girl to conceal the birth by burying the body at the front yard of an undisclosed location on June 10, 2021.
The teenager was also charged with the sexual penetration of a minor. He allegedly had sex with a 15-year-old girl in a Housing Board unit some time in July 2020.
The boy, who according to his lawyer is still studying at the school, is out on bail and will return to court on Aug 7.
If convicted, he can be jailed for up to two years, fined or both for abetting the concealment of birth by secret disposal of a dead body.

He can be jailed for up to 20 years and fined or caned for the sexual penetration of a minor.

LITTLEREDDOT

‘We are not gangsters, we are ACS boys’ quote goes viral, inspires shirts and song​

ACS.jpg

Netizens designed T-shirts emblazoned with the quote, "We are not gangsters. We are ACS boys.” PHOTO: FACEBOOK
Ong Su Mann

MAR 11, 2024

SINGAPORE – Boys will be boys, it seems.
During a March 2 police raid at an Orchard Road KTV lounge where 14 men and 48 women were arrested over a four-day anti-crime operation targeting entertainment outlets and massage parlours, a man was found with an e-vaporiser and refused to provide his e-mail details when asked.
He was with a group of five other men in a private room, reported The Straits Times on March 8.
As officers quizzed him, one of the other male patrons raised his voice and said: “We are not gangsters. We are ACS boys.”
ACS stands for Anglo-Chinese School, and the quote has gone viral online after being highlighted on Reddit and elsewhere.
One Redditor commented: “This is the funniest thing I have seen this decade. They used ‘we are ACS boys’ as some kind of proof?”
Another said: “Was he trying to imply ‘my parents are rich and influential’? Why would anyone even say that in a situation he’s in? Sigh, there’s always that one friend.”

Netizens have come up with T-shirt designs emblazoned with the quote, which has inspired a song with the same title.
Others on social media also got in on the fun.
Local blogger and former ACS boy Lee Kin Mun, better known as mrbrown, took a dig at the saga in a video posted on social media.

Singaporean author Gwee Li Sui also wrote on Facebook: “How many ACS boys does it take to change a light bulb? None. We are not electricians. We are ACS boys.”

Among ACS’ notable alumni are President Tharman Shanmugaratnam, Minister for Foreign Affairs Vivian Balakrishnan, Olympic swimming champion Joseph Schooling and Mandopop star JJ Lin. THE NEW PAPER

LITTLEREDDOT

One male customer who was found with an electronic vaporiser, which is banned, refused to provide his e-mail details when asked, although he surrendered the device to HSA officers.

The man was with a group of five other men in a private room. As officers quizzed him, one of the other male patrons raised his voice and said: “We are not gangsters. We are ACS boys.”

62 people nabbed in anti-crime blitz targeting entertainment outlets, massage parlours​

2024030262504160bum7663-01.jpg

14 men and 48 women were arrested during the four-day operation from Feb 28 to March 2. ST PHOTO: ARIFFIN JAMAR
Andrew Wong

MAR 08, 2024

SINGAPORE – Scantily clad women who tried to flee from an Orchard Road KTV lounge during a raid were arrested as the authorities cracked down on illicit activities at entertainment outlets and massage parlours.
In all, 14 men and 48 women were arrested during the four-day operation from Feb 28 to March 2 and are being investigated, said the police.
The raid on March 2 at the KTV joint in Far East Shopping Centre was led by the Tanglin Police Division and was part of a five-hour blitz from 10pm.
The Straits Times and other media outlets witnessed the operation, which involved more than 30 officers from the Singapore Police Force, Ministry of Manpower, Singapore Civil Defence Force, Immigration and Checkpoints Authority, and Health Sciences Authority (HSA).
At the lounge, shoes, bags and a mobile phone were strewn across the floor as the women tried to scramble out during the 11.30pm raid by plain-clothes officers.
The mostly male patrons were caught by surprise when the lights were suddenly turned on at the usually dimly lit lounge.
The outlet has a few private rooms with doors that have only a small glass strip allowing a look in.

As part of licensing requirements, operators of KTV lounges must ensure public decency and are not allowed to use anything that obstructs the view of KTV rooms from the outside, including curtains or other decorations.
2024030232511402bum7824-01_0.jpg

At least 48 women, who are mostly foreigners, were rounded up in two rooms, where they were searched. ST PHOTO: ARIFFIN JAMAR
At least 48 women, who are mostly foreigners, were rounded up in two rooms, where they were searched.
One male customer who was found with an electronic vaporiser, which is banned, refused to provide his e-mail details when asked, although he surrendered the device to HSA officers.

The man was with a group of five other men in a private room. As officers quizzed him, one of the other male patrons raised his voice and said: “We are not gangsters. We are ACS boys.”
Officers de-escalated the situation, and the vape user relented and provided his e-mail address.
Earlier at about 10pm, officers also raided a KTV lounge, which has 18 private rooms, at the basement of Cuppage Plaza.
The mostly male patrons had to remain seated in the rooms as officers checked their particulars. Meanwhile, around 25 scantily clad women were held in a separate room as officers verified their identities.
Officers also searched their bags and other personal belongings for anything dangerous or illegal, including weapons, drugs and vaporisers, said a police spokesman.
Female officers searched the women for illegal items.
2024030284580575bum7641-01_0.jpg

Officers also searched their bags and other personal belongings for anything dangerous or illegal, including weapons, drugs and vaporisers. ST PHOTO: ARIFFIN JAMAR
Over the five hours, the authorities arrested 29 people, including 12 women under the Women’s Charter for providing sexual services.
Two men and eight women, aged between 21 and 43, were arrested for offences under the Employment of Foreign Manpower Act (EFMA).
Six women aged between 23 and 34, including one detained for labour offences, were arrested for suspected drug offences.
A 54-year-old man was arrested under the Societies Act, and a 58-year-old woman was arrested under the Criminal Procedure Code.
2024030230918140bum7777-01_0.jpg

A police spokesman said 16 vaporisers were seized during the raids. ST PHOTO: ARIFFIN JAMAR
A police spokesman said 16 vaporisers were seized during the raids.
The four-day, anti-crime blitz targeted massage parlours in Balestier Road, Orchard Road, Thomson Road and River Valley Road, and illegal gambling activities in Whampoa.
Senior Assistant Commissioner of Police Cheong Chee Ming, the commander of the Tanglin Police Division, said similar operations are likely to continue.
SAC Cheong said: “We will continue to work closely with other law enforcement agencies to take tough action against those involved in illicit activities.”