• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Are Property Agents Trustworthy?

Attempting to deflect the issue are we?

No matter how much you try, there is no such University. Your own family and friends are probably laughing behind your bank. They probably like you because you must be a nice guy and they have your accepted your character defect. Most people would not pay for fake PHD because its a red flag. Common sense should tell you to keep a low profile. Fake PHDs are very common in Africa among church leaders because education is low and people are ignorant. The other location well know for fake PHDs is the middle east.
You can trip over the PHDs as you walk the streets.

peterlth is incredibly imaginative. I didn't know Dr Tan has a monopoly over the word, "generalisation" and thus I must be him! Yet he calls my reasoning "rubbish". But no thanks to giving me a new identity. I love mine!

angmohlang

I read your posts with great hilarity. If some of you need an online punching bag, get the real Dr into the forum. I am not his substitute. I mock at such an incredulous imputation of identity.

peterlth

I read your posts with great hilarity. If some of you need an online punching bag, get the real Dr into the forum. I am not his substitute. I mock at such an incredulous imputation of identity.

Dr Tan, you are really struggling to hide your identity .... :p

Too bad, its too obvious now ...

By the way, have you dyed your hair red yet?

peterlth

More evidence to show that 'generalisation' is the favourite word of our dear Angmohlang a.k.a. Red Hair Man a.k.a Dr Tan Tee Khoon .....

http://propertyforesight.wordpress....xcessive-regulation-may-hamper-true-commerce/

----------------

Property transactions: Excessive regulation may hamper true commerce
Filed under: Community Voices — Propertymarketupdates @ 4:00 pm

I refer to the letter, ‘Time to regulate property agents’ (ST, July 11), by Mr Teo Cheng Peow......

Firstly, it is simplistic generalisation that agents who do not co-broke and those who earn commission from both parties (seller and buyer) are greedy. If an agent is able to fetch a bona-fide deal for his client without having to work with another agent, is such conduct unbecoming? ....

Dr Tan Tee Khoon

Source: The Straits Times, 13 July 2007

st_teekhoon.jpg

angmohlang

Hahaha...beware if any of you uses the word, "generalisation" and its related forms, you may be the Dr or aka red-haired. Thanks for the entertainment, peterlth!

peterlth

Scroobal, I like your new topic 'Templeton University a Fake? Is Dr Tan Tee Koon a fake?.

Its obviously the good Dr himself. If he was not the one, he would not come out with convoluted arguments to defend the non existent university to such an extent. His use of the word "generalisation" in an interesting context as highlighted by Peter and the choice or words and the similar sentence structure is telling.

angmohlang

Hahaha...you are one in a million! Your persistence is like believing that Wong Fei Hong rode on the unicorn! But I admire your deep fascination for the Dr.

peterlth

Templeton is an unaccredited school.

It could not get accredited because it has no real students, no real professors, no actual classrooms etc.

It is a fake definitely.

This Tan Tee Khoon should know that it is quite impossible to make this believable.. stupid ass should get sued..

There is another discussion on this matter. But this time, it talks about the integrity of Tan Tee Khoon ..... looks like this is going to get more and more interesting ...

peterlth

Hahaha...you are one in a million! Your persistence is like believing that Wong Fei Hong rode on the unicorn! :confused::confused::confused:But I admire your deep fascination for the Dr.

Tan Tee Khoon, you are losing your mind trying to get yourself out of this sh*t you created ..... Go study a proper doctorate degree lah. Don't take short cuts and compromise your integrity and reputation .... if you do not have the ability to do a proper PhD, just accept your limitations and face life ....

peterlth

Ccb lah,

I say I rode on unicorn u dun believe?

Then u say ur uni templeton n doctorate real one u want all of us to believe?

Ooi. I trust u ok dr tan. U also must believe my unicorn story lah.

I laugh until I feel off my chair ..... very funny reply to tan tee khoon ...

Queen Seok Duk

I will not go to the extent to say that you're Dr Tan himself. My focus is not whether you're Dr Tan, but if Templeton University is a 'genuine' University.

These days if a HR advertises for a position, one can expect to receive 100 applications at the very least, since so many Singaporeans are out of job, and PRs and FTs with fake degrees have joined in the fun.

Now assuming that both your very 'fine' managers from Templeton were recruited at the same time, they were probably the only two among the 100 applications. How did they beat the shits out of the many other NUS, NTU, SMU applicants ? It takes a very bold HR to recruit not one, but two from an unknown University where they're flanked by wings of applicants from recognized local universities. Or did your two Templeton candidates major in some discipline that local universities could not offer ?

I say they were probably the only 2 from Templeton to have applied for the position in your company because no parents would send their children to a University that does not even have a website when there are many other better known ones in other parts of the US.

That brings me to the next question. How did they study for their degree ? Did they do it via distance-learning ? Or did they 'touch' the foreign soil and spent 3 years or more in the 'campus' ?

No, I'm not looking for an online punching bag. I'm prepared to assume that you are NOT the real Dr Tan. But since you're the only one [besides Dr Tan] who seems to be connected to Templeton University in some way, you're the only one who can help throw light on this elusive University - elusive because there is no information on the Internet.

Okay, even if Templeton does not have a website for whatever weird reasons, Ms Grace Wald should at least have an email address. Are you able to tell us her email address so that peterlth can write to her and seek clarifications ?

angmohlang

There were 22 applicants in 2006. These two have the F&B/hospitality track record which I was looking out for. I called Grace Wald at this number:
(845) 346-0986 but that was 5 years ago. Good luck!

So the staff have been with you for 5 years? So out of 22 applicants you ended up with 2 from a non-existent university. How did you do the selection> Do you accept phone numbers and people that answer at face value. Not very smart are you.

How are 2 the staff doing? Are they prepared to give an interview and show their qualifications. Since no one can find the university or even remember that it exist, is it possible for them to help verify their qualifica ytions throough acceptable means.

Do you think that you have other staff with qualifications from mysterious institutions?

I don't think he gets the idea.
Property companies dun really care about certs n education. So their hr wil not care so much. Thus it is believable that ang mor lan aka dr tan have 2 other colleagues that bought their degrees like him.

peterlth

http://www.asiaone.com/Digital/Features/Story/A1Story20070523-8289.html

20070123_001a.jpg

Fake degrees

I RECEIVED TWO degrees last week. One is an associate's degree in criminal justice, while the other is a bachelor's degree in journalism, and it only took me less than a week to get them.

With these two degrees, I can, technically, begin applying for jobs as a police officer or a journalist, either of which will pay much more than my current position as an intern. For sure.

If you haven't guessed by now, the degrees are fake. The associate's degree from Belford University cost US$349 (S$536) and the replica bachelor's degree from TrueDiplomas cost US$137.90. Total: $748, excluding freight charges by DHL.

The Belford degree package is impressive. Apart from the qualification itself, the package also included educational transcripts with my grades for each module. The university seal is embossed and looks authentic.

The replica degree, however, is disappointing. There are glaring spelling and grammatical errors, for example, December was spelled as 'Decemberf'. (See photos on facing page.) Comparing it to the real McCoy from my colleague, the replica did have the same font, though there were slight differences in the content.

The paper size was also much smaller, though the website offered several paper sizes. (Being Singaporean, I chose the cheapest - A4).

Although the two documents were fairly easy to obtain, fake degrees do not appear to be a big issue in Singapore - yet. Over the last decade, there have been only six reported cases of degree frauds here. (See page 6, 6 Cases In Past Decade In Singapore)

The same cannot be said for other countries, though. In the United States, fake degree scams are so rampant that the problem is seen as a threat to national security. An audit as early as May 2004 revealed a total of 463 employees in the federal government had phony academic papers. Some were high-ranking officials in sensitive positions with top security level clearance.

According to degree mill expert John Bear, co-author of Degree Mills: The Billion-dollar Industry That Has Sold Over A Million Fake Diplomas, more than 300 active degree mills are selling thousands of fake degrees each week, with annual sales exceeding US$500 million. There were no authoritative figures for Singapore.

Mr David Ang, executive director of the Singapore Human Resource Institute, told Digital Life that fake degrees are not 'epidemic' here. He noted that degree cheats are usually foreign, buying these degrees overseas and then trying to use them in Singapore.

'People use fake degrees to apply for jobs which require soft skills, such as management positions, where their lack of knowledge is not so evident,' he added. He also said that companies here do conduct checks on the qualifications on their employees.

However, a poll of 10 randomly chosen local companies did not bear this out. Out of the 10 companies, only three were aware of fake degrees, and only one said they were able to identify them.

A human resource professional working at a local health care company said that no in-depth checks were conducted on the qualifications of their job applicants. She also did not know which relevant authorities to contact to authenticate a degree.

Even companies which do conduct checks may not be able to sieve out the deceptions altogether.

Ms Tammy Tan, group corporate communications officer for ComfortDelGro, told Digital Life that the qualifications of all job applicants, including those applying for executive postions, are checked by directly calling up the universities.

But such a method may not work against some degree mills, which provide verification services, said executive search firms. Employers who call them are told that the applicant is indeed a graduate from the school and assured of the good standing of the university.

Interestingly, the one company which did conduct adequate checks, Garner International, has encountered two cases of degree fraud here. The two applicants had applied for the account manager and sales executive positions at the executive search firm. Mr Brian Huntley, the regional director of the firm, encountered both cases after he started working here three months ago. Prior to working in Singapore, he was based in Australia where he also encountered cases of degree fraud.

Noted the executive, who specialises in placing IT personnel: 'They are usually in their mid-twenties to early thirties, (the time) when a person is trying to build a career and open doors to better jobs.'

While the degree-for-sale scam has not hit syndicate level, HR consultants say they are always wary of such bogus qualifications.

Mr Jagjit Gill, senior manager of operations at Kelly Services, said: 'In some of our operations in other countries, (fake degrees) can be a problem. We have had to reject and blacklist some applicants.'

Ms Annie Yap, CEO of the GMP Group, also said that the agency frequently encounters applicants who lie about their curriculum vitae.

As a result, recruiters actively screen the qualifications of their applicants. They also watch out for tell-tale signs such as mismatching qualifications for the job in question. For example, a Harvard graduate applying for an entry-level job.

However, not all degrees obtained online are fraudulent. Some accredited universities do offer online degree courses, Harvard University being one of them. However, the professional websites and sales pitches of degree mills can deceive prospective students as well, a fact acknowledged by Dr Michael Goldberg, chief academic officer of U21Global, a Singapore-based institution offering accredited online degree courses.

'It is important for prospective students to research carefully who is providing any educational programme in which they want to enrol,' he told Digital Life in an e-mail interview. 'As with all products and services, caveat emptor!'

Additional reporting by Tham Yuen-C

[email protected],
[email protected]

peterlth

Hi Tan Tee Khoon a.k.a angmohlang, you should consider buying an fake NUS marketing doctorate degree ..... rather that your current Templeton University's one. Everyone knows templeton is gone case liao ....

http://www.asiaone.com/News/Education/Story/A1Story20100222-200215.html

Psst... Want to buy a S'pore degree?

By Liew Hanqing

AS SINGAPORE becomes a brand name as a high-value education hub in the region, degrees from local universities are becoming more coveted among foreign students.

And like most things that have high demand, the degrees have attracted counterfeiters out to make a fast buck.

The New Paper on Sunday learnt recently that fake degrees from National University of Singapore (NUS), Nanyang Technological University (NTU) and Singapore Management University (SMU) were on sale here.

An investigative team went undercover to expose this apparently roaring trade where a fake degree can be bought for anything from a few hundred dollars to $4,000.

All it takes is a brief online chat and a quick face-to-face exchange to buy a fake degree.

And what The New Paper on Sunday uncovered has caught the universities here by surprise. All said that they weren't aware of counterfeit local degrees being sold here.

The counterfeiters, who are based in Singapore and China, offer to sell the fake degrees on popular Internet forums.

One seller exposed by The New Paper on Sunday said that the buyers are usually foreign nationals, mostly from China, who are returning to their home countries.

He advertises his services on forums frequented by foreign nationals.

Others run sophisticated websites offering an array of counterfeiting services such as fake degrees, transcripts and identification documents.

Some, including two sites based in Shenzhen and Shanghai, offer a comprehensive list of fake degrees and diplomas from local institutions, including NUS, NTU, SMU, SIM University, Management Development Institute of Singapore (MDIS)and Temasek Polytechnic.

To make their activities more difficult to track, most vendors restrict correspondence with customers to instant messaging on QQ, an instant messenger program commonly used in China.

After a brief online conversation, prospective customers need only to arrange a mutually convenient time to meet the vendor to pay a deposit, or send payment via bank transfer.

When the fake degree is ready, customers meet the vendor again to pay the balance and get the degree. Alternatively, they can opt to receive the fake degree by post.

The cost of a fake degree can range from $300 to $4,000. A set of fake transcripts from local universities is also available for an additional $700.