• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Another sex case: River Valley Principal

congo9

There was SATISFACTION all right!... the point is not what he does or doesn't after hours or privately, the point is he was supposed to be 'clean', who he does, did or done with a person or entity that contracts had been awarded, implicate him to be 'dirty'.

They are in love with each other. How do you prove that special sex service is being used to win contracts?

Principal had sex with vendor on school trip even though they were both married

Shaffiq Alkhatib
​The New Paper
Dec 19, 2015

He already had a wife when he started an affair with a married woman in 2001.

And the woman became a director of one of the school's vendors and of another company providing education-related services and organising overseas learning journeys.

Koh Yong Chiah, who was principal of The Chinese High School, Jurong Junior College and River Valley High School at various points in his career, approved, in a span of seven years, more than $3 million worth of contracts to the woman's companies.

In November 2005, when questioned by a Ministry of Education (MOE) officer following a complaint, Koh denied having an affair with Ms Ivy Loke Wai Lin, now 55.

But he continued to see her and rewarded her companies more contracts.

Yesterday, Koh, 61 and still married, pleaded guilty in court to one count of giving false information to a public servant on Nov 24, 2005.

A second charge of giving false information to the Corrupt Practices Investigation Bureau on Dec 18, 2012, will be taken into consideration during sentencing.

The court heard that Ms Loke was working for the Television Corporation of Singapore (now MediaCorp) in 2000 when she read about The Chinese High School's involvement in community service projects to help the less fortunate in Singapore.

She approached The Chinese High School (now Hwa Chong Institution) to suggest a project involving a village in China.

Koh was the principal of The Chinese High School at the time.

Deputy Public Prosecutor Navin Naidu said Ms Loke met Koh later that year.

He said that "a mutual attraction began to develop between the two of them, which eventually developed into a sexual relationship".

The pair had sex for the first time in China during a school trip in March 2001.

Later that year, Koh bought himself and Ms Loke two white gold rings "as a pledge of their love for each other".

Koh left The Chinese High School in 2002 and became the principal of Jurong JC the following year.

In 2004, Ms Loke separated from her husband and they divorced in 2005.

As the principal of Jurong JC, Koh was the Final Approving Authority for contracts awarded by his school to vendors.

Between May and November 2005, he signed off six contracts to Ms Loke's company, Education Architects 21, for a total worth of $162,491.25.

Ms Loke was also a director of another company, Education Incorporation.

CONTRACTS

The contracts were for items including overseas trips to Chengdu, China, and Medan, Indonesia.

DPP Naidu said Koh did not disclose the nature of his relationship with Ms Loke to the other members of the JC's quotation approval panel comprising the vice-principal and heads of department.

He added: "In November 2005, MOE's Director General of Education received an anonymous complaint alleging, amongst other things, that the accused was having an affair with (Ms Loke) and that they were behaving inappropriately on school premises and on overseas school trips."

Ms Chia Ban Tin, a cluster superintendent with MOE, interviewed Koh that month and Koh denied having an affair with Ms Loke.

Koh left Jurong JC in December 2009 and became the principal of River Valley High School.

He continued seeing Ms Loke while heading the school and gave her companies business. He left the school in September 2012.

DPP Naidu said that in 2007, 56 per cent of the revenue of Ms Loke's companies were attributable to contracts to provide services for Jurong JC.

By 2011, 90 per cent of Education Incorporation's revenue came from River Valley High School.

DPP Naidu added that Koh would sometimes help Ms Loke to amend some of the details in the itinerary or quotations before they were submitted to the schools for consideration.

In his submissions, DPP G. Kannan urged District Judge Hamidah Ibrahim to jail Koh for between four and six weeks.

He stressed that the case involves "a senior public servant who was dishonest when the conduct of his official duties were investigated".

Koh's lawyer Lawrence Ang pleaded for his client to be fined instead. In his mitigation, he said Koh made no financial gains and "no one suffered any loss".

Koh, who broke down when he addressed the judge yesterday, said that he felt very ashamed.

Wiping away his tears, the father of two said: "I hope Your Honour will show me mercy so I can live my life with dignity." Koh is out on a $10,000 bail and will be back in court on Jan 7.

He declined to speak when The New Paper approached him yesterday.

Responding to queries from TNP, MOE said Koh is currently suspended from duties.

Its spokesman said: "Educators who fail to comply with our standards of conduct and discipline will be subjected to disciplinary action. For serious cases, they may be dismissed from the service."

For giving false information to a public servant, Koh can be jailed up to six months and fined up to $1,000.

What Happened

Koh Yong Chiah joins Ministry of Education.

Koh becomes principal of The Chinese High School.

Koh meets Ms Ivy Loke Wai Lin.

Koh and Ms Loke have sex during a school trip to Lijiang, China, in March.

Koh leaves The Chinese High School.

In January, Koh becomes principal of Jurong Junior College.

Between May and November, Koh awards six contracts worth $162,491.25 to Ms Loke's company.

MOE receives complaint about Koh's affair in November.

On Nov 24, MOE officer interviews Koh, who denies the affair.

In December, Koh becomes principal of River Valley High School.

Koh leaves River Valley High School in September.

From November 2005 to 2012, Koh approves 87 more contracts totalling $3.2 million to Ms Loke's companies.

Get The New Paper for more stories.

Related article:

Former River Valley High principal admits to lying to MOE official over affair with school vendor

MORE FROM STOMP

Man brings girl home for sex after night out -- but wakes up to 'total carnage' - This Urban Jungle, Singapore Seen - STOMP

66 arrested in multi-agency joint enforcement crackdown - This Urban Jungle, Singapore Seen - STOMP

Couple's 'soft porn' acts steam up steamboat restaurant - This Urban Jungle, Singapore Seen - STOMP

Man and child injured, cars end up on pedestrian walkway and divider after Tampines collision - This Urban Jungle, Singapore Seen - STOMP
MORE FROM AROUND THE WEB

5 places to take the family that make full use of 2016's long weekends.
Skyscanner

8000m deep optical underwater cables connect people around the world
FUJITSU JOURNAL by FUJITSU

Upgraders can offset condo mortgage with HDB rent
The Edge Property

The 3 Cheapest Places to Park in Orchard Road for Cars
MoneySmart.sg
Recommended by

Onitsuka

They are in love with each other. How do you prove that special sex service is being used to win contracts?

Which is why Koh has not (been) charged for corruption. He is only being charged for giving false information to a MOE officer and CPIB.

In other words, he is charged for telling a lie. I think many of us are aware that the mere fact that two parties who happen to be caught in a conflict of interest relationship are husband and wife does not necessarily mean corruption is present, let alone nocturnal lovers.

The whistle blower is a competing vendor for school's contracts, and whichever school Koh was installed as principal the contracts were awarded to his "ladyfriend".

The purpose really is to spill the beans and shame Koh, though there is not a tinge of evidence that Koh is corrupt. It's to kill two birds with one stone, ending Koh's career and keeping a fellow competitor at bay.

songsongjurong

koh's salary superscale in region of $200k annually.. pension of $500k gone , he likely will mount a challenge against MOE to relieve him of pension.

Charlie99

"Which is why Koh has not charged for corruption. He is only being charged for giving false information to a MOE officer and CPIB."

May be you forgot to type [been], because it should be either
Koh has not been charged
or
Koh was not charged

There were no special services duh!....they had sex & they were married & " NO SEX PLEASE, we are...." they admitted having SEX.....one is a client, the other is a vendor....transaction & other actions, must be done on the table, in the light & seen by all... not under the table, in the bed, close the down...ahh!..whether lights on or off...hmmm!!. in other words, the only relationship is only BUSINESS....not "money business"....:biggrin:

"Which is why Koh has not charged for corruption. He is only being charged for giving false information to a MOE officer and CPIB."

Koh has not been charged
or
Koh was not charged

Technically, he ' tau chiak' ha ha ha....he didn't 'makan duit'....but makan something else lah!

Onitsuka

Koh has not been charged
or
Koh was not charged

Yes, I missed out. I was going to correct it but couldn't do it on my mobile phone. Don't understand what's wrong with my Android device.

Charlie99

Yes, I missed out. I was going to correct it but couldn't do it on my mobile phone. Don't understand what's wrong with my Android device.

Sometimes, those mobile devices' "auto correct" may not be correct, and can be annoying.
Cheers.

Onitsuka

Sometimes, those mobile devices' "auto correct" may not be correct, and can be annoying.
Cheers.

Thanks for pointing out, btw.

I hope Koh's family can get over this episode soon. It's really bad to lose the respect of your children at this age.

Charlie99

Thanks for pointing out, btw.

I hope Koh's family can get over this episode soon. It's really bad to lose the respect of your children at this age.

A major indiscretion, which caused him to probably lose respect, family peace, his career, his achievements, and his pension (I believe that those from his cohort and earlier cohort of teachers, the govt gave them an option, but I heard, tried to persuade them to convert to the CPF scheme. One of my classmates, a former Superintendent and Principal of a well known JC, was prudent to opt to remain on pensionable service. I hope it is defined benefit pension plan - for example, a certain percentage of your best 5 years, say 70% of the average salary of your best five years, for life)

Onitsuka

A major indiscretion, which caused him to probably lose respect, family peace, his career, his achievements, and his pension (I believe that those from his cohort and earlier cohort of teachers, the govt gave them an option, but I heard, tried to persuade them to convert to the CPF scheme. One of my classmates, a former Superintendent and Principal of a well known JC, was prudent to opt to remain on pensionable service. I hope it is defined benefit pension plan - for example, a certain percentage of your best 5 years, say 70% of the average salary of your best five years, for life)

I understand that if you refuse to convert to CPF scheme, your promotion will be stifled. Priority will be given to CPF scheme converts. So if you are 20 plus or in your early 30s, it might be worthwhile to convert. But if you have less than 15 years of service left, and your rank is pretty okay, then there is no point in converting to CPF scheme.

Back to Koh's case, the vendors out there vying for a piece of the cake are getting more and more garang, and will not hesitate to "activate" CPIB or CAD if they smell something fishy.

Charlie99

My classmate was relatively young then, some 20 years ago.
Since he did not convert to the CPF scheme, it is possible that he did go higher than Superintendent, but there are only so many or so few Director level positions at the MOE.
Not sure whether that younger man, who is near the top, or at the top at MOE, converted to the CPF scheme.

If I was him, I would declare a potential conflict of interest, and step out of the meeting before and during the "Approvals Committee" deliberation and vote on whose proposal to accept, and let someone else sign any correspondence, the bidding and acceptance process, as well as any contract or agreement.
Then, he may have any sexual activities, which may affect his marriage and family, but not his career.
Although the MOE may at its discretion, consider his conduct unacceptable as a teacher or principal.

Semaj2357

......If I was him, I would declare a potential conflict of interest, and step out of the meeting before and during the "Approvals Committee" deliberation and vote on whose proposal to accept, and let someone else sign any correspondence, the bidding and acceptance process, as well as any contract or agreement. Then, he may have any sexual activities, which may affect his marriage and family, but not his career. Although the MOE may at its discretion, consider his conduct unacceptable as a teacher or principal.
i think it's unwise for him to do that, as he would raise more questions (to his detriment and for moe to consider this as moral turpitude as you said) rather than keeping the affair under wraps and continue to "steal eat". it would also affect this well-maintained service provider in some ways...

Onitsuka

i think it's unwise for him to do that, as he would raise more questions (to his detriment and for moe to consider this as moral turpitude as you said) rather than keeping the affair under wraps and continue to "steal eat". it would also affect this well-maintained service provider in some ways...

He should have just divorced the wife and married the vendor. There is precedent in Singapore that as long as they are husband and wife team, there can be no conflict of interest. You can't find a bigger case law than this.

Semaj2357

He should have just divorced the wife and married the vendor. There is precedent in Singapore that as long as they are husband and wife team, there can be no conflict of interest. You can't find a bigger case law than this.
agreed absolutely.... only that in this case, this vendor is so much better looking :p