• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Alfian Saat to LKY:Should Article 152 be scrapped Should Article 152 be scrapped?

Porfirio Rubirosa

38) Seng Hin on September 5th, 2009 11.39 pm It is real sad to read such an article by Alfian Sa’at. The author is simply disloyal to the country and his fellow men. What is wrong with being proud to be Malay, Indian or Chinese Singaporeans ? If you are true blue Singaporean caring for Singapore, you would not have written such a piece. Why bite the hand that feeds you ? Would you do the same to your parents ? Don’t bring TOC down with such articles. Already TOC is like an opposition site. But it is becoming less credible with articles opposing for the sake of doing so. There are more nitpicking than learning.
40) K Das on September 6th, 2009 12.11 am Seng Hin (38), He is being pushed from pillar to post and even booted out as a temporary teacher by higher authorities when he was already teaching for nearly 1-2 months after having been chosen by a secondary school to teach English there. I wish you were in his shoes. For you to ask of him why bite the hands that feeds you – you must be a real nut!
43) Alfian on September 6th, 2009 12.43 am Seng Hin: I think I’ve tried to point out a difference between saying ‘I’m proud to be a Malay Singaporean’ and ‘I’m proud to be a Singaporean’. The writer was clearly trying to make a distinction between Singaporean and Malaysian Malays. By implication, all Malay Malaysians should feel some shame at whatever success they’ve attained because of the supposed generous entitlements they’ve received. But I have Malay friends working in the private sector in Malaysia who have not benefited from the NEP. ‘Affirmative action’ is not a system that permeates all levels of Malaysian society, just as ‘meritocracy’ is not something that is practised by everyone in Singapore.

On a side note, I was the person who wrote the script for this year’s National Day Parade. There are some instances when I am proud to be a Singaporean. But I would have been prouder if we had managed to somehow convince the PAP MP’s to dress just like all the Singaporeans present at the event, instead of in their party uniforms. Everytime I see that block of all-white against a sea of red, I couldn’t help but see a country segmented into elites and digits. : (

K Das: Actually I have no grudge against the government. We have to be careful about this, because the mainstream media has a tendency to caricature anyone who expresses dissent as someone who has a big chip on his shoulder, who’s somehow aggrieved because of personal injuries. Then it’s very easy to dismiss the person, assuming that his or her activities are retaliatory, and have nothing to do with seeking greater justice and freedoms for all Singaporeans.

So I have nothing against MOE or whichever civil servant that made the decision to sack me. I will still give talks and hold forums in whichever school wishes to invite me.

And I always have this response to someone saying: Why bite the hand that feeds you? What do you when someone feeds you with his right hand, but beats you with his left? Can you afford to remain silent? : )
48) agongkia on September 6th, 2009 3.33 am But is there a need to have a long story over someone who is proud of being a Malay Singaporean?49) Alfian on September 6th, 2009 3.42 am agongkia: I’ve got an interesting challenge for you…

Get someone who’s Chinese (are you? If you are then you can volunteer) to spend a week in China. Then come back to Singapore, and write an article with the title, ‘Proud To Be Chinese Singaporean’. Send to Straits Times, and see if they will publish it. : )
50) agongkia on September 6th, 2009 5.22 am 47)Alfian
Acknowledged.
I have wrote to ST on some views some years back and as it had never been published,I had since stop writing and regret that I am unable to take up your challenge by specially writing to them just to say that I am a proud Singaporean.

Whatever the case,your challenge may have caught their attention and I believe because of that ,any Singaporean of any race who wrote about how proud they are ,whether being a Chinese ,Indian Singaporean etc will have a high chance of getting their letters publish.
I have not read Ms Kartini’s essay but I remembered having read a similar article before( I can’t recall which paper) by another proud Singaporean of another race .
I just feel that we should just accept someone’s view when they are having something to be proud of .
Your article is also interesting and I really did learn something from it.

this one is especially for scroobal:smile:
51) jc on September 6th, 2009 5.51 am Good job, Alfian! It is dangerous to leave highfalutin ideas go un-demolished and mislead everyone :p

But, at the same time, I wouldn’t take Khartini’s “opinions” too seriously, given her political affiliation (and inferred aspiration).

You noted about people of mixed ancestry tending to have a purist view on race. Well, Khartini, like many of our so-called “Malay/Muslim” MP, is of mixed ancestry herself. Look at her self-intro on the p65 blog: “Khartini is the C, M and I in CMIO. She is 1/4 Chinese, 1/2 Malay and 1/4 Indian.”

The advantage of having a mixed ancestry is that you can pick and choose to display the “colour” that best supports your personal agenda at any given time and place.

Porfirio Rubirosa

52) jy on September 6th, 2009 7.01 am Dear Alfian,

I am a 60 year old Singaporean and my father came from Hainan Island before WW2.

I have received 12 years of education with Mandarin (mainly) as the medium of instruction. During my adult hood, I have spent weeks in China and some months in London.

Whilst in China, I have no problems with their food, culture, language or etc. I never felt that I belong. Whilst in London, I, too have no problems with food, culture, and language… I had many Caucasion friends, some HK and overseas ethnic Chinese… I also never felt that I belong…

In fact, I was more at home when I was in the company of fellow Singaporeans and Malaysians (regardless their ethnic origins.

I am saddened by the fact that those in the corridor of power in both Peninsula and our little island are exploiting the diversity of our ethnic origins to safeguard their thrones.

I thank people like you for giving us hope…

another one especially for scroobal:p
56) Surprised on September 6th, 2009 10.39 am Just for your information, Khartini Khalid’s name has been in the papers a few times. She had asked quite pertinent questions from the government MPs, which implied racial matters, especially pertaining to Malays. The last, if I’m not mistaken was in Pasir Ris meeting with the MPs.

Perhaps, her article this time is to show she is NOT anti-government, for reasons only known to herself.

In fact I was quite surpised to read her article this time.
58) A true Malaysian on September 6th, 2009 12.37 pm I read both Khatini’s and Alfian’s articles. I must say both have their valid points.

For the purpose of development of intellectual skill in presenting our views through writing, I believe we should not have any suspicion on one’s article. It is up to our ‘wisdom’ in whether to accept the views presented by the writer concerned, and stop there rather than accusing this and that. Such accusations will not bring us anywhere in development of intellectual thinking.

Khatini’s stay in a village in Malaysian state of Negri Sembilan has opened up her eyes on how different there are in term of mindsets of Malay in both Singapore and Malaysia. I think, this is quite natural as overseas Chinese and China Chinese mindsets are totally different as well.

The point I wish to share here is that, we, Malaysian or Singaporean alike, should not place emphasis on our ethnics but instead should strive for universal values of what we should have as human being, so that we see each other as ‘human’ rather than as Chinese, Malay, India or whatever. I may say, politically, Malaysia is gearing towards multiracial thinking under Pakatan Rakyat, and I personally think it is a good development for Malaysia in the long run.

Whatever happening in both of our countries, due to close proximity, cultural and historical factors, could not run away from the spill-over effects. Many of us are not fools to believe wholly of what our politicians say, and it is the duty of everyone of us to develop our intellectual intelligence to correct the political landscape of our countries.

Singapore is a country I admire. Her system and efficiency in many sectors are actually role model for many countries, including Malaysia. Pride, apart from many ‘excuses’ is the main obstacle why many countries refuse to adopt such model. But, having said this, not every Singaporean consider themselves as “Proud” Singapore. As rightly pointed out by Alfian, meritocracy that practise in Singapore does not bring across the board benefits to all in Singapore, the rich get richer, and the poor get poorer. I personally believe, while ‘kiasu’ attitude is good in enriching oneself, it also causes one to become proud, arrogant and self-centred. This has caused one to lose his or her human nature like the rich should help the poor, or specifically, refuse the scholarship awarded to them, and let the poorer good students the opportunity to get better. In hindsight, if the huge losses that Singapore sufferred in her investment were instead allocated to help the Singapore poor, definitely there will be more Proud Singaporean like Khatini.

Malaysia, is at the other extreme end of Singapore, lacking in meritocracy and efficiency of many sectors, to the extent of many of her people migrated elsewhere including Singapore. But, many of us still choose to stay on as no one country in this world is perfect in everything. It is a duty of all Malaysian to put aside their ethnicity and religion, put emphasis in developing multiracialism. Let’s be a ‘true’ Malaysian first then only we can be a ‘proud’ Malaysian.

I am proud of you Alfian. I pick up some points that I have in common with you. This proves that people of different ethnicity and nationality can be ‘true’ friends. Let’s us develop ‘trust’ among our people. ‘Trust’ is what we Malaysian and Singaporean are seriously lacking among our people, what more to expect betweenMalaysian and Singapore?
59) Zhi Yong on September 6th, 2009 12.44 pm At least, PAP is doing their best efforts in diffusing racial tensions…but looking at the way TOC had been publishing its articles, it had consistently tried to stroke racial tensions…all this because it is always able to find a bunch of minority hypocrites and ingrates who on one hand, were able to peacefully and safely live, eat, sleep and shit in Singapore, yet on the other hand, criticize the same government that gives them such peace and safety without any constructive solutions and alternatives.

Why are you bunch of hypocrites and ingrates still living in Singapore? Give up your citizenship and get lost to somewhere else where it fits you and your mentality…why should Singapore changed everything and anything just for a minority bunch of hypocrites and ingrates, where the vast majority of Singaporeans are counting their blessings to be able to live in Singapore compared to anywhere else!

Try voting the PAP government out in the next elections, and if you can’t, it only shows that the majority of Singaporeans still identified with the government!

And yes, there will be idiots who will say that Singaporeans are kiasu, careless, and willing to submit to authority…who cares? After all, PAP is still the most corrupt-free government in the world!!
60) Oxford Dude on September 6th, 2009 1.01 pm The Datuk’s comment can be found here.

Btw Zhi Yong, it is PAP who is stroking racial tension, not TOC. TOC is promoting active conversation between races. In Alfian’s own words, this is best described as “The tendency of any majority, if left unchecked, is towards tyranny. The tendency of any minority, if left unattended, is towards alienation.”

Alfian's is right about both counts. The money for each malay goes into a pool ands given to Mendaki for distribution on a needs basis. Subsidised minority media and its purpose is well known and Alfian is aware. Venacular state media is a well worn and well used essays topics in the study of singapore politics. Its just never appeared in SPH or in open channel.

Alfian is misinformed about 2 things in his write up:

1. Education for Malays in Singapore is not subsidised. Expanding on this topics of Special Priviledge for the Malays, what tangible priviledge has the PAP under LKY bestowed on this ethnic minority?

Zilch! Zero! Nada! Nothing at all. And don't think the Malays are happy about it. It simmers right below the surface.

2. Alfian is correct that the media for the Minorities are subsidised. But this is not due to LKY's altruistic intent. Bear in mind tha whatever he does is a calculated move, to extract the best possible position from a set situation.

The whole intent of subsidising the media is so that theya re able to exert control and influence on what is printed and aired. Called it a propaganda machine if you must, but that is the stark reality.

LKY did not do it for the sole purpose of upholding 'Special Priviledges'.

Besides Alfian and Khartini spiels, its interesting the comments that we see from forummers as wqell as those in TOC. Its give an interesting picture of what part of the pop think.

The comment from "JY" a 60 year old chap takes the prize. Even though "Walau" and "Singaporean" came close. I suspect JY had his formative years when all the races played together, visited one another and did alot of things to together. He found the common ground.

The grand prize for being completely out of touch is by George. I suspect that most Singaporean Chinese share the same view. (8). Here is the extract
8) George on September 3rd, 2009 12.23 pm In our meritocratic system, all the six SAF scholars were Chinese. So were the six president scholars and two Lee Kuan Yew scholars.

I must say that in 44 years of nationhood, Singapore has been genuinely treating everybody equal. There is no discrimination in our multi-racial, multi-cultural, multi-lingual, meritocratic Singapore!

Sadly, the Chinese (assumption) could not comprehend what the issue were and therefore could not get into a reasonable debate. "Seng Hin" is certainly living in a world of his own oblivious to what the other races are up to. Also noted that the Indians did seem to in the debate.

Amin had a different opinion to both clauses but his points are what the Malays are feeling ie whether the clauses are there or not in the constitution, its not making a material difference.

Khartini needs a lobotomy to save herself.

Loofydralb

I do not feel that it is a charade, rather a tacit admission of the fact, which if done in any other manner would break down social cohesion.

Its LKY's way of saying "Hey its your island, we admit that. But lets just put in down in writing, but you won't get anything special out of it cos we need the other races to come in and make it work together."

Couldn't work out what you saying. Could you elaborate. And what other races? LKY said something else in parliament. Here is a gist of what he said

- there can never be equality of races
- the Malays have to be looked after
- the pledge is an aspiration, not a mission statement or goal.

I do not feel that it is a charade, rather a tacit admission of the fact, which if done in any other manner would break down social cohesion.

Its LKY's way of saying "Hey its your island, we admit that. But lets just put in down in writing, but you won't get anything special out of it cos we need the other races to come in and make it work together."

Porfirio Rubirosa

104) YPY on September 6th, 2009 10.06 pm No one is born racist – everyone plays a part and respect for other races start young – esp in terms of how our parents, relatives and teachers educate and influence us with their own values and views.
I’m sure when we were all young, we wouldn’t be as conscious as some of us are currently of how different we are from one another. We were more concerned with having fun together and fooling around in the playgrounds.
It only take a few occasions for some parents to tell their kids to “don’t mix with the Chinese, Indians or Malays – cos they are ‘bad’, ‘dirty’ etc” for the children to start being conscious and become guarded and eventually distant from races different from their own.
As to whether art 152 is really helping the minorities (esp the malays) by providing free edu for them (in pri and sec) – well, perhaps would be useful to give us a breakdown of the % of malays who have graduated from pri and sec in proportion to the other races as well as the % who continue their edu beyond sec sch and % who are in ITEs, JCs, Poly etc and while we are at it…the % of malays and other races asking for handouts during the MPS (Meet-The-Ppl sessions).

Free may not always be good – it’s afterall human nature for most to take free things for granted
105) CBL on September 6th, 2009 10.06 pm Ismail Kassim on September 3rd, 2009 10.49 am

If u are a Singaporean Malay, i do not know what more do u want from a majority Chinese. Unlike M’sia, many Malaysian Chinese and Indians came to work in Singapore just to make a living because they cant find jobs in M’sia which mostly catered to the bumiputra. Do u know that some local Chinese families are even less well off than the exisiting Malay in Singapore. If u think the Malay govt in Malaysia can provide u and your family a good place to live, then go ahead and migrate. You enjoy more years of free education than other races.
What are there to complain about? Very simple, not happy here, migrate to Malaysia. Your own kampung people will definitely welcome u with open arm.

now this one is curious
107) antz on September 7th, 2009 1.38 am Agreed with CBL,

I am a Malay and just dun understand that some of the Malays have indeed indirectly ;thru online’ pouring unthinkable grievances.

Not happy then stay elsewhere (malaysia and Indonesia),simple.But wages are low if that what they wants.

when election comes,BH and majority of the Malays will be queueing up in rows marking PAP into power.
108) la nausée on September 7th, 2009 3.26 am @CBL and antz,

It depresses me to count you as fellow Singaporeans. Is “Not happy then emigrate” our national motto now? Your failing to see that people who are disenchanted (to varying degrees) by our present state of affairs nevertheless have an equal stake in the direction our society takes, and that mere disagreement does not imply disloyalty or treason, shows you up as both dim-witted and close-minded.

The issue is not whether there are better alternatives out there (”Think of all the starving children in Ethiopia!”). No one should be subjected to such a false choice as accepting existing policies hook, line and sinker (do you even?), or else renouncing her citizenship and uprooting herself to find fortune ‘neath foreign skies. The real question is whether we can do better for ourselves.

(To those like Andrew Chuah who doubt that Malays are relatively disadvantaged compared to other races, I point once again to this link; the Lily Zubaidah Rahim book which Alfian refers to has also become canonical in this regard.)

(And of course, other quite despicable examples of discrimination (unintentional or otherwise) abound, even on this thread. Two examples are Andrew Chuah (“I take it that you are an educated Singaporean Malay and one who writes well.“) and CBL (“Your own kampung people will definitely welcome u with open arm.”).)

To simply respond to calls for greater substantive equality by pointing to the failures of Malaysia’s NEP and bumiputra policy is no argument at all. Only the most unimaginative minds instantly conjure up the most extreme, unworkable ’solution’ in order to dismiss out of hand any kind of solution.
this one by alfian is interesting because based on my own annecdotal encounters the aljunied grc malay electorate appeared to back the paps in droves
110) Alfian Sa'at on September 7th, 2009 5.30 am Hi antz,

re: “when election comes,BH and majority of the Malays will be queueing up in rows marking PAP into power.”

There is an important chapter in a book called “Paths Not Taken: Political Pluralism in Post-War Singapore.”

It’s called ‘Winning and Losing Malay Support: PAP-Malay Community Relations, 1950s and 1960s’ by Lily Zubaidah Rahim.

Basically her thesis is that PAP courted Malay support by using certain candidates from the Malay Left, who they eventually suppressed under supposed ‘anti-communist’ operations. They did the same thing with the Chinese Left.

You should also know the among the races in Singapore, the Malays are least likely to vote for the PAP (or the incumbent). If you examine table 7 in the results of a s survey conducted by the Institute of Policy Studies (http://www.lkyspp.nus.edu.sg/ips/docs/events/post-election/Political Orientation_ver 5 _2_.pdf), you’ll find that support for the status quo by Malays is 19.4%, as opposed to 25.8% for Indians and 27.9% for Chinese.
115) Andrew Chuah on September 7th, 2009 11.23 am 7/9/09

Hi Kow Kee Seng-Noted your article, I refer Chan Chee Seng belong to a minority group of young people, and not a minority race. This is a group where they are still young and ideal and wants a perfect system which is impossibe (we already have a near perfect system in Singapore and what we need to to further fine tune these system ie public institutions and laws which now have flaws. I am not pro PAP as I also have my fair share of injustice in Singapore.

Hi Small Engineer-Thanks for your posting.My answer is Yes or No…..for now as the majority race in Singapore ie local born Singapore Chinese also having their difficulties and one is the influx of Chinese from China. Perhaps ,this has been over looked and thousands have migrated to other nations like Australia, New Zealand, USA, Canada.

Hi La Nausee-What I wrote is the Malays in Singapore are far better off than the Malays in Malaysia and Indonesia and they have succeeded on their own hard work and must be proud of their achievement (no help at all or any form of welfare from the government).

Regards
Andrew Chuah
116) la nausée on September 7th, 2009 12.38 pm @Andrew Chuah (#115), you cite no evidence for your claim that Malays in Singapore are “far better off” than Malays in our two neighbouring countries, relying instead on stereotypes, or superficial indicia like the number of minority-race Cabinet Ministers we have. Moreover, it’s a mistake to compare the Singapore Malay community with its counterparts in Indonesia and Malaysia, because the latter are in the majority in their respective countries. (Interestingly, if you compare the Chinese minority in Malaysia and Indonesia with the Malay minority here, I daresay the former are far better off.)

The correct comparison, I would reiterate, is between Malays versus other races in Singapore itself. And I’ve pointed you to some concrete statistics revealing gross disparities between the majority Chinese and minority races (esp. the Malays). (I’ve got a bunch more if you need further proof.)

Nobody’s saying that Chinese Singaporeans are not also facing difficulties. The issue is who is facing (far) greater difficulty? Who, for example, would suffer the most from the influx of China-born, Mandarin-speaking migrants? Surely not the Chinese community.

It seems that all your posts thus far can be distilled as such: “We all have our own problems, so let’s stop discussing them altogether, and just be grateful for the good stuff.” Need I say how silly that sounds?

Porfirio Rubirosa

62) Integrity on September 6th, 2009 2.49 pm reply Zhi Yong

PAP tries to diffuse racial tension to the level she desire, no more and no less.

The best to promote racial harmony as shown in experience in Europe that Citizens are taught the languages of minorities or neighbours and vice-versa.

Singaporean students should be taught Behasa Malayu (Behasa Indonesia is difinitely much better choice); Malay and Indian should be taught Chinese.

This is what has been practice in Netherland, Luxembourg or Switzerland.

Instead, Singapore is the only country in the world student does not learn their national language.

Given PAP are bunch of westernized mercenary elites, it would to their advantage if the people in Singapore have little or diluted awareness in the races, and do not work with one another too much. By emphasising English, they hope to breed more likemines.

The westernize elites are true minority. All the important positions go to Lee Tribe, or scholars who are able to demonstrate they are one of their clan.

But I indeed agree that PAP is clever in diffusing raicial tinderbox.
63) A true Malaysian on September 6th, 2009 2.54 pm Alfian,

Could I get your view on what you deem “Malay” in Singapore context?

You see, in Malaysia, Malay is being defined in the Constitution as “a person who is a Muslim, converses in Malay and follows the Malay traditions is considered a Malay.” That is to say, strictly speaking, a Mamak (as you commented earlier), Chinese, Indian, Kadazan or whoever, so long as that person is a Muslim, can converse in Malay and adopt Malay traditions is qualified as a Malay.

Could you kindly response to me in this before I go further with what I have in mind?
interesting yet sensitive post
64) A true Malaysian on September 6th, 2009 3.11 pm What if a Malay Singaporean decided to proclaim he or she is not a Muslim, can he or she still be considered as Malay in Singapore?

By definition as per Malaysian Constitution, such Singaporean is no more a Malay. How about in Singapore?

Please give this a thought.
67) patriot on September 6th, 2009 3.27 pm cont from #66.

for ‘comparison’.

As for Chinese and Indians who claimed they are better than Chinese in China and the Indians in India, i have personally came across plenty of them. It will not be difficult for You to find Chinese from China and Indians from India ‘talking bad ‘ about their fellow countrymen back home. This is the reality of a globalized world.

As i have stated many time in Cyberspace; be true and proud to your origins, i am a Singapore Born Chinese who is very proud to be born Chinese and i am very proud of my granddaughter who is born Malay. I told my children that they must teach their daughter her natural tongue and that is Malay(Language) and that a wish from the bottom of my heart.

patriot
74) antz on September 6th, 2009 6.34 pm I personally believe that what khartini wrote in the st that I have read is basically her own views that well not many shared here.

Alfian-Look at PKMS(Opposition part that represent interest of Malays in singapore.I think you should know what happened.What have they been doing all these years?Hiding behind a building in changi?

I believe as a Malay to oppose is opposing LKY as a whole right from the start.

If u look at history,Malays are the one who stood behind him to win the election and trampled UMNO bCK IN THE 60′S

If u wanna change the mindset of the Malays,it’s a complex issue not just writing up article and maybe even publish in papers(i dun think ST would do that)
80) Alfian on September 6th, 2009 9.40 pm @Seng Hin: There was no compromise. I make a distinction between loving the country and my fellow Singaporeans and loving the government. They are not one and the same. As a matter of fact, it is precisely because I believe in the separation of ‘country’, ‘State’ and ‘PAP’ that I find it necessary that the NDP should not be hijacked by party whites. We want to celebrate the nation’s birthday, not glorify any single political party.

@antz: If you wish to dispute any of my views, please do so. But there’s nothing productive about you telling me to write for ST, or that it’s futile to express my views, to question my motives, doubt my sincerity, or conclude that I am frustrated. Stick to the article lah.
precisely what i have been telling the apparent anti singapore crowd in the emigration threads
81) GABRIEL on September 6th, 2009 10.31 pm Hey guys, Alfian wrote the NDP script because he is a Singaporean, proud to be a Singaporean and wanted to share the joy he feels with all Singaporeans on an important Singapore occasion.
In case some of us don’t know, one can be anti-PAP and still be pro-Singapore.
82) lily on September 6th, 2009 11.01 pm thanks, alfian, for the well-written article.

for a long time i wondered why there was a need for the govt to pointedly single-out the progression/regression of the malays in this country – from top scorers of a national examination to rising teenage pregnancies to presenting the (token) malays in parliament.

is there a need to announce the top malay/indian/chinese student in every national examination (for e.g)? if we are to subscribe to “one nation, one singapore”, why can’t we simply recognise the achievements of and issued faced by our people collectively, regardless of race?

it only seeks to divide and compartmentalise us into our racial groups. what kind of a “one people, one nation, one singapore” are we proclaiming?
83) b on September 7th, 2009 12.07 am Alfian, while I agree with you that the Singapore government’s policies are less than ideal, I don’t see how any of their policies specifically puts Malays in a disadvantaged position. The system based on ‘meritocracy’, as you so put, disadvantages not only Malays but Chinese, Indian, and people of any race for that matter, who are less privileged in terms economical and social status.

You yourself are a prime example of how Malays can indeed achieve success in Singapore today, be it in terms of the education you received or what you managed to accomplish in your career. If you do feel you have been shortchanged because of being Malay, I think you should be more specific in exactly how so.

Indeed, Khartini’s words might sound like a truckload of government propaganda to many (including myself), but god knows if she might truly feel this way as a Malay Singaporean, as much as the many out there do not.
88) b on September 7th, 2009 1.19 am To be clearer, (this is based on my perhaps unenlightened opinions and you are welcome to correct me if you believe I am mistaken)

This article serves 3 purposes:
1. To criticise Miss Khartini’s article (for being propaganda in nature or any other reasons)
2. To display the preference of the writer for Malaysia’s national policies over Singapore’s
3. To state his unhappiness about being a Malay in Singapore

I personally find this article too personal for my taste and does not serve to highlight important issues as much as personal grievances, no offence to the writer.
89) Alfian on September 7th, 2009 1.44 am Dear b,

There are also other ways of looking at your interpretation of the article:

1. To offer a contrasting viewpoint to Miss Khartini’s
2. To temper a popular tendency to portray Malaysia as an ‘other’ against which Singapore comes off as the superior country
3. To exercise my freedom of speech in expressing whatever I might feel as a Malay Singaporean, because I am committed to that ‘aspiration’ in the pledge that says ‘to build a democratic society’.

I have written on what it means to be a Malay in Singapore before, and I don’t represent anyone but myself. But there are readers who might identify with some of my views. My background is in fiction and poetry, so my writings have always had an autobiographical dimension. I’m just curious about this strange dichotomy you’re making between ‘important issues’ and ‘personal grievances’. As far as I’m concerned, the article expresses personal views on important issues.

If you need ’specifics’, you are welcome to read some of my earlier writings here:

http://alfian.diaryland.com/apology.html
http://theonlinecitizen.com/2009/07/why-yasmin-ahmad-was-so-important-to-me/

Porfirio Rubirosa

90) antz on September 7th, 2009 1.45 am agree with B.The writer article is more or less of his personal grievances that well make it souds like the whole of the Malays in Singapore share the same plight as him.
To make it simple,I am a Malay and i dun find myself quite fit to his article.Neither supporting neither parties.
To make it simple,not happy here live in malaysia or Indonesia.Definitely there’ll be ppl waiting in open arms.
simple!
TOC-Stop posting this type of articles cos I find that ot’s too bored and leads to nowhere.
93) Alfian on September 7th, 2009 2.11 am Dear antz,

It seems you have some very *personal grievances* towards the article. 6 comments and counting!

You are very welcome to disagree with my views, but no need to suggest that I relocate to M’sia or Indonesia (no I don’t think the establishment will welcome me with open arms either–if I am really a true citizen of those countries I’ll most probably criticise the NEP policy and the treatment of non-pribumis/Javanese).

And I disagree that expressing views ‘on the net’ ‘leads to nowhere’. There’s a lot I’ve learnt from some of the responses the article has elicited. : )
97) la nausée on September 7th, 2009 2.22 am It’s difficult to deny that the Malay community is historically disadvantaged. (See this MCYS document titled “Progress of the Malay Community in Singapore since 1980″.

At least as of 2005, the statistics clearly indicate that, although the gap has narrowed, much work remains to be done. Malay students continue to perform poorly. For example, in each cohort, the proportion of Malay primary/secondary students dropping out is over twice the proportion of Chinese students; whereas the proportion of Malay students making it to a local tertiary institution is half that of Chinese students. Median monthly household incomes as of 2005 were $3,050 for Malays versus $4,320 overall (and $4,570 for the Chinese). The Chinese were well-represented in the administrative/managerial (14.6%) and professional (12.6%) fields, in comparison with the Malays (2.4% and 4.6%). The divorce rate was 15.5 per 1,000 Malay females versus the overall average of 7.9 per 1,000 females; registered births by single parents numbered 9.3 per 1,000 compared to the overall figure of 2.5 per 1,000.

The reasons why such disturbing (nay, shocking) inequalities exist are manifold. Suffice to say that it would be wholly inadequate for the Government to cling to dogmas like ‘meritocracy’ and ‘equality’. More tailored, community-specific measures are needed; we need to countenance some degree of ‘reverse discrimination’ for the benefit of Malays and other minority groups, in order to eradicate existing discrimination against them.

Is there a risk that such policies might ‘compartmentalize’ our society, as well as ‘essentialize’ each of us into one of the well-worn ‘CMIO’ cubbyholes? Yes, especially if they are pushed too hard and too far. But neither can that be a licence for total inaction.
101) antz on September 7th, 2009 2.47 am la nausee,

In general,Malay community since the olden days does not really see education an integral part to suceed.
After years of constant pushing and encouragment,slow improvment began to take place in the education arena where competition to suceed is for grabs.

I am a Malay,and Malays in general are not gold diggers (eyeing too much on luxury).
We are a bunch of ppl who ‘just wish’ to have some good old breeze of wind blowing at our face.

To have some sort of NEP as what Malays in Malaysia enjoyed is a grave mistake especially in education.
After decades of assistance,Malays in Malaysia economically still lagging but politically assisted.

The gap in wages between Chinese and Malays are result of one sole breadwinner earning.
That’s where the problem rise..
102) la nausée on September 7th, 2009 3.54 am @antz (#100),

An NEP-like policy, I agree, would be too rigid (how should the quotas be determined?) and may foster a dependency complex. The main problem, though, is that it’s a shortcut: it imposes an ‘equal’ outcome without addressing the root causes of inequality, like low household incomes, poor education, high teenage pregnancies and divorce rates, etc.

The Government’s strategy, for the most part, attempts to be ‘colour-blind’; either it implements programmes of a general, non-race-specific character (which are therefore largely ineffective) (e.g. tweaking the MOE school curriculum for all students, mounting pro-family campaigns), or it indirectly supports community-oriented VWOs and charities like MENDAKI but on an equal footing with (e.g.) the Chinese clan associations (which thus fail to address the problem of relative inequality).

I think this approach is largely correct, but I think that (1) far more emphasis should be placed on the second prong; and (2) far greater assistance should be given to organizations which cater to minority communities.
103) LAW on September 7th, 2009 4.40 am Dear Alfian,
I am a Singaporean living in Malaysia as an expat and I cringed when I read Khartini’s article last week, when it was sent by another Singaporean back in Singapore. To me, her article was defensive, myopic and ‘plastic’ if I may use the word.

I have been working in Malaysia for a good 3 years and I would say the multiculturalism here has alot more substance than the plastic facade we are used to back at home. And mind you, Malaysia’s multiculturalism is not all about being Malay/Chinese/Indian/Eurasion—but it cuts through many other cultures like the Kadazans, Ibans, Dayaks even the different states although bumis, practice different cultures which is so distinct, it is like talking about different races altogether. And yet, Khartini simplistically made judgements about Malaysia as thought it is comparable, by physical and geographical landscape to super tiny Singapore.

Thank you for echoing most of my sentiments and the sentiments of fellow Singaporeans working/staying here. We are patriotically Singaporeans, but we cannot help loving Malaysia for its flavours–which more often than not, we couldn’t find in Singapore.
109) plaintalk on September 7th, 2009 9.39 am Both Khartini and Alfian are wrong.

The Singapore government divides the population along those who have money (all rich foreigners are welcome) and those who are less well-off.

The less well-off can leave the country for good. The very poor, please die early.

NS men are to protect the rich ass and their property. HDB is actually on loan to you at a high price.

This is why after 50 years LKY said Singapore is still not yet a country.
[

Porfirio Rubirosa

115) aygee on September 7th, 2009 11.55 am antz – if you dont like to read alternative viewpoints, you can choose not to read. Its your choice – please dont impose your opinions onto others. thats just so…”PAP”-like.

yes, i agree with Alfian in that let’s not be haste and criticize Khartini. I am Malay, born and raised in Singapore. and have family in Malaysia.

I see the points raised by both Khartini and Alfian. When i visit my family up there, we’ll end up talking politics, and there’ll always be big heavy discussions between Singapore and Malaysia.

Between my family up there, there’s hardcore UMNO, PAS and Keadilan supporters. I see the Malaysian Malay views, from 3 different angles.

i recall fond memories of my late grandpa – who’s a hardcore UMNO, quarrel with my uncle (his son), who’s PAS and his son-in-law (Keadilan). “If not for UMNO, you’ll still be kissing the feet of the white man.” “UMNO is sucking up the money thats meant for the rest of the Malays to catch up with the Chinese.” “Malaysia cannot be run by Malay ulamaks who’s only education come from kampung madrasahs. We need the best that Malaysia can offer – across all races, to drive Malaysia forward.”

The funny thing is – when we’re all together, it will turn into a Singapore-bashing discussion, without fail

And this is where i find both Khartini’s and Alfian’s views most interesting.

But my point being, whenever i’m with my family up there, i turn into a Khartini. While i agree that her arguments are too simplistic, i can understand if she sounds defensive – and i too take on some of her arguments when i talk with my family.

But whenever i’m back in Singapore, and talk with my non-Malay friends (most of whom are my closest friends), i take on Alfian’s points.

So, its great to see the discussions going on here, and may both Khartini and Alfian continue to have more writings to unearth the Malay psyche
118) Muhammad Shamin on September 7th, 2009 12.32 pm “101) antz on September 7th, 2009 2.47 am la nausee,

In general,Malay community since the olden days does not really see education an integral part to suceed.
After years of constant pushing and encouragment,slow improvment began to take place in the education arena where competition to suceed is for grabs.

I am a Malay,and Malays in general are not gold diggers (eyeing too much on luxury).
We are a bunch of ppl who ‘just wish’ to have some good old breeze of wind blowing at our face.

To have some sort of NEP as what Malays in Malaysia enjoyed is a grave mistake especially in education.
After decades of assistance,Malays in Malaysia economically still lagging but politically assisted.

The gap in wages between Chinese and Malays are result of one sole breadwinner earning.
That’s where the problem rise..”

A worldview brought in by the colonial powers that stated Malays are Lazy, Chinese are hardworking, Indians are “belit”, bla, bla, bla……

And LKY inherited this worldview by saying “Malays cannot succeed in Maths and Science because intelligence is inherited”(he said something like that).

So when talking about the fate of Malays in Singapore, we will always have to do some UMNO/NEP bashing. I just think that this is quite backward.

If you want to look at Malaysia, then look at Pakatan Rakyat. Sit down with Malays in the Pakatan Rakyat(the government in waiting) and hear their views. They have a totally different mindset.

The increasing wage gaps is the government’s fault. Because Malays were not given access to the opportunity. I don’t need statistics to emphasise this point. Just go to CMPB, and you wait at the counter and see the officers going in and out of the door. No Malays or other races. Navy/Airforce, no Malays. Private sector: They ask you the multi-million dollar question, “Can you speak Chinese?” ”

Why?” you ask. “Oh because ah…you will need to deal with Chinese speaking customers. They be comfortable, bla, bla, bla….” So what has the government done to stop this practice? Nothing.

Maintaining the racial balance by bringing in Chinese from other parts of the world and giving them citizenship is the government “dirty” population engineering program. It is open secret that there are more Malay youths than Chinese. It goes to show that they, the PAP, under the guardianship of LKY, adheres to rascist agenda.

Malays are lazy and not after “worldly gains” are negative stereotye being promoted to justify the discrimination. All the Malays and other minorities wanted is a level playing ground. We did not asked for subsidies and free gifts.

P/S: I am not a Malay.
120) Retired And Jobless on September 7th, 2009 1.14 pm Indeed Malays in Spore should be proud to be Malay Sporeans. Over the years, they have significant progress in the areas of education, businesses as well in the medical fields. The Malays have also made significant progress in the SAF. Now we even have a one star General (BG) in the SAF. In the past, our northern neighbour always critisized SG for not allowing the Malays to serve in SAF . Today, we have proved them and many other critics wrong. Nevertheless, Malays Sporeans should not allowed success to go to their heads and be too proud. They should always remain humble and continue to aim for greater success.
121) MonikerSaidia on September 7th, 2009 1.37 pm While I like your writing style and the way your argue your case, Alfian, I think you’ve been a tad unfair to Khartini. She expressed views that I have heard from some of my Malay friends too. Yours was equally good too – but another lot of views. I celebrate the diversity.

Porfirio Rubirosa

have you noticed that ST has been curiously quiet on Khartini's article which it printed?...i find it hard to believe that no letters were sent in to ST's Forum viz her article:rolleyes:

Besides Alfian and Khartini spiels, its interesting the comments that we see from forummers as wqell as those in TOC. Its give an interesting picture of what part of the pop think. .