• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

21 Ways Rich People Think Differently:

"Rich people think differently" is an oxymoron phrase.

The meaningful phrase is "Each rich person think uniquely differently"

That's hardly a fair assessment. Competition is at the heart of modern capitalism. Unless you want to go back to feudalism where peasants work for landowners who take half their produce.

As for Germany and EU, you're totally off. Germany played the game better - both in internal governance as well as geopolitics. The PIIGS drowned themselves in welfare and deficit spending. The Germans focussed on productivity.

If Germany is so smart, it would not have joined the EU.
A rich country would not screw itself with poor countries, which is what Germany did.

LeMans2011

I can't believe there are fucktards who believe in those writings commissioned by the rich to glamorise the rich...
How do you define rich in the first place? How many millions of net worth?? "Rich" or "Poor" itself is a relative term.
It is silly to even make a list on "characteristics of rich people". Every one becomes rich in a different way.
Apart from family inheritance, there is no one single factor that makes a person rich. It is always a combination of factors - a smart and hard-driving person with good acumen at the right time at the right place. Take out any one of the ingredient it will not happen.

Hence if any fucktard thinks having those "characteristics of rich people" makes him rich, i would like to ask him what is his networth?

Pinky is fucking rich... but if he is not born in the family he could be selling mee siam mai hum today.

I can't believe there are fucktards who believe in those writings commissioned by the rich to glamorise the rich...

One need to read between the lines and always use a microscope and a fine tooth comb. The forensics will show us the evidence., always.

ykhuser

I'm too lazy to read your long article. But I find two advice someone told me before quite true.

1. 避短扬长 when dealing and managing people.

2. In sales, you are good only when you can sell what others failed to sell.

bro what is nos 1?

If you really want to help the poor, get rich yourself first and then help them directly with your own money.

boss,
remember the hundred bucks you gave? it's 100% invested and the returns have been used to help the needy! :p:p:p

That's hardly a fair assessment. Competition is at the heart of modern capitalism. Unless you want to go back to feudalism where peasants work for landowners who take half their produce.
Are those the only choices - competition or feudalism? How about collaboration? You don't grow a community by competition. There will always be the talented, the average, the laggards. Some are of choice, some are due to the system. You can either write off those laggards or accept that they are still worthy of a decent life in society despite their performance. Look at progressive societies like Sweden ...most of them live middle-income lifestyle (but is actually more like upper middle-income when you add the free government services that had been paid for via taxes) by paying higher taxes but that does not stop the talented from going further ...that's why there are super-rich dude like the founder of Ikea. We need to rethink if it is worthwhile for everyone to try to be rich ...what's the cost to get there?

As for Germany and EU, you're totally off. Germany played the game better - both in internal governance as well as geopolitics. The PIIGS drowned themselves in welfare and deficit spending. The Germans focussed on productivity.
That's a superficial view. Guess, you have not read the article I posted. You can make the best products but if there isn't a market to sell, you are still a loser. China didn't grow because it was able to make things cheaper ...there was a market available for it to sell. End free trade and you can see how many emerging economies will go bust.

I don't know whether it's zero sum but I do know that when everyone strives to be a winner, the whole of society moves forward.
GDP goes up, wealth goes up BUT not everyone benefits. What's the point of having 10 percent growth and average income of $250k if only 10 percent of the people control 80 percent of the wealth. How is society moving ahead, if you accept that society encompasses everyone, not just the 20 percent?

Help has to be temporary. It cannot be institutionalised. Star players will not tolerate having a mediocre player on the team forever while contributing nothing.
Not everyone wants to be a mediocre player. I believe everyone has pride and one to do their part to contribute. People have a right to feel secure instead of living in constant insecurity. If you believe the latter, then we should just go back to live like animals.

GDP goes up, wealth goes up BUT not everyone benefits. What's the point of having 10 percent growth and average income of $250k if only 10 percent of the people control 80 percent of the wealth. How is society moving ahead, if you accept that society encompasses everyone, not just the 20 percent?

Not everyone wants to be a mediocre player. I believe everyone has pride and one to do their part to contribute. People have a right to feel secure instead of living in constant insecurity. If you believe the latter, then we should just go back to live like animals.

The Pareto Rule is a fact of life in any society. People have to learn to live with it rather than fight it.

gsh

Average people blame the govt. They want handout and freebies. They look to the rich and ask them to share their wealth. Rich people look at wealthier people and say " I can be like them too if I work towards it"

That's baloney. Average people want to seek a decent life ...who wants to live hand to foot? The PAP government deserves alot more than blame. They messed up our country with the 3.2 million foreigners and now they want to add another 1 million. If you are part of the SME gang, of course you will be delighted as you can slave your employees more. But if you are the working class, you spit on the government. Every sinkee deserves a shot to live decently. But the government has made that difficult.
In which country does a man has a short career span of 20 years at most? Only in sinkapore. From 22 to 35, that's the period you can be assured of a job. Even then, you have to lower your expectations to that of the cheap foreign labour. After 35, you are more likely to be replaced by a cheap but fake foreign charlatan.

If the government doesn't collect a cent from us, we won't need to spit at them.

If you are poor, you don't have extra for 'junks'. You stretch your dollar by buying the cheapest. That's junk to most people but that's all you can afford.

value of what each defines as "junk" is relative. even for poor blacks in bedok bay, they highly value air jordan snickers (snickers for n*ggers as i call them) and would readily fork out usd229 plus tax everytime there's a new design in the store. however they don't pay their rent and utilities on time and they jump gates and barriers to avoid paying fares on the subway (for many, it's their main form of inter-county transport). and you'll see them at the nearest walmart or shopping mall. new nike and air jordan shoes, drooping jeans, colorful jackets, iphones and galaxies. skip schools, no jobs, talk loud, play loud (rap) music, pick fights with anyone. their ticket to riches is getting shot by a cop or sheriff and suing the city or county for millions. or join the drug and pimping trades. :rolleyes:

If we paint them as representative of the poor, then we must ask German to gas the poor. :biggrin: I think of the poor in the sinkapore context.

the sg poor, in my unesteemed opinion, are mainly in two categories:

1. elders who survive the war but are left with little to no education, little to no savings, no children and/or family, no homes, no love, no sympathy;

2. younger sinkies who have no jobs or low-paying jobs, little to no savings, have spouses, lots of mistresses/lovers, children, live in hdb flats, scam others for money, live the high life either by borrowing or fraud, drive flashy cars, carry iphones and galaxies, dine out all the time, engage prostitutes even though they have wives and many mistresses, visit ktv and hfj, watch porn, buy 4d, gamble at resorts, cruise ships, and in private hideouts, bet on football matches, complain all the time, whine online incessantly, and join sbf to kpkb.

Those in #2 are not poor then. Only the well-to-do can afford to come to SBF.

Kinana

the sg poor, in my unesteemed opinion, are mainly in two categories:

1. elders who survive the war but are left with little to no education, little to no savings, no children and/or family, no homes, no love, no sympathy;

You are spot on my fren.

Those in #2 are not poor then. Only the well-to-do can afford to come to SBF.

there's a term called "underbanked", and it can explain why sg is experiencing a surge in loansharking activities. the new poor who are essentially "wealthy" wannabes are living beyond their means, and many are resorting to borrowing from ah long. evading red paint is high on their priorities. getting online is least of their worries. :biggrin: