• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

1 Million FTs in S'pore. We Must Make Them Leave. Here Is How. Co-operate S'poreans

ahleebabasingaporethief

Latest reports by BT says 36% of jobs in S'pore are stolen by these fuxking FTs.

We must kick them out to ensure S'poreans have jobs first. Our Garment won't help or in fact trying to help them to stay. We as S'poreans must ensure they leave our shores.

Here's how.

1) Avoid places owned by FTs. Dont spend one iota of your money
there

2) If need professional services like engineering, lawyers, doctors, hire LOCAL
firms. If local firms have many FTs, also avoid such local firms.

3) Don't be overly friendly to FTs. They are here to steal your jobs. If they LL with you, fuck them and tell them to fuck back home to their villages.

4) If you see FT shouting or bullying service staff that cannot speak
back,fuck the FT on behalf of the poor service staff. In fact, any
opportunity you get, fuck an FT whenever possible

5) In fact the starter of the thread below is correct that should all else fails
to fuck these FTs back home, may a deep and long recession prevail in
S'pore to fuck all of them back to their villages.

Alfrescian (S)

My Reputation: Points: 84 / Power: 11
downgrader will become famous soon enough
Default See with your own eyes: 1 million foreigners
This is in today's Business Times

1.057 million foreigners. I gave a breakdown one year ago estimating 1 million including breakdown by nationality. I was almost exactly right.

36% of our workforce are foreigners.

My god, this country is packed to the seams because of this people. Let's have a deep deep recession so that they can all go back

Never mind if GDP drops, housing prices drop. As long as quality of life in terms of fresh air and open spaces it would be great stuff.

http://www.businesstimes.com.sg/sub/...16764,00.html?

Published January 31, 2009

Singapore's job market shrinks
Overall unemployment rate averaged 2.3 per cent last year, up from 2.1 per cent in 2007

By LEE U-WEN

Email this article
Print article
Feedback

NEW figures released by the government yesterday underscore how bleak the job market is. The overall unemployment rate averaged 2.3 per cent last year, up from 2.1 per cent in 2007 - the first time that it has risen since the record high of 4 per cent in 2003, according to preliminary estimates by the Ministry of Manpower.

The seasonally adjusted overall unemployment rate rose to 2.6 per cent in the three months to December from 2.2 per cent in the third quarter, as Singapore continued to feel the heat of retrenchments and weaker growth because of the global downturn.

About 73,100 Singapore residents were jobless in December, a 58 per cent jump year-on-year. On average, 62,900 residents were unemployed in 2008, compared with 56,700 in 2007.

Job growth slowed significantly, with just 26,900 jobs created in October-December 2008 - less than half the total gain of 55,700 in Q3 and the 62,500 jobs added in Q4 2007. The whole of 2008 saw 227,200 jobs added, down from 234,900 in 2007.

The ministry's findings show that manufacturing led the way in terms of employment contraction, as the sector bled for the first time in more than five years. In total, 6,200 manufacturing jobs were lost in Q4, a sharp drop from 4,600 created in Q3 and 10,900 added a year earlier. For the whole of 2008, manufacturing employment grew 20,300 - less than half the increase of 49,300 in 2007.

The services industry saw fewer new jobs for a third straight quarter, with 21,000 created in Q4 2008, down from a high of 46,500 in Q1 that year. Construction, meanwhile, added 10,800 jobs in Q4 2008, a steep decrease from 16,500 in Q3.

For the whole of 2008, a total of 13,400 workers were retrenched, more than twice the 7,675 in 2007. Manufacturing and services accounted for the bulk of job losses, with 8,300 and 4,900 workers retrenched respectively.

Delving deeper into the Q4 figures, the ministry said that 7,000 workers lost their jobs during the three-month period, up substantially from 2,346 in Q3 and 1,966 in the same quarter a year earlier.

The number of workers retrenched in manufacturing more than doubled from 1,709 in Q3 to 3,700 in Q4. Driven by lay-offs in financial services and wholesale trade, retrenchments in services increased more than fourfold to 3,200, from only 562 in Q3.

Besides retrenchments, 1,500 workers were released prematurely from their contracts in Q4. For the whole of 2008, 16,000 workers were made redundant, almost double the 8,592 in 2007.

The labour movement said on Thursday that it aims to try and keep job losses to below 29,000 this year - a level last seen during the Asian financial crisis in 1998.

Speaking to reporters at a Chinese New Year dinner in Choa Chu Kang last night, Acting Manpower Minister Gan Kim Yong called the target 'very ambitious and challenging' but said that it is crucial for the government to work with its tripartite partners to try and save as many jobs as possible.

The ministry noted that both locals and foreigners benefited from job creation in 2008. Local employment grew by 70,400, although this was down from 90,400 the previous year. Foreign employment rose by 156,900, up from 144,500 the previous year.

As the economic downturn deepened, job growth for locals and foreigners slowed in the final quarter of 2008. As at December, there were 1,057,000 foreigners in the Singapore workforce, the ministry said, about 36 per cent of the 2.96 million people employed. The majority of the workforce - 64 per cent or 1.9 million people - were locals.

Citigroup economist Kit Wei Zheng said that the extent of employment deterioration is 'more benign' than expected, with net job creation still remaining positive.

'But we should caution that the labour market down-cycle is still in its early days,' he said. 'As retrenchments and other redundancies continue to mount, we expect net job creation will turn negative within the next one to two quarters, likely peaking somewhere in the second half of 2009.

'Manufacturing will likely bear the brunt of the job losses, with financial services, real estate and other services sectors also expected to lose jobs.'

myo539

Re: 1 Million FTs in S'pore. We Must Make Them Leave. Here Is How. Co-operate S'porea

No more Indo or Filipina maids - who would look after your children or wash your dirty underwear?
No more Bangladeshis GD workers - who to sweep the road, empty your rubbish bins, wash your void decks, clear plates from the hawkers centres?
No more Indian utilities workers - who to resurface your road, build your longkangs, water your garden city plants and trees?
No more Thai construction workers - who is going to build your HDB flats and condominiums?
No more PRC students - where do private schools get their students?
No more PRC meimeis - what do Spore men get to fxxk in Geylang and Joo Jiat?
No more sexy guest relation Pinays - how do pubs get to attract Sg men to go and drink and rub-a-rub?
No more angmoh expatriats - how would Holland Village survive? and where would our SPGs get their bigfish angmoh husbands?
No more Malaysian drivers - how do Translinks get to hire their bus drivers, and where would you get an electrician should your house get short-circuited?

Don't be a dog in a manger. In countries like Britain, USA and Australia they too have many, many more FTs than all the FTs in Singapore combined. Would you want them to think like you and kick out the Sporeans who live and work there?

shelltox

Re: 1 Million FTs in S'pore. We Must Make Them Leave. Here Is How. Co-operate S'porea

Are you a clone of paula hanson from australia, bcos your rhetoric sounded like her

imperialarms

singapore is just a small island! there is no more space for so many of them. protect our own and deport all FTS:mad:

ahleebabasingaporethief

No more Indo or Filipina maids - who would look after your children or wash your dirty underwear?
No more Bangladeshis GD workers - who to sweep the road, empty your rubbish bins, wash your void decks, clear plates from the hawkers centres?
No more Indian utilities workers - who to resurface your road, build your longkangs, water your garden city plants and trees?
No more Thai construction workers - who is going to build your HDB flats and condominiums?
No more sexy guest relation Pinays - how do pubs get to attract Sg men to go and drink and rub-a-rub?
No more angmoh expatriats - how would Holland Village survive? and where would our SPGs get their bigfish angmoh husbands?
No more Malaysian drivers - how do Translinks get to hire their bus drivers, and where would you get an electrician should your house get short-circuited?

Don't be a dog in a manger. In countries like Britain, USA and Australia they too have many, many more FTs than all the FTs in Singapore combined. Would you want them to think like you and kick out the Sporeans who live and work there?

I think you quite not so up there.

Of course we keep the maids, waiters, and so forth.

But with a MINIMUM WAGE structure, Singaporeans can also do the work of waiting and so forth.

NO need to be like FTs....for $400 a month to wash dishes and clean floors also do. Like that how to survive?

Some resort to selling their cbeebyes like the PRC/Viets/Russians students here. Poorly paid FT men resort to conning or cheating and stealing. But selling cheebyes by FOREIGN students very rampant

BTW USA only allows 65,000 FTs a year to work in the USA. How big is USA and how big is S'pore?

Britain's MPs already called for the removal of FTs from the workforce first. Our MPs here?
/COLOR]

Alfrescian (S)

My Reputation: Points: 64 / Power: 11
lifeafter41 will become famous soon enough
Default British Jobs for British Workers: Singapore Jobs?
Was just reading an article in Bloomberg, where it referred British Prime Minister, Mr Gordon Brown promised, using this term, British Jobs for British Workers.

Countries in the Euro Zone, have been hit badly in this downturn are striking in UK and France to protest the employment of foreign staff.

Will it happen in Singapore, will we see Singaporeans protesting at MOM, ICA?.

Will Singapore make a similar statement as its British counterpart, Mr Gordon Brown?.

ahleebabasingaporethief

singapore is just a small island! there is no more space for so many of them. protect our own and deport all FTS:mad:

I wish more than 50% of S'poreans think like you. Help to spread the word to everyone, even strangers.

That way, fireworks in the next erections.

Frankiestine

These foreigners can keep this demeaning jobs, Singaporeans are not interested in them....it is those white collar jobs that those foreign trash coming in to steal from us that should rightfully go to a Singaporean..

Sounds like u make a good local whore.

ahleebabasingaporethief

These foreigners can keep this demeaning jobs, Singaporeans are not interested in them....it is those white collar jobs that those foreign trash coming in to steal from us that should rightfully go to a Singaporean..

YES you are absolutely right.

Most of these white collared FTs are FAKES and do sub-standard work. Especially the Ah Neis. Even Ang Mos nowadays have no class

Our Garment only interested in these FTs making up the numbers of massaging GDP figures and propping up the HDB and rental property markets. That really is the TRUE VALUE of such FTs to our Garment.

Unhappy British protests spreads

BIRMINGHAM (England) - WILDCAT strikes against foreign workers spread through oil refineries and other energy facilities in Britain on Friday, fuelled by fears of rising job cuts.

The protest started at Britain's third-largest oil refinery, Lindsey in Lincolnshire, eastern England, where workers first walked out on Wednesday over the use of Italian and Portuguese contractors on a 200-million-pound (S$439 million) building project.

But it had spread by Friday to other refineries and plants across Britain, where unemployment is currently at its highest rate for 10 years as the credit crunch hits hard.

Prime Minister Gordon Brown has made a point of pledging 'British jobs for British workers,' while more recently warning against trade protectionism as a response to the worldwide economic downturn.

EU law enshrines the right to the freedom of movement for workers between member countries.

However, local lawmaker Shona McIsaac, of Mr Brown's governing Labour Party, said the decision to hire foreign contractors was 'like a red rag to a bull for people in our community who are out of work.' Up to 1,000 workers demonstrated peacefully for several hours at Lindsey, run by French oil company Total. They cited Mr Brown's pledge and held up placards saying 'Right To Work UK Workers' amid a heavy police presence.

Bernard McAuley of the Unite trade union told protesters: 'There is sufficient unemployed skilled labour wanting the right to work on that site and they are demanding the right to work on that site. We want fairness.'

That protest has now ended but those involved vowed they would be back on Monday.

The BBC reported that 1,000 workers at the Milford Haven gas terminal in southwest Wales had gone on strike in sympathy on Friday.

Hundreds also protested at six other sites including Grangemouth, Scotland's only oil refinery; a refinery in Wilton, northeast England, and Aberthaw power station in south Wales.

The dispute stems from Total's award of the contract to build a new desulphurisation unit at the Lindsey site to Italian company IREM.

Around 100 Italian and Portuguese workers, who live on barges in a nearby docks, work there currently and are set to be joined by 300 more next month.

Employment Minister Pat McFadden said he had asked Acas, the body which is intended to resolve employment disputes, to investigate quickly and report to the government, employers and the trade unions.

'I have asked Acas to establish an independent examination of the facts around these cases - allegations of hiring practices and so on,' he said.

'It is a sensitive matter, tempers are running high. We must take an independent and dispassionate look at the facts.' Mr Brown's official spokesman said the contract at Lindsey had been agreed some time ago when there was a shortage of skilled construction labour in Britain.

'That obviously is not now the case and we will be speaking to the industry in the next few days to ensure that they are doing all they can to support the UK economy,' he added.

Unemployment in Britain has risen sharply in recent months, with thousands of job cuts at firms like steelmaker Corus. Two million people are jobless and the unemployment rate is 6.1 per cent.

Brown's British jobs call was criticised by left-leaning think-tank the Institute for Public Policy Reform following the protests, saying EU law meant 'jobs cannot be ring-fenced for UK-born workers.'

Total said there would be 'no direct redundancies' at the Lindsey refinery as a result of the contract being awarded to IREM and stressed the action had not affected operations there. -- AFP

ahleebabasingaporethief

First Britain, now USA...all protecting or trying to protect own citizens first. Here in Singapore, the Garment treat the country and its citizens like prostitutes to the highest bidder. Phoeeey!

WASHINGTON - AFTER passing a 'Buy America' provision in the country's massive economic stimulus plan, US legislators could next be pushing for a 'Hire American' clause that might further stir fears about protectionism.

Two senators are reported to be demanding that businesses benefiting from the rescue plan certify their workers' citizenship so that newly created jobs go to Americans instead of illegal immigrants, according to the Wall Street Journal.

It is unclear how much support this latest provision enjoys in the Senate, though it is certain to amplify concerns that the US actions are setting the stage for retaliatory measures by other countries, which would worsen the current economic slump.

'(President Barack Obama) should keep in mind that it was a wave of protectionist trade measures, triggered by the infamous Smoot-Hawley tariff in the United States and quickly emulated by most Europeans, which contributed mightily to the Great Depression,' Dr C. Fred Bergsten, director of the Peterson Institute for International Economics, wrote in a note on the think-tank's website.

The 'Buy America' provision in the US$819 billion (S$1.2 trillion) economic stimulus plan, which the US House of Representatives passed on Thursday, has already drawn sharp protests from major trade partners like Canada and the European Union.

Major domestic business groups and industrial giants who thrive on their access to the global market have also openly opposed the measure.

The provision, which builds on the Buy American Act in 1933, states that all public works projects financed by the economic rescue package must be built with US iron and steel.

The Senate, which will begin deliberating its own version of the stimulus package next Monday, is said to be readying plans to expand this 'Buy America' provision to ensure all government-funded projects use mostly products made in the US.

However, passage of the 'buy and hire American' provisions is not yet a certainty. A team of negotiators from the House and Senate will meet next month to smooth over their differences in the stimulus package before presenting the final version to Mr Obama.

Observers said the impact of the provisions would also depend on how they were interpreted and implemented. The 'Buy America' provision, for instance, can be side-stepped if it increases the cost of any project by over 25 per cent.

It can also be waived if deemed to be 'inconsistent with public interest', or if US steel is not available in sufficient quality or quantity.

The United States imports about 20 per cent to 25 per cent of steel used domestically, according to the American Institute for International Steel, an amount domestic producers are unlikely to make up for in the short term.

Much also depends on the interpretation of the specific terms. For instance, would steel produced by the US-based mills of foreign companies be considered 'US steel'?

The 'Hire America' provision might also be self-defeating in the end as freshly unemployed American office workers may not all want the new construction jobs on offer.

I have never seen any other posts that missed the point a million miles like yours has. The issue is mainly white collar jobs where it is in direct competition with a Singaporean. We are talking about accountants, systems analysts, bankers, technical officers and a whole spectrum jobs.

Foreigners have been part and parcel of Singapore landscape since this island was a colony. No one protested when Indian labour was brought in build the govt infrastructure. The same applied when they were brought in by the thousands to build HDB flats. There Thais, Bangladeshis, Indians, Koreans, were the sam,etc. We allowed and mo expats who opened up channels, netwroks, invested and drove highly skilled operations.

Everyone welcomed the arrival of maids from the Philippines, Indonesia and Sri Lanka. It was something that Singaporeans demanded when both the parents had to work to pay for the HDB flat.

We were delighted when Malaysian girls were bussed by the thousands each day to man Apple, Seagate and many other factories that required huge numbers.

Give you one fucking example:

NUS staff are happy that they got an appropriate candidate to head NUS business school but they are not happy that part of the deal secured a job for his wife as a lecturer in NUS while Singaporeans lost tenure of employement. Get the picture!

You must be one blur sotong not to know what Singaporeans were gripping about for the last 10 years when the floodgates were opened for one and all. Man, you are so detached from reality and whats going on on the ground that it is not funny.

ahleebabasingaporethief

I have never seen any other posts that missed the point a million miles like yours has. The issue is mainly white collar jobs where it is in direct competition with a Singaporean. We are talking about accountants, systems analysts, bankers, technical officers and a whole spectrum jobs.

Foreigners have been part and parcel of Singapore landscape since this island was a colony. No one protested when Indian labour was brought in build the govt infrastructure. The same applied when they were brought in by the thousands to build HDB flats. There Thais, Bangladeshis, Indians, Koreans, were the sam,etc. We allowed and mo expats who opened up channels, netwroks, invested and drove highly skilled operations.

Everyone welcomed the arrival of maids from the Philippines, Indonesia and Sri Lanka. It was something that Singaporeans demanded when both the parents had to work to pay for the HDB flat.

We were delighted when Malaysian girls were bussed by the thousands each day to man Apple, Seagate and many other factories that required huge numbers.

Give you one fucking example:

NUS staff are happy that they got an appropriate candidate to head NUS business school but they are not happy that part of the deal secured a job for his wife as a lecturer in NUS while Singaporeans lost tenure of employement. Get the picture!

You must be one blur sotong not to know what Singaporeans were gripping about for the last 10 years when the floodgates were opened for one and all. Man, you are so detached from reality and whats going on on the ground that it is not funny.

You are also absolutely right! I also like your polished style of writing.

That post by whoever must have been from a YOUNG PAPpie. All Young PApies join for selfish reasons or they have been brainwashed.

Most hope to be chosen as MP candidates or have own business/services that they want to sell to Garment bodies

Frankiestine

The issue is mainly white collar jobs where it is in direct competition with a Singaporean. We are talking about accountants, systems analysts, bankers, technical officers and a whole spectrum jobs.

and it is precisely this point which those scums pappies chose to conveniently ignore or pretend to be unaware of and continuously lambaste singkees over for being choosy in their choice of jobs...

:oIo::oIo::oIo::oIo::oIo::oIo::oIo::oIo::oIo::oIo:
FUCK YOU PAP
:oIo::oIo::oIo::oIo::oIo::oIo::oIo::oIo::oIo::oIo:

The Monkees

hopefully of those retrenched in the Chartererd Semi-Conductor are those FTs.
nbb,ask people not to retrench but they are retrenching. :mad: :oIo:

The_Latest_H

Professional white-collar jobs are the issue here. I mean, Scroobal is right, truly.

But how can we reduce them and in what way that doesn't damage our reputation as a trade-friendly nation is another thing. We cannot just do this "nazi" style and expel them just like that, and expect it to be sorted within a single day.

My opinion is that we need a quota system for foreigners, and adjust the numbers as according to our level of economical growth, and the number of foreign workers needed in industries that are starving of manpower(or not). In short, we should adapt what the Aussies have done- which hasn't damaged Australia's reputation, and has enhanced economical growth in Australia for more than a decade.

Also to add: Australia also adjusts its number of foreign intakes of employees as according to level of economic growth and the number of manpower needed in certain industries. Currently it has been reduced because of the downturn in numbers in both criterias.

ahleebabasingaporethief

Professional white-collar jobs are the issue here. I mean, Scroobal is right, truly.

But how can we reduce them and in what way that doesn't damage our reputation as a trade-friendly nation is another thing. We cannot just do this "nazi" style and expel them just like that, and expect it to be sorted within a single day.

My opinion is that we need a quota system for foreigners, and adjust the numbers as according to our level of economical growth, and the number of foreign workers needed in industries that are starving of manpower(or not). In short, we should adapt what the Aussies have done- which hasn't damaged Australia's reputation, and has enhanced economical growth in Australia for more than a decade.

Also to add: Australia also adjusts its number of foreign intakes of employees as according to level of economic growth and the number of manpower needed in certain industries. Currently it has been reduced because of the downturn in numbers in both criterias.

Our Ministars are the laziest and cannot react to problems because all are "ah sia kias" that have never seen problems. Everything here is BLANKET one. They are too lazy to structure things properly here.

If you tell them that today, many Singaporeans dont even have $50 in their wallets, they will not believe.

Also in Australia they are fair to their own citizens. If not fair, there will be street protests and strikes.

Maybe Singaporeans should really take to the streets first.

u fucking mental retard, of course these countries have much more FTs than Singapore. For the simple reason they are larger. U have to see it from a % basis. Singapore FTs are about 25% of the population!!! If the FT population was 25% IN THOSE CoUNtRIES THAT U MENTIONED, they would have kicked the fTs out long time ago.

PAPsupporter

We should be polite and courteous to the foreigners, failure to do so will cast a negative image of our great Singapore.

Frankiestine

We should be polite and courteous to the foreigners, failure to do so will cast a negative image of our great Singapore.

yup u just confirm my suspicion that you are a faggot cos you sure like bending over to have your ass analised by foreigners..

:oIo::oIo::oIo::oIo::oIo::oIo::oIo:
FUCK YOU PAP

PAPsupporter

yup u just confirm my suspicion that you are a faggot cos you sure like bending over to have your ass analised by foreigners..

FUCK YOU PAP

Being hostile and unfriendly will put off people. If Singaporeans set a terrible example and image to the foreigners, imagine all foreign large organizations, MNCs, investors and traders migrate out of Singapore, it will have a drastic effect on our great Singapore economy and more people will be jobless then. I guess you all don't wish such thing to happen. Our great PAP government is doing a superb job of attracting potential foreigners into Singapore to contribute. 3 cheers for our great PAP government. :smile: