• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Serious Halimah Yacob, the perfect example of why S’pore is doomed

As we all know by now, Ms Yacob has been pretty much anointed the next President of Singapore courtesy of Minister Chan Chun Sing in Parliament. As I looked at her back ground and her family history, one thing struck me with as the most alarming aspect of her character.

Let me go first into her background so that the reader can understand what I am saying. Yacob is the product of an impoverished background. I mean we are talking dirt poor. In many ways she is the Singapore success story. Her father was a Muslim Indian working as a jagar (watchman) and her Malay mother was a food seller. Her parents raised 5 kids in a one room flat on Hindoo Road in Little India. Her father passed away when she was 8 years old, leaving her mother as the sole breadwinner. As a result, she had to help her mother sell food every day before and after school. The mother operated an illegal nasi pandang push cart and every morning, at 5am, she helped the mother shop for ingredients and do the cooking before she went to school. Many times, she helped the mother push the cart around Shenton Way, dodging police officers. And after school, she had to help wash up the dishes and containers. As a result, she missed many classes and school days at SCGS and was threatened with expulsion at one time.

Eventually, she managed to get into NUS but could not enroll because she did not have enough money for the tuition fees. A last minute $1000 annual Bursary from the Islamic Religious Council plus $50 a month from her older brother working at that time as a prison guard enabled her to study law at NUS. She met her future husband at NUS (he was a physics major) and they married 2 years after graduation. Eventually, when the new Yishun estate was developed, they moved into a 5 room flat in one of the blocks while her mother lived in the 4 room flat next door. They knocked the wall down between the 2 flats (not sure if that is allowed by HDB), and combined the flats. She then raised 5 children in that Yishun flat and has stayed in the same flat for last 30 years, even when she became Speaker.

So far so good, you say. She is the polar opposite of the born with a silver spoon in their mouth types like Lee Hsien Loong, Teo Chee Hean, Tony Tan, etc. And also very different from those also from humble backgrounds like Chan Chun Sing, but who managed to study at Harvard, MIT, Cambridge, etc on one form of scholarship or another. These fellow MPs were different in that their whole future was mapped out for them, what with the govt paying for an expensive overseas first class education, followed by good salaries in the SAF. And lets be assured they do not still live in the same HDB flat for the last 30 years that Yacob has.

You might say that she is the second coming of Ong Teng Cheong. The rare politician that actually lives among the unwashed masses and interacts with them daily. The rare politician who is not born rich or was in the military. The rare politician that is in touch with the people. The rare politician that over came many obstacles in life that other MPs cannot even dream off. She worked for everything she had. So, she is the perfect choice for President, right? Wrong. Dead Wrong.

Halimah Yacob has talked about the small provision shop that she buys her stuff from and how the owner complains about the high cost of rent. She has talked about the same doctor she has gone to for the last 30 years. She lives among the heartlanders and sees all the changes in Singapore for the last 30 years in her own neighbourhood, but yet she is blind and possibly brain dead.

Why is she blind and possibly brain dead? She is blind because the shop keeper complains to her about high rents and how hard she works, but she does not look into it, nor bring it up in Parliament or with her party. Why is the rent so high? Why is HDB so greedy? How can this type of small business survive?

She is blind because she cannot see that her family doctor’s clinic has been having more and more foreign health care workers working there. She is brain dead because she does not wonder where all those local Singaporean nurses and office staff have gone. Why were they replaced by these foreign workers? She is blind because she cannot see that more and more foreigners are moving into her neighbourhood and living in the same block as her, and in other neighbouring blocks, despite the fact that HDB housing is build for only Singaporeans and PRs. She is brain dead not to question why are all these people living here, and why are they staying in taxpayer subsidized flats. She is blind because she cannot see that such an influx of foreigners into her area throws the ethnic balance off and puts a strain on schools and resources. HDB flats are build for 3.5 million S’poreans but when you shoe horn 5.9 million people into them, something has to give.

Incredibly, people like LHL can be forgiven for not seeing any of this. Why? Because, they are living in their ivory tower luxury landed properties and can’t possibly have any idea how the heartlanders live. But she can see this. She can see the people are not happy. She must know of neighbours and others that have been retrenched, losing their jobs to FTs, yet what has she done about it?

Even worse, her deep involvement in the labour union movement really strikes home to me what a useless person she is. She has spend over 30 years in NTUC, supposedly “to fight for the workers”, yet NTUC in collusion with MOM/PAP are the worse exploiters of Singapore workers rights. Any MNC or local company can fire Singapore workers and hire FT tomorrow with no or very little consequences. When NOL was sold off I did not hear her or NTUC advocating to protect Singapore worker’s jobs. Her govt’s policies have successfully depressed the local wages and made Singaporeans noncompetitive in their own country. What happened to fighting for laws to protect Singaporean’s jobs or even a simple thing like extending maternity leave with guaranteed reemployment when the mother comes back to work? The fact is that Singapore workers are some of the least protected workers in the industrial world. Statistically and factually speaking, the PAP has created hundreds of thousands more jobs for non Singaporeans then for its own citizens.

So I can only conclude the following:

1) 1)Halimah Yacob is a genuinely sincere and humble person but she is either too intellectually challenged to see how the policies of her own govt and the compliant NTUC are killing Singapore workers.

2) 2)Halimah Yacob does see and understand all the effects of all the PAP’s poor policies on Singapore workers and heartlanders, but chose to ignore them and play ball and collect her MP pay and other nice paychecks. hence she is a great actress.

3) 3)Halimah Yacob is too lazy and too non confrontational to truly fight for the rights of the Singapore worker and heartlander.

If someone like her, who came from such a humble background is so brain dead, or brain washed, or bought with money, what chance do we have of actually uncovering a politician that can see what is really going on and do something about it? She of all people should be able to start changes internally in the PAP and the govt. but so far, she does not appear to either be interested or to even know there is a problem. In any case, under any of the 3 scenarios, she is not fit for the position of President of Singapore.

People die every day. Do you blame God for not saving them from death's door? What more a mere mortal. Things are the way they are because they are the way they are. Count your blessings! Don't listen to these opposition supporters, full of hot air when exposed smell like warm fart. :rolleyes:

Kuailan

Why she want to make noise and rock the boat??

when is paid million for a Poor kampong girl??

She gets promoted because she just follow wat Mee siam mai hum said,

you think she dares to challenge?? even though she's right??

She must be a timid cat just listen to what the master said!!

Must act dumb, act blur, brain dead, crippled than can get the highest

position!!

For me I remember her as the fish lady: "The price of chicken may be rising fast, but we can encourage Singaporeans to turn to alternative sources of protein, such as fish" :biggrin:

Obviously LHL wants to avoid having a president who avoids asking embarrassing questions like Ong Teng Cheong. He is dumbing down the PAP & where loyalty to him is more important than capability.

i believe in empowerment and uplifting the minority and the disadvantaged.she doesnt have to be another ong teng cheong (a acclaimed chinese chauvinist pig) to the sinkie masses who are mostly daft and stupid sheep anyway,she can still be a martin luther king to the malay race.

as for the elitism thing and ivory tower thing,it doesnt matter what pauper or slumdog background they come from.

u are absolutely wrong,i find that the more education i receive the more elite books i envelop myself in the more elitist i become and the greater the sense of elitism.unless of course u are one of those hypocrites bleeding heart champagne swirling high falutin liberals kumbaya my lord cocksuckers like Ang Sung Soo Juan.

these days i feel a growing sense of disdain for groups of mats,pinoys,banglas and low caste sinkies whenever i encounter them.which create a conundrum of whether to continue living in this country.

just like black dog shammugan,he used to be a liberal and a socialist,but after spending so many years and decades breathing that rarefied atmosphere of elite purified PAP and IMF and G20 oxygen i wonder how much of his humanity and empathy is left......he probably feels like hes being surrounded by cockroaches and daft peasants,suffocating in the mountain of filth and stupidity swirling around him.

Why she want to make noise and rock the boat??

when is paid million for a Poor kampong girl??

She gets promoted because she just follow wat Mee siam mai hum said,

you think she dares to challenge?? even though she's right??

She must be a timid cat just listen to what the master said!!

Must act dumb, act blur, brain dead, crippled than can get the highest

position!!

Perhaps this is now the new zikapore dream. Ingratiate yourself with the PAP and move up in money and rank.

i believe in empowerment and uplifting the minority and the disadvantaged.she doesnt have to be another ong teng cheong (a acclaimed chinese chauvinist pig) to the sinkie masses who are mostly daft and stupid sheep anyway,she can still be a martin luther king to the malay race.

Yes, the Malay segment of society is amongst all sinkies, the most gong kia. The malays have more power then they know. If they march on the streets, do demonstrations, etc, you think the PAP will shoot them? If they did, the border with matlaysia will be closed tomorrow. No such concessions for sinkie chinese. Yet, they repeatedly have shit useless leaders including Yaacock Ibrahim, who cannot even marry within his race and religion.

http://www.theonlinecitizen.com/2007/09/05/ministers-are-not-given-pensions-halimah-yacob/

“Ministers are not given pensions” – Halimah Yacob

By Andrew Loh

“Ministers are not given pensions, not the ministers after a certain age, similar to civil servants…. Civil servants after 1984, ‘86 no longer are paid pensions. They’re all on CPF, the same as ministers. So whatever other schemes are applicable to other Singaporeans will also be applicable to ministers.”

- NTUC Assistant Secretary General and MP for Jurong GRC, Halimah Yacob, 93.8FM, 29 August 2007 (podcast)

It is curious why Mdm Yacob would make such a statement as the above – that “ministers are not given pensions”.

This is even more puzzling when you consider that various commentators have spoken about it, and even ministry and government officials have mentioned pensions for ministers.

Indeed, as recently as 2004, the then Deputy Prime Minister Lee Hsien Loong had even clarified in Parliament that ministers do still receive pensions. In fact, some of them are receiving both pensions and salaries! (link)

Perhaps Mdm Yacob has confused the freeze on pension sums (since 1994) given out to pensioners, with any cancellation or abolishment of the scheme itself – as clarified by the Public Service Division:

“Since 1994, the pensionable salary component at each grade has been frozen. All subsequent salary increases, whether in the form of monthly adjustments or increase in annual components, are non-pensionable.” (AsiaOne)

However, even though the sums themselves have been frozen, it does not mean that the pension scheme is no longer in practice.

Another misunderstanding, on the part of Mdm Halimah, could also be the difference between the Civil Service and the Administrative Service – or Office Holders. Pensions for the Civil Service has indeed been “phased out” since 1986 but pensions for the Administrative Service (which includes Ministers) are retained.

In 2007, in a letter to the Straits Times, the Public Service Division (which is under the Prime Minister’s Office) said:

“… the pension scheme has been retained for Office Holders, namely, Speaker, Ministers, Ministers Of State, Mayors, Parliamentary Secretaries and Political Secretaries.” (PDF file)

For further certainty, here are several commentators who have spoken about the pension scheme for ministers. Perhaps the NTUC’s assistant secretary general would like to read them and clarify her misleading statement on the radio programme.

The Singapore Mayor: A legitimate ticket to a Parliamentary pension? – By The Workers’ Party chairman, Sylvia Lim. (link)

Reaction to MOM’s statement on State pension – National Solidarity Party (link)

Ministers get pensions too – Alex Au. (link)

PSD dispels myths on ministers, civil servants pay. (Asia One)

Annuities for Singaporeans, pensions for ministers? – (Andrew Loh)

Transcript from the 93.8FM radio programme. A caller, Joseph, asked Mdm Yacob about the “double standards” of making Singaporeans buy annuities while ministers receive pensions:

Joseph: I just want to find out because there’s been a lot of talk, on the Net and in Singapore about the proposed annuity scheme… One of the looming questions is that ordinary Singaporeans are forced to take on this annuity scheme but ministers have this retirement scheme where they have guaranteed pensions. We’re talking about very well-paid ministers who get paid $1.5 million a year and they’re getting $150,000 a month and all this at tax payers’ expense.

On the other hand, we have the man on the street who has barely enough money in his CPF to make ends meet and then be forced on this annuity scheme. There seems to be two standards here. So I am just wondering how do you reconcile the two very wide standards, you know.

DJ: Mdm Halimah, double standards – in terms of how ministers are treated, public servants are treated, and how the rest of us are treated.

Mdm Halimah: Thank you, Joseph, for the question but I think there’s probably a misunderstanding. Ministers are not given pensions, not the ministers after a certain age, similar to civil servants. Civil servants, after 1984/86, I think, no longer are paid pensions. They are all on CPF. The same with ministers. So whatever schemes are applicable to other Singaporeans will also be applicable to ministers, will be applicable to civil servants.

Now, the question is: Are Singaporeans being forced to save? Well, the compulsory annuity is meant …we have to look at the objective. ..I want to come back to the objective and I hope that Singaporeans and all callers will focus on the objective. The objective is really to save, to help Singaporeans because we’re living longer, we need more retirement income. So that’s the purpose of the annuity, really.

The Public Service Division’s responses to comments from the public, April 2, 2007. Asia One.

PENSIONS

Q: Do ministers and AOs receive pensions?

A: Only those who have served at least eight years as an office holder (for example, minister or minister of state) qualify for a pension.

Since 1994, the pensionable salary component at each grade has been frozen. All subsequent salary increases, whether in the form of monthly adjustments or increase in annual components, are non-pensionable.

The pensions for ministers are not calculated based on the total annual salary package each year.

Bonuses, allowances and other annual salary components are not included in the calculation of the minister's pension.

Only the pensionable portion of the minister's monthly salary is used and the actual pension also depends on the length of pensionable service. Currently, only about half of the monthly salary of a minister is pensionable.

As for post-retirement medical benefits, all office-holders, including ministers who qualify for pensions, continue on the Medisave-cum-Subsidised Outpatient Scheme. They do not get free medical after retirement.

For administrative officers to qualify for a pension, they must have served for at least 15 years. But they lose the pension once they resign from service.

As with ministers, only about half of AOs' monthly salaries are pensionable.

Also, MPs appointed after Jan 1, 1995 are no longer eligible for pensions.

http://www.theonlinecitizen.com/2007/09/05/ministers-are-not-given-pensions-halimah-yacob/

She's playing brain dead and clueless whats happening around her. Her only focus is to SERVE her Master LHL and PAP's Crionies.

exactly just like tharman the dog,back when he was just a secondary school kid studying with his friend in his hdb flat,u could see he was a idealist and pro communist.after 3 decades of serving in the PAP,hes nothing but a IMF dog and everything he says all his rhetoric about economics and the poor is to justify his masters and the right wing global world order free trade agreement fag lover.just like milton friedman,a puppet and a economist voice box for the right wing establishment.

“Ministers are not given pensions” – Halimah Yacob

By Andrew Loh

“Ministers are not given pensions, not the ministers after a certain age, similar to civil servants…. Civil servants after 1984, ‘86 no longer are paid pensions. They’re all on CPF, the same as ministers. So whatever other schemes are applicable to other Singaporeans will also be applicable to ministers.”

- NTUC Assistant Secretary General and MP for Jurong GRC, Halimah Yacob, 93.8FM, 29 August 2007 (podcast)

As with ministers, only about half of AOs' monthly salaries are pensionable.

Also, MPs appointed after Jan 1, 1995 are no longer eligible for pensions.

A truly humble person would have come back on the show and apologize and clarify that she was wrong about the pension thing for politicians. She did not do this. So she is faking her stay in HDB Yishun flat as humbleness. Since she is so high up and long time in NTUC, she of all people should know the wages and pension scheme of her own co-MPs and colleagues in Parliament, but she does not. So she is brain dead.

exactly just like tharman the dog,back when he was just a secondary school kid studying with his friend in his hdb flat,u could see he was a idealist and pro communist.after 3 decades of serving in the PAP,hes nothing but a IMF dog and everything he says all his rhetoric about economics and the poor is to justify his masters and the right wing global world order free trade agreement fag lover.just like milton friedman,a puppet and a economist voice box for the right wing establishment.

Tharm really sold his soul to the devil. He was arrested and interrogated before by the iSD. Of all people, he should know how the PAP can abuse its powers and use it to intimidate its own citizens. Yet he sleeps with them today. very disappointing.

iluvgst

fucking crap. pensions were a relic of the old civil service days where the civil servants were paid below private sector salaries. then fast forward to the greedy grab all pap policies where they demand private sector salaries for their ultimate sacrifice and conveniently did not scrap the pension scheme. so they have been reaping the double benefits of high private sector salaries and pensions. anyway, daft sinkies get the shit they vote for.

He was never arrested. He was asked to turn up for "interview". Same with dozens of returned scholars and non-scholars over the years. Included people like Yeo Lam Keong, former Chief economist of GC.

Tharm really sold his soul to the devil. He was arrested and interrogated before by the iSD. Of all people, he should know how the PAP can abuse its powers and use it to intimidate its own citizens. Yet he sleeps with them today. very disappointing.

He was never arrested. He was asked to turn up for "interview". Same with dozens of returned scholars and non-scholars over the years. Included people like Yeo Lam Keong, former Chief economist of GC.

If he did not turn up for the "interview", he would have been arrested, right? So what is the difference? U either walk yourself in or get dragged in handcuffs, end of the day, its still feels like an arrest. Its like saying there is no censorship in singapore because Shit Times watch what they say and write and don't step on any toes. Self censorship is still censorship. Same in this case with Tharm.

Patriot

" Her father was a Muslim Indian working as a jagar (watchman) and her Malay mother was a food seller."

I refer to the above sentence which caught my eye.

If this is true, doesn't the fact that her father is an Indian make her an Indian rather than a Malay.

I thought that the next elected President is reserved for the Malay race.

Please correct me if I am wrong.