• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

This should have been standard history taught in all schools

He had enough time and was mentally able too.

Yes, all he did was write a introduction to francis' book. And than counter sued when Con You sued him for defamation in an interview he gave a reporter from Toronto Star. Other than that, heard nothing from him. He was definitely mentally and physically able to put down his thoughts. Nowadays, he could have go-wrote with a ghost writer. keep quiet for fuck I don't know. Maybe one of his sons can shed light on it.

All living overseas except one who is here eating 'govt rice.'

kukubird58

The greatest pioneer of all is LKY. He transformed the nation.
hahaha...u twit...u sold your hero short...
lky is one of the geatest hero in the world, giving mighty Britain a slap in the face and unilaterally declaring singapore independent from Britain in 1963 and hence singapore was an independent nation for 16 days in 1963.....lol.

kukubird58

hahaha....the clown historian is here to embarrass himself...i mean the world for their ignorance....
he truely deserves a Nobel history prize for the discovery.....
BUT then hor, why papee has to BS about this??? kukubird really don't understand leh......lol.

king_of_abalone

Thailand was not touched because they allowed safe landing to the Jap invaders from the north of Malayan peninsula. After the war they paid for their collaboration by ceding land to the Malayan Federation. IIRC, Kedah and even Kelantan used to be part of the Thai Kingdom before the war.

You are correct about the part about giving preferential treatment to the natives. It is well documented that the Malay people were deputised as policemen and even had some sort of political representation during the occupation. This was the divide and rule tactic used by the Japs.

That is why nowadays you see the Japanese Imperial "Rising Sun" flag on many vans and cars driven by Malays.

It was the only time in Singapore's history that they could ride roughshod over the Chinese.

I bet they would love to see that again - millions of Chinese slaughtered, and the Malays given a respectable place in society.

I never trusted the Malays.

kingrant

What a moron - there is no Nobel prize for history, you twit.

Read my signature - again!

kukubird58

What a moron - there is no Nobel prize for history, you twit.
hahaha...that is because so far no one is worthy of such a (history) prize.....but then u, the clown historian is different....for finding something that no other historian is awared of....that singapore was already an independent nation in 1963.
But then hor, u still have not answered why papee needs to BS and hide this fact....pse explain to the village idiots and kukubirds...
don't just give motherhood papee BS thingey leh...not so convincing lah.

The greatest pioneer of all is LKY. He transformed the nation.

That's a very shallow understanding of history. Yeah, he transformed the island but it wasn't that difficult to do with authoritarianism. Give credit to sinkees for accepting the social contract. It is easy to move from 3rd world to second world with complaint citizens. Are we first world? Not when the median takehome income is $1700! So, we may have first world infrastructure, we are very much second world in income.

Back to Old Fart. He used sinkapore as a guinea pig to soothe his ego. He created a false reputation as an expert of China and Asia which is now becoming glaringly clear that he is a charlatan. An expert in China would not have led us to lose tens of billions in a major investment there. Old Fart didn't even know that local officials had more clout in the local environment than the central government. Thats shocking.

Old Fart will die with his mouth open - a gesture of shock that history will show him up as an egoist who put his interest ahead of the country.

tanwahp

Every time I ask any of these questions, I always get the wrong answer.

Based on certain unclear and lapsing mentions in our history textbooks, you would think that:

1. PAP was the government during the Hock Lee Bus Riots because the rioters were mischievious and jealous of the PAP.

2. There was no leader who tried to negotiate because the rioters would have rioted anyway.

3. The strike leaders belonged to the Communist Party of Singapore.

4. The leader of the Communist Party of Singapore was Lim Chin Siong.

5. No. Devan Nair was just a bloke that came along later and got drunk because it was not Lee Kuan Yew who put him there.

hahaha...u twit...u sold your hero short...
lky is one of the geatest hero in the world, giving mighty Britain a slap in the face and unilaterally declaring singapore independent from Britain in 1963 and hence singapore was an independent nation for 16 days in 1963.....lol.

That can't be right. Wikipedia says the same thing too, and they are obviously flawed. So obviously you are fuck wrong...................once again.

Based on certain unclear and lapsing mentions in our history textbooks, you would think that:

The PAP had its own communist wing too, and was originally set up and modeled after the communist part in Russia. Even today, you will see members of the PAP refer to each other as Comrades, and like all communist party systems they have a CEC too, and titles like Secretary General are not used in modern democracies but in communistic system and used by the PAP. Also Lim Chin Siong was one of the founders of PAP, so that shows you how communistic they once were. Today, its still communistic, with some fake democratic institutions like elections and what not. But the govt. still owns 80% of all land in Singapore and 90% of all residences/properties, and the people do not own their flats but rent them from the govt. Sounds like communism to me.

Exactly. In fact the Communist (CPM) leadership was so upset that their associates were being manipulated that they were directed to stop. When the strikes began, the PAP and old man who sat as the opposition in the legislative chamber was repeatedly asked if the PAP or the old man personally endorsed or condemned the strike activities. They refused to give a clear answer. Remember Fong who led the strike was a founder member of the Pap and the strike leaders were PAP members.

1. PAP was the government during the Hock Lee Bus Riots because the rioters were mischievious and jealous of the PAP.

2. There was no leader who tried to negotiate because the rioters would have rioted anyway.

4. The leader of the Communist Party of Singapore was Lim Chin Siong.

5. No. Devan Nair was just a bloke that came along later and got drunk because it was not Lee Kuan Yew who put him there.

The family was divided. The eldest son was with ST and did not support the father while second son did. The family was also embarrassed by what old man making public what the Mrs Nair revealed about the domestic violence. So the plan to write a book was not supported by the family.

Also lets no forget that Devan was old man's enforcer in the labour movement. It would not ook bad on him as well. What was interesting is that Devan lunched with the old man weekly at the Istana which even the cabinet did not do. Devan cannot dissociate himself from the man.