• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Living in JB 2 (Johore)

Status
Not open for further replies.

wuqi256

Moderator - JB Section
Hi Wuqi do u get the D-max or Hilux? How is the fuel efficiency?

Mine was for another car as i wanted something that seats more. Hilux would be the preferred one for a 4x4/pickup and i borrowed one from a friend and drove it around before for a week. Good premium workhorse. Slightly on the higher side for fuel consumption as his was a modded version but power is really something else. Mr Satu Malaysia has a Hilux too. Its the most sought after (read: stolen) vehicle in Malaysia so insurance, etc is always at a premium. Guys who stole them will export them to the middle east, etc where it will become a "technical" for guerilla or rebel forces.

wuqi256

Moderator - JB Section
Hi Qube3, i didn't ask much but both the person who shared the news as well as the locals who tried to get in were very surprised by the sheer numbers of foreigners coming in for studies. Also quickly informed my friends as influx of potential tenants coming in. Already, almost all their units are out.

Qube3

Hi Qube3, i didn't ask much but both the person who shared the news as well as the locals who tried to get in were very surprised by the sheer numbers of foreigners coming in for studies. Also quickly informed my friends as influx of potential tenants coming in. Already, almost all their units are out.

wow.....thanks bro.

even when there isn't much marketing done in Singapore - or not that I am aware of anyway. And at MYR100K+ p.a...

:*:

Icyraine

wow.....thanks bro.

even when there isn't much marketing done in Singapore - or not that I am aware of anyway. And at MYR100K+ p.a...

:*:

These rich fellas would have to be staying in JB in order to send their children to Marborough right? I know they plan to have bus bringing students from Sg, with special permit to cross the custom so that kids do not need to get down of the bus (or chopping the passport) while coming in to Msia. But as of now, i dont think the current foreigners are from Sg ( 80/20 ).... so they would have to be those staying at JB?

It seems like there are a huge bunch of expats out there... more so then i thought, after all, not everyone read and post in this forum. haha.

crystal_tiong

Hi guys

Me just back fr Penang. Omg , every morning I was awoke by e prayers at 618am even though we are not so near to e mosque n stayed 19th floor. I can't imagine e mosque built near to NI8.

jasonjst

These rich fellas would have to be staying in JB in order to send their children to Marborough right? I know they plan to have bus bringing students from Sg, with special permit to cross the custom so that kids do not need to get down of the bus (or chopping the passport) while coming in to Msia. But as of now, i dont think the current foreigners are from Sg ( 80/20 ).... so they would have to be those staying at JB?

It seems like there are a huge bunch of expats out there... more so then i thought, after all, not everyone read and post in this forum. haha.

Why is the fees so expensive @ 100 K pa for these secondary / colleage courses ? Are those neighbour hood school so lacking in qualities that people willing to pay 100K p.a to send their kids there ?
If it is a university , I can understand because our Sinking universities dont have enough places for his own Singaporean citizens. Any bros /sis can enlighten me ?

jasonjst

Hi guys

Me just back fr Penang. Omg , every morning I was awoke by e prayers at 618am even though we are not so near to e mosque n stayed 19th floor. I can't imagine e mosque built near to NI8.

Maybe you can time your morning exercise to coincide with prayer time at 618am ?

yonglip

Hi guys

i think i will get used to life in JB. i wake up at around 6 every morning....sat and sun included!..when u getting older, dont know why sleeping becomes less and less....wifey said signs of dying soon!....i agree. haha.

cheers.

yonglip

Yes, I always use Woodland Checkpoint. Very much convenience for me since I stayed close to woodland.
for some units, I agree it should finish within next 2-3 months, but overall, I dont think it is possible. there are still many units well far behind. The guy in sale office told me that some unit should be done in April. If I am not, the sales guy is called Mr Ng. he is based in KSL office near Bestmart.

u will be surprised bro. within 6 months they have transformed some of the units from just wall structures into about 70% done. Once more resources are freed up with more units done, the rest will get done in double quick time too. Actually one part of me hope they do quickly, cant wait to proclaim myself has a bona fide living in JB guy! but the other part hope they slow down,...cos need to pay money!..sian especially with the recent exchange rates dropping like dead flies.

cheers.

Icyraine

Why is the fees so expensive @ 100 K pa for these secondary / colleage courses ? Are those neighbour hood school so lacking in qualities that people willing to pay 100K p.a to send their kids there ?
If it is a university , I can understand because our Sinking universities dont have enough places for his own Singaporean citizens. Any bros /sis can enlighten me ?

Well, i think fees wise.. international school > private school > public school. Marlborough College is an international school , pretty well known too.. Kate Middleton was the school hockey team in Marlborough College, (of course, the one in UK), i heard Madonna wants to send her son to Marlborough College as well.

Icyraine

i think i will get used to life in JB. i wake up at around 6 every morning....sat and sun included!..when u getting older, dont know why sleeping becomes less and less....wifey said signs of dying soon!....i agree. haha.

cheers.

same here. i am talking about the aging part.

LGLab

Hi LGLab, sorry for the late reply. You just need to go through a maid agency, there are better regulations on them these days. Just ask your neighbours who has one. Its not complicated, getting Indonesian ones was for a while but its better now. I am glad to hear about the MACS. It does take a while but will come eventually. :smile:

hi thanks.

as long u can confirmed that social visit pass holder can hire a maid, then i am very glad to hear this information already..

by the way, do you know the procedures on how to get one as a social visit pass holder? .. or u will say that it is better to check with the maid agency?

another question is, how is the rate normally like?

Example, agent fee to pay?
normally, what is the maid's pay like? I have read that we have to pay at least 450RM for indo maid?

Is there any other extra charges like work permit, etc?...

abugumgum

cheers.

Ha ha I am also the early riser.
Signs of dying, maybe eager to start the day? :biggrin:

arsenal

Exclusivity.. Like harry potter.. The more expensive it is, the more the rich want to get in. like East ledang like that.

arsenal

I sleep later and wake up later.. Mean getting younger? The sound from the mosque once you get used to is good.. You feel safe and protected..

cheers.

edragon

Hello everyone,

I am new here and very happy to join this nice community where I can find such camaraderie and friendly forummers.
Would be pleased to get some advice for banks to get a housing loan.
The property is at Setia Tropika and the banks are restricted to:-

1) Maybank
2) AM Bank
3) HSBC
4) Public Bank
5) Hong Leong Bank
6) UOB

Any advice/comments is appreciated.

Thank you.
:smile:

teck21

Teck, i know that you plan to expand the 2 bed rooms by removing the aircon ledge, i am thinking of doing the same too (when the house is ready), so where are u going to install your aircon? are u not using split unit aircon?

P/S: sorry, after reading your post again seems like you will be using single unit aircon, how's single vs split unit? i always thought split unit is better....? coz the single ones are old model?

Space is a constraint in high rise living, you usually have place to mount only one multi-split system compressor unit. The con is that if it fails, you will be without air-conditioning for the whole condo/apartment. That's why Malaysians living in landed properties can afford to fix/mount multiple compressor units. If one fails just replace that unit. :smile:

Thanks, really busy, got very sick and then so many things happened recently, really was out of action.
Most of the aircon units you will see people using in MY are all single unit aircons and each has its own
compressor mounted externall. Some find it ugly and put in additional costs to group all the compressor
units together.

Yep, I think bros Wuqi and Toyo have explained it. When you say single, I think you are referring to those very old kind, the stick in a hole in the wall kind? Just to be sure, the ones we are talking about are 'normal' aircons, just that every blower has its own 'engine' so to speak. Easy to maintain, problems easy to isolate, and like Toyo said, one spoil just chuck and change. Split systems (1 condenser for 2,3 or 4 blowers) I find can be problematic. Like everything else, the more complicated it is, the more likely it can go wrong.

In Singapore I had to use a system 4 because HDB very generously allowed me to have only one compressor.

The fees on par with Singapore international schools. I think a lot of the students there will be children of high level expats working there, or similar capacity in Singapore who have moved there to live, or planning to do so. Or maybe even stay in Singapore while their children study there, which is why Marlborough College working so hard to allow students to travel there from Singapore without needing to carry passports or step out of very comfortable coaches. Being the interest of mostly very rich ang mos, quite possibly our government will bend over backwards to make it happen.

Rest of us regular travellers continue to be screwed when it comes to border crossing.

Singapore international schools, like Singapore itself also over crowded like hell, a lot of these expats cannot even get places for their children also, that's why they may consider Johor. This must have been a calculation by Marlborough when choosing to move there.

And a lot of these expats know they also won't be stationed in Singapore/Johor for long, so they may want to send their children to a more western-style education so their children can adapt more easily when they go back.

Or as Arsenal said, some just want their children to hang out with children from only the same kind of background.

But most importantly, school fees also not they pay one, company pay, so take lor!

edit: minor spelling

aperfectcircle0

Tks Wuqi,

My new lawyer is pretty solid so far and calls me everyday with updates..and surprisingly cheaper than the one that i axed.

i am not too keen to change bank though...after all we already signed the letter of offer for loan and thebanker has been top notch so far...he responds almost immediately to every whatsapp and email so I will stick by him even though the rates are not the best.

The silver lining is that it will be concluded this Sat with signing of the SPA finally! A few days ago I was ready to abort the project...but now things are looking positive.

BTW, what's your view about renting one of those vacant shophouses in HH to operate small retail business? Was told by lady P those are available and rental are low but i dont trust her opinion much after this episode.

Hi Perfectcircle, so sorry to hear about your circumstances, getting your own lawyer is a better case and you are well within your rights to get a new bank which gives you a better rate. I will still stay away from that bank she introduced you to, actually even the current bank you are using too.

I agree with HH that their team is very laid back but probably my experience wasn't so bad.

Whats the latest with the deal? Did it conclude to your satisfaction? Valuation report yes, you do need to, your lawyer would be best to advise in the for the SPA, bank documents wise, they will always protect themselves. Things and sometimes circumstances changes for a seller so sometimes things happens. The best situation would be to talk to the seller directly (and nicely) and then things will be sorted out easily.

Sometimes its not a matter of fairness as in the end you just want to get the house you want. Letting the wrong people know that you are in dire straits does not help in any negotiations especially when it appears you are too eager to close the deal. If this deal has not completed, you can consider renting a place in HH or other developments first and then buy later.

I find that its easier to use the soft way rather than the hard way here(but of course, always be ready and prepared to go the hard way if need be)
Always work with your own lawyer where possible, document all requests as well as statements, send not email but actual letters if you decide litigation is the best route.

Don't let this bad incident put you off, i wish the best for you. Bon chance!

arsenal

P might recommend a contractor called IDeven.. This contractor might have done many houses in HH..and might provide good services..

But do compare price unless you want to have min 300-400k renovation..

jasonjst

P might recommend a contractor called IDeven.. This contractor might have done many houses in HH..and might provide good services..

But do compare price unless you want to have min 300-400k renovation..

Wowpiang, 300-400K for reno , you guys must be big spenders. I am hoping that I can squeez everything necessity within a buget of 60 to 80K including extension of wet kitchen . Not too sure is possible ?

Status
Not open for further replies.