• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Living in JB 2 (Johore)

Status
Not open for further replies.

CameraMan

Check your loan document. It is indicated in mine.

Anyway, it is good to have an insurance to cover potential risks. Imagine whole house got burnt down. Where got money to rebuild? When that happens, want to cry also got no tears.

I think its not compulsory anymore. I took 90% loan btw on 30yr tenure. Of course planng to clear the loan asap. Targetg 10yrs. Dun wan d bank to eat my hard earned money.

CameraMan

Bro Diaspora,

Great idea to JV with UEM. Ask them to invite potential buyers as well. We'll help them sell to earn referral money. Good idea, huh?

My renovation money depends on you , brother.

ahem ahem...i heard i hv been summoned by HRH...
Since we may moved in during 4Q2012, why not hv one sammyboy P8 gathering by the lakeside then.
It can be a Precinct 8 move-in cum house warming cum Christmas cum New Year celebration...
We can JV with UEMLand for the organizing and partial sponsorship as well as some local business to partake in the event...hmmm...maybe can even organize a small run around the lake and get F&N to sponsor 100Plus drinks...also a fishing competition too...hmmm...
Let's make the P8 community an active one! We will only need 5-10 active residents to be in the organizing committee. In this forum, we should already have at least 3-4 already... :smile:
Open Position: Chairperson, Asst. Chair-Secretary, Treasurer, F&B Coordinator, Fun&Games Coordinator & Logistics Coordinator. :smile:

Diaspora

Scary for someone has been in safer singapore for a long time... Which place in Msia was this... i think may not be johor which i believe is much safer ..?

No worries...it's in Shah Alam, Selangor... Johor is way....'safer' than this....:rolleyes:

Diaspora

Check your loan document. It is indicated in mine.

Anyway, it is good to have an insurance to cover potential risks. Imagine whole house got burnt down. Where got money to rebuild? When that happens, want to cry also got no tears.

True. It is always prudent to either buy a term loan / MRTA for the mortage, in the event of any untoward incident(s) happened to you.... Fire insurance is also mandatory / common for many banks' mortgages. However, for properties with strata titles ie condo, you need not buy the insurance because the property Management would have taken up insurance for the whole building.

http://www.hba.org.my/faq/fire.htm

Narmi

True. It is always prudent to either buy a term loan / MRTA for the mortage, in the event of any untoward incident(s) happened to you.... Fire insurance is also mandatory / common for many banks' mortgages. However, for properties with strata titles ie condo, you need not buy the insurance because the property Management would have taken up insurance for the whole building.

Oic if its fire insurance or similar i agree. Waz referrg to mortgage insurance wic was not made compulsory

LGLab

Hitesh,
Option 1) buy to stay in around 2020 when MRT link is up, their internal transport network is ready, but at higher price.
Option 2) buy now at probably lower price, try to rent out in the mean time, and move in around 2020.

My personal take is that MRT will happen. Iskandar will happen. So I take option 2 since it is affordable to me now.
Affordability should not depend on rental income.
If I take option 1, I'm not sure how affordable it will be in future....and I may end up not able to own one or only a smaller one, or a further one.
Others may prefer to buy a brand new one only when we are really moving in. For me, I'm ok with lving in a older house. My house only ready in 2014, so in 2020, it is only 6 yrs old .... Okay lah. In Singapore, my house is probably older than me anyway. It is how we renovate and decorate e interior.

Like many bros out there, the plan is to eventually rent out Singapore, stay in malaysia.
With the house for you to stay, and income from singapore rental, life won't be too bad....

taking about that, those who just buy hdb gonna wait 5 years before they are allowed to own a private asset..

even if u buy hdb and during the MOP,still gonna stay together with the tenants.

all the crap rules from hdb refraining ppl from investing and getting better..

yonglip

Agree. the insurance is not for onself. Afterall one is dead. Its for the family members to pay off the loan IMMEDIATELY..like tio toto like that for them. at least ease the passing a bit knowing house fully paid up. haha.

teck21

That is reasonable interest rate. The fixed D in malaysia is also 3.5 to 3.8%.

Likewise, I think if you want to invest in Singapore, you can wait until the day when interest normalize at 3-4%.. Current interest at 1 % give me a false feeling of wealth. When Singapore interest rise to 3-4% one day, a lot of speculative folks who bought houses today in Singapore might "run road" already. One day when malaysia interest rate also drop to 1% like Singapore, can you imagine what the property price will become?

But Malaysia BLR has never gone below about 5% in 35 years, so I don't think borrowers will get to see 1% within the next 35 either. How do I attach pic? I got a graph of Malaysian BLR from 1976.

taking about that, those who just buy hdb gonna wait 5 years before they are allowed to own a private asset..

even if u buy hdb and during the MOP,still gonna stay together with the tenants.

all the crap rules from hdb refraining ppl from investing and getting better..

People who own private property now must sell their private property if they buy resale, even worse.

For maid, why not just call up a maid agency to ask? Here's one in Skudai randomly picked off Google, http://www.fajar-indah.com

Grago

In today's Business Times. Unfortunately does not say where the 3rd Link will be.......

THE contract for tunnelling works for the proposed Rapid Transit System (RTS) between Singapore and Johor Baru will see the likes of Gamuda-MMC bidding for the job and competing with other contenders, analysts say.Analysts believe Gadang Holdings Bhd and IJM Corp Bhd, both which have experience in underground works, may also bid for the tunnelling works.This is provided the Malaysian and Singaporean governments agree to award the job to a local party, said an analyst.Malaysia and Singapore are examining the prospect of expanding the scope of the proposed RTS to include underground road link between the two neighbours.Prime Minister Datuk Seri Najib Razak said that a study has been commissioned for the most viable option for the project, targeted to be operational by 2018.IJM is currently part of a consortium that won a contract worth RM1.3 billion for the Pahang-Selangor Raw Water Tunnel project. Gadang, in a joint venture with Hyundai Group, is among the favourites to win a contract worth as much as RM12 billion for underground tunnelling works for the Klang Valley Mass Rapid Transit (KVMRT) Sungai Buloh-Kajang line."Unlike Gamuda-MMC, IJM and Gadang will have to rope in foreign partners because of their balance sheet," the analyst said.Maybank Investment Bank Bhd construction analysts Wong Chew Hann thinks the best candidate for the tunnelling works is Gamuda-MMC."There are very few experienced contractors in Malaysia that can undertake tunnelling works and the only one that comes to mind is Gamuda-MMC as they completed SMART ," she told Business Times. Gamuda-MMC are currently the main contractors for the RM12.5 billion electrified double tracking project between Ipoh and Padang Besar.Both companies have also been appointed as project delivery partners for the KVMRT. "Since the award of the double-tracking project, Gamuda has not won any other major projects. Their outstanding order book is about RM2 billion, thus it is about time they win something," Wong said.Read more: 'Usual suspects' seen bidding for JB-Singapore tunnel job http://www.btimes.com.my/Current_News/BTIMES/articles/Gamuda6/Article/index_html#ixzz1ltlTzObO

wuqi256

Moderator - JB Section
Hi Narmi, i read rom the same website that if ur loan is more than 80 % then u have to take an insurance.. i am not sure.. can some experts comment?

I am not an expert but some quick points:

MRTA is a must for some banks but not for all especially if you have a stellar record with the Credit bureau report (they would ask for your SG one) when applying
Crime wise = Is not only everywhere but as someone noted, its relative. However that has changed quite a bit with the spate of recent news in SG, i shall not go further.
Price you pay now is definitely higher when this was first started 3 years ago.

When you mention cheap, there are good and bad as movies will be not so good a comparison for me as i seldom have time to watch and movies is not a staple or need for some.

The toll every day is offset by the following quick items (off the top of my head on and ongoing monthly basis):
Note that this has actually been discussed to death by forummers in pages past but well, here it is:

Utilities
Free parking in my area and at all my houses
Lower cost of living generally for:
1. Food (quality and variety may suit one or not, your mileage varies)
2. Medical care (definitely MUCH cheaper, i shall not go further about this as folks have asked me not to discuss about hospitals, they don't need the crowds)
3. Diapers, groceries, etc
4. Maintenance fees (for those whose house incurs this monthly)
5. Car maintenance, painting and repair, i have a number of cars. 2 of which i sent for servicing on the same day which costs me the price of what i serviced for 1 car in Singapore
6. Many items related to sports on a per use or monthly basis

What is not cheap
Internet charges
Mobile charges

I agree with the inconvenience but there are always ways to get about it including carpooling(quite popular here now) as well as leaving early. I have no issues with going to office and being on time. I just leave slightly earlier. I did a 3 day test last week where i drove to work from SG to my office and then the other 2 days i did from my home in Johore.

Twice i got to office slightly earlier and one time was later. The expressway "carpark" that i have to drive through in SG to my office is about as expensive as the toll in Johore but the jam is more at times. What works for me may not work for you or indeed anyone else. The folks who have made the move may well be mad but some of them may also be happy as well.

Again, i agree with bros here, i always advocated buying for own stay first before you think of anything else. Bros who remain unconvinced are very welcome to remain in Singapore. I have one relative and 2 bros who still thinks that Pelangi is situated next to Tuas yet never been here to see for themselves.

I must apologise to all those who told me about Johore years ago including my younger relative. If only i wasn't so stubborn and myopic. Seeing some of these past questions and past doubts, whether baseless or otherwise reminds me of my own dogmatic ways back then. I have since learnt better and realised that there isn't anything that is 100% absolute and beliefs can be so easily swayed by propaganda. I was so glad i came and saw for myself.

There was once many years ago when i passed the SG customs gates at Changi after taking a long haul flight home and breathe a sign of relief.
Yes i was once one of those but i know differently now.

wuqi256

Moderator - JB Section
Some of the business parks are doing pretty well, some units there got sold recently for a few million.

wuqi256

Moderator - JB Section
I think that is on a per trip basis. There are also some who will do it for about 98 RM but thats including windows.

My apologies LGlab, i will try to clear more often as it gets filled up quite fast.
You CAN MOST DEFINITELY HIRE A MAID.

Guys, please do me a favour, next time someone says the following to you, please smile to their face:

You cannot drive a Malaysian car in Malaysia, you cannot owe and buy one, you cannot get a loan, neither can you get insurance and road tax.
You cannot own a shophouse or house, condo in Malaysia
You cannot have a bank account or current account or Fixed Deposit in Malaysia
You cannot buy pork or eat pork in Malaysia (Lots of bak kut teh, wanton me and roast meat places last i looked)
You cannot start a business in Malaysia without a Malaysian director, etc
You cannot hire Malaysians or have maids in Malaysia
You cannot stay in Malaysia more than a week
You must pay for parking even at your own terrace house

I would personally take a cold cod fish (or any dead fish) and slap some of these people the next time they mention this to me again.
I know because, cars, maids, staff, houses, business i have here. Those who say you can't, please ask them their source.

I even got humbled by my learned friend recently as he used his Maybank account to help me settle a fine (closed during CNY period so used online)
His account is linke to like 600 plus various government and private instituitions. Basically you can pay just about all your bills without going to any
POS office.

wuqi256

Moderator - JB Section
Hey Crystal, i am sorry to hear about your bad experience with the high rise littering.
Also i will speak to Satu Malaysia and chide him for you, did he replace your filter?

wuqi256

Moderator - JB Section
Been away for too long as got really sick immediately after first 2 days of CNY as i looked after sick wife and kids.
During CNY, 2 of my aunts and their families came and the first 2 days, they allowed officially the setting of firecrackers, etc.

It was like a warzone, my learned wife surprised me with the arsenal that she and my dad had bought while i was in the states.
In the end, about a thousand shots was fired as we joined in the fun during the entire CNY (sick or not sick). Rockets, "kong ming" lanterns
lit the skies. Like a fellow cousin remarked, the skies look like those new reports of Iraq, Kandahar, etc as the night skies were completely
lit up and people competed with each other or cooperated to make the most noise. The front of my house were littered with red paper from
the firecrackers. I even set off fireworks for my relativews, learned friends who were not in their house or whose house was not ready yet.

Never been so happy as this was a pretty good occasion and the first for us in the sense that the CNY gathering was brought over to Johore
for the first time ever. My relatives houses were also nicer and bigger than mine. Some of them have carparks that could easily have parked
6-10 cars or more compared to my puny one. :smile:

wuqi256

Moderator - JB Section
Just realised this new thread hit 100 pages already, i have just been away for a while only. Pace of the pages never fail to amaze me. There is always so much content and information from various sources, for and against. I am really thankful for everyones inputs.

crystal_tiong

Hey Crystal, i am sorry to hear about your bad experience with the high rise littering.
Also i will speak to Satu Malaysia and chide him for you, did he replace your filter?

Hi bro wuqi, welcome bk
Yup coz I paid for it to change new ones. Nvm coz i guess he not familiar wif Korean car. Didn't know he is MENG tat time when I brought my friend months ago to buy wipers.
I really sway Kenna tp summon just when returning bk. drove past when it turned red light. Rm300 or settle on spot. Told him give me summon n I shall wait for 50% discount then pay.

wuqi256

Moderator - JB Section
Yes crystal, isn't it upsetting to know that these people thinks they do not grow old or die, the "elder" contributed so much of their "youth" too. Now they are so unwelcome! I felt a lump in my throat after just reading the headlines. It's amazing how human thinks, or I should said "inhuman"

I really feel bad for the elders, it would not really drag prices down if they make a mandatory area in each block to have some kind of old age corner to take care of the aged.
Everyone grows old, no matter what race, religion or part of life you are in currently. We are constantly growing older. The bedpan, the bed and the coffin beckons to everyone
rich or poor. Its only a matter of time, just treasure and make the most out of life no matter what you are doing currently.

I just turned 35 recently, at this ripe old age, i really feel contented for i have lived the life that most feared to live and i have lived true to what i believe in.

A closed fist will lose eventually what it grasped in its palm and an open one embraces the entire world. People are continually confused and clouded, few realises
what really matters at the end of the day. The pain of the loss is not felt in your corporate headquarters, its not felt by your boss or HR, its felt only by your family
as you matters to them more than your daily contribution. Family, friends and how you live your life is all that matters at the end of the day.

Again, except for a rare few(and some say vain) no one will carve on your tombstone your certifications/qualifications, your title however grandiose nor your accomplishments.
Observe the tombstones before us, what is written there is what really mattered at the end of the day.

1. In loving memory of my beloved husband/wife/
2. In memory of a good man/woman

This is also what i must continually remind myself so that i don't overwork as i tend to do.

wuqi256

Moderator - JB Section
Hey Crystal, you just reminded me of something. I may or may not have got a picture taken of my car as i did about 115kmph on the expressway on my way back to Singapore.
Bros and sisters, please be mindful of the 2nd link when going back, UNDER one of the flyover bridges(most times the one you will encouter first when going back to SG),
there will sometimes be a TP with a camera there. Please be aware.

One of the cars i got recently has a camera zone feature built into the GPS, while this is not new as the rest of all my cars has GPS as well, it reminded me of speed camera along
parts of the highway and one time i slowed down and moved to the extreme left lane only to see a shocked TP hidden in the bushes below.

wuqi256

Moderator - JB Section
Hi bro wuqi, welcome bk
Yup coz I paid for it to change new ones. Nvm coz i guess he not familiar wif Korean car. Didn't know he is MENG tat time when I brought my friend months ago to buy wipers.
I really sway Kenna tp summon just when returning bk. drove past when it turned red light. Rm300 or settle on spot. Told him give me summon n I shall wait for 50% discount then pay.

Thanks for the welcome, i am really sorry, one of my cars is a Korean car but it was fine for him though. I still get most parts of my Korean car in Singapore or ordered online (including timing belts, etc)
so i just ask him to fix for me. As for the Jap cars (i resisted Jap cars for the longest time) he has no issues with getting parts for me cheaply.

Sorry about your summon, i have done the same as i told them i am very willing to pay the summon. First ask the nature of the offence if you really felt you never did anything wrong.
Even if you did, just pay the summon.

wuqi256

Moderator - JB Section
This year, noticed quite a heart warming trend, quite a few new SG cars to the neighbourhood as well as MY ones would stop near the guardpost and folks will distribute red packets.
I joined in too after seeing quite a few do that.

Also, quite impressed recently, a SG neighbour was apparently away in SG (doesn't really talk to us much) and their water pipe burst (where they installed water filter), guards came by
and called the owners. Even rang our doorbell to ask if we can be witness as they climbed over the fence to turn off the water inside(turning off the outside one was a bit useless as they
had modified the water pipes)

They didn't really needed to care but they did.

Status
Not open for further replies.