• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Living in JB 2 (Johore)

Status
Not open for further replies.

yonglip

Afterall, with Singapore property prices 30-50 times more, and whilst I don't expect parity in my lifetime, it has a lot of room to grow.

Well thought out bro..At the present moment, difference is about 10 times - presenting a lot of arbitraging opportunities still. In fact for some locations, it has already moved way below that. I belive it will eventually reach 5 times for most locations in the middle term and in the longer term, it may even reach 2 times if everything continues its rosy track i.e. no shocks (political and economics) to the system. In other words, 20 years later, it might be common place to hear comments like "eh,..johor landed houses is cheap lei, only half the price of Singapore's ones!"

so why still not vested?

cheers.

crystal_tiong

I confirmed with my sis again. E exact amt is 97k !!!!
Location, location!!!! Perhaps jurong tat time has a lot of factories so there is demand so prices higher !!!
Woodlands was developing ba.

abugumgum

Facilities for elderly not welcome in Toh Yi estate either
Some Toh Yi residents object, following Woodlands case last week

Where is the end in all this? Must all old folks be moved outside of Sgp? :mad:

Icyraine

All of us get old, sooner or later. We are aging everyday. When we are old, we will be the one using these facilities.

Hitesh

IS THIS CORRECT?? IF SO THEN IT IS INFACt mORE EXPPENSIVE TO OWN PROPERTY IN MSIA THAN IN SGP....

I was using the Mortgage calculator at http://www.malaysialoan.com.my/financial-calculator/ and it indicated that i will have to pay insurance as well as real estate taxes which as per below is a high amount per month... all these compared to the price in SINGAPORE is not less but MUCH MORE EXPENSIVE.....

IF YOU ARE ALREADY STAYING IN MSIA THEN PLEASE COMMENT.... my loan amount is 650k rm.

Monthly Principal & Interests RM 3,371.15
Monthly Real Estate Taxes RM 250.00
Monthly Insurance RM 125.00
Loan To Value Ratio 86.67%
Months With PMI 54
Monthly PMI RM 270.83

Total Monthly Payments RM 4,016.98

avelc

Totally agree with what you are saying. When I first bought Ujana in 2009, I encountered all sorts of sceptism. Your property won't be completed, or "I withdrew my initial investment cost Middle East investors pulled out billions in Iskandar"...etc. But I'm glad I stuck to my decision. I'm happy to see a slow but steady stream of increased Singapore participation in Iskandar. Being alive is a risk in itself. As long as you manage your money appropriately, there is nothing to fear. To quote Li Ka Shing, always maintain stability while advancing, and don't forget to advance while maintaining stability.
I too had many ponderings about the possibility of success of Iskandar, and in particular, Nusajaya.

As an interested but unvested property investor at that time, I had considered many various factors. The concept of Iskandar had been discussed for over a decade, and to be frank for many people (especially and even Malaysians who may have heard about it every now and then) the glacial progress was numbing and after a while, had little or no further interest.

Even after its initial concept/development launch in, I believe, around 2006, things were still slow to progress, and certainly the Global Financial Crisis delayed and distracted many individual, corporate and government investors (Medini investors a case in mind).

Slowly over time the relevant Iskandar officials announced the "committed investments" and as it gradually grew larger, one big question still came to my mind, and I presume others' as well. Where were the Singaporeans? How would more investors; personal, business or governments view Iskandar if even the Malaysians could not attract their neighbour to partake and commit into the Iskandar region especially where it is supposedly touted to complement the entertainment, business and personal activities of Singapore? This even despite the massive amounts of money sunk into developing an infrastructure for Iskandar.

Sure, Shangrila (or Traders Hotel), and Gleneagles (Parkway) all had reputable names but had strong Malaysian connection/influences in it. Certain education institutions, Legoland, bits of SiLC etc were I suspect, heavily subsidised and still fell short of showing potential investors the interest of their most important investor - their neighbour. (I specifically did not mention Singapore, but using the word "neighbour". An endorsement by a neighbouring country would send strong signals of intention to the international community, surely?!). The domestic developments could only take the "project" this far, and probably constituted Phase 1 of the Iskandar story.

Obviously we all knew what happened next; billateral relations continued to warm, and the Point of Agreement (railway land etc) signed and sealed. This I think is the political breakthrough, or "political tipping point".

Along the way came with the announcements of indirect Singapore participation. Sunway with part GIC shareholdings, UM Land with part Capitaland, Wellness City to be managed by Capitaland, fresh moves by Raffles Education, MDIS and underlying all these are subtle accumulation of properties by a sheer number of individual Singaporean investors in Iskandar (whom I guess are more nimble in sensing and making investment decisions). This is the phase 2 of the Iskandar development and the development's "tipping point". This phase, borrowing from some media writer's projections, will last till 2015.

I am of the optimistic view that further announcements relating to Singapore's investments in Iskandar would continue to send strong signals and hence endorsement of the Iskandar region. What I am looking for now, is the development of billateral infrastructure - and that must mean the 3rd CIQ in Puteri Harbour (and agreement of the routes, co-immigration / custom facilities), underground tunnel border crossing road, MRT/train extensions, Senai/Changi airroutes and radiowave connectivity (phone roamings, TVs). By then this would signal phase 3 and insofar as property prices are concerned, may look in itself like a fibonnaci wave 3 stock movement itself (and then a wave 5?) - long gradual growth in prices. I suppose this is what we are all after arent' we?

Afterall, with Singapore property prices 30-50 times more, and whilst I don't expect parity in my lifetime, it has a lot of room to grow.

crystal_tiong

wait till theyare old then they will know how its feel liao ....

Sanur

wait till theyare old then they will know how its feel liao ....

Yes crystal, isn't it upsetting to know that these people thinks they do not grow old or die, the "elder" contributed so much of their "youth" too. Now they are so unwelcome! I felt a lump in my throat after just reading the headlines. It's amazing how human thinks, or I should said "inhuman"

Hitesh

The period of loan below is 30 years!!!

IS THIS CORRECT?? IF SO THEN IT IS INFACt mORE EXPPENSIVE TO OWN PROPERTY IN MSIA THAN IN SGP....

I was using the Mortgage calculator at http://www.malaysialoan.com.my/financial-calculator/ and it indicated that i will have to pay insurance as well as real estate taxes which as per below is a high amount per month... all these compared to the price in SINGAPORE is not less but MUCH MORE EXPENSIVE.....

IF YOU ARE ALREADY STAYING IN MSIA THEN PLEASE COMMENT.... my loan amount is 650k rm.

Months With PMI 54
Monthly PMI RM 270.83

yonglip

Months With PMI 54
Monthly PMI RM 270.83

For the monthly mortgage of RM3.3K+, seems alright. why so high becos of the higher interest rate. The rest are inciidentals and for the insurance will very much depend on the type of policy.

Thats why buy JB house tho cheap still must make sure do homework first,..."cheap" doesnt mean "free".

cheers.

abugumgum

Proton Saga Cabriolet.jpg

Malaysia Boleh!

Make me smile by looking at this. :smile:
Not sure if owner really did the conversion.

Jogs1

Latest updates on 9 Feb 12 : - Singapore private property prices in core area has dropped 10% in just one quarter ( 3 months ). This is just the beginning. Many analysts are predicting a fall of 10% by end of 2012 but its only beginning of the year.

I predict the prices to drop 30% at least even without Euro Zone crisis. There are supplies of new flats every other month since Khaw Boon Wah took over from the Sleeping Tiger Mah Bow Tan, who has been doing nothing since his tenure as National Sleeping Minister. Mah Bow Tan obviously do not know that Spore housing market has overheated and everyone needs a roof over their heads. He slept and slept and when the voters failed to vote him out of Tampines GRC ( he won by a miserably 50% odd ), his towkay Lizard Long booted him out and throw in Khaw to pick up his shit.

Aiyoh Mah Bow Tan for goodness sake, everywhere ministry he went, he is sure to screw up the ministry. I wonder what merits does he has in his life??

Nevertheless while he is sleeping during his term as Minister, he managed to garner for himself a 1 acre plot of Freehold land for himself in Leisure Farm which has earned him at least RM 1 million. Smart ass.

Hear he got 2 plots lor!

arsenal

That is reasonable interest rate. The fixed D in malaysia is also 3.5 to 3.8%.

Likewise, I think if you want to invest in Singapore, you can wait until the day when interest normalize at 3-4%.. Current interest at 1 % give me a false feeling of wealth. When Singapore interest rise to 3-4% one day, a lot of speculative folks who bought houses today in Singapore might "run road" already. One day when malaysia interest rate also drop to 1% like Singapore, can you imagine what the property price will become?

Months With PMI 54
Monthly PMI RM 270.83

Sanur

Latest updates on 9 Feb 12 : - Singapore private property prices in core area has dropped 10% in just one quarter ( 3 months ). This is just the beginning. Many analysts are predicting a fall of 10% by end of 2012 but its only beginning of the year.

I predict the prices to drop 30% at least even without Euro Zone crisis. There are supplies of new flats every other month since Khaw Boon Wah took over from the Sleeping Tiger Mah Bow Tan, who has been doing nothing since his tenure as National Sleeping Minister. Mah Bow Tan obviously do not know that Spore housing market has overheated and everyone needs a roof over their heads. He slept and slept and when the voters failed to vote him out of Tampines GRC ( he won by a miserably 50% odd ), his towkay Lizard Long booted him out and throw in Khaw to pick up his shit.

Aiyoh Mah Bow Tan for goodness sake, everywhere ministry he went, he is sure to screw up the ministry. I wonder what merits does he has in his life??

Nevertheless while he is sleeping during his term as Minister, he managed to garner for himself a 1 acre plot of Freehold land for himself in Leisure Farm which has earned him at least RM 1 million. Smart ass.

ALot of heavy weight bought lo, heard the relatives of our TT also bought n some .....

Status
Not open for further replies.