• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

A sad varied evening... by Tan Chuan-Jin

RonRon

I just got back home and my heart is very heavy.

Driving back, I heard the news that my old colleague had just passed away. He had gone jogging. RIP TL.

The evening had started off well. Visited my residents at Blk 36. It was a good visit. Had pleasant chats with those who were in except for an aunty who was lying on her sofa watching TV...she shooed me away...Must have been a very good program :smile:

Had some interesting conversations with my residents at the coffee shop downstairs. One phoned his boss to tell him that I was having coffee with him. I ended up speaking to his boss, who lived in Chai Chee as well, as he did not believe his staff. It was one of those very encouraging conversations that you sometimes get that reminds you to just keep going. Thank you for bothering to share those kind words.

There were 2 instances where I was very moved by the dignity and stoicism I saw. One resident and his brother (who wasn't in) were jobless. They owed money and you could see that he was struggling. He could not bring himself to ask for help and you could sense that he wanted to try and make it on his own. Another elderly gentleman and his wife had some, but insufficient support from his children. I asked if they had enough to eat. He smiled and waved his hands...its ok, no problem. But you know they did not have enough. We will provide some free meals and arrange for jobs if needed. My grassroot leaders said that they will follow up.

As we were about to go off, we received a call that there was a homeless mother and her two children at Blk 26. Some of us went over. It was a troubling scene.

The lady was sleeping on a mat with her two teenage daughters. They had some push trolleys filled with their barang barang. I woke them up and spoke to them. The mother insisted she did not need help. She just got divorced and left home. They had walked from Yishun (!!?!) and were tired. She wanted to find her cousin who lived somewhere in Tampines.

She was 46. Her older daughter was 16 and was taken out of school about a year or so ago. Her younger daughter was 14 and was taken out of school since Primary 2. This young girl was a mother and had given birth when she was 13. It was very disheartening as the story unfolded.

I thought we should try and get the social services involved. I was not sure if the mother could look after her children even though you could see that she was protective. Her daughter was an under-aged mother.

We called the police from Bedok South NPC. We had much difficulty persuading the family to stay. We had no right to detain them and they quickly got up and started walking off. It would have been a funny scene if it was not so tragic. We walked with them along the main road for a few hundred metres as they tried to shake us off. The Police got there and took over, and drove them to Tampines (Tks for going the extra miles literally!) And they did find their cousin who took them in.

I hope we can get the social services to follow through as I am worried for the vulnerable kids.

We need to get training on the ground so that our grassroots can learn more about watching out for danger signs and to prevent incidents from reaching this stage if possible. It is a structural problem and I fear that for some of these children, their future is already written off before they even start. We must do what we can to change this and provide them a fighting chance.

RonRon

Someone who really wants to help will take out money from his wallet and give to them first
how do u know they don't? they may have donated anonymously and its not possible for them to announce for the opposition camp will use it as an excuse to say they are giving out own pocket money for a show.

now police can send civilians home? i remember as a kid, i wait in vain for the last bus and was walking home along the main road and was stop by a mata patrol car. told them my problem and i ask whether they can give me a lift home. the mata said cannot and drove off and abandoned me by my loneseome at 1.00am+ along upper changi road and i only want to go chai chee. from then on, mata can go to die for all i care.

You not char bor with tua niap nei, if not, your home at Tuas end, they will gladly drive you there!:biggrin:

Unrepented

This didn't happen over night you know :confused:

The lady was sleeping on a mat with her two teenage daughters. They had some push trolleys filled with their barang barang. I woke them up and spoke to them. The mother insisted she did not need help. She just got divorced and left home. They had walked from Yishun (!!?!) and were tired. She wanted to find her cousin who lived somewhere in Tampines.

She was 46. Her older daughter was 16 and was taken out of school about a year or so ago. Her younger daughter was 14 and was taken out of school since Primary 2. This young girl was a mother and had given birth when she was 13. It was very disheartening as the story unfolded.

I thought we should try and get the social services involved. I was not sure if the mother could look after her children even though you could see that she was protective. Her daughter was an under-aged mother.

We called the police from Bedok South NPC. We had much difficulty persuading the family to stay. We had no right to detain them and they quickly got up and started walking off. It would have been a funny scene if it was not so tragic. We walked with them along the main road for a few hundred metres as they tried to shake us off. The Police got there and took over, and drove them to Tampines (Tks for going the extra miles literally!) And they did find their cousin who took them in.

I hope we can get the social services to follow through as I am worried for the vulnerable kids.

We need to get training on the ground so that our grassroots can learn more about watching out for danger signs and to prevent incidents from reaching this stage if possible. It is a structural problem and I fear that for some of these children, their future is already written off before they even start. We must do what we can to change this and provide them a fighting chance.

You not char bor with tua niap nei, if not, your home at Tuas end, they will gladly drive you there!:biggrin:

those mtf, i only 11yo then. that time also no hp, pocket no money, all i have with me was just the bus concession card. walk from eunos to chai chee, reach home kanna whack by parents.

Someone who really wants to help will take out money from his wallet and give to them first

And leave behind contact number of namecard in case further help needed. If SM was the one, he will take out 1k and ask his driver to follow-up. And SM won't even want others to know of help given.

Now is the chance for him to do something and he all he does is write. Sad.

Sir_Fcuk

Lunch Corporal
Now is the chance for him to do something and he all he does is write. Sad.

And it was a poor piece of writing. Varied indeed, jumping from point to point all over. He should hire an english teacher.

sexy_single_english_teacher_tshirt-p235706621898679485qrja_400.jpg

The evening had started off well. Visited my residents at Blk 36. It was a good visit. Had pleasant chats with those who were in except for an aunty who was lying on her sofa watching TV... she shooed me away ...Must have been a very good program :smile:

KNN, people watching TV also must disturb... If its a PAP Por Lumpar, he would have immediately switched off his TV upon seeing a PAP Minister on his front door and rushed forward to welcome his VIP guest... Kudos to the Old Lady for sticking to her Guns or should I say her TV Remote Control..:biggrin:

Maybe Aunty was checking 4D/Toto results on Teletext.

Aunty very tulan MIW came at wrong time. KNN miss one number or number jump and shooed MIW away saying "ZONG GUAI MEH!"

Maybe Aunty was checking 4D/Toto results on Teletext.

Aunty very tulan MIW came at wrong time. KNN miss one number or number jump and shooed MIW away saying "ZONG GUAI MEH!"

He..He..He.. A chap at a pub once told me that one of his friends was only in his boxers when a PAP MP visited his block few weeks before the 2006 election... The MP and his Grassloot entourage were not duly impressed when they saw him smoking at the corridor wearing only his red coloured Man Utd boxers..:eek: :biggrin:

Talking about MP and RC visits. The RC running dogs already decided which units the MP is going to visit. Usually, the resident profile is English speaking residents, nice decor units and singles unit. Those units they skip are 'temple' units, mah jong house units and those with additional paint unit (Ah Longs) and those who hang their laundry outside.

Think most cases, not the MP fault. The RC running dog already planned everything. MP only get to see good things and not bad/ugly things. And my elderly folk was advised by running dogs to 'standby' for MP visit 5 mins in advance and lower the TV/Radio volume 'politely'.

Talking about MP and RC visits. The RC running dogs already decided which units the MP is going to visit. Usually, the resident profile is English speaking residents, nice decor units and singles unit. Those units they skip are 'temple' units, mah jong house units and those with additional paint unit (Ah Longs) and those who hang their laundry outside.

Think most cases, not the MP fault. The RC running dog already planned everything. MP only get to see good things and not bad/ugly things. And my elderly folk was advised by running dogs to 'standby' for MP visit 5 mins in advance and lower the TV/Radio volume 'politely'.

No difference from ministers visiting army camps and schools.

Yes, uncle. Still remember. Don't even need MP or PS, 1 Star and 3 crabs can cause a lot of 'extras' and area cleaning during these boliao wayang visits. During these sessions, even the conversation was rehearsed.

Remember when I was part of the marching contigent in one of the NDP, the parade sergeant major told us to memorize "Yes, Mr President, Sir. I am proud to serve the nation! Sir!" in case who 'suay suay' kena stop by the president to say something. At that time, OTC was the president. OTC did not 'stop' at my contigent that year. Think the commando and the police contigent got it.

That time, my contigent many hokkien peng so no choice, everyone memorize.

Yes, uncle. Still remember. Don't even need MP or PS, 1 Star and 3 crabs can cause a lot of 'extras' and area cleaning during these boliao wayang visits.

My time, no need 3 crabs. 1 crab all in camp buay chai. Knna toilet tiles must shine! Wtf! When you look back, you realise these regulars in SAF no brains or brains in backside. No one used brain. Monkey see monkey do type.

No need MP, crab, no need even a govt official. I heard about a case where the whole RC committee standing up when the RC chairman walks in. Apparently this guy an old timer working as a clerk in a clan association had over time picked his own people for this RC and that is the style he expected. Even heard the mats and mama standing up. I was blown away.

There was also a case of PUB Gas fitter throwing his weight around and wearing long sleeve until someone found out that he is a fitter. Sikh chap. Remind me of people who wear tie and suit to attend city harvest.