• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Crumbling of Singapore?

Nice-Gook

In this post, you said the various Chinese dialect groups were always on the verge of open warfare. Now you're telling me that everyone was lovey dovey. Please make up your mind.

Sam,if you stop wearing the tinted & tainted spectacles what I had said would make perfect sense.

Because it was the British who brought law and order among feuding Chinese clans that led to the Singapore that is today.Not PAP.I am sure you cannot be blind to the fact that there is a 100 yrs between the documentary I posted and the murderous massacre between Hokkiens and Teochews.

The nightsoil carrier was phased out with the invention of the modern toilet and with the construction of the first SIT flat. Further re-settlement of the people to HDB flats quickened this process.

When I was a kid, all the colonial rulers already had flush toilets and that included the homes of their army privates.

The peasants had to shit into buckets.

The flush toilet was invented way before first SIT flat.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Flush_toilet

Nice-Gook

When I was a kid, all the colonial rulers already had flush toilets and that included the homes of their army privates.

Pleez lah,Sam.Don't try to bullshit you way though.The SIT flats were far few in numbers.Bulk of the population lived in kampongs,shop houses and a small percentage in bungalows....all of which had the bucket system.They were called night soil.Almost all who worked as carriers were Chinese.

Fook Seng

Leongsam said:

Of course the elites will have their fill first, same as now. But flush toilets were there when modern housings such as SIT flats were constructed, even in British time. Just look at Tiong Bahru and the older parts of Alexandra Road, unfortunately disappearing fast.

TracyTan866

Very true. The elites and businesses are very happy with the PAP-styled government. From my conversations with the elites I know these last few days, they are worried about the erosion of popular support from the masses. Their contention is that the internet community is circulating half-truths and influencing the voters to the detriment of Singapore.

The government need to address the many problems and issues that are bedeviling the man-on-the-street before it balloons. Not enough is being done IMO and the confidence that the government can do something to prevent their current situation from worsening is decreasing bit by bit. Never had Singaporeans seen floods in Orchard Rd in the past not the breakdown of the MRT. The high COE's were thought to be a thing of the past ut it is coming back. So many issues at the forefront that the government has not managed to resolve including their pay and pension. More so with with the problem the PAP has in having a good team and leadership which is sorely lacking. MP SHT and TPL is not making them look good and they should be remove quickly and replace, but where are all the good men?

PAP govt is pro-business, pro-rich, pro-foreigners. they have no love and dont care for the average Singaporean

borom

..........businesses are very happy with the PAP-styled government.........The government need to address the many problems and issues that are bedeviling the man-on-the-street before it balloons. Not enough is being done IMO .........

Most of the problems we see today has its roots in the govt's FT's policy.The huge influx of foreigners(many with fake/dubious qualifications)sent housing prices through the roof, caused unbearable congestion/delays/breakdown in transportion,resulted in supression of local wages and lack of places in schools/universities for locals.

Until and unless the PAP is forced to reverse its pro FT policies, things will not improve. The number of immigrants into Singapore must not only be slowed, it must be reduced-meaning the non renewal of a substantial number of PR's who cannot make the grade-people we heard who are cleaners, factory workers ect2.The recent increase in stamp duty is like giving panadol for an infection-it only reduce the symptoms but will not remove the cause of the illness, which is the virus/bacteria or in this case the FT's.

The main beneficiaries of the FT's influx are the businesses and the ruling party-in terms of low manpower cost and potential votes for PAP. Each and everyone of us must do our part in reducing the number of low quality immigrants into this place.Do not patronise shops/businessses dominated by them,do not mix with them and make them feel unwelcome here.I have make it a point to avoid Pinoys, Indian FT's and PRC's whenever possible .I have not stepped into Pinoy infested places like Lucky Paza for many years and consider the recent flood in Orchard Road as retribution for these shops that employ mostly Pinoys.
The recent breadown in MRT does not bother me a bit as at least half of those trapped inside are Pinoys, Indian FT's and Mainland Chinese .60%of the locals in the trains voted for the PAP anyway-so they deserve it esp so when the the CEO is also one of the beloved foreigner of the ruling party.How many locals you know can get a job in Orchard Road nowadays.Chances are the Managers are Malaysians,IT staff are from India , clerks/sales staff are Pinoys, engineers are from Myanmar and cleaning lady from PRC.Locals?-they get stuffed.

TracyTan866

Most of the problems we see today has its roots in the govt's FT's policy.The huge influx of foreigners(many with fake/dubious qualifications)sent housing prices through the roof, unbearable congestion/delays/breakdown in transportion,supression of local wages and lack of places in schools/universities.

That's true.

The worst is yet to come. The social problems will take many years to show up.

It is totally beyond common sense why the pap didnt foresee the impending problems of the liberal cheap foreign labour policy. It's treason!!!

TracyTan866

Until and unless the PAP is forced to reverse its pro FT policies, things will not improve. The number of immigrants into Singapore must not only be slowed, it must be reduced-meaning the non renewal of a substantial number of PR's who cannot make the grade-people we heard who are cleaners, factory workers ect2.The recent increase in stamp duty is like giving panadol for an infection-it only reduce the symptoms but will not remove the cause of the illness, which is the virus/bacteria or in this case the FT's.

The main beneficiaries of the FT's influx are the businesses and the ruling party-in terms of low manpower cost and potential votes for PAP. Each and everyone of us must do our part in reducing the number of low quality immigrants into this place.Do not patronise shops/businessses dominated by them,do not mix with them and make them feel unwelcome here.I have make it a point to avoid Pinoys, Indian FT's and PRC's whenever possible .I have not stepped into Pinoy infested places like Lucky Paza for many years and consider the recent flood in Orchard Road as retribution for these shops that employ mostly Pinoys.
The recent breadown in MRT does not bother me a bit as at least half of those trapped inside are Pinoys, Indian FT's and Mainland Chinese.How many locals you know can get a job in Orchard Road nowadays.

Agree. So how to compel the pap to wake up and do the right thing for Singaporeans?

brocoli

Everyone who supports the govt is branded as a lackey or a dog and their views branded as nonsense while articles that take the govt to task but are actually nothing more than rantings of an anti govt looney are put on a pedestal as a shining beacon of truth and enlightenment.

In my opinion, the anti govt brigade sprout even more nonsense than the pro govt team.

Just TT .... dun tarred the rest of us with the same straw

Windsor

PAP govt is pro-business, pro-rich, pro-foreigners. they have no love and dont care for the average Singaporean

I always wonder why some incentives for being a citizen are not worth considering. For example, Sentosa. This island belongs to Singapore and Singaporeans. We are not allowed to live or visit the island unless we pay a fee. For taking this island away from us and generating revenue for the government, why don't the government give Singaporeans a small discount? Does it not make sense that Singaporeans within a year might just pay only one visit or maybe even never? I see many advantages in allowing Singaporeans a lower price to visit Sentosa as that encourages them to go there more often. Similarly, the other attractions that abounds whether private or public, to make Singaporeans feel that this is their country and they have certain privileges. In some countries I know this is a normal practice where foreigners has to pay more.

What can be more priceless to the government than the goodwill of the voters? I think they sometimes miss the forest for the trees.

TracyTan866

I always wonder why some incentives for being a citizen are not worth considering. For example, Sentosa. This island belongs to Singapore and Singaporeans. We are not allowed to live or visit the island unless we pay a fee. For taking this island away from us and generating revenue for the government, why don't the government give Singaporeans a small discount? Does it not make sense that Singaporeans within a year might just pay only one visit or maybe even never? I see many advantages in allowing Singaporeans a lower price to visit Sentosa as that encourages them to go there more often. Similarly, the other attractions that abounds whether private or public, to make Singaporeans feel that this is their country and they have certain privileges. In some countries I know this is a normal practice where foreigners has to pay more.

What can be more priceless to the government than the goodwill of the voters? I think they sometimes miss the forest for the trees.

Excellent suggestion. It makes me wonder too what's in the pap's minds. They lack IQ, EQ, compassion and care. They need to know that Singaporeans' goodwill, loyalty and trust are important. The pap must not be arrogant and dismiss the importance of Singaporeans.

Singapore and Singaporeans are the reason why the pap exists. They dont exist for foreigners, money, profits and GDP growth.

freedalas

Very simple, bro. PAP is absolutely driven by greed now and nothing else. All attractions are run by government-linked companies. Their mission is to be absolutely revenue-oriented, to make as much as profits they can, they don't take on any social roles at all, yes, maybe the occasional charity events and so on, but that's all for show. What most people know is that these GLCs are out to show to shareholders as much as profits as possible. But what alot of people don't know is that LKY holds them accountable for their contributions to the reserves. To the Old Fart, every cent from the GLCs counts. So how on earth will they ever give a small discount to S'poreans. They will get a real hard screwing from the Old Fart if he finds out that they do such a thing. S'poreans are never in their minds, only profits and more profits. Even absolutely essential public goods such as transport and electricity are managed by GLCs who are all out to make super-profits, so what's more those who manage leisure services.

brocoli

You probably revealed the secret formula of this forum.

One day by accident I found out that Gillian Koh who is noted for her political analytical nonsense was trying to remove a goggle entry that links her to SBF. I wrongly assumed that she was a forummer here and but could not guess who it was. It turned out that the particular google link appears on the first page of Google search and we all have staring role in it. That particular entry has been circulating around academia since the GE.

This is just a trivial example. If that SBF link had nonsense, it would not have seen light of day. People in academia are in agreement with the content thus the circulation.

Never ever judge a book by its cover, pornographic or otherwise.

share the link leh ????? you always no link got talk 1

TracyTan866

Very simple, bro. PAP is absolutely driven by greed now and nothing else. All attractions are run by government-linked companies. Their mission is to be absolutely revenue-oriented, to make as much as profits they can, they don't take on any social roles at all, yes, maybe the occasional charity events and so on, but that's all for show. What most people know is that these GLCs are out to show to shareholders as much as profits as possible. But what alot of people don't know is that LKY holds them accountable for their contributions to the reserves. To the Old Fart, every cent from the GLCs counts. So how on earth will they ever give a small discount to S'poreans. They will get a real hard screwing from the Old Fart if he finds out that they do such a thing. S'poreans are never in their minds, only profits and more profits. Even absolutely essential public goods such as transport and electricity are managed by GLCs who are all out to make super-profits, so what's more those who manage leisure services.

Yes, three words describe the pap:

1. Greed
2. Greed
3. more Greed

Very simple, bro. PAP is absolutely driven by greed now and nothing else.

The govt is not driven by greed. It is driven by their dedication to the cause of preserving Singapore's wealth over the long term for the sake of ordinary Singaporeans.

Should war break out, reserves can be depleted extremely rapidly. That's the reason why it's so important to make hay while the sun shines.

It often breaks my heart of see how hard ministers have to work for the sake of the rest of us. However, at the end of the day, it's great that they can enjoy the satisfaction of knowing that they have done their best to make Singapore a better place for Singaporeans from all walks of life.

neddy

Perhaps it also had something to do with creating employment for night soil workers who were not used to the foul British poor diet droppings in a damp tropics? :biggrin:

The Germans claim to build the first automatic flush toilet, used in this expensive castle.
A21AD075C11562C477CF557ED3115E.jpg

Perhaps that was how it was spread to US via Disneyland? Makes everyone happy.
amstd_logo.gif

Wish you a Happy New Year, Sam. And thanks for maintaining SBF. :wink:

rusty

The govt is not driven by greed. It is driven by their dedication to the cause of preserving Singapore's wealth over the long term for the sake of ordinary Singaporeans.

Should war break out, reserves can be depleted extremely rapidly. That's the reason why it's so important to make hay while the sun shines.

If Singapore got nuked, those reserves got use meh?