• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Status
Not open for further replies.

aangsc

Haha think very hard already but still want less FT becos they messed up this place in the last few years. Rather have less rental than to be bullied by FT in our own country :biggrin:

For the sake of future generation, I think FT population must be regulated else there is not much future for younger SG generation . Just looking at rental yield is too short term a view. Can't help feeling like we are the old soldier in the movie 'universal solider'.

aangsc

Hi all

Allow me to share my brief story. Have been going in and out of JB for makan/shopping/holiday for as long as I can remember. When got hitched in 2002 already planned to get a property in JB (can u imagine how cheeep that can be at that time?). Alas my missus was not for it for all the negative reasons that all bros/sis have mentioned in this forum.

We r both professionals. Have cleared my 5 rm HDB loan within that time and with 3 lovely kids fr P3 to Pre-sch. Took almost 10 yrs to convince the other better half.. during which from no restrictions by msian govt to min 500k rule imposed. Well it is better late than never right :smile:.

I do not regret for it is no use if I were to buy earlier and my missus neva wanna stay or step inside the hse. But now she is the one who kept planning what to buy or put in the new hse in 1+ yrs time. Plan to clear the loan in 10-12yrs..

Although we are not immediate neighbours, it is still good to know of fellow sporeans from different developments.

Btw i am taking the plunge at NI.

Wish me luck =)

I don't think there was a Nusajaya in 2002, so I feel your wife is right to delay, it is like buying share not knowing whether it is going up or down as compare to buying knowing it is in the upswing.

cathylmg

Poor Cathy, glad you made it now. This reminds me of the time I need to cover someone on maternity leave for three months, got to work till 10 pm on most nights and guess what when the person come back, she resigned immediately and I've to cover another 3 months while they take their own sweet time to hire! Yeah no extra pay, no extra bonus, just a pat on the back...so silly of me hor?!

Same here lor. Ren shan bei ren qi, ma shan bei ren qi mah. Better think for yourself first. Company only pay you enough to make you stay, the rest goes to the bosses pocket.

Analytical Professor

All the best.

Good choice

Hi all

Allow me to share my brief story. Have been going in and out of JB for makan/shopping/holiday for as long as I can remember. When got hitched in 2002 already planned to get a property in JB (can u imagine how cheeep that can be at that time?). Alas my missus was not for it for all the negative reasons that all bros/sis have mentioned in this forum.

We r both professionals. Have cleared my 5 rm HDB loan within that time and with 3 lovely kids fr P3 to Pre-sch. Took almost 10 yrs to convince the other better half.. during which from no restrictions by msian govt to min 500k rule imposed. Well it is better late than never right :smile:.

I do not regret for it is no use if I were to buy earlier and my missus neva wanna stay or step inside the hse. But now she is the one who kept planning what to buy or put in the new hse in 1+ yrs time. Plan to clear the loan in 10-12yrs..

Although we are not immediate neighbours, it is still good to know of fellow sporeans from different developments.

Wish me luck =)

For the sake of future generation, I think FT population must be regulated else there is not much future for younger SG generation . Just looking at rental yield is too short term a view. Can't help feeling like we are the old soldier in the movie 'universal solider'.

Yeah PAP better do something to solve this messy FT problem that they created, if not life is going to be very tough for younger generation and ourselves in future (already pretty tough now)...

cathylmg

Hi all

Wish me luck =)

Wow! Got hitched in 2002 and now 5room flat finished paying already? You guys must have been really frugal. Yep, try to pay up as soon as possible although there is 30yr allowed to fully pay up. Wise move.

Welcome to the club bro. We wish to hear of your life in JB. Your highs, your lows, your experiences, be it positive or negative....we wanna hear it all! Three cheers to you!

cathylmg

Yeah PAP better do something to solve this messy FT problem that they created, if not life is going to be very tough for younger generation and ourselves in future (already pretty tough now)...

Have you ever thought of setting up shop in JB? I did toy with the idea not long ago. Still thinking.

Grago

I was retrenched 2 times. The 2nd time my accountant purposely told me that my other Malaysian FT colleage has been very accomodating. Up to the point of not getting her salaries for a few month. It was a very small company. Bosses kept on saying company not making money, but then strange, I had the previllage to come into knowledge of my bosses paying himself a of S$5K salaries monthly via HR accounts. That was 10 odd years ago. When my FT malaysian colleage was on maternity leave, I was pregnant and vomiting frequently, but still have to cover her job. 2 full sets of account at only $100 extra pay. You may think that that's really bad. Not at all. Worst still, the minute I finished my confinement, Monday I had to start work, on Friday I took out all my office clothes to iron. My accountant call to say that my position was redandant and so they terminated me.

There was no mercy. The very desk that I was working in, they built a room on it, all my things was put into an A4 size paper box. Casted out on the empty table outside the room. When I went back to collect my last pay cheque, they made me sign a paper document of not intending to pursue any liability. My pay was final, I collected my box, went home and went into post natal blues. It took me about a year to finally come out of it.

So you see? I keep repeating that its the same everywhere. Nobody bothers. You are on your own. Don't expect anyone to help you. No matter what the hell you have been through, how much sacrifices you have made for the company, its your business, life still goes on. The sooner you come to your senses the better. Do yourself a favour, plan for your own retirement. Take care of yourself. Don't wait for others to take care of you. There is no such thing.

Good on You Cathy. I am very glad that you've mamage to pick yourself up and even doing better now. A blessing in disguise. You are right about having to look after youself and nt have to rely on others. You've become a better and stronger person for it.:smile:

Grago

Grago ur rite.

I just got 243.5 as well.

Great Bro. May I ask did you go to the Taman Perling or Bukit Indah branch and did you manage to speak to Ms. Loh. I ask because I spoke to a Ms Tan. Not a friendly or helpful sort. More like "that's the rate, take or leave it....." So good thing I dealt with Ms. Loh....:biggrin:

Grago

Can you believe that people wanna rob bricks?

How disgusting!

Hello Bro.... are your bricks "gold" or made of gold!!!!. I've heard of the "gold brick road" but this is abit of a stretch.... The "thiefs" must had had one too many.... hic, hic....:p and may have mistook the bricks for something else:biggrin:

Seriously though, might want to try binding the bricks together with some cement, those quick mix and dry type and DIY stores. T don't know if they carry them here, but in the U.S. the DIY mega stores had them.... might be worth asking about them at DIY stores here....

Grago

Aiyoh Cathy! What babi & ungrateful people you worked for!
Very glad all has worked out for you and that you are enjoying life here now.
Yes, we are on our own. I have always found that doing anyone a favour is risky if you hope even for gratitude. As one friend put it. "Expect terima kasut rather than terima kasih!"
Yet ... I have been blessed with amazing kindness and generosity from total strangers who had nothing to gain.
Who can fathom what this Life is all about?
Hello Mallow, I follow the philosophy of doing a favour or good turn without expecting either gratitude or thanks. Then if either is shown it comes as a bonus. It's very disappointing when the good turn/deed is done and it's not acknowledge. Worst when it's thrown back at you and your told your help was never asked for in the first instances. So yes, it's pleasantly nice that total strangers extended teir kindness and generosity willing and don't expect anything in return:smile:

avalon74

That kind of price for me, I can grap as many as I can afford so as to leave a piece of freehold property for my children. One for each of them. Even if they eventually cannot afford a property in Singapore in the near future, they can still have a roof over their head, for many many generations to come. Its the love for my children that makes me want to shelther them from stormy weathers ahead.
----------------
I only have 1 kid so one Sg property & one JB property shd be enuff as my legacy for the next generation..

wuqi256

Moderator - JB Section
I am not so sure about price resilience of Johor property. The old JB side already not going up anymore , in fact some already lose $ there. If Johor make it to be a big city then all is fine. If not, I have doubt about the yield potential but one unit for staying certainly no big issue. Of course, if they get some help from Temasek or SG GLC, it will be a lot more rosy. I cannot erase the doubt due to bad experience with CLOB.

Actually i wasn't as well but saw that even Perling houses were going up as well as some of the older estates. New one pricing there like Casa Almyra was an eye opener. I still maintain its a good place to buy, investment wise, lets wait for the announcements soon. :smile:

Someone said this to me the other day:
The 60.1% who have been dissing JB are only now starting to realise their masters true plans. They have actually been barking up the wrong tree..

wuqi256

Moderator - JB Section
Cathylmg, i hear you. Those companies suck big time. I had my share of working for lousy bosses too, never lousy companies though. People do tend to leave because of certain individuals, they are not really running from the company(normally).

Actually you can set up company here, my wife has one here too. I basically told her i will give her X amount, all the manpower she needs and the rest is up to her.

Status
Not open for further replies.