• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Status
Not open for further replies.

hangyong

Hey, same plan.
If you have plan to rent out HH now, pm me I pass you the contact.
I had an enquiry on my unit but mine is already reserved.

wah.. we going to be neighers for a long long time!!! :-)
So where you plan to move to in Cameron??

my unit still under construction wor... have to wait 2 years... but I will let you know if I still need to rent it out..

aangsc

wah.. we going to be neighers for a long long time!!! :-)
So where you plan to move to in Cameron??

my unit still under construction wor... have to wait 2 years... but I will let you know if I still need to rent it out..

I won't buy cameron highlands lah, I think will have problem selling later. Just use rental $ to stay up there better. Hopefully air still fresh for next few decades. Way too early to retire...only plan quite alike but not timeframe.

cathylmg

Hi Pleb,
A no of the forummers here are weekenders like myself..
We use CPF for the payments of Sg property (likely hdb) while the JB property may serve as a weekend resort or asylum..

Most would agree that expense in JB would be more affordable hence any retirement money would last easily 1.5 times longer in JB compared to Sg esp with escalating cpi in recent times.

Other perks include having freehold property at a 3rm leasehold HDB price..
Believe many other would contribute more on reasons why we head north...

Welcome..

That kind of price for me, I can grap as many as I can afford so as to leave a piece of freehold property for my children. One for each of them. Even if they eventually cannot afford a property in Singapore in the near future, they can still have a roof over their head, for many many generations to come. Its the love for my children that makes me want to shelther them from stormy weathers ahead.

The way I see it, Singapore is overly developed, no more land. LKY has already said so long long ago. Nobody gave it a thought then. Thats why they go into casinos, tourism and service industries. Thats just the way it is inordered to sustain an overly developed economy. Contrary to popular belief, no government can take over and make the economy goes up up and away infinitely. Not even when opposition party takes over governing the country. Then only way to expand is anyones guess, northwards. Again, thats just my own opinion, you are entitled to yours.

As for IM, that price is low for now. Same as its economy. IMHO, it has got to a point where situation has bottom out. Going by Buddhas law of impermanace. There has got to be a turn around and I reckon that it is just around the corner. You can choose to come on board or stay away. Your decision, you bare the consequences.

Last be not least, the exchange rate is giving us an unfair advantage. A lot of us here knows that. Even the Johoreans knows it clearly. Thats the reasons behind those tens of thousands of motorist crossing the boarder in the mornings. The lure to Singapore Dollar is too difficult to resist. And for what? Of course to have that very same edge that we have. To stretch the dollars that earn with the same effort put in. So why are we so stupid not to follow them?

cathylmg

Hypothetical questions are not welcome! Haha, no lah just joking...okay, the answer for me is no..I admit I'm pushed there simply by the escalating private property prices in Singapore and HDB policy changes last year. I'm not moving there for landed, big space or greenery, just a lower cost alternative for retirement.

Basically the FT influx created by PAP really worried me and I fear the need to work in menial jobs in my twilight years! This worry is bigger than the worry over crime in JB for me and that's why I took the plunge!

ginfreely, you won't face this problem if you move to JB. Infact, the FTs even gives you an added advantage. Think of it, the very same reasons that people draded, those FTs, will result in higher rental which only puts more coins in your pockets. Not good meh? Think deeper. LOL!

austin_hts

Here is my short story ...

Long long time ago (actually no so long lah)...when I was in Univ, my frens and I visited JB for shopping and food .. we were robbed at Holiday Plaza in broad daylight...lost a few hundred dollars. No weapons, we ignored them but were threatened.."Do you believe that I will not let you return to Spore?", one of the robbers said. So we gave in and parted with our cash.. .. .. Since then, for 10 yrs or so, I stopped visiting JB.

I became excited when the Malaysia government initiated development plans for JB (http://www.iskandarmalaysia.com.my/). Wouldn't it be nice if we have a bigger region to visit/explore by land transport, do day/weekend trips? In 2008/09, a fren told us about Austin Heights. We procrastinated and missed out on the first few launches. But in Sep 09, made my first trip to JB since Uni days. Saw the surroundings in Austin Heights - eateries, schools, golf resort, safe environment - and loved the development. Believe it or not, we placed our deposit for a linked bungalow on that very day (got to trouble our fren to issue a malaysia cheque for us). Made a few more trips to check on progress (unfortunately, never to Nusajaya area). Collected our keys in Dec 10 and moved in early this year. Since then, we have been travelling to JB every weekend, exploring new places. So far so good, no incidents (touch wood), except for that durian sellers who conned us...... we look forward to weekends and do miss our JB 'home'.... ...

I like the developments in Nusajaya (HH, EL, LF..etc), but never regretted our purchase in Austin.

Oh, I only found out the existence of this forum this year ... and thanks all for your contributions/sharing, especially Wuqi for starting this thread ...

** I am excited about developments in JB ! **

Each and everyone of us here has a story to tell. Depends on whether we ask. So I would like to ask for an introduction from all newbies that comes here. We would like to hear your story. :smile:

mallow

Hi Pleb, I have not move in to Johor yet but it's a confirmed decision to do so as i have been looking for a place for a few mths nw. & I just sold my HDB a few days back so it's a matter of time before I move in to Johor. I would like to share with u my decision to do so. It is not a matter of $$$ since I m single, no family commitment & quite comfortable with my own lifestyle. Not for retirement too, I m only 35 tis year.....long way from it. For investment? Nah. IMHO, I believe Singapore properties still yield beta returns. So nw if u add it all up, why would a young single middle class Singaporean move in to Johor?......For Quality of Life.....I have stayed & worked in Seoul for six mths, had a house in Bkk, working in Singapore & travel bac every mth for 5-7days stay for 3 years. & I come to realized that Singapore is really one of the most undesirable place to live in these past few years. Working is still quite ok here. I stay in a HDB where there are alot of ppl arnd but when compared to a similar place I have in Bkk, the warmth, friendliness & the simplicity of the neighborhood, u can call it the "kampung" feel, Singapore pales in comparison. Compared with a big metropolitan lifestyle in Seoul, Singapore is like no where near it. Tho there are traffics jams, crowded public transports, dirty places in Bkk, high cost of living in Seoul etc but in general, the ppl are happier there & I can feel it cos I m human. With this said, I too can feel that the ppl in Singapore are mostly unhappy or have alot of problems with human relationships. Examples like estranged relationships, affairs & divorces are so common in Singapore. Look at the statistics of the things I mentioned & u will be surprise at where we rank. The constant rat race, the measure of one's worth by the car we drive, the house we stay, the clothes wear etc is stressful. And when all these are achieved, the new cycle starts again. The measure of one's wealth by Hw many cars we have, Hw many properties we have, on & on. Singapore has become a very superficial society. I am not impress by this type of life. Cos life is not just abt these to me at least. I m still young & single. Do I want to live the rest of my life measuring up to a society's expectations? Hell no. Do I want my children to grow up to be obsess with material gains, forgetting how to be happy with just what we are, where we are, who we are & who we are with? Hell no.....i m not saying Singapore is a bad place to live in for all of us. It is a country with many merits. But sadly, after living in it for 35 years, I felt that the country for the past few years went thru much drastic changes......I can go on & on abt the many reasons why I made this decision to move to Johor. Affordability is the least of it cos when I made the decision to sell my HDB, I was planning to buy a condo in Singapore. But eversince I went in to Nusajaya, I have not look bac since. Thanks to those who took time to view my humble posting.

Hi Soon2BFree
Happy to read your post with such clearly articulated thoughts. I get so much flak for having moved over [not that I really care, but it can be boringly repetitive from genuine friends, so cannot politely tell them to diam mulut yet again].
Was just with some newbies at the Urban Retreat for a first organized informal neighbourly get-together. ALL were quietly so happy to be living in Johor. Many insights, some useful sharing of information: Singaporeans, Malaysians and other expats. And we ranged in age from 30s - 60s, with a couple of babies in tow.
Writing to ask if I may quote your post in my weblog [www.puterim.com], slightly amended - mostly to put in paragraphing for easier reading. Erm ... another reason is that you are not at the usual retirement age of 60+, so it is refreshing and positive reading.
With thanks

austin_hts

Shld be recognised by Spore (sooner or later). Understand that Newcastle University is offering other degree courses in Spore too (tie up with polytechnics -
http://www.ncl.ac.uk/international/country/asia/singapore/ )

RM90k per year is rather okay price, last time my colleague who sent her daughter to UK to study prepared budget of half a million SGD to study all the way from A level to complete medicine there, some more sold off her merc and downgrade to taking bus all for this study. Now with this university so near, such devoted parents got a much less costly option to consider. New castle is UK university, so should be the same degree as study in UK right?!

austin_hts

Yes. And I am looking forward to the 'announcement' in Jun 11... possibly Temasek's investment or MRT/Commute link between JB and Spore. I think it shld be something significant.

Thanks for sharing Lastresort.

Hi Austinheights, people will slowly realise the grandplan to be unfolded,we may see a change in media reporting soon enough. :wink:

cathylmg

aiyo cathy... I was so eager to come out of computer line... :-P

Why huh? why you wanna come out? what kind of job you are doing that makes you so miserablely thinking of coming out? Ahem! Sorry for asking. No harm know more.

My son is so interested in fixing gadgets that he wanna open his very own computer repair store at Sim Lim Square. He even save up to by his own toy securities gadgets like line traps and is asking to buy a laser beams....I bet he thought its so be fun! LOL!

austin_hts

One yr RM90K. But this is for medicine programme.

Newcastle university will be offering other course later... presume will be much cheaper ...

rm90k is for how many year huh? May I know? Am also thinking of send my kids to Nusajaya for their University educations. But proberly Computer related. Don't know whether got these kind of courses.

hangyong

I won't buy cameron highlands lah, I think will have problem selling later. Just use rental $ to stay up there better. Hopefully air still fresh for next few decades. Way too early to retire...only plan quite alike but not timeframe.

buy to stay in when retired mah... haha... not thinking of selling...

aangsc

Yes. And I am looking forward to the 'announcement' in Jun 11... possibly Temasek's investment or MRT/Commute link between JB and Spore. I think it shld be something significant.

Wonder if those houses near MRT stations going to sell like hotcake like in SG ?

hangyong

Why huh? why you wanna come out? what kind of job you are doing that makes you so miserablely thinking of coming out? Ahem! Sorry for asking. No harm know more.

My son is so interested in fixing gadgets that he wanna open his very own computer repair store at Sim Lim Square. He even save up to by his own toy securities gadgets like line traps and is asking to buy a laser beams....I bet he thought its so be fun! LOL!

doing something that you are interested in is always fun.
I was an administrator earlier on and is on 24/7 standby.
When single, ok lah.
But once married, 24/7 standby cannot make it.

And with the constant influx of FT in the same trade, companies are looking for cheaper alternatives, outsourcing IT department, etc.
End up, you have to go contract basis...

Tiring job mentally, and you have to fight with the FT on pay and projects, and worry when your contract is ending...

sad lah...

but that is administrator lah. If doing own biz, maybe better? I am not sure.

cathylmg

Here is my short story ...

Long long time ago (actually no so long lah)...when I was in Univ, my frens and I visited JB for shopping and food .. we were robbed at Holiday Plaza in broad daylight...lost a few hundred dollars. No weapons, we ignored them but were threatened.."Do you believe that I will not let you return to Spore?", one of the robbers said. So we gave in and parted with our cash.. .. .. Since then, for 10 yrs or so, I stopped visiting JB.

I became excited when the Malaysia government initiated development plans for JB (http://www.iskandarmalaysia.com.my/). Wouldn't it be nice if we have a bigger region to visit/explore by land transport, do day/weekend trips? In 2008/09, a fren told us about Austin Heights. We procrastinated and missed out on the first few launches. But in Sep 09, made my first trip to JB since Uni days. Saw the surroundings in Austin Heights - eateries, schools, golf resort, safe environment - and loved the development. Believe it or not, we placed our deposit for a linked bungalow on that very day (got to trouble our fren to issue a malaysia cheque for us). Made a few more trips to check on progress (unfortunately, never to Nusajaya area). Collected our keys in Dec 10 and moved in early this year. Since then, we have been travelling to JB every weekend, exploring new places. So far so good, no incidents (touch wood), except for that durian sellers who conned us...... we look forward to weekends and do miss our JB 'home'.... ...

I like the developments in Nusajaya (HH, EL, LF..etc), but never regretted our purchase in Austin.

Oh, I only found out the existence of this forum this year ... and thanks all for your contributions/sharing, especially Wuqi for starting this thread ...

** I am excited about developments in JB ! **

I'm glad to read about your experiences. Yeah, alot of people are still stuck in the 10-20years ago notorious robbery/kidnapping era. Once there, it becomes our mission to bring them our of it. No doubt about it.

aangsc

doing something that you are interested in is always fun.
I was an administrator earlier on and is on 24/7 standby.
When single, ok lah.
But once married, 24/7 standby cannot make it.

And with the constant influx of FT in the same trade, companies are looking for cheaper alternatives, outsourcing IT department, etc.
End up, you have to go contract basis...

Tiring job mentally, and you have to fight with the FT on pay and projects, and worry when your contract is ending...

sad lah...

but that is administrator lah. If doing own biz, maybe better? I am not sure.

Any job that can be outsourced is bad especially in IT line unless you are front end consultant where getting deal is your specialty. I had frenz in aussie uni and was doing well as proj manager until the influx of indian it professional and mind you that is not in SG but downunder but the same apply to SG. You can be better and faster but not alway cheaper because we have many mouths to feed and bills to pay unlike some of these professional who will return once they earn enough to be king back home.

cathylmg

Any job that can be outsourced is bad especially in IT line unless you are front end consultant where getting deal is your specialty. I had frenz in aussie uni and was doing well as proj manager until the influx of indian it professional and mind you that is not in SG but downunder but the same apply to SG. You can be better and faster but not alway cheaper because we have many mouths to feed and bills to pay unlike some of these professional who will return once they earn enough to be king back home.

Thats what I was talking about all the while. Its the same everywhere. That why we must think like them and do like them. Reverse strategy.

aangsc

Thats what I was talking about all the while. Its the same everywhere. That why we must think like them and do like them. Reverse strategy.

It is a bit hard to emulate. When my frenz was 25+ , he can think like them, work like them , paid like them but after a few years when you are paid higher ,then come another new professional and he will accept lower pay , how low can you go ? He can work longer hour but my frenz has family already , how long can you stay ? There is no way we can compete with the new FT influx, you can never be 25+ forever and remains single for the sake of hanging on ?

LeMans2011

Hi Pleb, I have not move in to Johor yet but it's a confirmed decision to do so as i have been looking for a place for a few mths nw. & I just sold my HDB a few days back so it's a matter of time before I move in to Johor. I would like to share with u my decision to do so. It is not a matter of $$$ since I m single, no family commitment & quite comfortable with my own lifestyle. Not for retirement too, I m only 35 tis year.....long way from it. For investment? Nah. IMHO, I believe Singapore properties still yield beta returns. So nw if u add it all up, why would a young single middle class Singaporean move in to Johor?......For Quality of Life.....I have stayed & worked in Seoul for six mths, had a house in Bkk, working in Singapore & travel bac every mth for 5-7days stay for 3 years. & I come to realized that Singapore is really one of the most undesirable place to live in these past few years. Working is still quite ok here. I stay in a HDB where there are alot of ppl arnd but when compared to a similar place I have in Bkk, the warmth, friendliness & the simplicity of the neighborhood, u can call it the "kampung" feel, Singapore pales in comparison. Compared with a big metropolitan lifestyle in Seoul, Singapore is like no where near it. Tho there are traffics jams, crowded public transports, dirty places in Bkk, high cost of living in Seoul etc but in general, the ppl are happier there & I can feel it cos I m human. With this said, I too can feel that the ppl in Singapore are mostly unhappy or have alot of problems with human relationships. Examples like estranged relationships, affairs & divorces are so common in Singapore. Look at the statistics of the things I mentioned & u will be surprise at where we rank. The constant rat race, the measure of one's worth by the car we drive, the house we stay, the clothes wear etc is stressful. And when all these are achieved, the new cycle starts again. The measure of one's wealth by Hw many cars we have, Hw many properties we have, on & on. Singapore has become a very superficial society. I am not impress by this type of life. Cos life is not just abt these to me at least. I m still young & single. Do I want to live the rest of my life measuring up to a society's expectations? Hell no. Do I want my children to grow up to be obsess with material gains, forgetting how to be happy with just what we are, where we are, who we are & who we are with? Hell no.....i m not saying Singapore is a bad place to live in for all of us. It is a country with many merits. But sadly, after living in it for 35 years, I felt that the country for the past few years went thru much drastic changes......I can go on & on abt the many reasons why I made this decision to move to Johor. Affordability is the least of it cos when I made the decision to sell my HDB, I was planning to buy a condo in Singapore. But eversince I went in to Nusajaya, I have not look bac since. Thanks to those who took time to view my humble posting.

Nice read... though i wished you split it up to paragraphs :-D
For me i have been living here for 2 years plus. Like anywhere else there are definitely pros and cons. If you are average in Singapore financially, you live average, but you live rather well over here. High score on happiness index.

cathylmg

I was retrenched 2 times. The 2nd time my accountant purposely told me that my other Malaysian FT colleage has been very accomodating. Up to the point of not getting her salaries for a few month. It was a very small company. Bosses kept on saying company not making money, but then strange, I had the previllage to come into knowledge of my bosses paying himself a of S$5K salaries monthly via HR accounts. That was 10 odd years ago. When my FT malaysian colleage was on maternity leave, I was pregnant and vomiting frequently, but still have to cover her job. 2 full sets of account at only $100 extra pay. You may think that that's really bad. Not at all. Worst still, the minute I finished my confinement, Monday I had to start work, on Friday I took out all my office clothes to iron. My accountant call to say that my position was redandant and so they terminated me.

There was no mercy. The very desk that I was working in, they built a room on it, all my things was put into an A4 size paper box. Casted out on the empty table outside the room. When I went back to collect my last pay cheque, they made me sign a paper document of not intending to pursue any liability. My pay was final, I collected my box, went home and went into post natal blues. It took me about a year to finally come out of it.

So you see? I keep repeating that its the same everywhere. Nobody bothers. You are on your own. Don't expect anyone to help you. No matter what the hell you have been through, how much sacrifices you have made for the company, its your business, life still goes on. The sooner you come to your senses the better. Do yourself a favour, plan for your own retirement. Take care of yourself. Don't wait for others to take care of you. There is no such thing.

euphony

With the current scholar system and that kind of pay, I bet you are just going to attract those who are just in for the money. Not people who passionate enough to teach.

they are remunerated very well plus their 'connect' plan offered to teachers. i know of some who use it to numb their job's lows and flow along with the system hoping to ride out to the end of waters. Others are really dedicated but sometimes the system tend to extinguish this passion. hmm...

Status
Not open for further replies.