• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Status
Not open for further replies.

InformedHH

Does that mean you really cant afford to live in Spore?

No right?

Silly pleb

Hi Pleb,
A no of the forummers here are weekenders like myself..
We use CPF for the payments of Sg property (likely hdb) while the JB property may serve as a weekend resort or asylum..

Most would agree that expense in JB would be more affordable hence any retirement money would last easily 1.5 times longer in JB compared to Sg esp with escalating cpi in recent times.

Other perks include having freehold property at a 3rm leasehold HDB price..
Believe many other would contribute more on reasons why we head north...

Welcome..

InformedHH

I think you did not notice that i mentioned that a solid academic foundation is a must. The art of being a physician comes next.

Similarly no one would want a poor scorer to teach his or her children. Grades first then art.

Well you may wanna disagree. Thats ok.

Would you say that the scholars from China are as bad as the Spore scholars? No right? They could be superior.

There is something wrong with the spore system. Thats why we have people like TPL around.

Having said that i believe education is primary. Sound academic knowledge is primary. No body would wanna be operated by a doctor just cause he is adept at handling sophisticated machinery although terribly lacking in knowledge.

oh well one man's meat another's grades. let's agree to disagree =)
point about teachers is how effective they are not how many distinctions they have scored in school previously. Are they good enough to induce a spirit of learning? to get kids excited about school? to inculcate valuable life lessons etc. I was once offered a place in the local U but rejected when i dropped into the class to sample what's on offer (its quite exciting when I did it actually! although I had friends who sneaked me in). The profs are no doubt brilliant but the magic is totally lost the moment they tried to teach. I was lucky enough to pursue a degree program in a brand name uni in UK. I was kept at the edge of my seat constantly i forgot how many times my jaws dropped in amazement. The profs there really loved to teach!

juxtapose it to the current crop of ruling party elites. Many coming from a scholar program like that of ancient China. Many are terrifically good in their grades but are very detached from the common men at large (there are small exceptions once in a while) writing policies nary a thought to the consequences of implementation. I am sure characters like TPL could have done exceptionally well academically in the past but her grades could only carry her that far...

hangyong

@ InformeHH: nothing aginst you bro... but saw your last few post abit heated up.... relax... relax... enjoy the open space and fresh air in HH and relax... dun let things in forum posts rise your blood pressure... bo hua la... :-)

hangyong

welcome! I'm also new to this forum, but sadly only hangyong replied to my first post yesterday. Maybe I should introduce myself more.

I've been travelling around Iskandar with my parents over the last 3 years since my parents bought their first home in Horizon Hills. It was love at first sight for our family. We would not have enjoyed this life if not for my father who insisted and nagged my mom to go there and take a look. He had nagged her for more than 6 months (actually more than that, probably 2 years) to check out developments like Sutera Utama and other older developments. They would often quarrel because it seemed impossible for her to ever live in a place she's afraid to go.

And eventually she was kinda forced to go there and have a look because she is the kind who is so negative about the area and also the kind you cannot persuade and change her mind.

At last they went there, and it all changed when she first entered the Horizon Hills Golf and Country Club and saw the scenery and green. That very night she could not sleep. It was the first time she is so excited about wanting to buy a new home, what more a home in a place she would never want to go. We have been going around Singapore to look for a new home for years and she has always complained about this and that. But when they were there, everything seems so perfect. They didn't feel like they were in Johor, a place where they have heard many negative stories, about the poor security, about abandoned projects. It felt like some resort estate in a country far from here.

I have to say we were quite lucky my mom got a very good first impression of the place. Had we not gone there, things would be very different now. The first step out to a foreign land seems so important to us, we chose the right path and direction. We eventually discovered more great places (EL, LF, etc) to visit.

And after that night, they did not think much, and drove in again a few times to check out the area and finally got a home there. Since then, we have been travelling there every week, we watched our home built from scratch. Bukit Indah and the surrounding townships have suddenly mushroomed and we witnessed all the rapid changes. There wasn't Jusco, Tesco, or even Giant in Bukit Indah/Bestari, not that I know what Jusco or Tesco were.

Just recently, we bought our second unit in HH. It's a new chapter in our lives and we are watching the unit been built like a new baby growing. I can strongly feel my relationship with my parents have grown so much stronger because we are enjoying all the good times together. :smile:

We have also met many happy families there. Just like many of us here who are full of excitement and energy despite the rare occasions when something bad happens.

This is just so great!

@ Lastresort: people here are generally nice, so no worries, just that we get carried away by certain topics at times and misses some posts. Ask your questions anytime, help answer any queries here and slowly get to know people here...

now that you are always in JB during weekends, are you staying at your parent's place in HH? Is it at The Gateway?

once again, welcome

aangsc

@ InformeHH: nothing aginst you bro... but saw your last few post abit heated up.... relax... relax... enjoy the open space and fresh air in HH and relax... dun let things in forum posts rise your blood pressure... bo hua la... :-)

yes, yes for a while I was wondering who piss him off . Maybe should attend anger management or meditation or spend some leisure time in Johor to wind down , get some fresh air and stop looking back at Singaporean ugliness and bad social behaviour (just some). Generally most of us in this thread are exploring alternative living space. A handful may have gone into investment or preparing as retirement home. So just enjoy the kampong air in Johor; something Singapore does not have.

hangyong

Oops I think you're right, on second thought better keep it low profile lest it become miscontrued as a Singaporean thing, although I don't think there was any intention for it to be a Singaporean vs Malaysian issue in the first place...

just a thought suddenly.... we keep quiet... more people come buy properties... our property price go up!

*hey... just a passing thought ok??? not that we should follow or anything... dun take it seriously...*

hangyong

Greetings all, I have been following this thread from the beginning, and kudos and thanks to all those who've learnt and shared selflessly. The appeal of moving to JB is clear to all, and with limited downsides, the pros seem to outweigh the cons.

However, I'd like to ask an interesting hypothetical question, which I am not sure has been asked before, but here goes:

If you could afford to stay in Singapore, would you still move to Johor?

When I say "could afford" I mean you can pay up your primary residence (whatever type, before retirement) and have enough income to cover your needs, plus you project that retirement by a decent age is still achievable.

I hope those who've made the move or are considering the move, can shed some light as to how they might think, assuming they could achieve financial independence in Singapore. In other words, would the scale still tip in the same direction.

Any replies are much appreciated, and many thanks in advance.

Pleb.

Welcome to the forum, Pleb.

Regarding yout answer, I would say, yes, at leat on my part.

My mortgage for my 5rm HDB will end in 4 year's time, and it will take me a total of 12 years to complete it.
I have enough for my needs now, and if nothing goes wrong along the way, my needs should be covered at least for the next 10-20 years.
As for retirement, I am planning for it, but I am not sure if target is achievable.
If inflation goes as high as it goes the last few quarters, I think Singaporeans are in for a shock soon.
Many have suggested that one should sell the bigger house, and get a smaller house, and the balance from the sales can be used as retirement.
But is that what we are all looking forward to? Not me.

So, I got a unit in HH, pay for it now, and when I retire, I can rent out my place in Singapore and live happily in HH with the rental income.
Thats all I can plan for for now.

And from now till I retire, I can still rent out the place (if needed) to get rental to cover the purchase, and I can still save up here and there for retirement.

I also had an idea of renting out the place in HH, get it paid off, and sell it off just before I retire.
Then, I will use the money and buy a house in Cameron Highlands and move there (I like the weather lah!)...

What about you? You are asking for views, but we would like to hear your views too, at least I would.

And again, the above is just me. There are other achievers who are better off then me and are not a "loser" like me, and they have their views on getting a place in Malaysia which are different from mine.

The spectrum of foreigners buying houses in Malaysia are really wide.

wuqi256

Moderator - JB Section
Hey guys,

Been down with really bad flu recently. Didn't feel well when i was back in SG and must have caught the flu bug.

Ok Pleb, as some of the folks here have already indicated, there is a wide range of people and different circumstances have made them make their move here.

There are people who are moving out here because of frustration living in a cooped up place with too many people. There are also lots who are escaping escalating costs in SG. Yet others who are here because they want to enjoy themselves with the clean air.

Amongst my neighbours, i have retired doctors, lawyers and an architect, all from Singapore. I also have a couple of divers who are living here. All of them still either have condos, HDB and/or landed property in Singapore. All can make it anytime they need to back in SG.

Take one of my closest friends here for example, he has 5 properties here plus his HDB back in SG. He recently sold off a private apartment back in SG. His HDB and cars are fully paid up. 2 of his properties here are fully paid up. He pays our SG government about 30k tax a year. His properties here are all rented out except for the one he stays in. His cars here are fully paid up. He is in his early 30s and have the same desire to be here as well.

So its not only the push factor that is part of the equation but the pull factor as well.

wuqi256

Moderator - JB Section
do they have 24x7 service for doctor and emergency ?
Look rather quiet from outside.

Yes they do, the specialists and doctors are all staying in Nusa Idaman and surronding properties. Had a tenant whose child was very sick and they were attended by specialist who arrived within 15 minutes.

wuqi256

Moderator - JB Section
Thanks for sharing Lastresort.

Hi Austinheights, people will slowly realise the grandplan to be unfolded,we may see a change in media reporting soon enough. :wink:

wuqi256

Moderator - JB Section
Bro InformedHH, i think pleb was just analyzing the factors that made us came out to JB and wanted to discuss.
Wishing all a great week and coming weekend. :smile:

wuqi256

Moderator - JB Section
bro, you win liao lor.... go back Singapore only get sick... while in Malaysia, healthy all the way... haha

Not sure why, may be because i itchy backside tried to take MRT to relive the old days as i haven't taken MRT in years. Used to be so poor, remembered one time, i walked 3 stations home as i didn't even have enough money to take MRT or bus.

singaporeplebian

Dear all,

apologies as I am under moderation so there is a lag in my posts.

To those who have replied to my question thus far, I really appreciate the candid replies.

The first chap who replied (other than the toto winner! - nice one btw), I rubbed him the wrong way so was taken aback with the barrage that ensued that I thought I entered a lion's den smeared with butcher juice, but subsequent replies have been really telling, constructive and definitely useful.

Well, the reason why I am asking is because I think I fall into the category where if all goes to plan, I should be able to achieve my goals within a reasonable time frame and probably still be able to live (survive?) in Sg , cost-wise. I'm not one to compare who has more or who spends more (we all have different needs and wants), etc, but my needs are fairly modest, and I am so lucky that my spouse's approach is congruent to mine. So, if I complete the execution of my plans well, we should be ok, not wealthy, but everything will be paid up in a few years.

Someone asked a bit about me. I'm middle aged, I run a small business. Very small. I used to be a corporate guy but left because I didn't feel the lifestyle was sustainable, earn more, somehow spend more, easy to get sucked into the "keeping up with joneses" syndrome - perhaps it was my industry, and weakness of my character at that time. I earn much less now, but am infinitely happier. Striking out on my own has taught me a number of very useful lessons, especially how to live well within one's means.

There has been a strong desire or maybe a feeling of restlessness, which prompted me to look beyond our shores. I have lived abroad before, in a number of countries, but I have been back in Sg permanently for 15 years already.

So I looked around, and it looks like Johor is the logical choice (I too like Camerons but it's a bit remote).

So as I go in and out while exploring etc, one of the questions I asked myself was well, if money wasn't a consideration, would I still be thinking of this move?

And that prompted my initial post.

Someone asked about my views on this, I am still undecided, but I think there is a tipping point. And perhaps, I am not beyond that point to make the stay in SG compelling. In other words, everything will be so much more manageable if I made the move, therefore the scale tips in the direction of change.

Well, as it stands, it looks like me and the mrs will take the plunge, and to Wuqi et al, many thanks for the constructive replies, prior and subsequent to this post.

We all have a different story, I for one, consider myself very lucky to have had the experiences I've had thus far.

And oh yes, very important: To some others who say those who reply "yes, if I had enough money, I wouldn't move", I do not think it suggests "loser" as someone crudely put. I don't think anyone mature enough would suggest this.

Anyone who's made the move out of choice, has the respect of many for the courage displayed for stepping into unchartered territory.

I hope that the original aggravated poster will be able to accept my conciliatory approach, as no angst was intended on my part.

The consideration to move, is not only one of logistics, but also whether or not emotional well-being, health, stress levels, etc improve over time. In this regard, it is not about the money...

Once again, thanks to all.

Pleb.

2bfree2b

Greetings all, I have been following this thread from the beginning, and kudos and thanks to all those who've learnt and shared selflessly. The appeal of moving to JB is clear to all, and with limited downsides, the pros seem to outweigh the cons.

However, I'd like to ask an interesting hypothetical question, which I am not sure has been asked before, but here goes:

If you could afford to stay in Singapore, would you still move to Johor?

When I say "could afford" I mean you can pay up your primary residence (whatever type, before retirement) and have enough income to cover your needs, plus you project that retirement by a decent age is still achievable.

I hope those who've made the move or are considering the move, can shed some light as to how they might think, assuming they could achieve financial independence in Singapore. In other words, would the scale still tip in the same direction.

Any replies are much appreciated, and many thanks in advance.

Pleb.

Hi Pleb, I have not move in to Johor yet but it's a confirmed decision to do so as i have been looking for a place for a few mths nw. & I just sold my HDB a few days back so it's a matter of time before I move in to Johor. I would like to share with u my decision to do so. It is not a matter of $$$ since I m single, no family commitment & quite comfortable with my own lifestyle. Not for retirement too, I m only 35 tis year.....long way from it. For investment? Nah. IMHO, I believe Singapore properties still yield beta returns. So nw if u add it all up, why would a young single middle class Singaporean move in to Johor?......For Quality of Life.....I have stayed & worked in Seoul for six mths, had a house in Bkk, working in Singapore & travel bac every mth for 5-7days stay for 3 years. & I come to realized that Singapore is really one of the most undesirable place to live in these past few years. Working is still quite ok here. I stay in a HDB where there are alot of ppl arnd but when compared to a similar place I have in Bkk, the warmth, friendliness & the simplicity of the neighborhood, u can call it the "kampung" feel, Singapore pales in comparison. Compared with a big metropolitan lifestyle in Seoul, Singapore is like no where near it. Tho there are traffics jams, crowded public transports, dirty places in Bkk, high cost of living in Seoul etc but in general, the ppl are happier there & I can feel it cos I m human. With this said, I too can feel that the ppl in Singapore are mostly unhappy or have alot of problems with human relationships. Examples like estranged relationships, affairs & divorces are so common in Singapore. Look at the statistics of the things I mentioned & u will be surprise at where we rank. The constant rat race, the measure of one's worth by the car we drive, the house we stay, the clothes wear etc is stressful. And when all these are achieved, the new cycle starts again. The measure of one's wealth by Hw many cars we have, Hw many properties we have, on & on. Singapore has become a very superficial society. I am not impress by this type of life. Cos life is not just abt these to me at least. I m still young & single. Do I want to live the rest of my life measuring up to a society's expectations? Hell no. Do I want my children to grow up to be obsess with material gains, forgetting how to be happy with just what we are, where we are, who we are & who we are with? Hell no.....i m not saying Singapore is a bad place to live in for all of us. It is a country with many merits. But sadly, after living in it for 35 years, I felt that the country for the past few years went thru much drastic changes......I can go on & on abt the many reasons why I made this decision to move to Johor. Affordability is the least of it cos when I made the decision to sell my HDB, I was planning to buy a condo in Singapore. But eversince I went in to Nusajaya, I have not look bac since. Thanks to those who took time to view my humble posting.

cathylmg

Also means no need to study so hard.

Dun stress ur kids up. As long as you have Rm 90k im prepared to give you a seat.

What kind of doctors will u get this way?

Geez ..... where is the world heading...

Admission must always be on merit.... the deserving must get it and lots of scholarships must be offered to them.

However i can state most profit making institutions will turn a blind eye to merit.

rm90k is for how many year huh? May I know? Am also thinking of send my kids to Nusajaya for their University educations. But proberly Computer related. Don't know whether got these kind of courses.

hangyong

rm90k is for how many year huh? May I know? Am also thinking of send my kids to Nusajaya for their University educations. But proberly Computer related. Don't know whether got these kind of courses.

aiyo cathy... I was so eager to come out of computer line... :-P

aangsc

So, I got a unit in HH, pay for it now, and when I retire, I can rent out my place in Singapore and live happily in HH with the rental income.
Thats all I can plan for for now.

And from now till I retire, I can still rent out the place (if needed) to get rental to cover the purchase, and I can still save up here and there for retirement.

I also had an idea of renting out the place in HH, get it paid off, and sell it off just before I retire.
Then, I will use the money and buy a house in Cameron Highlands and move there .

Hey, same plan.
If you have plan to rent out HH now, pm me I pass you the contact.
I had an enquiry on my unit but mine is already reserved.

cathylmg

oh well one man's meat another's grades. let's agree to disagree =)
point about teachers is how effective they are not how many distinctions they have scored in school previously. Are they good enough to induce a spirit of learning? to get kids excited about school? to inculcate valuable life lessons etc. I was once offered a place in the local U but rejected when i dropped into the class to sample what's on offer (its quite exciting when I did it actually! although I had friends who sneaked me in). The profs are no doubt brilliant but the magic is totally lost the moment they tried to teach. I was lucky enough to pursue a degree program in a brand name uni in UK. I was kept at the edge of my seat constantly i forgot how many times my jaws dropped in amazement. The profs there really loved to teach!

juxtapose it to the current crop of ruling party elites. Many coming from a scholar program like that of ancient China. Many are terrifically good in their grades but are very detached from the common men at large (there are small exceptions once in a while) writing policies nary a thought to the consequences of implementation. I am sure characters like TPL could have done exceptionally well academically in the past but her grades could only carry her that far...

Which reminds me of the degree qualifications requirements to teach in a primary school? Why do you need a degree to teach primary school subjects? It used to be mininmum 'A' Level. Now choose u-grads instead. But I thought passion for teaching is the most crucial thing.

Today is meet the parents day. The way they talk is like you better get you child to do these do that, as if I'm am the teacher responsible for their results. And if can't catch up better have extra tuition. Then what are teachers for? With the current scholar system and that kind of pay, I bet you are just going to attract those who are just in for the money. Not people who passionate enough to teach.

Status
Not open for further replies.