• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Status
Not open for further replies.

cathylmg

wow Cathy, so your family is now doing the daily commute i guess? welcome to the club =)
I'll put in my timing as well. and see the consensus to better manage time amongst all using 1st link. am not too far off ST though i'd be shifting and using 2nd link soon. I woke up in shock this morning, usually my laptop will wake up with my iTunes playlist at 4:45am, I forgot to activate and opened my eyes at 5:24am. Left house and properly on the road bout 5:35am, reached Clementi by 6:39am - Cathy I may have passed your family on the road haha. Am really surprised it was not that slow at the 1st link as I usually leave by 5am and reach at 6am at work (thankfully only 2 days a week).

coming back a bit more headache. I'd advice going back as early as you can. I sometimes reach woodlands by 4ish pm. Latest reach woodlands by 5:20ish, after that its queue till eternity usually relenting only about late side of 8 to 9ish pm. Then there is the tebrau peak hour traffic. I totally understand the yearning for EDL! =)

euphony, I left my house at 5.35am. Reach my Tampines house at 6.50am today. Am surprised that there are not many cars at 1st link. More cars after you pass the first link and on your way to the Singapore custom. But then, Singapore custom also clear very fast. My children said they are ok with the journey. They have gotten used to the rountine now. They now go to sleep 9pm. One hour earlier then usual, and then wake up at 1 hour earlier then usual too. Infact my children now feel sleepy 1 hour earlier. My relative who help me to move house was still lamenting about us putting our children through so much stress. But I guess its a matter of adjustment afterall. :smile:

cathylmg

U r vegetarian as in the 150% pure vegetarian?

Which means you cant eat vegetarian food at non veg stalls?

Professor, I'm the easy going type. So long as no meat of meat related stuff is ok. Can't go 100% lah, children still young, they need the nutrition too. Just doing my best to not support killings. :P

toyohon

Tks bro. Austin Hts is one of my favorite places to hang out for meals at the moment. Besides the eateries, restaurants pubs, free parking is also a bonus, at least for the time being.

cathylmg

Cathy, most existing hdb dwellers are using cpf oa for hdb payments..
esp the group who bot direct from HDB using hdb loan instead of bank loans..

so buying jb property essentially will be using out of pocket cash payments..

That why. I suspect this issue is being played up for election purpose. I don't see people using cash to buy their flat. The only thing is see in those spoiled and pampered youngster nowadays is they buy branded bags, shoes, clothes, cars, go on holidays regularly, etc...and expect people to help them when its their turn to buy a house for getting married. My pass experience trained me to be frugal in my expenses, allowing only a small budget for luxuries. I cannot bring myself to spent like that...

cathylmg

Professor, kids can be trained to turn in early. Just take off computers and TV, make sure they slow down before bed time, bath, read a book with them, kiss and leave the room immediately.... :smile:

No kids then ok la dude.

Else difficult. Torturous for our Spore kids to do the commute. They are not used to the hardship we are used to!

Waking them at 630am already i feel sad as they sleep pretty late close to midnight if not later.

For the moment i think i can only spend holidays in JB (that is when the kids do not need to attend school).

Next weekend on i will be living for a month in JB and doing the regular commute.

Cant wait for that....

austin_hts

Where do you stay? Can venture into Setia Indah too. There is a popular Zhi Char and hawker centre (007 food centre; quite clean and a wide variety of stalls) ...

Tks bro. Austin Hts is one of my favorite places to hang out for meals at the moment. Besides the eateries, restaurants pubs, free parking is also a bonus, at least for the time being.

cathylmg

Where do you stay? Can venture into Setia Indah too. There is a popular Zhi Char and hawker centre (007 food centre; quite clean and a wide variety of stalls) ...

May I know if there is any vegetarian food at setia indah and their whereabout? Thanks in advance.

Analytical Professor

How was last night Cathy?

Its gonna take awhile before you strike a deal with the mosquitoes.

It took me a long time before i finally struck a deal with them.

Ha ha.

Fogging does not work. So no point in complaining to RC about the mosquitoes i figured.

I moved in to Setia Tropika on Sunday. Reach there at night. We reach there about 9pm. Tired and hungry. There wasn't any aircon and so we got biten by mosquitos all over. The mosquitos was really notorious. It gave dd a big bump on her eyes. :(

Analytical Professor

Oh yeah... How the hell i missed out on the dreaded cockroaches.

Thank you austin_hts for pointing them out.

I mercillessly and brutally murder all the lizards and cockroaches in my home. I just get irritated by their sight..

ha ha

And cockroaches !.... i understand that for landed, it is quite common. I bought traps (those with sticky strips) and poison bait .. so far quite effective ;-)

cathylmg

How was last night Cathy?

Its gonna take awhile before you strike a deal with the mosquitoes.

It took me a long time before i finally struck a deal with them.

Ha ha.

Fogging does not work. So no point in complaining to RC about the mosquitoes i figured.

Aircon did wonders! :smile: Btw, mosquitos is cold blooded, so the more cold the better to make them go into hybernation.... :smile:

Analytical Professor

Ha ha yes... I tried it last year and it worked really well... Cause i can handle the daily commute no problems. And i love to stay at ST.

Last year i tried that and it worked very well. I stayed at ST last year during the following periods...

1) CNY
2) All PHs
3) March/Sept School hols
4) June/Dec School hols.

So replicating the same thing this year as well.

:cool: so this arrangement I guess coincides with school holidays? you're creating a new genre of stay-in-jb sgporean between a weekender and a daily commuter. :biggrin:

Waking them at 630am already i feel sad as they sleep pretty late close to midnight if not later.

For the moment i think i can only spend holidays in JB (that is when the kids do not need to attend school).

Next weekend on i will be living for a month in JB and doing the regular commute.

Cant wait for that....

cathylmg

Oh yeah... How the hell i missed out on the dreaded cockroaches.

Thank you austin_hts for pointing them out.

I mercillessly and brutally murder all the lizards and cockroaches in my home. I just get irritated by their sight..

ha ha

Professor, remember to clear all crumbs on the floor and tie up the rubbish bags to stop their food source before going to bed daily. Do not leave any food in the open. Put them in a tupperware of in the refrigerator.

As you know I don't kill so thats the only way to do it. I also burn those (I don't know how to call it but Hindus should know) charcoal on a small plate, now adays you get those in small round yellow colour. Once I send the whole colony of ants out of my hdb flat with this. After it stubbornly stay put in my kitchen refusing to heed my advice. :biggrin:

PS: Roaches check-in, they don't check-out! (MIB)

Analytical Professor

My kids no computer/playstation/xbox/video games/ninentendo/wii. Strictly decided by my wife and I.

The problem with my kids is they study so hard .... study all the time... that when i get back from work at about 10-11pm they are excited and sneak in to watch TV with me. End up they sleep at 1am like this morning.

Professor, kids can be trained to turn in early. Just take off computers and TV, make sure they slow down before bed time, bath, read a book with them, kiss and leave the room immediately.... :smile:

Analytical Professor

Two types of home insurance.

1) Basic home structure
2) Home structure + valuables.

Now depends whats in your home. A general home insurance is a good idea. I bought type 1.

Type 1 is pretty cheap.

Hi

Just checking do you take up home insurance for ur properties or for that matter do we need to?

cathylmg

Bros and Sis here, I remember reading about it in some magazine. There is a kind of made to measure 'net' that you can easily attach to the window. I allows a clear view, air to come in, but blocks the mosquitos and insects from coming into the house from the window. If you have lobangs for these, please PM to me. I need to get it done for my windows. Thank you in advance.

Status
Not open for further replies.