• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Status
Not open for further replies.

euphony

Ur work starts at 6am? That early?

Wow...

Do you have kids as well?

Which Taman do you reside in?

no la for 2 days a week i start at 8am. so i leave early to avoid peak hour morning traffic which is time wasting and not fuel efficient for the car. reach work, settle down and plan the day take a breather and viola 8!

no kids thankfully hurhur.

molek.

AP when EDL up will you consider commuting? :cool:

avalon74

Just doing a survey. How many of you have just have window grilles for your house with no security alarms and security camera? Someone advise me that I had to at least have window grilles plus security alarms system. Any opinion on that?

Hi Cathy,
Was convinced by contractors that grilles & alarms are necessity.. so signed them to play safe.. heard SEG also had recent break ins..

avalon74

I moved in to Setia Tropika on Sunday. Reach there at night. We reach there about 9pm. Tired and hungry. There wasn't any aircon and so we got biten by mosquitos all over. The mosquitos was really notorious. It gave dd a big bump on her eyes. :(
.:p

Congrats Cathy on the relocation..
Wah.. waking my son at 6:40 already a torture for him. (he even had naps in K1)

hope you & family will adjust to the schedules soon...

avalon74

Infact when you do the calculations, its still affordable. In JB also you are allowed 30 years to pay up but that doesn't mean that you are not allow to pay up earlier. We just need to spend less on renovations and luxuries.

PS: I'm just speaking from my mind. Hope no offence to anyone here.

Cathy, most existing hdb dwellers are using cpf oa for hdb payments..
esp the group who bot direct from HDB using hdb loan instead of bank loans..

so buying jb property essentially will be using out of pocket cash payments..

danteakc

Good for you for not honking. Live and let live, i just take it in my stride. Like my dad always says, just think of the driver as kids who didn't know better and they didn't do it on purpose. You will feel better and happier too.

I am more than a bit surprised, normally they wouldn't have taken so long. Can you PM me at least your road name. Have you spoken to the township manager, GM or the group boss (Gamuda) That old man should be Mr Lee if i am not mistaken. Not very helpful is he as the more he push to the developer, the less he has to do.

The tiles in the bathroom do crack but i also have neighbours who spent a lot to knock down all the tiles and did their own. 2-3 months later, same problem even though they used very expensive ones.

Yes agreed, just pay the few hundred thousand more to get what you want and you could have moved in much earlier with better looking tiles too.

For me, i just got the basic defect done and immediately started work on all the houses. Along the way, any small defect i would get my contractor to help to do as small ones, usually it will be literally "on the house"

It was much faster in the past, i noticed with the last house i got, they became slower. I highlighted this and was told a lot of people moved in at once and everyone started checking on defects at the same time.

If you bought in Oct, was it in the Gateway? Most of the houses defect period there expired recently so they are doing it slowly from what i understand as they are now fixing on good will basis but still you need to raise up.

I would have raised this if they took more than 2 months to do.

They say lightning never strike twice at the same place. My home got strike twice in less then 6 months. TM modem got fried. Any insulator to take note?
Solution thanks?

danteakc

Hard to believe that Horizon Hills has so many problems. Dun misunderstand me.

All the bros out here are praising HH. How come?

I just cant believe that your house has so many problems whereas none of the HH owners here so far has even said a single thing about HH

Yup mine got 3 toilets stuck, electricity got fused out even when used. Had to rewired the first & 2nd floor. Doors of low quality. Got mad with my cats chase them around the house and 1 manage to sneak into unfurnish rm and I literally smash thru the lock. No kidding.

Talk about quality.

Analytical Professor

No kids then ok la dude.

Else difficult. Torturous for our Spore kids to do the commute. They are not used to the hardship we are used to!

Waking them at 630am already i feel sad as they sleep pretty late close to midnight if not later.

For the moment i think i can only spend holidays in JB (that is when the kids do not need to attend school).

Next weekend on i will be living for a month in JB and doing the regular commute.

Cant wait for that....

no la for 2 days a week i start at 8am. so i leave early to avoid peak hour morning traffic which is time wasting and not fuel efficient for the car. reach work, settle down and plan the day take a breather and viola 8!

no kids thankfully hurhur.

molek.

AP when EDL up will you consider commuting? :cool:

2bFree

For all delicate electronic items, I normally run them through a surge protector. There are many brands in the market with various pricing. I use a higher end quality model for my AV/HT system and Hifi withcheaper ones (Winpro) on my PC and other accessories.

They say lightning never strike twice at the same place. My home got strike twice in less then 6 months. TM modem got fried. Any insulator to take note?
Solution thanks?

2bFree

For all delicate electronic items, I normally run them through a surge protector. There are many brands in the market with various pricing. I use a higher end quality model for my AV/HT system and Hifi withcheaper ones (Winpro) on my PC and other accessories.

Solution thanks?

austin_hts

And cockroaches !.... i understand that for landed, it is quite common. I bought traps (those with sticky strips) and poison bait .. so far quite effective ;-)

Aircon/no aircon mosquitoes will still be around if you do not close your doors/windows. Ha ha....

Ofcourse with aircon fewer....

Cathy ... Welcome to living amidst nature.....

You will find lots of interesting things happening....

1) You will find frogs croaking and mating
2) You will hear the crickets
3) you will see cute lil birds building nests in your homes especially if you have hanging lamps.
4) Ants of all shapes and sizes
5) the insects that are attracted to the lights/heat after the rain
6) Chameleons
7) Big frogs
8) Big lizzards and lizzard eggs as well
9) Rats
10) Cats
11) Dogs

The list goes on..

Welcome again to living amidst nature...

U will get used to the sounds....

Narmi

And cockroaches !.... i understand that for landed, it is quite common. I bought traps (those with sticky strips) and poison bait .. so far quite effective ;-)

And monkeys too! Real ones (Macaques)..reminds me of my sis place near pierce reservoir :smile:

austin_hts

We are at Austin Heights for about 5 mths now.
With ADT security system; no camera, no grilles.
So far so good. We often leave the windows (full height) and side gate open when we are at home ..

BTW, the Austin Heights developer has set up an auxiliary police force in the area (to continue enhancing security and prevent crime in the area). There is an event this Sat (21 May, 10 am) at the Austin Hills Golf Resort. Do drop by if you have the time - free food ;-)

Also, the developer has bought over the Austin Hills Golf Resort. Currently 36 holes. Half the area will be redeveloped into housing, retail and recreation (water theme park). The other half will be redesigned/revamped 18 holes golf course. New housing will be launched in a few mths' time (clusters, semi-ds, bungalows). Do watch out.

** I am excited about developments in JB ! **

Good quality grilles is sufficient Cathy.

I dun think you really need the security alarms and Cameras

austin_hts

Just to share.

We got conned by durian sellers recently. Three of them selling durians from a van. We bought 4 durians. They did not weigh them individually, but place them in a big brown bag. Total weight came to about 14 kg. My parents were surprised, but when we carry the bag it did feel heavy. They were quite fierce, so we didn't argue much except to ask for some discount.

When we reached home, there were extra 4 durians in the bag (edible, but lower quality) ! So foolish of us. When we share our story with our neighbours, we found out that a few of them also got conned in the same way....

Durian season is here, do be more alert. Ask for the durians to be weighed individually ..

toyohon

We are at Austin Heights for about 5 mths now.
With ADT security system; no camera, no grilles.
So far so good. We often leave the windows (full height) and side gate open when we are at home ..

BTW, the Austin Heights developer has set up an auxiliary police force in the area (to continue enhancing security and prevent crime in the area). There is an event this Sat (21 May, 10 am) at the Austin Hills Golf Resort. Do drop by if you have the time - free food ;-)

Also, the developer has bought over the Austin Hills Golf Resort. Currently 36 holes. Half the area will be redeveloped into housing, retail and recreation (water theme park). The other half will be redesigned/revamped 18 holes golf course. New housing will be launched in a few mths' time (clusters, semi-ds, bungalows). Do watch out.

** I am excited about developments in JB ! **

Hi, I see land being cleared near the hill opposite the current row of shops at Austin Hts. Any idea whether this is going to be for residential or commercial?

austin_hts

Hi
Area near/opposite existing shops at Austin Hts is commercial - similar 3 stories shop houses (see http://www.facebook.com/8Avenue). Mostly sold except for 10-20 units. $1.2-$1.4 mil. You can check out the sales office at Austin Heights club house.

Area nearer Taman Daya and entrance to Austin Hills Golf Resort will be new residential developments. Preparations underway for launch in a few mths' time.

Hi, I see land being cleared near the hill opposite the current row of shops at Austin Hts. Any idea whether this is going to be for residential or commercial?

austin_hts

Hi
Area near/opposite existing shops at Austin Hts is commercial - similar 3 stories shop houses (see http://www.facebook.com/8Avenue). Mostly sold except for 10-20 units. $1.2-$1.4 mil. You can check out the sales office at Austin Heights club house.

Area nearer Taman Daya and entrance to Austin Hills Golf Resort will be new residential developments. Preparations underway for launch in a few mths' time.

Status
Not open for further replies.