• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Status
Not open for further replies.

Analytical Professor

2nd you, 3rd you, 4th you, 5th you ..... 100th you,..... on that note

Absolutely right!

I still dun understand where the hell mee goreng mamak originates in India? Or in which part of India?

How did most of this end up as Indian food?:confused::confused:

can't find rojak india in India
can't find mee bandung in Bandung
can't find mee siam in Thailand
people of Java dont understand why some of us call our mee rebus as mee jawa
people in India never saw what we know as mee goreng mamak

Analytical Professor

Ok Wuqi i checked out the streetdirectory link you had provided.

The KIP Mart Skudai = Kip Mart Tampoi.

Now confirmed already thanks to the link from you.

Kipmart was actually mentioned some time ago but here it is again, best place for fresh fruits, etc. Pretty interesting place BUT beware of the traffic especially at its back entrance carpark.

http://kipmart.com.my/cn/home

http://www.streetdirectory.com.my/malaysia/johor/travel/travel_id_2627/travel_site_150647/

cathylmg

2nd you, 3rd you, 4th you, 5th you ..... 100th you,..... on that note

Absolutely right!

I still dun understand where the hell mee goreng mamak originates in India? Or in which part of India?

How did most of this end up as Indian food?:confused::confused:

Because the Indians are the ones that sells it here lah. Same like Chop Suey in America. Can't find in China also wat...

Analytical Professor

On that note of reasoning i accept it.

But what i have noticed in Spore and Malaysia is that most people assume and believe that its Indian food.

Almost everyone i have known (work place/neighbours/church/friends) believe its Indian food and are shocked when told its not!

Talking about American Chop Suey my sister cooks it extremely well....

Because the Indians are the ones that sells it here lah. Same like Chop Suey in America. Can't find in China also wat...

cathylmg

On that note of reasoning i accept it.

But what i have noticed in Spore and Malaysia is that most people assume and believe that its Indian food.

Almost everyone i have known (work place/neighbours/church/friends) believe its Indian food and are shocked when told its not!

Its indian food wat. Sold by indian mah....LOL! Mee hun soup is also chinese food here. Sold by Chinese mah....Where can you find in China rite?

Talking about American Chop Suey my sister cooks it extremely well....

Can help me get the recipe from her? Thanks in advance.

euphony

Anyone bought Palazio condo unit here? its next to Sultan Ismail Hospital

I remember it being very cheap. Less then RM100K to begin with. But foreigners not qualified.

this forum like nusajaya is moving very fast! Palazio is very easy entry because of the DIBs and 10% 'discount' as downpayment. though the sheer number of units will be a challenge in time to come i fear. i just got news that the final phase is launched. yes am an owner.

cathylmg

this forum like nusajaya is moving very fast! Palazio is very easy entry because of the DIBs and 10% 'discount' as downpayment. though the sheer number of units will be a challenge in time to come i fear. i just got news that the final phase is launched. yes am an owner.

But foreigners not entitled to buy rite? Unless like you, a malaysian, if not must buy more then rm500k. No choice lah...

euphony

cathy/AP/those using 1st link

you notice one of the lanes is closed exiting the CIQ, I suspect they're just about starting work to link to EDL. It's getting closer and closer now!

mallow

Hi AP
Others have answered for you oreddy on the location of Kip Mart. It's in Tampoi Indah and off the Skudai Road, hence the confusion. Apologies for hopeless directions.
Kip Mart also sells beef and mutton bones if you are looking for an occasional treat for pet dogs.
You can quite quickly get used to teh si KOSONG - tea with evaporated milk and NO sugar. Another possibility is teh halia kosong [teh, ginger and susu sans sugar].
My friend Zai once famously made the remark that "without timun, nasi lemak is meaningless". Her nasi lemak was so very lemak it was oily with the santan, fragrant with pandan. It also had a marvellous sambal with plenty of ikan bilis n kacang, a slice of omelette, two fried fish and of course some generous slices of fresh timun. Sigh ....
Keep an eye out for exotica at the market e.g jambu susu, and if ever you see buah roumenia please buy me 5 kgs immediately ... this rare fruit we Eurasians make pickle with. Will gladly reimburse including petrol!

Grago

Mallow I am just having a cup of teh tarik and reading this post, the mention of nasi leman has got me salivating, even the prata I've ordered doesn't feel so enticing all of a sudden.....
Hi AP
Others have answered for you oreddy on the location of Kip Mart. It's in Tampoi Indah and off the Skudai Road, hence the confusion. Apologies for hopeless directions.
Kip Mart also sells beef and mutton bones if you are looking for an occasional treat for pet dogs.
You can quite quickly get used to teh si KOSONG - tea with evaporated milk and NO sugar. Another possibility is teh halia kosong [teh, ginger and susu sans sugar].
My friend Zai once famously made the remark that "without timun, nasi lemak is meaningless". Her nasi lemak was so very lemak it was oily with the santan, fragrant with pandan. It also had a marvellous sambal with plenty of ikan bilis n kacang, a slice of omelette, two fried fish and of course some generous slices of fresh timun. Sigh ....
Keep an eye out for exotica at the market e.g jambu susu, and if ever you see buah roumenia please buy me 5 kgs immediately ... this rare fruit we Eurasians make pickle with. Will gladly reimburse including petrol!

mallow

Mallow I am just having a cup of teh tarik and reading this post, the mention of nasi lemak has got me salivating, even the prata I've ordered doesn't feel so enticing all of a sudden.....
Lucky to be able to eat prata! I'm on a severe diet [just too fat] so all this delicious food talk is killing me.
I trust you know roumenia pickle? Still available fresh twice a year in Malacca. Buah rumia to some. Please alert me should you find it.
For some things e.g. dried prawns, the market behind the old Giant in Perling is cheaper. Very friendly place on weekend mornings, with more stalls set up on the road.
Be prepared for a huge number of food stalls in this Giant's car park during Ramadan. The Johor version of nasi padang is as good as the best. Miserably hot time of the year, but a limited time suffering is worth it.

Grago

Ah Mallow, you've been enjoying your food..... the simple pleasures of life:smile:, as to buah rumia pickle I may have eaten it BUT not know it's name:o Only available in Malacca, alamak, so far to go to get it:eek: Will let you know when I come across it. Maybe at the wet market in Tmn Sentosa.........
As they say "one has to suffer abit for something good":biggrin: I'm sure the Nasi Padang is worth the inconvienence of the weather!!!
Lucky to be able to eat prata! I'm on a severe diet [just too fat] so all this delicious food talk is killing me.
I trust you know roumenia pickle? Still available fresh twice a year in Malacca. Buah rumia to some. Please alert me should you find it.
For some things e.g. dried prawns, the market behind the old Giant in Perling is cheaper. Very friendly place on weekend mornings, with more stalls set up on the road.
Be prepared for a huge number of food stalls in this Giant's car park during Ramadan. The Johor version of nasi padang is as good as the best. Miserably hot time of the year, but a limited time suffering is worth it.

Avonup

When you have paid the 1st 10% deposit for EL (thru' TT) and signed the S&P, normally how long does it take for them to post you the deposit reciept and copy of S&P. Thanks

avalon74

Bro very easy to make a balcony. But quite hard to maintain it (whether you have maid or not)

Why?

Once you lay tiles.... You will be able to easily notice dust... And if not cleaned immediately the dust piles up and then it becomes harder to remove and finally the original sheen and shine is gone.

That is why my home at Setia Tropika no balcony/no tiles exposed to the elements of nature.

Its really a challenge to keep cleaning it.

Wife likes balcony..
Was thinking of laying rough surface dark coloured tiles so that the occasional rain can wash away the dust accumulated..
(Me is the lazy maid)
Will talk to contractor on sat before deciding..

avalon74

Oic, how much do they charge for such work?

Think can cover by ard 4K.. will check with contractor weekend though grill will be another contractor who has yet to quote..
The complication is the additional door (if installed) where another gate may be required..
kiasi mentaility..

cathylmg

Wife likes balcony..
Was thinking of laying rough surface dark coloured tiles so that the occasional rain can wash away the dust accumulated..
(Me is the lazy maid)
Will talk to contractor on sat before deciding..

Don't choose dark colour. I regreted chosing dark colour for my carpark. The rain cannot wash away the dust completely. Ended up I always cannot tahan everytime got to wash it myself with a broom. Even though, also don't feel clean at all.

Status
Not open for further replies.