• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Status
Not open for further replies.

Lestat

Lots of differences.

1) KL is an Urban oasis. JB has a long long way to go before it can get anywhere close to KL

2) Transport is a non issue in KL (except for the Taxis). In JB if you dun have a car you cant get anywhere

3) Jobs are plentiful in KL. JB? I dun think so.

4) Lots of malls and shopping options in KL. JB?

5) KL convenient. JB not yet very convenient.

and the list goes on

Thanks AP, how about rental conditions, housing prices, job opportunities, general salary scale of Chinese between these 2 places?
For me, since I've only shopped at these 2 places, I could only say that comparing with SG, JB is cheaper as compared to KL. Seems that certain food, places, rentals are even more expensive compared to SG....

Analytical Professor

Exactly Cathy, we should live like normal Malaysians. A tad extra here and there occassionally to pamper ourselves is fine.

Otherwise we must stick to the course.

I have a stiff neck too. And i have too choices either go for therapy at TTSH or go for traditional reflexology. The therapy at TTSH is so troublesome.

The reflexology is easier. At Rm 40 per hour cant ask for more. So i do it once a week atleast.

Previously i used to do it at other centres in JB but lately have been sticking to Eminent near Euro Rich Hotel.

Quite good.

With extra spending power, small luxuries occasionally is still ok. For my case, same amount of money but can order extras in coffeeshops, can buy extra ice-cream for the whole family instead of sharing. As for massage, I tend to have a stiff shoulder, so I go once per month in Singapore. Maybe next time in JB I can afford to go twice a month? I'm the skimpy stingy type, cause not with a big budget to begin with. Agree with you on not spending limitlessly. Should live like normal. Although very tempted.:smile:

Jogs1

Do you know where to get the modular stacking garden and how much? It looks interesting and I would like to check it out.

Thanks for the info.

Sorry, cathy...I have no ideas at all...maybe Professor can help? My house only ready in next year, meanwhile if anyone of u have info please share. Actually if can have some pics post out, that would be great. I enjoy to grow small herbs in my garden too, think it's a good hobby to start with our JB landed house:biggrin:

LeMans2011

Thanks AP, how about rental conditions, housing prices, job opportunities, general salary scale of Chinese between these 2 places?
For me, since I've only shopped at these 2 places, I could only say that comparing with SG, JB is cheaper as compared to KL. Seems that certain food, places, rentals are even more expensive compared to SG....

KL is the heart of Malaysia, the economic centre. The salary scale is comparable to SG on a dollar to a ringgit basis, eg. a job that pays S$10k a month would be MYR10k a month in KL. Cost of living is higher than SG on that basis as well. eg. a meal in KL city centre food court costs easily MYR7 - MYR10.

Housing wise, KL city centre is ex, the prime surrounding areas are ex, less prime area are quite affordable. eg. At prime location a semi-D costs MYR2m onwards. At less prime location a semi-D costs 1m - 2m. In that sense it is still cheaper than SG on a dollar to a ringgit basis and that is expected since SG is land scarce.

JB is a far cry from KL. Off my head the economic activity i can think of is the Pasir Gudang and PTP port, the Pasir Gudang industries... hardly anything else. It is not even like Penang which is the second economic centre of MY. For the same reason the MY govt is trying to develop the Iskandar region.

The local Johoreans livelihood centres around some retail businesses, provision shops, food business, motor workshop, massage parlours.. the rests work in Singapore.

Hence the importance of Singaporean business to Johor.

cathylmg

.....I have a stiff neck too. And i have too choices either go for therapy at TTSH or go for traditional reflexology. The therapy at TTSH is so troublesome.

The reflexology is easier. At Rm 40 per hour cant ask for more. So i do it once a week atleast.

Previously i used to do it at other centres in JB but lately have been sticking to Eminent near Euro Rich Hotel.

Quite good.

Is it foot reflexlogy? Is it message on accu points? Got private room for ladies? Got whole body massage? I go for whole body massage as I have problems with my shoulders and back. Thanks in advance for the info. Would appreciate if you can give my their address. My hubby don't know how to go anywhere without his GPS.

29ers

RE : foot reflexology

I am a DIE HARD fan, you know where i can find a good one? preferably male masseuse?

Yeah i too would like to indulge on this 2x a month. Currently in SG i hardly ever go as the price here is pretty expensive and most of them go on a package. The thing with packages is that, after buying the package i could be going to the place every week if it's conveniently located. Well lucky for me, it's not and my packages are like GOLD bars under the BED...hardly ever used unless i got 6 months bonus.

Cheers

euphony

I have a couple in my garden. Got the following:

Lemongrass
Mint
Lime
Basil
Pandan
Turmeric

Cant remember the rest

Tried growing curry leaves. Fail.

Tried Banana .... the plant grows but no fruit

maybe need to change top soil

also i am not around to water the plants everyday so that could be the issue as well

To add on my experience. Tarragon grows well too (its a gem of a herb!) cannot propagate easier to just cut off the stems with leaves you need, it'll grow back pretty fast. Basil can mix it up a bit for better flavors - red/purple basil, sweet basil esp. for salads. Very easy to propagate. Mint grows like a weed! Which is good. The leaves are the secret ingredient to salads lifting the whole thing up but they dry very fast (like basil) need to water much. I have tried growing sage, flat leaved parsley and rosemary without success. Marjoram is a bit temperamental but propagation is quite like tarragon.

Anybody have any suggestion where I can get wild rockets (arugula)? Easy to find in cold storage/jusco but I want to start from seeds. I searched all the nurseries in SG high and low as well as the web so far none lest I import from overseas. the other place being cameron which is so far! I actually picked those stalky ones from cold storage last time and planted them. It worked and they started growing some leaves until a big wind blew them off I came home one day going about my routine tending to the herbs and was like where did my rockets go? :confused: apparently, they lifted off just as their name imply... Went back to cold storage but they usually have more leafy ones which are useless for transplanting urrrgh.

Damsell

Thks for the info A/Professor. Anyway my daughter will be studying in Newcastle or Monash university once they open for registration.Anybody in this thread play golf. Bro Wuqi, can non members play and use the driving range at Horizon Hill, how much is the green ad range fee?thks

cathylmg

Thks for the info A/Professor. Anyway my daughter will be studying in Newcastle or Monash university once they open for registration.Anybody in this thread play golf. Bro Wuqi, can non members play and use the driving range at Horizon Hill, how much is the green ad range fee?thks

I am also thinking of sending my son there in future but was met with criticisms like 'should be thought by locals', 'malaysia standard?', 'thought in malays'..... and all negative things you could think of. LOL!

Care to share of how you come to this decision? Just curious.

cathylmg

Austin Heights/ Adda Heights
Is good but proximity wise is further than even Setia Tropika side, its near to Terbrau city area. The appreciation for investment there isn't so rosy but good as a place to stay although the flavour there is more local. A learned relative recounted that his equally learned friend lost some money there when he tried to flip properties. Again, JB properties is more to buy and stay although it seems one can do a little bit of flipping these days, i would still suggest buy with the intention to stay or if you need another, buy it to rent out.

IMHO, flipping of property, you will lose in the long run. The best is still through rental collection. In this way, even if you sell at a lost, you will have considered make money. Becos the capital is only the initial deposit and the renovations. The interest and its principle payback is paid for by someone else.

Address:
Eminent Reflexology Reg. Name: Eminent Reflexology
Jalan Bestari 12/2, Taman Busa Bestari, Skudai, 81300, Johor Bahru, Johor

They have male and female staff plus there is also ladies and couples room. Open until 5am these days, avoid going on Saturday without a booking as they are full even at 2am in the morning.

Prof, there is one more actually, its almost right next to the Kingston hotel(locals call this area "Zhu Lin" in mandarin, its near the Sutera Mall and J Hotel. Service is good there too.
Place is called "Ta Tong Shui" or something that is "big pail of water" literally.

Yes, just like its name, when you are doing foot reflexology, they do give you a big pail of warm water to soak your tired feet in.

Cathylmg, this is a real heavenly place for massages (clean type), the Eminent place is really cheap and good, can buy in bulk and use their services weekly even. I bring my relatives there as well.

Wuqi, thank you again for the valuable piece of info. However, do you happen to have their phone nos as well? I would like to try it one of these days.

euphony

Bro Wuqi:

Thanks for your views! I am curious bout Adda Heights cos the place seems to maintain a certain level of flair not unlike Taman sutera and the likes. what especially attracts me is the semi-D/bungalow only combi in the whole development. I also see that prices on the whole for good tamans trending upwards (and I mean really upwards) as compared to even as recent as 2008-9. Its quite unbelievable as some KL folks would put it to see developers with multi-million dollar asking prices for properties in JB. Personally, I also wonder if JB corp is overplaying the Iskandar card. Things do look rosy but are valuations matching the expected returns (like PE ratios in stocks) or are we heading towards a housing bubble/speculation dominated market? I am thinking ahead now and hope to buy another property that I will need in the future the dilema is to lock in at least at this current pricing environment in anticipation of future appreciation or wait at the sidelines for a technical correction because land is still aplenty in and around JB and supply crimps demand. hmmm...

Damsell

I am also thinking of sending my son there in future but was met with criticisms like 'should be thought by locals', 'malaysia standard?', 'thought in malays'..... and all negative things you could think of. LOL!

Ignore the naysayers,my daughter and her friends did a thorough research(checking on australia/united kingdom side).True qualified professional tutors and lecturers(probably angmohs) will conduct the lectures.Recognition and standard equalvalent to parent institutions.Economical and near to home.Many Mudlands FTs graduated from local universities working highly in Sinkies(so are other FTs graduated from God knows institutions). Western origininated institutions becoming obselete in Sinkies pespective.The world has no boundaries.The world is changing, so are the Mudland.Thks Cathylmg/Bro Wuqi for the replies.

Analytical Professor

Yes they have foot reflexology. They do a great job at it. You can request if you want harder/softer massage.

They also have whole body massage. OFcourse they offer essential oils etc.

I know they have curtains to seperate one customer from the next. However i am not sure if they have a separate section for women. Il call them tomorrow and check out.

I have problem with my neck, shoulders and back. Just the same situation as you are in. I hate going to TTSH. Its a laborious and long winded process. (Bureacratic. What more can i expect right?)

At Eminent, i can go anytime. So its very convenient and reasonably priced.

I am not sure if they offer massage based on accu points (possibly not).

Il give you their address and contact number.

You can request specifically for shoulder and foot reflex. I think its Rm 68 for 90 min.

Is it foot reflexlogy? Is it message on accu points? Got private room for ladies? Got whole body massage? I go for whole body massage as I have problems with my shoulders and back. Thanks in advance for the info. Would appreciate if you can give my their address. My hubby don't know how to go anywhere without his GPS.

Analytical Professor

Nothing wrong with studying at Monash/NewCastle campus in JB as long as you have the cash to pay for it.

Dun worry about those who ridicule you. They are good at just that ridiculing. You are far better than the nay sayers.

Its definitely not malaysia standard. Ofcourse its not as good as the original Monash/New castle nor would it be anywhere close to NUS/NTU standards. STill its a decent decision.

Analytical Professor

There are so many foot reflexology places in malaysia. So many and most of them (those that do not provide special services) are great.

The place i suggested Eminent was recommended by Wuqi and its a great place. Atleast i felt so IMHO. So those of you who do not like it dun get angry with me.

They have both male and female massues.

The male ones do a great job. You have to instruct them first if you want a hard or soft massage though.

This place the ambience is great. They offer you snacks, hygienic environment, chinese tea/coffee milo/fruits and ofcourse an area to watch tv as you get ur feet attended to.

I dun like packages either.

RE : foot reflexology

I am a DIE HARD fan, you know where i can find a good one? preferably male masseuse?

Yeah i too would like to indulge on this 2x a month. Currently in SG i hardly ever go as the price here is pretty expensive and most of them go on a package. The thing with packages is that, after buying the package i could be going to the place every week if it's conveniently located. Well lucky for me, it's not and my packages are like GOLD bars under the BED...hardly ever used unless i got 6 months bonus.

Cheers

Analytical Professor

Wuqi one question at the Reflexology places are we expected to tip the massues?

Sorry i am not sure of this. And if tipping is expected... then how much would that be?

Please advise.

Lestat

KL is the heart of Malaysia, the economic centre. The salary scale is comparable to SG on a dollar to a ringgit basis, eg. a job that pays S$10k a month would be MYR10k a month in KL. Cost of living is higher than SG on that basis as well. eg. a meal in KL city centre food court costs easily MYR7 - MYR10.

Housing wise, KL city centre is ex, the prime surrounding areas are ex, less prime area are quite affordable. eg. At prime location a semi-D costs MYR2m onwards. At less prime location a semi-D costs 1m - 2m. In that sense it is still cheaper than SG on a dollar to a ringgit basis and that is expected since SG is land scarce.

JB is a far cry from KL. Off my head the economic activity i can think of is the Pasir Gudang and PTP port, the Pasir Gudang industries... hardly anything else. It is not even like Penang which is the second economic centre of MY. For the same reason the MY govt is trying to develop the Iskandar region.

The local Johoreans livelihood centres around some retail businesses, provision shops, food business, motor workshop, massage parlours.. the rests work in Singapore.

Hence the importance of Singaporean business to Johor.

Thanks LeMans2011. :smile:

If the salary scale is 1:1, given the cost of meals at KL, I would say it would be pretty expensive living there as compared to SG. :smile:

Status
Not open for further replies.