• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Status
Not open for further replies.

Analytical Professor

Bang on Target Wuqi.

When in JB if you stick to a plan, you have ample opportunities to save money.

But unfortunately the Bargain Hunter mode in us gets activated and we become indisciplined.

This leads to unnecessary and avoidable expenditure.

End result... You got no savings...

Worse ... You spent more than what you needed to which makes the point of going to JB worthless in the first place (if saving money was your priority... Who does not wanna save that extra cent right?)

You are right prof, i must say, there is one danger which is always clear and present in JB (Detractors please take note!!)

That is......

You tend to spend more to the point of overspending sometimes as sometimes its hard to resist the bargain hunters in us.

cathylmg

Hi guys, back. Been a while as i couldn't log in even after resetting my password several times:

Welcome back. We sure miss you here!:smile:

1. Contractor, split the work amongst different contractors unless you have no choice or time

This is really time consuming. It really gets up to my nerve waiting and waiting for one contractor to come in and go every 2-3 week, then the next one comes in and takes another 2-3 weeks and then the next.... Seem like no ending work....

2. School wise, its hard on the kids unless you go by 2nd link and even then you have to see where the kid is studying in SG as the school may be located quite far. Other alternatives include having them study in international schools here.

No choice lah. Schooling in Singapore is only $10.50 monthly as compared to those charged by international schools. Was talking to my husband the other day, he was telling me how he woke up at 5 am when he was young and have to take a school bus to school. Those days, school bus goes around a few estate to pickup as many kids as possible. Its only going back to that time again. And he said 'don't spoilt the kids, they will get it to it one lah!' :rolleyes: Anyway, I also feel that showing them another kind of experience by living in another country will give them a difference perspective in life.

One thing we might want to note is, the stringent schooling requirements in SG does not guarantee a job in future for your kids no matter how many hours they put in or what kind of school they go to. ....Why? Because someone from a less stringent background with a degree can get the same job that your son/daughter can and thats assuming their degrees/certs were checked in the first place. It makes me wonder what value do we add on by subjecting kids to torturous hours of additional enrichment, etc. ....Don't get me wrong, its not a problem to want to gain an edge over others, but when everyone knows and is doing the same thing you do, what are you achieving in the end? ......Its just like waiting in a queue faithfully in the hot burning sun and suddenly a bunch of latecomers get to jump the queue without going through what you did. Sometimes we need to slow down and ask ourselves, is it worth going through the whole process when someone who clearly was not even in the process gets to get in with the same rights and entitlement.

I pretty much agree with you on that. Sometimes I wonder what are we training so hard for? Keep going back for another piece of paper, endless upgrades, which in the end, there are aplenty who are younger, better and cheaper then you. Anyway, my hubby is right, its better to have a skill and have your own business. In this way, nobody can retrench you.

cathylmg

Bang on Target Wuqi.

When in JB if you stick to a plan, you have ample opportunities to save money.

But unfortunately the Bargain Hunter mode in us gets activated and we become indisciplined.

This leads to unnecessary and avoidable expenditure.

End result... You got no savings...

Worse ... You spent more than what you needed to which makes the point of going to JB worthless in the first place (if saving money was your priority... Who does not wanna save that extra cent right?)

Why not look at it this way? When in Singapore its so expensive that I have to scrimp here and there. Only spend on small luxuries sparingly. Whereas in JB, I can stretch my dollar, buy more, enjoy more with the same dollar?

Btw, Magnum ice-cream at Shell petrol station is only RM3, the whole family had one each these few weeks. I don't think I'll spend on it in Singapore....:biggrin:

Analytical Professor

It goes on to show the following:

- The usefulness and relevance of this thread
- No bullshitting/spam/flaming here
- The sensibility, intelligence and knowledge of the TS (Wuqi) and the other contributors
- The truck load of information here ( I rue the 30 pages we lost)

This tread are the longest so far in the coffeeshop. No other thread are longer than this

Analytical Professor

Phew the number of cards in Malaysia:

Shell card
Esso card
Touch n Go card
AEON Jusco Card
TESCO card the list goes on...

I found the AEON Jusco card quite useful. Quite a lot of rebates with it. Some rebates are as good as 10%.

Analytical Professor

BTW Wuqi how do i know the tyres i bought from the Yellow Signboard tyre shop are genuine?

Sorry i dunno much about how to check these things. Can you educate me so that i learn?

NewComerJB

Ok all and in particular Wu Qi

I need a timber merchant that sells general lumber and also a good variety of well cured furniture grade wood.

Wu Qi - I know you - so scratch your head and figure out who I am.:(

Analytical Professor

I understand where you are coming from Cathy. Actually anything done in moderation is fine.

What i am trying to highlight is that if we get into the mind set of spending just cause its cheap then we will end up spending a lot more than we normally would.

Just to let you know for the whole of last year every weekend in JB has been an expensive affair for me spending several hundreds of dollars.

Realisation dawned this year and now while i have tried to cutback i still end up spending on other luxuries like massage, fine food and stuff.

Why not look at it this way? When in Singapore its so expensive that I have to scrimp here and there. Only spend on small luxuries sparingly. Whereas in JB, I can stretch my dollar, buy more, enjoy more with the same dollar?

Btw, Magnum ice-cream at Shell petrol station is only RM3, the whole family had one each these few weeks. I don't think I'll spend on it in Singapore....:biggrin:

Skippy

Good day all folks....
Yes i must say this forum is getting back on track... without Bro Wuqi, Prof, Cathy.. and every single one's kind sharings and contributions... it has surely benefited each of us in our own ways...

Talking abt the hiccups on this forum.. i almost thought i'm gg to lose my login and worst i kena blocked from entering this website... got me so upsad and worried... but lucky thing it got revived and now i'm in so happy again...

Cathy... may i oso find out the ID contacts... I must say i'm getting so anxious and excited to be part of this family, moving over to JB. But when comes to reno, shifting and stuffs... boy oh boy... so many things running inside my head. I must say take my hats off... u folks bought a big place like semi Ds and cluster home... mine just a humble terrace... i'm already feeling dizzy... in fact my family folks started looking at things like electrical appliances, lightings, starting out in planning our budgets... am in search for any good the electrician and charges... Phew... so much more down the list.. my papa also starting window shopping for furnitures stuffs.. i must say.. it really gets the family working out and looking around for so many different things... Sometimes.. i really envy Bro & Sis who got their house ready... but i'm staying positive... i'll get through... First is once get the keys... things then can offically start moving...

Prof u looking for carpenter... my kind friend intro me one though.. but i've not offically spoken nor get him to show me his stuff.. if u dun mind can pm me.. i can pass u the contacts. U may consider and check out to see if he's ideal to assist you. Heard he got his own factory and quite nice person.

Gee... times files fast and it's mid of the week
Wishing you happy and cherry!
Cheers

cathylmg

I understand where you are coming from Cathy. Actually anything done in moderation is fine.

What i am trying to highlight is that if we get into the mind set of spending just cause its cheap then we will end up spending a lot more than we normally would.

Just to let you know for the whole of last year every weekend in JB has been an expensive affair for me spending several hundreds of dollars.

Realisation dawned this year and now while i have tried to cutback i still end up spending on other luxuries like massage, fine food and stuff.

With extra spending power, small luxuries occasionally is still ok. For my case, same amount of money but can order extras in coffeeshops, can buy extra ice-cream for the whole family instead of sharing. As for massage, I tend to have a stiff shoulder, so I go once per month in Singapore. Maybe next time in JB I can afford to go twice a month? I'm the skimpy stingy type, cause not with a big budget to begin with. Agree with you on not spending limitlessly. Should live like normal. Although very tempted.:smile:

Phew the number of cards in Malaysia:

Shell card
Esso card
Touch n Go card
AEON Jusco Card
TESCO card the list goes on...

I found the AEON Jusco card quite useful. Quite a lot of rebates with it. Some rebates are as good as 10%.

Touch N Go- must have
All others card will give you extra 1%~3% discount/rebate.
Pump petrol use Citibank VISA in Shell have 2% discount. :smile:

Analytical Professor

I have a couple in my garden. Got the following:

Lemongrass
Mint
Lime
Basil
Pandan
Turmeric

Cant remember the rest

Tried growing curry leaves. Fail.

Tried Banana .... the plant grows but no fruit

maybe need to change top soil

also i am not around to water the plants everyday so that could be the issue as well

Nice to see bro wuqi here again. BTW, found out this nice blog about DIY n growing herbs in the garden...maybe we can start to plant our own too :biggrin:

http://housenumber33.blogspot.com/s...d-max=2012-01-01T00:00:00-08:00&max-results=5

Status
Not open for further replies.