• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

MM Lee say Mahathir built port to 'undercut & 'sabotage' Singapore

Semaj2357

[QUOTE ....So did Malaysia gain by building Tg Palapas[/QUOTE]

Same can be asked of Star Cruises - did they gain anything by building Westport:confused::confused:

Let go with the chicken rice example.

Stall A sells chicken rice and priced at $3 per plate. The stall beside it, Stall B, also decided to sell chicken rice. The cost price for both stalls is $2 per plate.

Now if B sells above $2, is ok is fair competition. But if B sells below $2 then it makes no business sense for B!

Question is why and how B can price below $2? Well Stall B's boss can sell below cost because they can use profits from other stalls to subsidies Stall B. The is especially so if they have lots of resources. But why Stall B does that? Well, to chase stall A out of business!!!

But little does stall B knows that pricing is one factor, the taste and quality of the chicken rice are also deciding factors.

Loofydralb

Stall A sells chicken rice and priced at $3 per plate. The stall beside it, Stall B, also decided to sell chicken rice. The cost price for both stalls is $2 per plate.

Now if B sells above $2, is ok is fair competition. But if B sells below $2 then it makes no business sense for B!

Question is why and how B can price below $2? Well Stall B's boss can sell below cost because they can use profits from other stalls to subsidies Stall B. The is especially so if they have lots of resources. But why Stall B does that? Well, to chase stall A out of business!!!

But little does stall B knows that pricing is one factor, the taste and quality of the chicken rice are also deciding factors.

The is no morality in making profits. Either you have it or you don't. LKY is pissed because Malaysia took away his. Such a sore loser. Cannot make profit, call your competition cheats.

cass888

The is no morality in making profits. Either you have it or you don't. LKY is pissed because Malaysia took away his. Such a sore loser. Cannot make profit, call your competition cheats.

Madhatter was out to kill Singapore, not compete with it. That is why LKY is pissed. You're just too stupid to understand that.

longbow

Well they did get Maersk to relocate to Johor and Maersk is a giant.

I am sure businesses that used to serve Maersk in Singapore are now doing the same in Johor. Going forward, it is wise to get a huge anchor tenant and some of the smaller players may come in.

In that way it is a good decision on malaysia's part. Pretty sure that many gained personally but the state and country did gain. Hence the soreness over the loss of Maersk

The one who gave contracts away I believe will stand to benefit .

Not so much it's people .

It's like saying why are PAP government building
so many libraries and community centres ?
It's useless for me and for most of the
people any way .

Loofydralb

Madhatter was out to kill Singapore, not compete with it. That is why LKY is pissed. You're just too stupid to understand that.

Nobody owes Singapore a living. If she cannot make $$ she deserves to collapse. Nobody will cry for you. You're too stupid to understand that crying wolf doesn't work.

Devil Within

That dumb fuck Mudhaliar ought to fuck himself! When asked that Malaysian Malays to compete equally with Malaysian Chinese, he fucking cry his mother cry his father saying that the Malaysian Chinese will steal away all his Malaysian Malays' bread and butter cos the Malaysian Malays are useless and cannot compete with hard working ingenuous Malaysian Chinese. When Malaysian Indians want to have fair treatment as his stupid Malaysian Malays, he then claim that the Malaysian Indians are asking for too much. Fucking toad this Mudhaliar!

cass888

Nobody owes Singapore a living. If she cannot make $$ she deserves to collapse. Nobody will cry for you. You're too stupid to understand that crying wolf doesn't work.

You're the imbecile. It's not that we're crying. We won (PTP is a failure), we're gloating, but we're still sore the Madhatter tried.

kukubird58

becos of Tg Pelabus that PSA here wake up their farking idea.

Otherwise, prior to that, they are complacent. If i don't recall wrongly, the aftermath see the removal of the top honcho and they become more pro business, giving the shipping firms dedicated shipping berth.

Actually the 2 pet projects of Uncle Lee - PSA and SIA.

hahaha...you are right.
the chairman then was ex-ministar Yeo NH, who was arrogant and and thought PSA was indispensable to all the shipping lines....

Leckmichamarsch

Competition?
It was using govt capital, infrastructure and connections to steal existing biz away from PSA............. with clear focus of doing Singapore in.
This Ah Neh pig was slighted as a medical student when a Chinese taxi driver drove him to the servant quaters in rich neighbourhood of BT or Nassim when he wanted to visit a female classmate. He hated all Chinese from that day onwards esp those in Singapore.
Illogical but datz how a mad bastard mind works.

Leckmichamarsch

Well they did get Maersk to relocate to Johor and Maersk is a giant.

I am sure businesses that used to serve Maersk in Singapore are now doing the same in Johor. Going forward, it is wise to get a huge anchor tenant and some of the smaller players may come in.

In that way it is a good decision on malaysia's part. Pretty sure that many gained personally but the state and country did gain. Hence the soreness over the loss of Maersk

Maersk was given partial ownership of the venture............ which biz can resist those terms funded by govt treasury?

Windsor

Even though he has Petronas as a milking cow, Mahathir simply do not have in him. The Malaysians should cry after what this idiot has done to drain all the wealth and resources that the country was blessed with. To cite a few examples of billions wasted and total failures:

1. Putrajaya
2. Malaysia Airlines
3. Port Klang
4. Bank Bumiputra
5. Bank Negara
6. Multimedia Super Corridor
7. Scenic Bridge
8. Purchase of A4 Skyhawks

I am not going into details, but those who do follow Malaysian politics may know most of the details. That he manages to still have a voice today is mainly due to those who benefited in the past and the strong links he has with the old guards in UMNO. Otherwise he is toast.

Maersk was given partial ownership of the venture............ which biz can resist those terms funded by govt treasury?

Even though he has Petronas as a milking cow, Mahathir simply do not have in him. The Malaysians should cry after what this idiot has done to drain all the wealth and resources that the country was blessed with. To cite a few examples of billions wasted and total failures:

1. Putrajaya
2. Malaysia Airlines
3. Port Klang
4. Bank Bumiputra
5. Bank Negara
7. Scenic Bridge

Is LKY & Co any better:confused:

Would Sporeans cry if they knew the amount of $$$ siphoned
by Lee & Co?

Put it down in writing the facts to support the billions siphoned away otherwise hold your peace.

Do you have any black & white proof that Mahathir has milked the M'sian taxpayers:confused:

I'm sure he has taken some advantages of his position but not to the same extent as LKY who continues getting multi-million salaries from all the positions he is holding. Not forgetting that Mahathir has voluntarily given up the reins of power while LKY is still sponging of the state.

The fact that Spore abolished the estate when Mrs. Lee was at deaths door is hardly a coincidence:rolleyes:

myo539

Excellent Chicken Rice analogy!

Let me extend it a little from another perspective. Stall B took the convenient and shortcut way riding on the popularity of Stall A. They could have just logically improved on Port Klang, which is closer to their capital Kuala Lumpur, and capitalised on the more centralised location in Peninsular Malaysia. Instead they went farther south and stole Stall A's main customers Evergreen and Maersk - promising cheaper land and labour cost!

Unfortunately they couldn't match up to Stall A's efficiency. Port Klang took a long time searching for the containers they unloaded - because monkeys see monkeys do - they even sent their monkeys to visit PSA to look see look see to learn the trick of the trade.

But the cake was just too tempting - billions were lost through inefficiency or into the pockets of MCA, UMNO and MIC (The court case is not over yet). Their Transport Minister obviously looked the other side. At least PSA paid Yeo Ning Hong millions so that he could earn billions for Singapore.

So they baked another cake - Tg Pelepas. By awarding it to another crony from Kedah (all us of know which PM is from Kedah). Don't know why they called a decendant of Arab blood a Malay - a bumiputra!

MM Lee was right about Indonesia and Malaysia collusion.

Indonesia supplied Malaysia with sand from the sea north and south of Karimun to reclaim the swampy mangrove mouth of Sungei Pulai where Pelepas Port is located. But the Indon refused to sell a grain of sand to Singapore for its reclamation in Tuas - just across the Straits. The Indon claimed that Singapore destroyed their environment. KNN the Malaysians mined the same seabed and there was no environmental destruction!

What hypocrisy! They even caused the terrible haze in Southeast Asia and they said we KPKB just because of a little dust!

Bottom line :

Never trust the abang-adek relationship - even if they fight and throw shit at each other from time to time.

Singapore just have to work harder and smarter to win back its global customers. SM Goh's kind policies about "prosper thy neighbours" or "Growth Triangle" should just be thrown into the longkang.

Forget about getting any kind words or deeds in return from helping their sufferings from tsunamis or volcanic eruption or floods or earthquakes. Just do it so that we can increase our own karma.

whoami

Hmm...U dont expect our northern or southern neighbours to lepak one corner playing guitar, idling away playing game of chess/checkers do u? "Sabotage" is not a correct word to use.

Windsor

Please direct any part of my comment that says Mahathir milked the Malaysian taxpayers. I wrote that he wasted all the country's wealth in doomed mega projects. That there is corruption during his tenure, there is little doubt but that is another subject altogether.

As for LKY, I am not discussing the issue of whether he milked Singapore tazpayers. There is little doubt that what projects Singapore undertook, most of them were successful.

Do you have any black & white proof that Mahathir has milked the M'sian taxpayers:confused:

I'm sure he has taken some advantages of his position but not to the same extent as LKY who continues getting multi-million salaries from all the positions he is holding. Not forgetting that Mahathir has voluntarily given up the reins of power while LKY is still sponging of the state.

The fact that Spore abolished the estate when Mrs. Lee was at deaths door is hardly a coincidence:rolleyes:

myo539

1. Putrajaya
2. Malaysia Airlines
3. Port Klang
4. Bank Bumiputra
5. Bank Negara
7. Scenic Bridge

Add another two dinosaurs :

Perwaja Steel (10 billion ringgit)
Bakun Dam (originally 2.3 billion ringgit ++++++)
Mahathir Bridge (akan datang - bridge across Malacca Straits to Sumatra ?)