• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

MM Lee say Mahathir built port to 'undercut & 'sabotage' Singapore

†††††

Ports not meant to harm S'pore, says Mahathir

KUALA LUMPUR :Former premier Mahathir Mohamad says Malaysia and Indonesia were not trying to harm Singapore's ports by building their own. They wanted only to grow their own economies, he adds.

In a letter to Utusan Malaysia, which was published yesterday, Tun Dr Mahathir said he was clarifying remarks about Kuala Lumpur opening up new ports after independence to reclaim 'wealth' that was being shipped through Singapore.

He had said in an interview with Utusan published on Sunday that Malaysia and Indonesia had the right to stop their 'exploitation', as Singapore had looked at the two countries as its hinterland.

'If we want to build our own ports with our own resources, why can't we? It is our right, we are not taking away their riches,' he had said in Mingguan Malaysia, the weekend edition of the Malay newspaper.

The interview with Utusan revolved around what Minister Mentor Lee Kuan Yew said about him in the book Hard Truths To Keep Singapore Going.

In the book, Mr Lee said Dr Mahathir started the Port of Tanjung Pelepas in southern Johor to 'undercut' Singapore.

Mr Lee also said that when Jakarta wanted to privatise its main Tanjung Priok port, it refused to allow Singapore to come in, instead passing the job to Hutchison from Hong Kong.

Dr Mahathir, in his letter published yesterday, wrote: 'What Malaysia and Indonesia did was not sabotage, but competition. In the past, both countries' goods were exported through Singapore because its port could be used for big ships.

'Realising that shipping companies could contribute to the economy, both countries decided to develop their own ports to reap more benefits from the import-export trade.'

He had been asked in the interview with Utusan why Singapore was claiming that Malaysia and Indonesia were trying to sabotage the Republic.

Dr Mahathir added: 'Do free and independent countries have to maintain our coloniser's system, where Singapore remains the main port in South- east Asia?

'What is wrong with countries wanting to develop their own economy through the port industry? Now is this a threat to Singapore?'

Indon and Malaysia was right. How can LKY said both country sabotage. Is is business world.
If sabotage mean bomb the port.
They built port near to SIngapore is for the competition nothing wrong with that.
LKY is old and senile.

potato29

Indon and Malaysia was right. How can LKY said both country sabotage. Is is business world.
If sabotage mean bomb the port.
They built port near to SIngapore is for the competition nothing wrong with that.
LKY is old and senile.

if u sell chicken rice at $3 and some one open stall next to u and sell at $0.50, what would u call it?

†††††

if u sell chicken rice at $3 and some one open stall next to u and sell at $0.50, what would u call it?

that still competition, its happen in singapore, many $1.5 chicken rice, but can they last?????? so more chicken meat is sooooooooooooo little

ah u is rite ...

others shud not oni have no port ... dey shud oso have no airpot, financial institutions, tis hub, dat hub, rubbish hub ...

oni sg can make moni ... sg got million $ salaried politicians 2 fid, others dun ... :o

theblackhole

what's wrong with the MMs...eve of LNY still bickering...

don't we all get fatigued?

kheongheehuatchai lah!!!!!!!!!!!

Windsor

Mahathir thinks more like an idiot that opening a Seaport will impact Singapore. He did not succeed and even though he denied and said it was competition, the intend is there. The insistence to build the crooked Scenic Bridge and destroy the Causeway, is to enable ships to pass through, which Singapore rightly refuse to cooperate. Mahathir's beggar your neighbour attitude is well-known by our leaders, don't be fooled that Mahathir has our interests at heart.

Ports not meant to harm S'pore, says Mahathir

KUALA LUMPUR :Former premier Mahathir Mohamad says Malaysia and Indonesia were not trying to harm Singapore's ports by building their own. They wanted only to grow their own economies, he adds.

In a letter to Utusan Malaysia, which was published yesterday, Tun Dr Mahathir said he was clarifying remarks about Kuala Lumpur opening up new ports after independence to reclaim 'wealth' that was being shipped through Singapore.

He had said in an interview with Utusan published on Sunday that Malaysia and Indonesia had the right to stop their 'exploitation', as Singapore had looked at the two countries as its hinterland.

'If we want to build our own ports with our own resources, why can't we? It is our right, we are not taking away their riches,' he had said in Mingguan Malaysia, the weekend edition of the Malay newspaper.

The interview with Utusan revolved around what Minister Mentor Lee Kuan Yew said about him in the book Hard Truths To Keep Singapore Going.

In the book, Mr Lee said Dr Mahathir started the Port of Tanjung Pelepas in southern Johor to 'undercut' Singapore.

Mr Lee also said that when Jakarta wanted to privatise its main Tanjung Priok port, it refused to allow Singapore to come in, instead passing the job to Hutchison from Hong Kong.

Dr Mahathir, in his letter published yesterday, wrote: 'What Malaysia and Indonesia did was not sabotage, but competition. In the past, both countries' goods were exported through Singapore because its port could be used for big ships.

'Realising that shipping companies could contribute to the economy, both countries decided to develop their own ports to reap more benefits from the import-export trade.'

He had been asked in the interview with Utusan why Singapore was claiming that Malaysia and Indonesia were trying to sabotage the Republic.

Dr Mahathir added: 'Do free and independent countries have to maintain our coloniser's system, where Singapore remains the main port in South- east Asia?

'What is wrong with countries wanting to develop their own economy through the port industry? Now is this a threat to Singapore?'

Smelly Old fart (old people smells) Gecko is not here to pull his ears if he gets naughty. Old Fart is in disarray and lost a co-pilot to guide him and think that at his God borrowed time he can still be important.

potato29

others shud not oni have no port ... dey shud oso have no airpot, financial institutions, tis hub, dat hub, rubbish hub ...

oni sg can make moni ... sg got million $ salaried politicians 2 fid, others dun ... :o

ah u do not seem to understand ...

becos of Tg Pelabus that PSA here wake up their farking idea.

Otherwise, prior to that, they are complacent. If i don't recall wrongly, the aftermath see the removal of the top honcho and they become more pro business, giving the shipping firms dedicated shipping berth.

Actually the 2 pet projects of Uncle Lee - PSA and SIA.

theblackhole

aiyah most of us know already lah the intention of Dr MM.....no need to put in a book and tell the whole world....

those of us who are hard-core singaporeans are no fools lah....we went thru NS and most of us know very well where we stand in this geo-political region....but don't over play the issues over and over again....one gets tired....really..

aiyah most of us know already lah the intention of Dr MM.....no need to put in a book and tell the whole world....

those of us who are hard-core singaporeans are no fools lah....we went thru NS and most of us know very well where we stand in this geo-political region....but don't over play the issues over and over again....one gets tired....really..

===

i think he meant to tell those living on high clouds thinking we can have peace with Mudland and Indon. Well, if their mind is set, nothing will change.

theblackhole

we can still live peacefully...but always on the alert...but no need to frighten the people all the time lah....

i think singaporeans know where we stand....very vulnerable and very fragile...we just have to live and live peacefully and to humble ourselves...and also not to irritate others and to display our arrogance and superiority...

we are really nothing...just a little dot....a tiny speck of dust in a blackhole....

so better to eat humble pies...

S

suicidalpap

[COLOR="Red"]Battles of The MMs.
LKY: Malaysia govt. leaders are corrupt.
Mahathir: Tell me, which leader in this world is not corrupt?

No reply from LKY. How to reply when LKY knew he's just as corrupt if not even more corrupt than Mahathir.[/COLOR]

we can still live peacefully...but always on the alert...but no need to frighten the people all the time lah....

i think singaporeans know where we stand....very vulnerable and very fragile...we just have to live and live peacefully and to humble ourselves...and also not to irritate others and to display our arrogance and superiority...

we are really nothing...just a little dot....a tiny speck of dust in a blackhole....

so better to eat humble pies...

===

he is treating us like kids...remember last time your parents will say - if you misbehave, mata will catch you ...

kensington

===

he is treating us like kids...remember last time your parents will say - if you misbehave, mata will catch you ...

Tuiz.jpg

Watchman

We can complement each other !

Malaysian port is really no challenge to us .

It's what you do with it that counts .