• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Status
Not open for further replies.

cathylmg

By next year, discussion about Nusajaya won't be just in this forum, it'll be all over Singapore. Why? Prime time news will report the opening ceremony of the first Legoland theme park in Asia, Nusajaya Johor!

We'll see traffic jams at 2nd link during weekends just like Woodlands causeway. Tens of thousands of Singaporeans will see Nusajaya with their own eyes for the first time and say, "Wah darling this city very nice leh! Don't look like Malaysia hor? Wah darling, a FreeHold landed house here is so much cheaper than our HDB, maybe we can buy one! How come now then we know of this city huh? If we know early, we hoseh liao!" :biggrin:

I really gota agree with u on this. Legoland is such a big theme park. The tourism will be boosted. Imagine bus loads of tourist and investors flocking to see Legoland and many other attractions. By then, East Ledang would be sold out.

Just build and they will come. Bwahahaha!

Meantime, just keep my head high while naysayers continue their attacks. Quietly gathering somemore money to get just one more unit.....:p

niczap

I don't understand. 100km inter-city rail transit network project in Iskandar Malaysia. Is it MRT line? LRT line? Or is it railway line?

Does anyone has an answer to this?

Hi this project uses the existing KTM berhad railway line with 25 commuter stations. It involves the conversion of existing diesel ones to electrically operated carriages. Plus 4 new stations to be built from scratch in growth areas. It will cost the public and private sector RM1Billion so it is considered a medium sized exercise. Probably will look a bit like Singapore MRT's outskirt stations without the raised columns.

shynee79

Hi

I'm a newbie here. My hubby and I have spent many sleepless nights this week thinking whether to purchase a house in JB, namely LFR Pinggiran Bayou which we have viewed twice. It comes fully furnished, no renovations needed and will cost about RM550K. Our main purpose is to make it our retirement home but hope to rent it out in the meantime. Our greatest fear is that it may turn out to be a bad decision as soo many people have advised us against buying a house in JB, citing reasons such as the property will have no value, high crime rates and even security guards who gang up with robbers to rob homes when the owners are away, government may change laws, etc. I also noticed that mainly HH and EL are being discussed here as opposed to LFR. I wonder why because we think LFR is lovely though just a bit further from Nusajaya. I would appreciate any constructive feedback as I understand there are many JB home owners here. Thanks!

wuqi256

Moderator - JB Section
Some pictures to share. :smile:

You can also google for it here:

Austin Heights
http://www.google.com.my/images?hl=...sch:1&sa=1&q=austin+height&aq=f&aqi=&aql=&oq=

East Ledang
http://www.google.com.my/images?hl=...ch:1&sa=1&q=east+ledang&aq=f&aqi=g10&aql=&oq=

HH
http://www.google.com.my/images?q=h...ct=mode&cd=2&ved=0CAoQ_AUoAQ&biw=1121&bih=765

Nusa Idaman
http://www.google.com.my/images?hl=...sch:1&sa=1&q=nusa+idaman&aq=f&aqi=g1&aql=&oq=

Nusa Duta
http://www.google.com.my/images?hl=...isch:1&sa=1&q=nusa+duta&aq=f&aqi=g10&aql=&oq=

Mont Calista (Only first few pictures)
http://www.google.com.my/images?hl=...&sa=1&q=mont+calista+johor&aq=f&aqi=&aql=&oq=

Puteri Harbour
http://www.google.com.my/images?hl=...1&sa=1&q=puteri+harbour&aq=f&aqi=g10&aql=&oq=

Sutera Mall
http://www.google.com.my/images?hl=...ch:1&sa=1&q=sutera+mall&aq=f&aqi=g10&aql=&oq=

Jusco Bukit Indah
http://www.google.com.my/images?hl=...a=1&q=jusco+bukit+indah&aq=f&aqi=g10&aql=&oq=

Carrefour @ Sutera Mall
http://www.google.com.my/images?hl=...=1&q=carrefour+sutera+mall&aq=f&aqi=&aql=&oq=

Jusco Tebrau City
http://www.google.com.my/images?hl=...sa=1&q=jusco+tebrau+city&aq=f&aqi=g2&aql=&oq=

Tesco
http://www.google.com.my/images?hl=...=isch:1&sa=1&q=tesco+extra&aq=f&aqi=&aql=&oq=

Educity
http://www.google.com.my/images?hl=...bs=isch:1&sa=1&q=educity&aq=f&aqi=g2&aql=&oq=

Ledang Heights
http://www.google.com.my/images?hl=...ch:1&sa=1&q=ledang+heights&aq=f&aqi=&aql=&oq=

Leisure Farm
http://www.google.com.my/images?hl=...h:1&sa=1&q=leisure+farm&aq=f&aqi=g10&aql=&oq=

Casa Almyra
http://www.google.com.my/images?hl=...S5-3oDw&ved=0CDIQvwUoAQ&q=casa+almyra&spell=1

Taman Laguna
http://www.google.com.my/images?hl=...isch:1&sa=1&q=taman+laguna&aq=f&aqi=&aql=&oq=

Sutera Utama
http://www.google.com.my/images?hl=...isch:1&sa=1&q=sutera+utama&aq=f&aqi=&aql=&oq=

Casania
http://www.google.com.my/images?hl=en&biw=1121&bih=765&tbs=isch:1&sa=1&q=casania&aq=f&aqi=&aql=&oq=

• 4353055004_38beb3a76f.jpg
    4353055004_38beb3a76f.jpg
    93.2 KB · Views: 142
  • 20101024023359Y9OZC8E7TG.jpg
    20101024023359Y9OZC8E7TG.jpg
    64 KB · Views: 138
  • g_horizon.jpg
    g_horizon.jpg
    23 KB · Views: 131

niczap

From my readings of property report (jan 2011 issue) - one author commenting on lifestyle choices for residents in Nusajaya.

1. Lifestyle & retail Mall @ Medini
-next to legoland with over 1million sq ft of retail mall. set to open in conjunction with Legoland Malaysia, offering medium to high-end brands as well as other lifestyle options.

2. Dining: Restaurants @ Puteri Harbour
- Puteri Harbour currently home to Singapore yacht owners looking for competitive berthing options aside from One Degree 15 at sentosa cove.
-will offer a plethora of dining options by the harbour plus themed entertainment attractions for the family.
- supported by waterfront apartments and a commercial district
- is set to add new buzz to the current sleepy Northen part of Singapore

3. Recreation : LEGOLAND
- set to open doors in 2012
- 40 interactive rides, shows and attraction
- meant to complement the existing attractions in Singapore RWS and MBS, by offering a unique product aimed at children and families.
- target to attract 1 million visitors annually

4. Stadium and sport complex in Educity
- set to complete in September 2011, in time for opening of NUmed (newcastle university medical malaysia).
- accessible to PUBLIC (yah!), students and staff.
- RM95 million complex, 14000 seating capacity stadium soccer cum rugby
- IAAF 400m athletic track, an aquatic complex (meets international standards FINA for diving, water polo, synchronized swimming)
- indoor arena with four multicourts - you name it, 3 squash courts arena
- plus other outdoor recreational facilities

cathylmg

Hi

I'm a newbie here. My hubby and I have spent many sleepless nights this week thinking whether to purchase a house in JB, namely LFR Pinggiran Bayou which we have viewed twice. It comes fully furnished, no renovations needed and will cost about RM550K. Our main purpose is to make it our retirement home but hope to rent it out in the meantime. Our greatest fear is that it may turn out to be a bad decision as soo many people have advised us against buying a house in JB, citing reasons such as the property will have no value, high crime rates and even security guards who gang up with robbers to rob homes when the owners are away, government may change laws, etc. I also noticed that mainly HH and EL are being discussed here as opposed to LFR. I wonder why because we think LFR is lovely though just a bit further from Nusajaya. I would appreciate any constructive feedback as I understand there are many JB home owners here. Thanks!

I'm and a true blue born and breed in Singapore. I didn't listen to all those naysayers when I bought my unit. All of them have their own agenda. Now I'm sitting on paper profits, while those naysayer slowly comes into terms with their criticism. Chinese New Year is around the corner, I'll be suffering another round of attack by the naysayers with a smile on my face.

The best way to judge an investment is to come down here and see it for yourself and make your own decision.
If you can, I would advise you to start reading this thread from the beginning. Gives you more insights and helps you in your decision making process.

Investor

Maybe they are hoping for spillover from singapore - land of riches. :confused:
It's not a 'maybe' but a fact. Iskandar Region was initially planned specifically to target investments from Singapore due to our close proximity. Along the way, they decided to woo investments from all over the world. Which is why we see so many confirmed investments from USA, England, Netherlands, Denmark, Middle Eastern countries and more. Projects from most of these investments are located in Nusajaya instead of other parts of Iskandar Region even though Nusajaya only occupies about 5% of Iskandar's total land area. That's why I think Nusajaya will be developed in the fastest and shortest time compared to other areas of Iskandar. Even if other areas fail to develop, Nusajaya will still prosper with its commited investments.

Once the miw put $ in Wellness project, confidence level may shoot up; most of the landed ppty owner here can afford a bungalow there lah. :biggrin:
Yup I agree with you, each completion of ammenities projects like theme parks, shopping centres, schools, hospital etc will increase demand for housing in Nusajaya. The launching of Temasek Holding's Iconic Wellness village in Iskandar in March will a big confidence booster for Singaporeans to invest in Iskandar, thus creating demand for properties in Iskandar.

contra

Hi

You may want to recheck on LFR status. I believe LFR is strata-title, meaning you do not own the building and the land it is on. You cannot do anything to its exterior and the land, as the land is not yours. You just own the right to the space you inhabit. But I hope I am wrong (do share the fact once you find out) .

HH and EL on the other hand, are freehold - you can do what you want (renovate exteriors, landscape etc) within your land's boundaries as long as tasteful and in line with the development's theme.

Coolsaint77

Hi

As what another bro mentioned, this place is strata-titled hence you are subjected to a lot of rules. One rule i know for sure is - NO PETS ALLOWED. The salespeople will try to be ambuguous but i checked before, they don't allow you to keep a dog even in your own house.

shynee79

I'm and a true blue born and breed in Singapore. I didn't listen to all those naysayers when I bought my unit. All of them have their own agenda. Now I'm sitting on paper profits, while those naysayer slowly comes into terms with their criticism. Chinese New Year is around the corner, I'll be suffering another round of attack by the naysayers with a smile on my face.

The best way to judge an investment is to come down here and see it for yourself and make your own decision.
If you can, I would advise you to start reading this thread from the beginning. Gives you more insights and helps you in your decision making process.

Hi cathylmg

Thanks so much for your comments. I totally understand what you mean by putting a smile on your face around naysayers. It's like they are all waiting to say 'I told you so' and I guess whether it turns out good or bad it's really none of their business since it's our time and our money right.. thanks again and you're right, I got a lot of reading to do!

jasonjst

It's not a 'maybe' but a fact. Iskandar Region was initially planned specifically to target investments from Singapore due to our close proximity. Along the way, they decided to woo investments from all over the world. Which is why we see so many confirmed investments from USA, England, Netherlands, Denmark, Middle Eastern countries and more. Projects from most of these investments are located in Nusajaya instead of other parts of Iskandar Region even though Nusajaya only occupies about 5% of Iskandar's total land area. That's why I think Nusajaya will be developed in the fastest and shortest time compared to other areas of Iskandar. Even if other areas fail to develop, Nusajaya will still prosper with its commited investments.

Yup I agree with you, each completion of ammenities projects like theme parks, shopping centres, schools, hospital etc will increase demand for housing in Nusajaya. The launching of Temasek Holding's Iconic Wellness village in Iskandar in March will a big confidence booster for Singaporeans to invest in Iskandar, thus creating demand for properties in Iskandar.

Hi Guys,
What is this Wellness village ? Is it some kind of old folks home they have been talking about ? Can use CPF or not ?

Investor

Sorry the Iconic Wellness Village is slated to launch in May instead of March. Not much information on it can be found so far except from news like the one below:

Smoother customs clearance between S'pore and M'sia on the cards
Dec 02, 2010

SINGAPORE - When the Rapid Transit System (RTS) Link between Singapore and Iskandar Malaysia gets underway by 2018, commuters would need to clear immigration only once for each way of travel.

Following a recent meeting - its seventh to date - the Singapore-Malaysia Joint Ministerial Committee for Iskandar Malaysia announced yesterday the two countries have agreed to set up co-located Customs, Immigration and Quarantine facilities.

The RTS Link initiative was announced following a retreat in May between Singapore Prime Minister Lee Hsien Loong and his Malaysian counterpart Najib Razak.

The committee, which is chaired by Singapore's National Development Minister Mah Bow Tan and Malaysia's Minister in the Prime Minister's Department Nor Mohamed Yakcop, also noted that cross-border traffic at the Second Link has gone up with the reduction of toll charges since Aug 1.

In a joint statement, Singapore and Malaysia said the committee also noted that concrete progress had been achieved in several areas of bilateral co-operation.

On the iconic wellness township project in Iskandar Malaysia, the committee said that Khazanah Nasional Berhad and Temasek Holdings have made several site visits to Iskandar Malaysia. The two companies are actively working on a commercially viable proposal for the township, which is slated to launch in May next year.

Meanwhile, a new framework for cross-border sharing of information on lost and stolen passports has also been put in place to enhance border security. The committee will meet again in the first quarter of next year to review the progress of its working groups.

Investor

Our main purpose is to make it our retirement home but hope to rent it out in the meantime. Our greatest fear is that it may turn out to be a bad decision as soo many people have advised us against buying a house in JB, citing reasons such as the property will have no value. I also noticed that mainly HH and EL are being discussed here as opposed to LFR. I wonder why because we think LFR is lovely though just a bit further from Nusajaya.

In a big country like Malaysia, your fear of getting a property having no value(caused by no demand) in the future is real if you get one in the wrong location. A property's value is All about its Location. Iskandar Region is 3 times the size of Singapore but most people zoom into Horizon Hills, East Ledang and other developments around Bukit Indah area because we know this important point.

Leisure farm(LF) is actually right beside East Ledang and Medini but presently they only have entrance/exit points via the old Gelang Patah town. For now, the area with the highest chance for success in Iskandar Region is Nusajaya City as it has already received many committed investments. Sad to say, the success of Nusajaya city doesn't necessarily guarantees the success of LF, but I think LF will have a better chance to prosper if they can open the proposed future entrance/exit via Medini, but who can guarantee that it will surely happen? For me, I won't gamble my money on LF now and pray that it will happen.

If I were you, who prefer the lifestyle and environment of LF more than other developments and I want to secure a unit now and rent it out until my retirement days. I would choose a unit in a location where there are rental demand at present so that I can easily rent it out. I don't think you can rent out a unit in LF easily at present, but HH and and EL are already seeing rental demand. By the time I reach my retirement age and LF develops well, I can sell away my unit in HH or EL and get one in LF,thus beating the inflated price of LF with my HH or EL.

High crime rates and even security guards who gang up with robbers to rob homes when the owners are away, government may change laws, etc. I would appreciate any constructive feedback as I understand there are many JB home owners here. Thanks!

To develop Iskandar Region, Malaysian government started off by putting in hundreds of millions on their police force to make Iskandar a safe place to work, live and play. What we can see in real life in recent years is that their effort had already effectively brought down crime rate in Johor quite significantly.

At present, HH and EL also have better security features as compared to LF. Eg, Perimeter fencing with Motion detection, anti-cutting and anti-climbing, infra red to detect intrusion at night, Surveillance camera capturing every part of the fencing etc as compared to a normal brick wall fencing of LF. Till date, the security guards of LF, HH and EL are proven to be of higher caliber than cheap developments which employ the cheapest labour they can find just to sit in their guardhouse, of course such people are more prone to commit crimes.

Even if the Malaysian government change laws tomorrow to scrap most part of Iskandar Region, it makes no sense to scrap Nusajaya as all the committed projects mean a lot of profit for themselves. Plus they themselves had already spent billions in infrastructure like roads and transportation and Kota Iskandar(Johor State Admin Centre) is already up and running in Nusajaya. Don't you think they would want to make all these money back rather than to kill the projects in Nusajaya?

Coolsaint77

Strange that they dont allow pets when I heard of Horses inside Leisure Farm. That means we cant even keep fish as our pets? Tats crazy.

I have not read the byelaws but i believe it applies only to bigger animals which can cause problem, not fishes or birds. Not sure about cat too. But dogs are disallowed.

Horses are housed at the Equestrian school. You can keep a horse there for MYR1600 per month covering food, lodging and general care but not medical.

As what Investor said the main issue with LF is the access point to the highway. Being a competitor to UEM means it will not be easy for the developer to obtain an access point like East Ledang unless Mulpha can make a breakthough in negotiation with the government.

Status
Not open for further replies.