• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

The Battle Of Tampines

Goh Meng Seng is on the way to hell but he will be forgiven. Lee Kuan Yew will soon be joining Geok Choo who is at the moment discussing the finer points of the Malay language with my Father, the Lord God Almighty! Amen!:biggrin:

Please do not incite religion anger here. Buy using the religion avarta and using relgious name is trying to discord religion harmony here. You should be tracked down and screwed deep.

goh meng seng oredi make it veri clear.... it is not his job to take care of the estate...he is interested onli to talk cock in parliament...:rolleyes:

so if tampines resident vote for him and the estate goes downhill...then he can turn around and say " i oredi told u taking care of the ward is not my prioirty"...then tampines voters can only lan lan...so even though tampines resident want to vote for oppo....will vote for oppo dat take care of our ward...not vote for someone like him who is damn lazy and borchap everyday only surf the internet and talk cok in sammyboy...:mad: dat why i call for other oppo to come to tampines.. we rather take our chance of a 3 corner fight then havin goh meng seng as our only oppo choice...:wink:

YOu probably has mistook him. People voted for him to do bigger things and not clean your corridor or supervise the sub-contractors to do the job. His duty is to get the right people and management team to keep your town council clean and they have the responsibility, paid, to do a good job. If they don't, than you can complain to GMS who will sack them (usually pro-pap supporters still out there to create cheap problems if opposition are elected).

His primary task (together with other opposition leaders) is to make PAP pee in parliament so that PAP will NOT do further harm to the people of Singapore. I think you should private GMS and send him your address to pay you a visit so that he can PERSONALLY solve your misundestanding with him. What about that?

Airlib

After watching the clip... Won't comment on his command of English... Since my own standard of English is still very much the 1 piece 1 piece, local coffeeshop style.
But I felt that his points were simply lousy and it really created an opportunity for the PAP guy to comment about having Quality people in Parliament to make quality debate.... Yah.. For once I agreed with that PAP guy....
'noise-maker' (as what GMS called himself ) like GMS should just stick to the coffee shop to make noise....
Furthermore, who will de-value themselves by calling themselves "noise-makers"... Gosh... Have some pride lah... If want to be opposition, then be proud and use the word opposition lah... What noise-maker...

GMS... please don't sabo the opposition can??? Stick to forming your own Parliament in the coffee shop lah...

Ohh... One more thing GMS... Stop proposing unrealistic things like engaging Ministers in live debate... These are things we know will NEVER happened here... So stop trying to sound like you are full of gusto.... The reason MBT don't respond to you is becos to him its simply like you telling him that, come the next election, instead of going to the votes... You have a game of chee koo pak with him live on all mediacorp stations... Winner will get Tampines...

Goh Meng Seng

Alfrescian (InfP) [Comp]
wise men think alike, or fools seldom differ.

I hope you didn't bet a fortune on that. :smile:

Ground sentiment is very different from you perceived. In fact, most of the time, it is very different from forumers' perception.

Many people are falling into group thinking instead of having an independent objective assessment. Of course, newspaper report does affect sentiments. However such "gut feelings" normally fall short of reality.

156975_1685709655769_1028466204_1812862_3460331_n.jpg

163245_1685709295760_1028466204_1812861_7850990_n.jpg

For example, the constituency report on Friday tries to project the perception that the Malay residents in Tampines are still supportive of PAP. On the contrary, when we went down to the ground on Saturday, almost EVERY TABLE of Malay voters in the Muslim coffeeshop bought a copy of North Star from us. I would say that the Friday report has SPURRED a reaction from the Malay residents there to register their stand firmly and clearly to us that they are in fact very supportive of NSP in Tampines! We have met at least 50 Malay residents in one morning and 90% of them have responded very positively.

Not only the Malay residents reacted positively in defiance of the ST report, the Chinese residents have also reacted positively. The brand recognition of NSP is building up rapidly with even residents coming forward to greet us and buy our newspaper North Star. The truth is that after many rounds of walking about the neighbourhood, some even offer their praises on the various good articles written on North Star while asking us when they could get the next issue!

North Star has become one of the most effective medium which put forward our messages and views to our voters. Sales of North Star has increased in leaps and bounds ever since it has been revamped after Sebastian Teo became the President of NSP. It takes off to the new heights when sales tripled to 10,000 copies for this issue.

The next issue, which will be launched right after New Year, is going to be even more exciting with the inclusion of Malay articles credited to the formation of our Malay Bureau.

Our messages on HDB issues have proven to be very effective and they have gone viral on the ground as well as on New Media. In time to come, such messages will get deepen and entrenched.

On the other hand, our Malay Bureau has started helping out various individual families on the ground. Through this activism, we are able to keep tap on the pulses of the problems faced by the community.

I believe that in time to come, we will achieve what we have intended from the start, to win our first GRC.

Goh Meng Seng

elephanto

When he wants to emphasize on the importance of Parliamentary representation, I don't know why he has to devalue the worth and duty of taking care of the ward.

For the first time at least to me, Rams, you ae bloody doing your good friend a favour by being objectively critical of his missteps, rather than seen to be always acting as his de facto spokesman & supporter....

Points raised in your post, I fully agree....

As raised by others like Bus64 I think, GMS must not crow too much about how he is proven right with his 'brilliant' minister-specific strategy...

Yes, the vaunted principle of defending MERITOCRACY via persuading voters in Tampines to throw out MBT (incompetent relative to his astronomical pay)
sounds good in the abstract...

BUT as public personas & image goes, so far GMS has succeeded in making MBT look like the persecuted poor soul trying his best yet kenna wacked none stop albeit mostly in cyberspace....

MY FEEL is GMS may just succeed in driving sympathy votes to MBT ... that plus incumbency & the fact that MBT's influence & housing policies initiatives are in reality subsumed within the larger National Ruling Party Ethos, I will not be surprised at the end of the day, the so called Tampines Battle will be another futile failure mitigated only by a slightly respectable losing margin which is MORE a result of national anti-PAP dissonance than anything GMS strategically or tactically scored against MBT .....

TIME TO HEED YOUR WELL MEANING SUPPORTERS, Meng Seng ....

BTW, I run into & was the only one who engaged your NSP Boss Sebastian some time back in his Geylang East Sunday walkabout....

Brochureware wise, gee, Seb looks impressive ....but in person, his shifty glances & inabiility to look into the eyes of supporters, all the while looking to move on, simply tells me for all his professional track record, his voter-afinity feel is next to zero .... sure your other helpers & entourage including the some Malay Bureau guys .... but sad to say, they also resemble PAP grassroot tag-alongs, seemingly satisfied that they are active & seen to be active with their party boss... result: you congratulate yourselvs by perceiving the ground is favourable to your chances of winning ....

Above is my genuine feedback...

If my best bet for Opposition Cause in terms of sincerity (NSP) can only perform up to this standard, then sadly, I am resigned to the idea that the likes of WP's Gerard Giams (whose book is in the bookstores) & the Tan Couple from Reform Party & dear old Alec Tok - people like that will be the next wave of presentable hopefuls who will capture the imagination of the Opposiition leaning voting public......

Take care, Meng Seng....

elephanto

After watching the clip... Won't comment on his command of English...You have a game of chee koo pak with him live on all mediacorp stations... Winner will get Tampines...

I fucking like your wit & humor bro.....:cool: made my day thanks !

For the first time at least to me, Rams, you ae bloody doing your good friend a favour by being objectively critical of his missteps, rather than seen to be always acting as his de facto spokesman & supporter....

良药苦口,忠言逆耳。:(

勾践无大败被俘,就不会卧薪尝胆。:eek:

Goh Meng Seng

Alfrescian (InfP) [Comp]
At this point of time, I have to make it clear that Ramseth is NOT my spokesman as he tends to talk about. He is actually going to be Glenda's Elections Agent for the next GE.

I have no official or unofficial spokesman.

Goh Meng Seng

cleareyes

Ground sentiment is very different from you perceived. In fact, most of the time, it is very different from forumers' perception.

Many people are falling into group thinking instead of having an independent objective assessment. Of course, newspaper report does affect sentiments. However such "gut feelings" normally fall short of reality.

156975_1685709655769_1028466204_1812862_3460331_n.jpg

For example, the constituency report on Friday tries to project the perception that the Malay residents in Tampines are still supportive of PAP. On the contrary, when we went down to the ground on Saturday, almost EVERY TABLE of Malay voters in the Muslim coffeeshop bought a copy of North Star from us. I would say that the Friday report has SPURRED a reaction from the Malay residents there to register their stand firmly and clearly to us that they are in fact very supportive of NSP in Tampines! We have met at least 50 Malay residents in one morning and 90% of them have responded very positively.

Not only the Malay residents reacted positively in defiance of the ST report, the Chinese residents have also reacted positively. The brand recognition of NSP is building up rapidly with even residents coming forward to greet us and buy our newspaper North Star. The truth is that after many rounds of walking about the neighbourhood, some even offer their praises on the various good articles written on North Star while asking us when they could get the next issue!

North Star has become one of the most effective medium which put forward our messages and views to our voters. Sales of North Star has increased in leaps and bounds ever since it has been revamped after Sebastian Teo became the President of NSP. It takes off to the new heights when sales tripled to 10,000 copies for this issue.

The next issue, which will be launched right after New Year, is going to be even more exciting with the inclusion of Malay articles credited to the formation of our Malay Bureau.

Our messages on HDB issues have proven to be very effective and they have gone viral on the ground as well as on New Media. In time to come, such messages will get deepen and entrenched.

On the other hand, our Malay Bureau has started helping out various individual families on the ground. Through this activism, we are able to keep tap on the pulses of the problems faced by the community.

I believe that in time to come, we will achieve what we have intended from the start, to win our first GRC.

Goh Meng Seng

You guys seriously need someone to improve your public image. So many orange shirt surrounding a few residents, even i felt intimidated.

Look at the exchange of stares between GMS and the Malay girl...it's like...

Malay girl : What the hell do you want? We're just having our meals.

GMS : We're here to educate you, you politically apathetic imbecile!

3_M

It is also interesting to note that Minister Mah has shifted his position subtly from his earlier assertion that "you could sell your flat for retirement" to "most probably you don't need to sell your flat and downgrade for retirement" because they have "savings, CPF" etc... BUT WAIT! With a 30 years mortgage payment to the max, how much money would an ordinary folk has in his CPF when he reach 60 years old? Well maybe the million dollar paid minister would have lots of other assets and savings, but for an ordinary folk, this is DEFINITELY NOT THE CASE!
Goh Meng Seng

If HDB value is meant to be a retirement saving, then why are we paying them 30years interests for our so so call "saving". Shouldn't it be the other way round?

Look at the exchange of stares between GMS and the Malay girl...it's like...

Malay girl : What the hell do you want? We're just having our meals.

GMS : We're here to educate you, you politically apathetic imbecile!

Sebastian : Hey young lady, don't argue with that Madcow, sure lose lah! I party president also scared of arguing with him.

Syafarin : Adik, jangan kuatir, dia lembu gila-gila. Tertapi, tolong pilih dia. Kerana hanya dia yang dapat menakut PAP dan Mah Bow Tan.
(Sister, don't wory, he's a madcow. But please vote for him. Because he's the only one who can scare PAP and MBT.)

Lella : Saya berdiri simpang lebih baik.
(I stand one corner better.)

, almost EVERY TABLE of Malay voters in the Muslim coffeeshop bought a copy of North Star from us. I would say that the Friday report has SPURRED a reaction from the Malay residents there to register their stand firmly and clearly to us that they are in fact very supportive of NSP in Tampines! We have met at least 50 Malay residents in one morning and 90% of them have responded very positively.

Goh Meng Seng

That is very encouraging. Please write more and distribute more. I am sure from your paper to the residents who will then by word of mouths spread like fire. Frankly, yesterday I dreamt that Tampines was the first election result to be announced and you won slightly above 50% which is a close fight with MBT. Thereafter you were beaming and eveyone started to tune in to see how other towns fair. The mood in PAP camp were lousy when they heard an uproar of joy.

tampines

Goh Meng Seng

Meng Seng,

I hope you are not politically naive.
The Malays are generally very friendly and easy-going people. So it's NOT surprising that many Malay residents bought a copy of your party newsletter when you make your rounds in Tampines St. 11 (why always Tampines St11 in the whole of the GRC??) last week. Don't forget that you also brought some Malay members with you and that makes things easier for NSP to sell its newsletter to the Malays . It does NOT mean that they are going to vote NSP at the next GE. Buying newsletters and then having a freindly chat with you means just that, and probably nothing more.
I would say that NSP would be very FORTUNATE if it could garner at least 30% of the Malay votes in Tampines. That means NSP would have to grab at least 70% of the Chinese votes to ensure that it has a 50-50 chance, and that's a TALL order. The PAP grassroots has a stranglehold on all the mosques in the GRC, and if the imams hint that the Malays should vote PAP, what chance do you have??
Actually, over the past 10 years since 2001 GE, the Malays have become the PAP's "fixed deposit" because the PAP govt has been giving many civil service jobs to the Malays. The Malays make up about 15% of our population but they easily take up more than 30% of the civil service(including stat boards) jobs. Notice that the Malays generally are NOT complaining about foreigners taking away Singapreans' jobs? That's because the PAP Govt "shielded" the Malays from foreign competition by offering them jobs in the Civil service and Stat boards. Despite the fact the the PAP leaders have poor opinions about the Malay race in general. And yet the Malays are easily contented as long as they have jobs and money to support their families, they will support PAP.

Any Oppostion Party contesting in a GRC or a single-seat ward where thare are more than 15% Malay voters must work MUCH HARDER to sway the Malays to its side. And MUST speak Malay too. It's to your advantage.

The captain can't speak much Malay beside sedia and senang diri. The captain can't even speak much English. :biggrin: :eek: