• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

GE2020 : PAP predicted to be the only party in Parliament

kaninabuchaojibye

26 May 2012 to 10 July 2020. So two terms?
alamak,no pension i think
maybe he is a ltk loyalist, so follow ching chong master footsteps
ching chong clan of workers party slowly coming to an end
now workers party change to angmo clan type of member diaspora
so even if he stay on, also wont gel with the angmo pai type

Charlie99

yeah mostly old farts here, one foot in the grave. It's a good thing I can remember my password to log in, that's already a feat in itself!

Let those young punks go dig, and do their patriotic duties. :biggrin:

Not that old.
Not that unhealthy to be referred to as one foot in the grave.

batman1

IF only PAP in parliament = CCP. Good luck to sinkees. See PRC now so many problems - corruption in CCP leaders,about 600 million living in poverty earning RMB 1000 per month,Wuhan virus, New virus in Beijing,three Gorges Dams possible explosion and flooding the cities,one road and one belt billions expenditures and wastage............etc Any checks and balances in PRC ? NO. One party Totalitarian rule.

3_M

This would be an election whereby both sides will capitalise on the insecurity of the populace to their advantage.

Pap will project a bleak economic outlook and the prospect of losing power while oppositions will play down the possibility of pap losing power.

It would be wiser for oppositions to project themselves as the underdog this time than to campaign from a position of strength .

Sideswipe

it's possible that the opposition get 30% popular vote and just 1 or 0 seat. 30% popular vote to elect 1 or 0 opposition mp. it's quite sad this electoral system totally screwed up the opposition.

I am puzzled and disappointed too. Spoke to him a few times over the years, he had a fiery conviction and strong belief in what he was doing, what ought to be. So enthusiastic and with an infectious enthusiasm. So, I don't know what the fuck is going on. Was there some kind of behind the scene agreement with parties unknown?
Last October was eating chay kway tieo at blk 309 when ah huat walked into the kopitiam alone and order the same food as me. He sat at next table, eye each other and gave each other a nod. Seems to be deep in thoughts so didn’t strike conversation with him. Although he acknowledged everyone with either a nod or a wave but kept to himself. Finished his food and kopi and quietly left.

He's a nice and friendly chap. Yeah you should've shook his hand, but I understand you just wanted to give him some privacy. Sad to see him retire from politics.

it's possible that the opposition get 30% popular vote and just 1 or 0 seat. 30% popular vote to elect 1 or 0 opposition mp. it's quite sad this electoral system totally screwed up the opposition.
yalor, pap to get around 69%. there’s a hardcore group of sinkies at 30% who will always vote oppo.

MaximiLian

It won’t be a clean sweep. hougang will be the token opposition seat as usual. So nothing’s changed 30 years on since 1991.

Charlie99

power to you then!:thumbsup:
Thanks.
About age 60, and until 2 years ago, could still attain SAF IPPT Gold standard.
But sadly, this winter and due in part to COVID 19, the gym was closed since mid March 2020 and I was not as motivated, now I am not fit. Have to get back in shape.

Why don't they just get rid of GE since they so desperately want to keep power. Stop the pretense that we are a "democratic society". It would save everyone the hassle, and not give oppies and their supporters false hope.

So come on pap, let's just change the Constitution and all is settled. Life can go on thereafter. Thank you.

nayr69sg

Staff member
What do you mean?
Pardon me that I am unfamiliar with the language.

I think he is referring to people who have renounced their SG citizenships. You have a hole punched out of your plastic NRIC card when you renounce or they just take the whole NRIC card back.