• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Serious [COVID-19 Virus] PAP response to 2019 nCov Situation

horny

he follow wnat WHO says not very serious for global emergency yet,must be like hong kong protest ,escalate then proclaim emergency??

Hypocrite-The

How does the Wuhan coronavirus outbreak compare to SARS and MERS?
There are more than 800 cases total, with several cases outside of China, in the first several weeks of this outbreak.
By
Chia-Yi Hou
ca_wuhanredcrosshospital_coronavirus_012420gettyimages.jpg
Story at a glance
  • There are now more than 800 cases of the new coronavirus in a month and a half since the earliest cases.
  • A previous large outbreak of SARS lasted about six months.
  • We won’t be able to compare the fatality rates until we know more about the disease and how many people it has affected.
As of today (Jan. 24), there are 846 cases of people with the new Wuhan coronavirus and 26 deaths. This week, Chinese officials blocked travel out of Wuhan by train and plane, new potential cases are under investigation in Canada and Australia, and a second case is confirmed in the U.S. A lot has happened in only the last two weeks, but how does this current coronavirus outbreak in Wuhan compare to the timeline of past large outbreaks, like SARS and MERS?
What happened with SARS
The severe acute respiratory syndrome (SARS) outbreak, which happened in 2002-2003, is caused by a coronavirus. But the way things unfolded then is partly why that outbreak was an alarming event, experts say.
The first case is thought to have been reported on Nov. 16, 2002. Health officials didn’t know what it was, and SARS was categorized by its symptoms, which were similar to pneumonia. It took several months for the outbreak to be reported to the World Health Organization (WHO) on Feb. 14, 2003, when there were already more than 300 cases. At that time, Chinese officials were not sure what caused the illness. By March 21, there were cases in 13 countries and 10 deaths.
The entire SARS outbreak lasted about six months, resulting in more than 8,000 cases and killing 774 people. It took months for the virus to be identified as the cause of the illness, and the genome sequence was published in April 2003. Granted that technology for sequencing has advanced since 2003 allowing for faster work, this still means that it took a few months from the first knowledge of the outbreak.
The MERS outbreaks
Middle East respiratory syndrome (MERS) is caused by a coronavirus, named MERS-CoV. It was first identified in Saudi Arabia in Sep. 2012, and about 35 percent of infected patients die from the virus, according to WHO. MERS-CoV doesn’t pass easily from person to person unless there is close contact like physical touch.
By June 2013, there were 55 laboratory-confirmed cases reported to WHO. Cases were reported in Saudi Arabia, Qatar, Jordan and the United Arab Emirates and some infected travelers were reported in the United Kingdom, Italy, France and Tunisia.
In 2015, there was a separate outbreak of MERS-CoV in South Korea. The first patient of the outbreak developed symptoms on May 11, 2015. WHO and the South Korean government estimated that the outbreak ended in July 2015, after about two months. By the end, there were 186 confirmed cases and 38 deaths.
The early days of the Wuhan coronavirus
The illness caused by a new coronavirus in Wuhan, currently being called 2019-nCoV, was first reported to WHO on Dec. 31, 2019 as a “cluster of cases” in Wuhan. The earliest cases were estimated to have started on Dec. 8. The virus’s genetic material, the RNA, was sequenced and made public information on Jan. 10. That’s a relatively quick turnaround time.
This past week, researchers published their analyses of the new coronavirus (Jan. 22) and diagnostic tools for testing people for the virus (Jan. 23). Researchers are sharing what they are learning about the virus much earlier than in past outbreaks.
Another important difference, especially when compared to the SARS outbreak, is the speed to take action, to disseminate warnings and recommendations to the general public and to put restrictions on travel as the number of cases increased. When cases jumped up from 68 on Sunday, Jan. 19 to more than 800 cases on Thursday, Jan. 23, officials put a clamp down on public transportation out of Wuhan.
Looking back at SARS, the fatality rate for SARS varied by age, “less than 1 percent in persons aged 24 years or younger, 6 percent in persons aged 25 to 44 years, 15 percent in persons aged 45 to 64 years, and greater than 50 percent in persons aged 65 years and older,” according to WHO.
So far, the deaths from 2019-nCoV have mostly been in older people, many with existing health problems. However, the most recent death is of a 37-year-old man who is now the youngest fatality in this outbreak. As more reports of cases and deaths come in, we will have to wait to understand how dangerous this virus is and how it compares to past coronavirus outbreaks.
Published on Jan 24, 2020
  • icon-twitter-b.svg
  • icon-facebook-b.svg
  • icon-mail-b.svg

U are a liar... u are a fake doctor and shd die at that time... u are ah neh fake degree one... shushu go back India quietly....

Has yr kids doing free uni education at the expense of white Canadians.

Typical kiasu Sinkies bring whole family to migrate to 5 eye to get free uni education, after finish say find jobs in Singapore pays more and easy....

Tioboh...
Hope this help...

I will share with you the PAP govt's approach to any health crisis.

Calm the public. Say it is not that bad. everything is ok. Don't panic. Life goes on. The economy goes on.

I know because I was on the front lines of SARS back in 2003. I lived through MOH telling SGH healthcare staff NOT to wear N95 masks because it would cause everyone to want to wear a mask in the hospital. This contributed to the outbreak of SARS in SGH. Coupled with their crazy decision to send patients from TTSH which was SARS ground zero to SGH! And have to cheek to ask us NOT to wear N95 masks when seeing the transferred patients.

This is how Dr Alex Chao and Dr Chng Siew Ping got SARS when we did the cholecystectomy on the SARS patient transferred from TTSH. Also the nurses who kena.

For the PAP and Singaporeans, economy ie $$$$ is the most important thing in the world. If it wasn't for SARS and all the shit that happened I would not have migrated to Canada.

I myself got a fever and was admitted to TTSH next to Dr Chng Siew Ping. But I did not contract SARS. I dodged the bullet. Nevertheless during the following quarantine after discharge I had to make the difficult decision with my wife to move our family (just my wife, myself and my 2 year old daughter and 1 year old son) back to our flat. We were living with my in laws before that. And we decided if it was to be then we would die together as a family.

After the quarantine period I went back to work at SGH. Strict measures. Wearing N95, gown. Knowing how to put it on without touching the front. Showering before going home. Changing into the white T shirt and blue pants. Plastic bag all writing equipment notebooks pens.

Up to this day I will not forgive the fucking MOH and SGH admin people for their blatant mismanagement and negligence. FUCK SINGAPORE!

Hey fake doctor.... u better resign u flithy selfish fucker..

U are trained to die with the patient.... so medical science can advance and find a cure for the virus...

Army Soldiers are trained to die for the country....

Not training u to make more money than other trades that u can live a better pay lifestyle at the expense of patients...

Keep talk about quality life style, go skiing every years big house big car and eat big fish...

Better go to Wuhan be a hero doctor 患乱出英雄... than be a selfish bastard fake doctor go for high pay job only...

Date: Thursday, January 23, 2020 To: All Physicians and Front-Line Clinical Staff From: Medical Officers of Health, Alberta Health Services Subject: Overview of Wuhan novel Coronavirus On December 31, 2019, the Wuhan Municipal Health Commission in Hubei province, China, issued a public statement that they had identified an outbreak of pneumonia of unknown cause. This is now believed to be caused by a novel Coronavirus (2019-nCoV). As of January 22, 2020, there are 440 cases in China (mostly in Wuhan) along with isolated cases in South Korea, Thailand, Japan, Taiwan, and United States. Chinese authorities have reported evidence of person-to-person spread, and some healthcare workers in China have developed a nCoV respiratory illness. That being said, nCoV remains rare and a respiratory illness in a traveler returning from China is likely caused by more common pathogens like influenza. Currently, there are no reports of confirmed cases of infection in Canada of 2019-nCoV. Severe illness from 2019-nCoV is possible, and there have been reported deaths in China. However, many patients have had milder illness, which possibly suggests that 2019-nCoV is not as severe as MERS-CoV or SARS. Alberta Health Services has established a leadership group that is actively monitoring the situation and is ensuring that all steps are being taken to protect the public and healthcare workers should there be any cases in Alberta. Recommendations for Healthcare Providers: If you suspect your patient may have 2019-nCoV, please do the following: a) Have patient don procedure mask immediately, and place in a separate area with Contact and Droplet Precautions as soon as possible.  Care providers should don appropriate Contact & Droplet PPE (e.g., gloves, procedure mask, eye protection and gowns if available). Use airborne precautions if performing an aerosolgenerating medical procedure. b) Take a thorough travel/exposure history from patients with acute respiratory conditions. Patients are at highest risk if they meet any of the below criteria:  Travelled to Wuhan, China within 14 days prior to onset of symptoms;  Had contact with a suspected or confirmed case of 2019-nCoV within 14 days prior to onset of symptoms;  Within 14 days prior to onset of symptoms, visited a hospital/healthcare facility known to have treated confirmed 2019-nCoV cases. c) Call your Zone Medical Officer of Health (MOH) - contact information can be found here: www.ahs.ca/assets/info/hp/phys/if-hp-phys-clin-moh-on-call-contact-information.pdf d) After patient leaves, clean room and medical equipment using routine cleaning agents. e) Settling time for rooms is not required after patient leaves. f) Notify Infection Prevention & Control at your site, if applicable. Lab Testing and Infection Prevention & Control (IPC) Resources:  www.ahs.ca/assets/wf/lab/wf-lab-bulletin-novel-coronavirus-detected-in-wuhan-china.pdfwww.ahs.ca/info/Page10531.aspx Additional Reference:  www.who.int/health-topics/coronavirus

Just got this from Alberta Health Services.

Interesting they don't think it is airborne hence no recommendation on N95 either.

Thanks to the 70% keep voting PAP for 50 years and PAP experienced handling SAR can deliver the gospel...

Ask the 5 eye that keep changing party all 4 years long do they knows how to handle new case.....

They hv no experience or cant say like LHL said who has been there and done that in the SAR crisis...

Experience counts.... get it...

Dumb fuck Sinkies...

Sinkies have a choice: either believe Lee Hsien Loong, or believe someone who knows what he's talking about. :cool:

unknown.png