• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Property News

mpan12

With a flick of a pen, the demand will be hot again. All it takes is MY finally confirming and constructing HSR, RTS and PH Ferry, you'll see the demand spike again. I think this is a necessary calm for now, it was really getting out of hand a couple of years back.

I've wondered for some time how HSR or RTS can help in the demand. I don't think HSR is for daily commute. Likely too expensive. And I believe there will still be the long queue at customs. You need to clear both sides first.

Moreover, the HSR may not stop exactly near the property where you live. Still need a car or some form of transport to get you over.

As for RTS, it stops only at the old JB. Still need a way to get around. A car will be best.

RTS and HSR may somewhat ease the jam at Causeway and 2nd link though. This is the only useful point I see.

But... this 2 being mega projects, I don't think they'll be completed so soon. It's too complicated. And knowing how Malaysia works.... I won't be surprised if it takes 10 years or more for completion, IF it really gets done.

Tekkun

How can buy property based on liking and not pricing??? I see you are getting over enthusiastic over your purchase of PH. :smile:

Yes, that's bcos you are buying for your own use.

If I can buy based not on pricing, I wouldn't even choose PH. Wouldn't even think about it. I would buy a nice island in the Caribbean Sea and create my own home there. :smile:

Different people different strokes. Doesn't matter is is for own use or for rentals. I even bought a condo 3x the price at 1/2 the size of my PH.
My philosophy is high end property command high end rentals. I don't want to get those low end tenants. Too much hassle. Again it is what your target segment is. Identify that segment (liking), then you strike.

Tekkun

Still...? How can say pricing is not of concern? Then I will take the highest floor of the most expensive penthouse among all projects with the best fittings.

"You shortlist them first according to what you like (most of the times is what the wife like) and then you choose the one within your budget."

Don't worry...it will take a while before you get used to it. :biggrin:

Frodo

I've wondered for some time how HSR or RTS can help in the demand. I don't think HSR is for daily commute. Likely too expensive. And I believe there will still be the long queue at customs. You need to clear both sides first.

Moreover, the HSR may not stop exactly near the property where you live. Still need a car or some form of transport to get you over.

As for RTS, it stops only at the old JB. Still need a way to get around. A car will be best.

RTS and HSR may somewhat ease the jam at Causeway and 2nd link though. This is the only useful point I see.

But... this 2 being mega projects, I don't think they'll be completed so soon. It's too complicated. And knowing how Malaysia works.... I won't be surprised if it takes 10 years or more for completion, IF it really gets done.

IF it gets done, I believe it will be a matter of time that demand will increase. Yes, cars will definitely be needed, and it won't be too difficult to own one. Heck, if a peasant like me can buy a MY car, I am sure others can buy more than one! LOL! The HSR when completed will bring KL closer to JB, in that KL folks will now come over to JB to live, and then cross over to SG to work. Then on weekends they take a 1.5 hour train ride home. No need long distance drive and no need to get caught in traffic jams getting into and out of KL. The immediate benefit of RTS would be the increased connectivity between JB and SG. Getting these two transport plans on track (pun intended) would definitely up prosper everything in JB.

Frodo

Still...? How can say pricing is not of concern? Then I will take the highest floor of the most expensive penthouse among all projects with the best fittings.

At the end of the day, the decision to buy a particular project is usually an emotional decision, not really a rational one. You like this, or wife like this, or wife don't like it etc will be the deciding factors, not some cold hard facts like pricing.

snowbird

With a flick of a pen, the demand will be hot again. All it takes is MY finally confirming and constructing HSR, RTS and PH Ferry, you'll see the demand spike again. I think this is a necessary calm for now, it was really getting out of hand a couple of years back.

Yes, with a flick of a pen, many things can happen to make things hot again or the other way round, make things worse.
Just take the recent road tolls implemented by MY and later reciprocated by SG for example.
And of cos the revised VEP by SG and later this year, the introduction of the new VEP by MY.
All this directly dampens the already sluggish market.

One SPR couple I know were thinking of getting an apartment in JB downtown so that can "work in SG and live in JB" gave up the idea.
I believe many middle income SPRs prospective buyers were affected this way

ECboy

Yes, with a flick of a pen, many things can happen to make things hot again or the other way round, make things worse.
Just take the recent road tolls implemented by MY and later reciprocated by SG for example.
And of cos the revised VEP by SG and later this year, the introduction of the new VEP by MY.
All this directly dampens the already sluggish market.

One SPR couple I know were thinking of getting an apartment in JB downtown so that can "work in SG and live in JB" gave up the idea.
I believe many middle income SPRs prospective buyers were affected this way

One SPR couple (Malaysian) i know is moving to JB city as their rent in SG is S$3500/month and even taking into account the drop in rent this/next year, they expect to pay at least also S$3000+ for a small HDB (900+sqf) good location. Their 1400sqf condo is JB is i guess equivalent to a HDB quality will cost them around S$900/month in installment as they bought in 2012 and got early early bird discount. They will surely suffer on weekday but the savings is too much to ignore. They said if got the RTS, then it's bonus for them but still no change in plans. They plan to move in end of this year.

Frodo

One SPR couple (Malaysian) i know is moving to JB city as their rent in SG is S$3500/month and even taking into account the drop in rent this/next year, they expect to pay at least also S$3000+ for a small HDB (900+sqf) good location. Their 1400sqf condo is JB is i guess equivalent to a HDB quality will cost them around S$900/month in installment as they bought in 2012 and got early early bird discount. They will surely suffer on weekday but the savings is too much to ignore. They said if got the RTS, then it's bonus for them but still no change in plans. They plan to move in end of this year.

MYsians who are also SPR best of both worlds.

winners

They are paying a bomb for that small HDB at S$3k. Even in Ang Mo Kio, a 3-room (2-bedroom) HDB is only renting out for no more than S$2.2k. I wouldn't want to live in JB and work in Singapore. It's really too much of a hassle with the traffic and immigration clearance, unless your working hours are against the norm. As for the RTS, I foresee it won't materialize until at least 2019, if it ever happens, because should Najib be ousted at the next election, everything will be back to the drawing board again.

Owing to the current poor economic situation in this region and especially China, I am not optimistic on the Singapore economy for at least the next 2 years, which will in turn also affect the economy in JB. Already, retrenchments are beginning to rear its ugly side in Singapore since early this year. In JB, even the AEON BIG Hypermarket in Tebrau had closed down since 01 April 2016 and so goes to all the individual shops in that building. The GIANT Supermarket in Ulu Tiram is the only few tenants left (I think less than 5 altogether) in that whole building. I've just been to Danga City Mall and more than half the shops are vacant on all floors on the "north" side.

FHBH12

They are paying a bomb for that small HDB at S$3k. Even in Ang Mo Kio, a 3-room (2-bedroom) HDB is only renting out for no more than S$2.2k. I wouldn't want to live in JB and work in Singapore. It's really too much of a hassle with the traffic and immigration clearance, unless your working hours are against the norm. As for the RTS, I foresee it won't materialize until at least 2019, if it ever happens, because should Najib be ousted at the next election, everything will be back to the drawing board again.

Owing to the current poor economic situation in this region and especially China, I am not optimistic on the Singapore economy for at least the next 2 years, which will in turn also affect the economy in JB. Already, retrenchments are beginning to rear its ugly side in Singapore since early this year. In JB, even the AEON BIG Hypermarket in Tebrau had closed down since 01 April 2016 and so goes to all the individual shops in that building. The GIANT Supermarket in Ulu Tiram is the only few tenants left (I think less than 5 altogether) in that whole building. I've just been to Danga City Mall and more than half the shops are vacant on all floors on the "north" side.

Singapore is an aging society. Without young immigrant (in their 20s-40s) workforce, the economy growth will spiral downwards and taxes will go up. The effect of slowing down immigration is finally showing. The government has been dipping into its reserve recently, if not a lot more people will be retrenched. Lastly, Johor without Singapore cannot survive. This is hard truth.

mpan12

Same here. I won't work in SG but live in JB cos the hassle of travel is too much. You want a bigger and cheaper home but you sacrifice convenience, time and energy. Time to me is money. Well, actually it's priceless.

Less time with family and loved ones cannot be earned back. Once it's gone, that's it. Feeling fatigue from the travel, jam and waking up early will affect my emotions. I don't want to be constantly looking at the watch to leave by a certain time or go home by when. You earn that cheap home but you have to sacrifice something that even money may not compensate it. But for some, it works for them, then by all means, do it. Yes, cost of homes in SG is getting ridiculously expensive.

To me, RTS can't happen even in 2019. 2018 was the projected date when the idea was thrown around several years ago. This year is 2016. 2019 is just 3 years away. Quite impossible to complete it. Till today, there are no firm plans as yet. I would say the completion time is.... unknown. I would bet my last dollar it will be after 2020. Maybe 2023? 2025? Or 2030? Maybe... never?

enjoylife77

Is the stand alone McDonald next to AEON Tebrau still in business?