• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Property News

potter

Bro, don't sabo me leh....This is not a loophole...it's a concession. Just like 3/4 tank rule does not apply to SG bikes.

Wow another one:eek:, is it much easier to report to LTA. So to reduce kapkia and fighting. 我是一等公民.:cool:

sgcount

In my view, it depends on whether one wishes to buy for own use or buy for investment. For the latter, people would not buy for investment because of the risks involved which folks like yourself and xebay have many times expressed. So I think no need to repeat them here.

As for buying a property and actually moving over to stay. Generally I believe the option is feasible for many Singaporeans, but the following are the holding back factors, or a combination of reasons (perceived or real) why Singaporeans wouldn’t want to do that anytime soon. The following list is not ranked but certainly I believe top of the list is the congestion factor.

1. Cannot tolerate the jams across the causeway to commute to work or for kids to study
2. Ignorant that Singaporeans can actually buy a house and live there like a local, without any kind of special permit. Till today I still have friends asking “SG can do this one meh?”
3. Lack of money. For peasants (like me) who In SG already very budget tight and low or almost non-existent savings, don’t think can even afford downpayment for a property in JB.
4. Loaded with money. For rich people (like xebay) Can afford living in condo/landed, have cars, etc in SG, so what for buy JB property or live there?
5 SG very convenient to move about…amenities are within walking distances, MRT available.
6. SG very clean and modern, JB very dirty and look like third world country
7. SG is very clean, JB (or MY) is corrupt from top politicians to low ranking traffic police
8. SG is low crime whereas JB is crime-infested
9. Friends and relatives are in SG
10. Overall feel very comfortable with life in SG, so see no need to move to JB to live. Play can, to live no.

Yes, those above are definitely some of the other many reasons. So I think we may not be seeing an exodus of people moving over. Also the general uneasy feeling involved... after all, we are second class citizens in a foreign country no matter how comfortable the move is.

That said, I think many properties in Iskandar are supported very much by foreigners and the handful of SGporeans who want an alternative lifestyle. The common Malaysians should generally venture slightly further out?

Frodo

Yes, those above are definitely some of the other many reasons. So I think we may not be seeing an exodus of people moving over. Also the general uneasy feeling involved... after all, we are second class citizens in a foreign country no matter how comfortable the move is.

That said, I think many properties in Iskandar are supported very much by foreigners and the handful of SGporeans who want an alternative lifestyle. The common Malaysians should generally venture slightly further out?

An exodus is highly unlikely now or in future. But if #1 issue is successfully tackled, I am quite sure we would see a significant movement.

Frodo

Wow another one:eek:, is it much easier to report to LTA. So to reduce kapkia and fighting. 我是一等公民.:cool:

Hahaha....if LTA decide to eemove concession and impose 3/4 tank rule on motor bikes I think causeway jam will stretch to Changi Airport should they decide to do spot check.

sgcount

An exodus is highly unlikely now or in future. But if #1 issue is successfully tackled, I am quite sure we would see a significant movement.

Yes....

Not that I am trying to be pessimistic but I think it can never be solved, even with a 3rd bridge or whatever.

Simply, we are of different countries. Different culture and race proportion, different wealth/safety issues, although we have largely similar races here.

There is always the terror threats to prevent and check. There is always the need to queue at Customs.

HSR won't solve it too. That's for long travel, not daily commute. RTS won't take people to the exact locations. I must first travel from my home to Woodlands, which takes some time, clear 1st custom, wait for the RTS train, get over to Bukit Chagar or wherever, clear 2nd Custom. This process already takes time. Then let's say my home is in Danga Bay or Medini. I can't get there conveniently and quickly. Still need some form of road transportation. All in all, if traffic is smooth, it will take at least 1.5 to 2 hours in total.

The only way to ease the jams is if SG and Msia or at least Johor become 1 country. Just drive thru. No customs. No checks. But that's impossible!

(Reminds me of J Lennon's song, Imagine... there's no country... no religion too... Everybody lives as one.)

eric3417

Actually i'm happy if little to no SG move over to Iskandar.
Defeats the purpose of me buying a retirement home there for family use.
I'm very happy with the current status Quo. Thou i know it's impossible for JB to stagnant forever.

:rolleyes:

xebay11

In my view, it depends on whether one wishes to buy for own use or buy for investment. For the latter, people would not buy for investment because of the risks involved which folks like yourself and xebay have many times expressed. So I think no need to repeat them here.

As for buying a property and actually moving over to stay. Generally I believe the option is feasible for many Singaporeans, but the following are the holding back factors, or a combination of reasons (perceived or real) why Singaporeans wouldn’t want to do that anytime soon. The following list is not ranked but certainly I believe top of the list is the congestion factor.

1. Cannot tolerate the jams across the causeway to commute to work or for kids to study
2. Ignorant that Singaporeans can actually buy a house and live there like a local, without any kind of special permit. Till today I still have friends asking “SG can do this one meh?”
3. Lack of money. For peasants (like me) who In SG already very budget tight and low or almost non-existent savings, don’t think can even afford downpayment for a property in JB.
4. Loaded with money. For rich people (like xebay) Can afford living in condo/landed, have cars, etc in SG, so what for buy JB property or live there?
5 SG very convenient to move about…amenities are within walking distances, MRT available.
6. SG very clean and modern, JB very dirty and look like third world country
7. SG is very clean, JB (or MY) is corrupt from top politicians to low ranking traffic police
8. SG is low crime whereas JB is crime-infested
9. Friends and relatives are in SG
10. Overall feel very comfortable with life in SG, so see no need to move to JB to live. Play can, to live no.

Bro, money is never enough for anyone. I do think living in Malaysia is great and the dollar stretches very far.

Tekkun

As I often said the same thing. With or without Singapore, Iskandar will move ahead. It will wait for no one.
So it does not matter whether there will be exodus of Singaporeans or not. If you are happy, you hop on. If you are not, then it is bye bye.
But do not scream murder after you hop on. No one forced you in the first place. :smile:

Frodo

As I often said the same thing. With or without Singapore, Iskandar will move ahead. It will wait for no one.
So it does not matter whether there will be exodus of Singaporeans or not. If you are happy, you hop on. If you are not, then it is bye bye.
But do not scream murder after you hop on. No one forced you in the first place. :smile:

I fully agree! JB did not ask for Singapore's blessings or permission to develop Iskandar master plan. In fact, it knows full well the strategic location and synergy that these two neighbouring states will bring to each other. Whether it is now SG prospering JB or the other way round in the far far future, the relationship between the two is a done deal. You cannot isolate the effects, it will spill over. For me, one cannot never take things for granted. Now is Malaysia boleh window of opportunity. Who knows next year they say RM2 million as minimum? If you have considered that you can jump on the boat while still docked, then perhaps just do it. HDB prices in Singapore are leaping towards the million dollar mark. How to tahan for our children? The burden of paying for the HDB would be far greater. Now my kids are "trained" to live in JB and occasionally take public transport into SG. They know what it takes so that should the time comes when they have to decide whether to live in expensive SG or cheaper JB, they can opt for the latter since they are accustomed to it.

Frodo

Bro, money is never enough for anyone. I do think living in Malaysia is great and the dollar stretches very far.

I also feel that part of this dollar-stretching includes being able to buy properties which when converted becomes a mere 25-30% of what a condo can cost in Singapore. Have received a few SMS whereby a 900 over sqft condo can cost over $1 million! A similar sized condo in JB is $300K or lesser. Of course one can say apples and orange cannot compare. True…but $700K “savings” to me is worth it lor. It may not be premium SG grade condo, but then again for me at least I don’t think I want to spend $700K to have a premium feel. I am a peasant still, at the end of the day.

Tekkun

I fully agree! JB did not ask for Singapore's blessings or permission to develop Iskandar master plan. In fact, it knows full well the strategic location and synergy that these two neighbouring states will bring to each other. Whether it is now SG prospering JB or the other way round in the far far future, the relationship between the two is a done deal. You cannot isolate the effects, it will spill over. For me, one cannot never take things for granted. Now is Malaysia boleh window of opportunity. Who knows next year they say RM2 million as minimum? If you have considered that you can jump on the boat while still docked, then perhaps just do it. HDB prices in Singapore are leaping towards the million dollar mark. How to tahan for our children? The burden of paying for the HDB would be far greater. Now my kids are "trained" to live in JB and occasionally take public transport into SG. They know what it takes so that should the time comes when they have to decide whether to live in expensive SG or cheaper JB, they can opt for the latter since they are accustomed to it.

It does not just affect you. The inflation is faster than pay rise. Even my kids will have difficulty in buying houses in KL. The new normal is RM1.0m for a double storey link house in decent neighbourhood. Even my 25 year old 22 x 75 terrace house which cost RM139k then is selling for RM800k these days. If the parents do not plan or help them, no chance they can afford to pay when they want to buy in 10 years time. So if you can afford it, it is better to lock in those values now. Don't even think of CA or ROI. If you can rent it out, it is just a subsidy to yet another burden we shoulder for our kids.

I remember once I was interested to buy a old unit in Mont Kiara, a posh area in KL. I know that condo cost about 400k then and I offered the owner 600k. She was an old lady and told me she is only interested to rent it out. She said she want to leave it to her grandson when she is gone. I pointed out her grandson is only 10 years old. She said, in another 10 years time, he won't be able to afford a condo like this.

sgcount

Buy for your own use ok.... But buying for investment hoping price will increase a lot in 15 years time is a bit tricky due to many factors to consider. Finally realize this after pondering over the issue for many months.

Frodo

Buy for your own use ok.... But buying for investment hoping price will increase a lot in 15 years time is a bit tricky due to many factors to consider. Finally realize this after pondering over the issue for many months.

Ah...you reached your enlightenment on this area. :biggrin:

potter

It does not just affect you. The inflation is faster than pay rise. Even my kids will have difficulty in buying houses in KL. The new normal is RM1.0m for a double storey link house in decent neighbourhood. Even my 25 year old 22 x 75 terrace house which cost RM139k then is selling for RM800k these days. If the parents do not plan or help them, no chance they can afford to pay when they want to buy in 10 years time. So if you can afford it, it is better to lock in those values now. Don't even think of CA or ROI. If you can rent it out, it is just a subsidy to yet another burden we shoulder for our kids.

I remember once I was interested to buy a old unit in Mont Kiara, a posh area in KL. I know that condo cost about 400k then and I offered the owner 600k. She was an old lady and told me she is only interested to rent it out. She said she want to leave it to her grandson when she is gone. I pointed out her grandson is only 10 years old. She said, in another 10 years time, he won't be able to afford a condo like this.

I ordered a chair last yr after walking thru and fro, cos quite pricey . When i received the swinging chair 2 weeks back, it's so cheap...so cheap..i should have bot 10!!!. wahaha...

freedom

I also have similar thoughts about leaving my JB semiD to my kids in future as an option for them...when RTS is up, commuting to Sg will be much easier, hence, living in JB and working in Sg should be more viable in their generation. In fact, since the house has so many rooms, we can live as an extended family in it if my future daughter in laws do not mind...ha, ha...thinking too far into the future...

Manhattan

This iskandar is making the sg dream attainable for general hardworking folks. I.e. wide open spaces, landed house or quality condo, affordable restaurants and golf and car. Even study in an international school with IB programme is affordable. Like a American dream, but a sgrean version. Not in a faraway land with bitter cold winter and unfamiliar culture. Iskandar is just 30mins bus ride away from where you grew up.
Enjoy your life and don't sweat too much on whether it's a good investment or not. When you kick the bucket it's not the money that matters, it's whether if you have enjoyed your life.

Tekkun

I ordered a chair last yr after walking thru and fro, cos quite pricey . When i received the swinging chair 2 weeks back, it's so cheap...so cheap..i should have bot 10!!!. wahaha...

Lucky it is a just chair and not other woodworks :biggrin: :biggrin:

Tekkun

Ah...you reached your enlightenment on this area. :biggrin:

Finally!!!

Inner peace.JPG