• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Furious Singaporeans react to table tennis association chief's surprise decision

nicolewong

http://straitstimes.asia1.com.sg/Breaking+News/Sport/Story/STIStory_271691.html

Untimely and ungracious

Furious Singaporeans react to table tennis association chief's surprise decision

By Terrence Voon & Lin Xinyi

<TABLE cellSpacing=0 cellPadding=0 width="100%" border=0><TBODY><TR vAlign=bottom><TD width=330>
leebeewah.jpg

</TD><TD width=10>
c.gif
</TD><TD vAlign=bottom>
c.gif

Table tennis president Lee Bee Wah's decision have been lambasted by furious Singaporeans. -- ST PHOTO: ALBERT SIM
</TD></TR></TBODY></TABLE>

FURIOUS Singaporeans lambasted the shock decision by table tennis president Lee Bee Wah to remove team manager Antony Lee and to refer the fate of Liu Guodong, the team's head coach, to a coaching committee.

By 8pm yesterday, The Straits Times received nearly 200 e-mails and letters from readers - almost all of whom voiced disbelief and outrage. Many more flamed Ms Lee in Internet blogs and postings.

Most of them took issue with the timing of the news, which came just before Singapore's Olympic paddlers were due for a victorious homecoming this afternoon.

'This sudden announcement has certainly cast a dark cloud over the shining achievements of the table tennis team,' banker David Chee lamented.

'Just as people should be given time to mourn their loss, they should also be given time to celebrate their achievements. Anything short of this is just plain disrespectful.'

Mr Lee was held responsible for Gao Ning's third-round defeat in the men's singles at the Games. Gao, the Republic's top male paddler, had to play without a coach by his side.

Housewife Monica Chow, 46, felt that the punishment did not fit the crime.

'This incident is just an oversight and is due to a hiccup in time management,' she argued, referring to the absence of Gao's coach Zu Haining during the paddler's match.

Zu was called away to watch over another player, Yang Zi, because Yang's coach Chen Jian had fallen ill.

Some MPs also spoke out on the matter, including Mr Zainudin Nordin, mayor of the Central Singapore District and deputy president of the Football Association of Singapore. 'The timing is a bit unfortunate,' he noted. 'I think we could have celebrated it first, and then found ways to resolve the issue.'

Mr Teo Chong Tee, ex-MP for Changi and a former president of the Football Association of Singapore, added that Ms Lee's actions were 'unnecessary' and 'demoralising'.

He wrote in an e-mail to ST: 'She could have been more encouraging and supportive instead of giving an outburst without first checking her facts.

'Anything that is unfavourable should have been said behind closed doors.'

Many readers, as well as netizens on Internet forums, said Ms Lee had acted ungraciously and should step down.

Said reader Daniel Tay: 'Is this the kind of message we want to send out to the younger generation of sportsmen and women or even aspiring managers: that...you cannot make mistakes?'

Some members of the table tennis fraternity expressed disbelief of another sort: That Gao Ning was overlooked by his coaches during his hour of need.

Former national paddlers Tan Paey Fern and Jing Junhong told The Straits Times that they sympathised with Gao.

'The absence of a coach shows that their focus is not on him,' said Tan. 'The last four years he spent training has gone to waste. If that had happened to me, I would be very disappointed.'

Reader Miranda Eu, one of the few who applauded Ms Lee's decision, agreed that Mr Lee and head coach Liu should be censured. She said: 'If Mr Lee and Mr Liu cannot see that the fault lies with them, then Singapore has no use for them.'

But Mrs Josephine Teo, MP for Bishan-Toa Payoh GRC, cautioned against drawing any conclusions until more facts emerge. She said: 'I think it is premature for us to comment at this point in time.

'But I think many Singaporeans are taken by surprise and I suppose at the right time the management committee of the Singapore Table Tennis Association will come out and give the clarification and I think Singaporeans will look forward to that.'

[email protected]

Mr Lee was held responsible for Gao Ning's third-round defeat in the men's singles at the Games. Gao, the Republic's top male paddler, had to play without a coach by his side.

Zu was called away to watch over another player, Yang Zi, because Yang's coach Chen Jian had fallen ill.

ze big stta president was there leh ... n she was sitting inside ze hall ... she saw no coach there ... y din she do sumting there n then? as in getting a coach 2 b there immediately ...

Some members of the table tennis fraternity expressed disbelief of another sort: That Gao Ning was overlooked by his coaches during his hour of need.

Former national paddlers Tan Paey Fern and Jing Junhong told The Straits Times that they sympathised with Gao.
1st, me agree dat it would b gd if u hv a coach there ... but how u perform is really dependent on u ... a coach can oni do so much ... ultimate success or failure lies in ur own hands ... n if u r really gd, u dun even nid a coach ... (sumting like if u r gd, u dun nid any mm or sm ... :wink: :p ) ...

Microsoft

1st, me agree dat it would b gd if u hv a coach there ... but how u perform is really dependent on u ... a coach can oni do so much ... ultimate success or failure lies in ur own hands ... n if u r really gd, u dun even nid a coach ... (sumting like if u r gd, u dun nid any mm or sm ... :wink: :p ) ...

Not entirely true... a coach is there to watch n correct ur mistake... Jus like chess... usually the bystander can c the match clearer then player... Even Tiger WOOD got coach u noe... I heard he is BigSexy... :biggrin::p

BUt then hor... i agree LBH dicision is kinda sux... Y appt someone 2 b the president of STTA when tat burger noe nuts bout ping pong har? :biggrin::biggrin:

Microsoft

stamping her authority early .. shows everyone whos the boss lah

Fallen ill? Wat sickness? Din ask him 2 play u noe... Jus sit there watch n tok cok oso cnot? Tat sick? :biggrin::p

giggity_shit

"But Mrs Josephine Teo, MP for Bishan-Toa Payoh GRC, cautioned against drawing any conclusions until more facts emerge. She said: 'I think it is premature for us to comment at this point in time."

MPs without opinions are clever enough to sidestep sensitive questions. Now if only LBW had such common sense.

jbsmith

Even Ace Kindred Cheong is not very pleased. :wink:

‘Move is too harsh’

Letter from Ace Kindred Cheong

THE reported move is too harsh. I believe it was sparked when there was no coach guiding Gao Ning when he was playing his match. I was sad and disappointed when I read that news, but I believed it was an error and a miscommunication which had led to such unfortunate circumstances.
The manager and coaches have done well to train our players for the Beijing Olympics. The reported move by the new Singapore Table Tennis Association (STTA) chief will cause unhappiness because she has been with STTA as its president for just over a month.
I would like to ask Ms Lee Bee Wah and the STTA committee members to be more tolerant and forgiving.
What is more important is that STTA can learn from mistakes and make sure they are not repeated at the 2012 London Olympics, or at any other sporting events.
It’s time to move on ...

Merl Haggard

stamping her authority early .. shows everyone whos the boss lah

Is this the MP bitch who went to spew Hokkien vulgarities in Parliament?

For being so highhanded, she should be sacked from being an MP herself!

Come on PM Lee Hsien Loong, show us that you're in total control.

Fortunately she has revealed her true colors while she is only an MP. If one day she gets promoted to higher office, her kind of rash decision can cause a lot of damage to the country.

silverspoon

i think there is more than meets the eye........

Maybe they think this Gao Ning got no hope of getting any medals at all?

gostep

This is one kind of fantastic bitch. Must be trying hard to show that she is a quick decision maker. Instead she is ending up with egg on her face and acting like Empress Shih Tzu. What an arse-licker#####

congo9

Come on PM Lee Hsien Loong, show us that you're in total control.
============================================================

He is already henpecked at home ! He is not wearing the pants at home. See how he needs to further ATM singaporeans again and again when his wife got into trouble with all the investment overseas. For christ SAKE , his papa shd come in and help him !

JohnTT

Better sack her as president before she does more harmful.

Bro, Agree with you. But then, on second thought, it is quite difficult to sack her. Remember Mas Selamat's escape, DPM Wong was not penalised at all, therefore how to remove her. Removing her will only create double standard.

sage

Sports minister must step forward to address as this matter is of national interest. LBW is only a lower rung and I don't believe she is free or crazy enough to make highly sensitive decisions of this nature at the time and circ prevailing. So much effort and taxpayers' money spent over the years on tt program and yet the rare moment of glory all looked forward to cannot be thoroughly enjoyed. How sad.