• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

PM Lee: Matter of time before Singapore sees first Mers Case

CoffeeAhSoh

PRIMEMINISTER110615e.jpg

(From left) Prime Minister Lee Hsien Loong with senior consultant Brenda Ang, and nurses Felicia Tang and Sujithra Nair at Tan Tock Seng Hospital, which is Singapore's designated isolation centre for suspected and confirmed Mers patients. -- ST PHOTO: LAU FOOK KONG -

PM Lee: Matter of Time before Singapore sees first Mers Case

PM: 'Matter of time' before Singapore sees first Mers case

By Linette Lai

SINGAPORE - It is "just a matter of time" before the first case of Middle East respiratory syndrome (Mers) is detected in Singapore, Prime Minister Lee Hsien Loong said on Thursday.

Mr Lee and his wife Ho Ching were visiting Tan Tock Seng Hospital (TTSH) - Singapore's designated isolation centre for suspected and confirmed Mers patients - to observe emergency preparedness measures there.

Speaking to reporters inside the hospital's Communicable Disease Centre, Mr Lee stressed that Singaporeans must be especially vigilant now that the virus, which originated in the Middle East, has spread to South Korea.

"Every month we have about 40,000 visitors and during a holiday month like June, a lot of families go to Korea on holiday," he said.

This is a very irresponsible attitude by the PM.

Instead of being resigned to fate, PM Lee should take immediate measures to prevent MERS from entering the country.

This can be done very easily by sealing the borders and not allowing the movement of people in and out of the country till the epidemic subsides.

What's the point of paying cabinet members millions of dollars each if they don't have the brains to come up with a simple and obvious solution to this danger.

chowcheebye

This is a very irresponsible attitude by the PM.

Instead of being resigned to fate, PM Lee should take immediate measures to prevent MERS from entering the country.

This can be done very easily by sealing the borders and not allowing the movement of people in and out of the country till the epidemic subsides.

What's the point of paying cabinet members millions of dollars each if they don't have the brains to come up with a simple and obvious solution to this danger.

no use lah, can parallel import also :biggrin:

Close the airport. Close the shipping lanes. Close the causeways... case closed!

Every life is precious. We can't accept deaths as being inevitable just because measures taken to prevent a major epidemic would cost the economy.

Lives are more important than money.

soIsee

mers new model not so nice leh... bmw nicer lah, when coming har? :biggrin:

When BMW comes, you will realized that when Parly-men session is convened, the 80+ dogs won't be attending the session and be found sitting inside the Dog House and leaving only the few daft , and cannot run away oppo idiots talking among themselves and waiting doom to knock at their door!

And in the carpark lots, no real Mercs, BMW , Volvos or even Lexus and Jaguars can be found to be parked there! LoL

CoffeeAhSoh

Close the airport. Close the shipping lanes. Close the causeways... case closed!

Every life is precious. We can't accept deaths as being inevitable just because measures taken to prevent a major epidemic would cost the economy.

Lives are more important than money.

if what PM Lee said come True then we have to Worry .

Imagine MRT and buses no one dare to take .

Whole economy stand still . All Schools closed.

Stock Mkt Collapses , everyone stay put at home to avoid crowed places .

TracyTan866

Have you seen SG's retail and F&B businesses. They are already bad. Look at many shopping centres and you can sense the mood

melzp

A Leedar talking like this ? "A MATTER OF TIME" ?

ACT NOW with solutions; its like going to the casino and tell the gamblers that
"its a matter of time you will lose yr pants".

Or is this the parting msg before fleeing to the Caribbean?

CoffeeAhSoh

SARS vs MERS

===================

Sars in Singapore: Timeline

This was first published in The Straits Times on March 15, 2013

March 1, 2003: Patient No. 1 is admitted to Tan Tock Seng Hospital (TTSH) for suspected pneumonia. She and two other women fell ill after visiting Hong Kong.

March 12: The World Health Organisation issues global alert on outbreaks of severe form of atypical pneumonia in Hong Kong, Vietnam and Guangdong.

March 15: The term Sars is coined. Singapore has 16 cases. The Ministry of Health (MOH) forms the Sars task force.

March 16: MOH issues hospital guidelines to screen emergency department patients for fever and travel history to Sars-affected areas. It issues infection-control guidelines.

March 22: TTSH is designated the Sars hospital. The Sars hotline is set up. The number of cases rises to 44.

March 24: The Infectious Diseases Act is invoked. About 740 people are home-quarantined for 10 days.

March 25: Singapore experiences its first Sars death - Patient No. 1's father.

March 26: A pastor who visited Patient No. 1 becomes the second person to die of Sars.

March 27: All schools are shut till April 6. Those who die of Sars must be cremated within 24 hours

March 29: Temperature checks are introduced for all passengers entering Singapore through Changi Airport.

April 5: Singapore General Hospital (SGH) is hit by a Sars outbreak. The closure of schools is extended.

April 6: A ministerial committee is formed.

April 7: TTSH doctor Ong Hok Su becomes the first hospital worker to die from Sars. Patient No. 1's mother also dies.

April 9 to 16: Schools reopen.

April 22: Sars kills SGH vascular surgeon Alexandre Chao.

May 11: Nurse Hamidah Ismail, one of the first nurses warded for Sars, dies on Mother's Day.

May 18: Last Sars patient detected.

May 30: WHO declares Singapore Sars-free.

July 16: Sars eradicated in Singapore.

======================================================

What is severe acute respiratory syndrome (Sars)

It is a severe form of pneumonia – an inflammation of the lungs due to an infection by Sars coronavirus, a strain first identified in 2003.

The name Sars was coined by the World Health Organisation on March 15, 2003.

Number of cases reported

Between November 2002 and July 2003, a total of 8,096 cases were reported globally. In Singapore, 238 people were infected.

Number of lives claimed

Sars killed 774 people worldwide, including China (349 deaths), Hong Kong (299 deaths), Canada (43 deaths), Taiwan (37 deaths) and Singapore (33 deaths).
How Sars started

Bats were likely the original host of the virus.

Both bats and civet cats were harvested for their meat and served as delicacies in China.

How Sars is transmitted

People get infected when they come into close contact with the body fluid of an infected person.

http://www.straitstimes.com/the-big...ersary/story/sars-singapore-timeline-20130316

numero uno

wonderful news actually. to knock some sense into the market and people with inflated egos and prices all round. mers is 10 times worse than SARS with very high fatality rates. hahahhah. soon property market would crash to 10% with the prefect storm of MERS, interest rates hikes, china clamp down, etc. if you use SARS in 2003 as an example when property crash 50% then mers would see alot of people dying, not from virus but from jumping down high rise apartments...... hahahahha . Now my bankers friends all said they are ready to foreclose alot of properties and fire redundant staff. already HSBC in the red and firing 50,000 world wide ie 25% of all staff. bugger deadwood these asssholes. hahhaha told you 2-3 years ago.

CoffeeAhSoh

wonderful news. mers is 10 times worse than SARS with very high fatality rates. hahahhah. soon property market would crash to 10% with the prefect storm of MERS, interest rates hikes, china clamp down, etc. if you use SARS in 2003 as an example when property crash 50% then mers would see alot of people dying, not from virus but from jumping down high rise apartments...... hahahahha . Now my bankers friends all said they are ready to foreclose alot of properties and fire redundant staff. already HSBC in the red and firing 50,000 world wide ie 25% of all staff. bugger deadwood these asssholes. hahhaha told you 2-3 years ago.

last week big funds selling Blue Chips :confused:

Big dropped in STI last week .

STI is basically "dead" .

People , big funds $$$ , doing front running already .

CoffeeAhSoh

STI CHART LAST WEEK

http://finance.yahoo.com/echarts?s=%5ESTI+Interactive#{"range":"1mo","allowChartStacking":true}

wonderful news actually. to knock some sense into the market and people with inflated egos and prices all round. mers is 10 times worse than SARS with very high fatality rates. hahahhah. soon property market would crash to 10% with the prefect storm of MERS, interest rates hikes, china clamp down, etc. if you use SARS in 2003 as an example when property crash 50% then mers would see alot of people dying, not from virus but from jumping down high rise apartments...... hahahahha . Now my bankers friends all said they are ready to foreclose alot of properties and fire redundant staff. already HSBC in the red and firing 50,000 world wide ie 25% of all staff. bugger deadwood these asssholes. hahhaha told you 2-3 years ago.

This time I actually somewhat wish the same as you.
But dun come claim credit as if MERS is something you can predict.
More importantly I also wish you kena MERS so you can't pick up basement bargains you've been praying for

A Leedar talking like this ? "A MATTER OF TIME" ?

ACT NOW with solutions; its like going to the casino and tell the gamblers that
"its a matter of time you will lose yr pants".

Or is this the parting msg before fleeing to the Caribbean?
He's one expensive 'early warning system'.....
Pay him millions to issue warning and not find solutions