• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Back Pain: Does stretching exercise or yoga help?

adultstem

i have same back pain, dog say the nerve kenna kiap due to aging as bone and joints deteriorate. went for therapy, medicine, ahQ puncture etc.. all failed. Suffered many years. Can't move can't sleep properly. One small move the pain moves from the back all the way up the spine to the neck feel like can't take living anymore.......

Took up bicycle ryding - ALL OK now as muscles build up body also build up to bigger size, nerve never kena Kiap anymore. Bicycle riding is a very awesome exercise b'cos running cause the thump on the knee and joints, bicycle won't and then as you keep pedaling with the leg blood flows and cycle through body strongly. Same as swimming, these 2 are best exercises for old folks..........

Jogging is BAD for old folks.

Physical exercises are good as they can strengthen the group of muscles that support the back. But back problems and pain can still occur due to many factors such as poor posture, past injuries, degeneration etc.

If all things failed, may I recommend stem cell therapy. This is the lastest and newest treatment area worth looking at. Stem cell treatment could be a real and effective solution to eliminate chronic pain for good.

Asterix

No more bad pain after exercises to build up the core (abs and lower back) and two alternating routines to mould a basic V shape.

The six pack was hidden beneath a layer of fat, so had to give up some of my favourite foods for a few months, but no more strenous exercises required, just some basic housekeeping.

[video=youtube;xnd0CAloRHo]https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=xnd0CAloRHo[/video]

lifeafter41

Don't know your condition and hence can't give proper advice. Do you have a weight problem? Or old injuries? Could also be you bed being unbalanced, for example spring based and too old? Or did you do some exercise recently and caused a lower back strain?

Can't really tell from your original post.

No weight problem here. Not obese neither overweight. Except for the old slip disc problem many eons ago. Brand new bed, super hard type. I was thinking could be due to last 2 weeks of traveling with a heavy shoulder bag could be the cause.

lifeafter41

Physical exercises are good as they can strengthen the group of muscles that support the back. But back problems and pain can still occur due to many factors such as poor posture, past injuries, degeneration etc.

If all things failed, may I recommend stem cell therapy. This is the lastest and newest treatment area worth looking at. Stem cell treatment could be a real and effective solution to eliminate chronic pain for good.

Stem cell therapy?. Sounds expensive though. But if all else fails and it works, why not.....

adultstem

Stem cell therapy?. Sounds expensive though. But if all else fails and it works, why not.....

There are many different kinds of stem cell treatments available in the market. I am going to leave out the expensive ones as many do require hospital stay for surgical procedures and infusions to be carried out.

What I like to recommend is stem cell nutrition. This is a stem cell enhancer, an oral supplement which when taken... will trigger adult stem cells to be released from the bone marrow in our body. Our very own stem cells will then search for problematic conditions such as chronic back pain, damaged knees, frozen shoulders and many more, to repair and stem the damage.

I myself have overcome my backaches and painful shoulder by trying stem cell nutrition.

In my next few posts, I will share stories of many others who have given stem cell nutrition a try and have recovered dramatically.

adultstem

I am 54 years old and I love to work out with my speed bag and heavy bag. I want to give my Adult Stem Cell Nutrition testimony. I do weight training and love to run. A year ago I aggravated my lower back doing some work for a friend of mine from my church.

I have four vertebrae with compression fractures and during the last year I had severe discomfort in my back and I had torn some ligaments and muscles in my right calve.

I started taking AFA Stem-Cell-Enhancer capsules about 1 1/2 months ago. Today my back is free of discomfort and my calve has improved 80 %. I have never taken a product with such drastic results. I am a believer in stem cell science and will be using Stem cell Nutrition capsules for the rest of my life.

In my next few posts, I will share stories of many others who have given stem cell nutrition a try and have recovered dramatically.

Please do not use this forum to peddle snake oil.

http://www.fda.gov/NewsEvents/PublicHealthFocus/ucm286218.htm

Consumer Information on Stem Cells

Consumer Update: FDA Warns About Stem Cell Claims
Are any stem cell treatments approved in the U.S.?
FDA has not approved any stem cell-based products for use, other than cord blood-derived hematopoietic progenitor cells (blood forming stem cells) for certain indications including certain blood cancers and some inherited metabolic and immune system disorders (Press Release: FDA approves first cord blood product)
What should consumers know before being treated with therapies derived from stem cells?
As is the case with any investigational treatment, consumers should speak with their doctor to learn about the potential risks and benefits from being treated with a stem cell-based product. Consumers should seek assurance from their treating physician that necessary FDA approval has been obtained, or that they will be part of a clinical study being conducted in accordance with FDA regulations before proceeding with treatment.

What should consumers know before seeking stem cell treatments outside the U.S.?

Consumers should also be aware that in most cases FDA has not reviewed data associated with the products offered in other countries, including stem cell-based products, and can not comment on their safety and effectiveness. It is also important to understand that treatments offered in other countries may not be subject to the same level of regulatory oversight as products marketed in the U.S. FDA encourages consumers to learn all they can about the regulations covering any stem cell-based product they are considering, and to ask questions of the regulatory authority in the country where the treatment will be received. Consumers should exercise caution before undergoing treatment with a stem cell-based product in a country that does not require adequate and well-controlled studies to demonstrate both safety and efficacy.
What are some of the safety concerns with stem cell treatments?
While stem cell therapies theoretically have potential promise, their use also raises a number of safety concerns including: the ability of the cells to migrate from the site of administration and differentiate (or change) into inappropriate cell types; excessive cell growth; and the development of tumors. These safety concerns must be addressed as part of the risk/benefit evaluation of these products.
More Information

[h=2]Stem Cell Treatments: 6 False-Hope Warning Signs[/h]Unproven, Risky Treatments Mislead Patients to Seek Cutting-Edge Therapy
By Daniel J. DeNoon
WebMD Feature

Reviewed by Michael W. Smith, MD

WebMD Archive
There's a dark side to stem cells: bogus treatments that prey on patients' hopes when mainstream medicine has little to offer.
Stephen Byer stepped far outside typical medical care when his son, Ben, had ALS. He took Ben to China for stem cell-like treatments, and later helped hundreds of people do the same, believing it would help them.
The unproven procedure could have killed Ben. It didn't -- but it also didn't work. Ben later died of ALS. So did the ALS patients Byer now regrets helping get the treatment.
Why take the chance? For Byer, it started with misleading promises online.
"The Internet, while increasing communication, has spawned a horde of charlatans and creeps," Byer says. "We were suckered into one of the earlier forms of stem cell chicanery."

But not everyone who seeks unapproved stem cell treatments feels ripped off. Even though the stem cell treatments Dawn Gusty got in Tijuana, Mexico, didn't ease her multiple sclerosis, she doesn't look back with regret.
That moment -- when hope surpasses science, and when someone claims to be able to bridge that gap -- may be one of the riskiest for patients to handle. And it's one of the most alarming for stem cell experts.
[h=3]Hope's Dark Side[/h]"It is a very dangerous situation," says Joshua Hare, MD, director of the Interdisciplinary Stem Cell Institute at the University of Miami.
Make no mistake: Hare is all for scientific stem cell research. His concern, he says, is "hype" that glosses over an inconvenient fact: There are no new approved stem cell therapies.
The danger becomes clear if you Google "stem cell treatment." You'll get search results from clinics in the U.S. and around the world touting stem cell treatments for conditions ranging from baldness to ALS (Lou Gehrig's disease).
People who pursue those treatments "are spending huge sums of money to get therapies that are completely unproven and unlikely to work," Hare says.
Aaron D. Levine, PhD, a Georgia Institute of Technology bioethics professor, agrees. "A lot of companies are claiming they can do things right now the science can't support," Levine says.
But it's happening anyway. Famous athletes and politicians have sought the treatments. So why shouldn't we?

[h=3]6 Warning Signs[/h]The International Society for Stem Cell Research (ISSCR), a group of established stem cell researchers concerned with the proliferation of unproven treatments, has issued a patient handbook on stem cell therapies.
The ISSCR advises patients to seek only stem cell treatments being tested in clinical trials approved by the FDA (or, if abroad, by a national regulatory agency such as the European Medicines Agency). It also allows for smaller studies approved by an independent Institutional Review Board (IRB) or Ethics Review Board (ERB).
The ISSCR lists these warning signs that a stem cell treatment is not legitimate:

1. It makes claims based on patient testimonials.
  2. The same stem cells are used to treat multiple diseases.
  3. The source of the stem cells is not clearly documented.
  4. How the treatment will be done is not clearly documented in a "protocol" that serves as the medical practitioner's operating manual for the procedure.
  5. Claims there is no risk. All medical procedures carry some risk.
  6. High cost or hidden costs. Legitimate clinical trials don't charge patients. Some even pay them to participate.

try jumping down from high building. Before you land your pain will be gone forever and so is your life live a soul life free from pain, no need to eat and work.

Lately been getting back pain and ache. Sometimes can't even sleep as the pain is very persistent.
Have not gone to the doctor as my thoughts is they will only give pain killers and those cream to apply on.

Have read that doing stretching excercise helps to reduce the pain. Will doing yoga help too?. Will a person be too old for yoga exercise?

Forumers here got such problems? Any advice here would be appreciated.:smile:

adultstem

try jumping down from high building. Before you land your pain will be gone forever and so is your life live a soul life free from pain, no need to eat and work.

Hello... don't be cruel can? Trying to help a fellow sinkie and you are telling him to go jump down! If this is the kind of advice you give, there won't be anyone left. Please be humane and considerate.

lifeafter41

Hello... don't be cruel can? Trying to help a fellow sinkie and you are telling him to go jump down! If this is the kind of advice you give, there won't be anyone left. Please be humane and considerate.

Dear adultstem, hahahaha. I believe it is in jest to have mentioned it. Even if it is not, it's one prerogative to post whatever they like, whether if it is relevant or not it's up to the individual to decide. After all, 一粒米养百样人. This is what makes posting here interesting. You get all sorts of response.

lifeafter41

i have same back pain, dog say the nerve kenna kiap due to aging as bone and joints deteriorate. went for therapy, medicine, ahQ puncture etc.. all failed. Suffered many years. Can't move can't sleep properly. One small move the pain moves from the back all the way up the spine to the neck feel like can't take living anymore.......

Took up bicycle ryding - ALL OK now as muscles build up body also build up to bigger size, nerve never kena Kiap anymore. Bicycle riding is a very awesome exercise b'cos running cause the thump on the knee and joints, bicycle won't and then as you keep pedaling with the leg blood flows and cycle through body strongly. Same as swimming, these 2 are best exercises for old folks..........

Jogging is BAD for old folks.

Dear nirvarq, actually upon reading your post, I actually went down to the east coast to rent s bicycle for 3 hours. Ride to changi airport and back, had makan at the east coast lagoon hawker center. Felt good, though still a little painful but seems to work, not sure if it is psychological, but I will continue to do it for the next couple of weeks to see if it gets better. Thanks for the great suggestion.

Seee3

Dear nirvarq, actually upon reading your post, I actually went down to the east coast to rent s bicycle for 3 hours. Ride to changi airport and back, had makan at the east coast lagoon hawker center. Felt good, though still a little painful but seems to work, not sure if it is psychological, but I will continue to do it for the next couple of weeks to see if it gets better. Thanks for the great suggestion.
Just to share my personal experience. Usually backache under normal circumstance is due to weakening of back muscles. Last time, I find sleeping with a pillow directly below my knees very comfortable. I didn't know that it is meant to be used only when we have a strained back muscle. Otherwise, continuous adoption of such position will weaken the back muscles. If the mattress is not firm enough, it can have the same effect. True enough, I developed backache near the hip. After being advised by expert to sleep on flat hard ground, my ache finally was gone. Sleeping flat on hard surface stretches the back muscles and in the process strengthen it. It took about 3 months for the pain to go away. So I believe cycling will probably also help to strengthen the back but we need to be patient. It takes time to strengthen the muscles.

it come to worse, use it. nothing goes to waste.

there are 2 types of backache. One is from injury carry heavy items cause back to crack. Recovery is hard and painful.

If got backache standing to long it might be the shoes. Get shoes that push your body slightly forward.

Some badly design shoes make you lean backwards causing your back to exert pressure and feel that you have backache.

Just to share my personal experience. Usually backache under normal circumstance is due to weakening of back muscles. Last time, I find sleeping with a pillow directly below my knees very comfortable. I didn't know that it is meant to be used only when we have a strained back muscle. Otherwise, continuous adoption of such position will weaken the back muscles. If the mattress is not firm enough, it can have the same effect. True enough, I developed backache near the hip. After being advised by expert to sleep on flat hard ground, my ache finally was gone. Sleeping flat on hard surface stretches the back muscles and in the process strengthen it. It took about 3 months for the pain to go away. So I believe cycling will probably also help to strengthen the back but we need to be patient. It takes time to strengthen the muscles.

Cerebral

Alfrescian (InfP) [Comp]
No more bad pain after exercises to build up the core (abs and lower back) and two alternating routines to mould a basic V shape.

The six pack was hidden beneath a layer of fat, so had to give up some of my favourite foods for a few months, but no more strenous exercises required, just some basic housekeeping.

YouTube Link: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=xnd0CAloRHo

Core and lower back does not give you V shape. It's the reduction of body fats. Bring it down to around 12%, work on lats, delta to create the symmetry. It's all in the diet. Core and lower back exercises are meant to strengthen your muscles in those area and they become better support of your posture and weight, hence reducing the pain.